DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 03/19/2024 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 11,058,018 herein Yoon).
Regarding claim 1, Yoon teaches an electronic device (read as electronic device 200) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 1-17), comprising:
a first housing (read as housing 210) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 1-17);
a second housing configured to slide with respect to the first housing (read as sliding plate 220) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 1-17);
a motor configured to provide a driving force for sliding the second housing (read as electronic device 200 may switch from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device such as a motor) (Yoon - Figure 1, column 7 lines 6-11, column 13 lines 45-54);
a flexible display (read as flexible display 230) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 1-17, column 11 lines 50-67, column 12 lines 1-17) having an externally visible screen area configured to be extended or shrunk by driving the motor (read as the electronic device 200 may include a housing 210, a sliding plate 220, and a flexible display 230; capable of expanding a screen 2301 in a sliding manner; the screen 2301 may be a display area or an active area that is visible to the outside of the flexible display 230) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 18-35);
a memory storing instructions (read as memory 132) (Yoon – Figure 1, column 4 lines 57-67, column 5 lines 15-37); and
at least one processor comprising processing circuitry operably connected to the first housing, the second housing, the flexible display (read as processor 120) (Yoon – Figure 1, column 4 lines 57-67, column 5 lines 15-37), and the memory,
wherein at least one processor is configured to:
based on the screen area being requested to be extended or shrunk, determine a driving level for the motor based on one or more pieces of context information related to the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47); and
drive the motor according to the determined driving level (read as motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor and the rotating direction, rotating angle, rotating amount, rotating speed, rotating acceleration, or rotating angular speed of the motor may be adjusted) (Yoon - column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein the one or more pieces of context information include remaining capacity information about a battery of the electronic device (read as sensor module 176 may detect an operational state (e.g., power) of the electronic device 101 then generate an electrical signal or data value corresponding to the detected state) (Yoon – column 6 lines 47-57).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein the one or more pieces of context information include at least one of: information about whether the screen area is to be extended or to be shrunk; and information about whether a side where the screen area is to be extended or shrunk and a position of a grip on the electronic device is the same side with respect to the electronic device (read as grip sensor) (Yoon - column 6 lines 47-57) or about whether the screen area is to be extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein the one or more pieces of context information include at least one of: information about what application is in an active state (read as main processor 121 is in an active state (e.g., executing an application) (Yoon – column 5 lines 38-50); information about whether one of an airplane mode, a do-not-disturb mode, and a power saving mode is set; information about whether one of a ringtone mode, a vibration mode, and a silent mode is set; information about a strength of ambient noise around the electronic device (read as in order to block ambient noise and dissipate heat emitted from surrounding heat-emitting component) (Yoon – column 21 lines 1-14); information about a volume set on the electronic device; and information about an illuminance around the electronic device.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein the determined driving level is a level selected from among a plurality of levels from a minimum level having a minimum speed to a maximum level having a maximum speed, and wherein each of the plurality of levels is defined by a different time-speed function (read as motor-driving circuity may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor and the rotating direction, rotating angle, rotating amount, rotating speed, rotating acceleration or rotating angular speed of the motor may be adjusted) (Yoon – column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to, for each of the one or more pieces of context information: determine according to priority whether the respective piece of the context information meets a specified condition and, based on the specified condition being met, adjust the driving level according to a determined criterion (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 5, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to determine the driving level to be the minimum level among the plurality of levels or adjust the driving level to be a level lower than a current level, based on the one or more pieces of context information including: i) information indicating that a side where the screen area is to be extended or shrunk and a position of a grip on the electronic device are a same side with respect to the electronic device or that the screen area is to be extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device; ii) information indicating that a do-not-disturb mode or a power saving mode is set on the electronic device; or iii) information indicating that a silent mode is set on the electronic device (read as haptic module 179 may convert an electrical signal into a mechanical stimulus (e.g., a vibration or a movement) or electrical stimulus which may be recognized by a user via his tactile sensation or kinesthetic sensation; the haptic module 179 may include a motor) (Yoon – column 7 lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 5, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: determine the driving level to be the minimum level among the plurality of levels or adjust the driving level to be the level lower than the current level based on the one or more pieces of the context information including information indicating that an application using a microphone is in an active state (read as input module 150 may receive a command or data to be used by other component such as processor 120 of the electronic device 101; input module 150 may include a microphone) (Yoon – column 6 lines 18-23); or determine the driving level to be the maximum level among the plurality of levels or adjust the driving level to be a level higher than the current level based on the one or more pieces of the context information including information indicating that an application using a speaker without using the microphone is in an active state (read as input module 150 may receive a command or data to be used by other component such as processor 120 of the electronic device 101; input module 150 may include a microphone) (Yoon – column 6 lines 18-23); or adjust the driving level to be the level lower than the current level based on the one or more pieces of the context information include information indicating that a camera application is in an active state (read as camera module 180 may capture an image or moving images; camera module 180 may include one or more lenses, image sensors, image signal processors, or flashes) (Yoon – column 7 lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 5, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: based on the one or more pieces of the context information including information indicating that a side where the screen area is to be extended or shrunk and a position of a grip on the electronic device is the same side with respect to the electronic device or information indicating that the screen area is to be extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device, drive the motor at a level lower than the determined driving level for a first time period and, based on the first time period, drive the motor at the determined driving level, or drive the motor so that the extension or shrinkage of the screen area occurs on a partial section smaller than an entire possible section (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: based on the one or more pieces of context information including information about a strength of ambient noise around the electronic device, determine the driving level by directly matching to one level among the plurality of levels from the strength of ambient noise (read as in order to block ambient noise and dissipate heat emitted from surrounding heat-emitting component) (Yoon – column 21 lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: based on the one or more pieces of context information including information about a volume set on the electronic device, determine the driving level by directly matching to one level among the plurality of levels from the volume (read as audio output module 155 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 101; audio module 170 may convert a sound into an electrical signal and vice versa; audio module 170 may obtain the sound via the input module 150 or output the sound via the audio output module 155) (Yoon – column 6 lines 24-30, column 6 lines 40-46).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein at least one processor is configured to: determine the driving level based on an input through a volume control bar on the electronic device, wherein the one or more pieces of the context information includes a state of a volume set on the electronic device, and wherein the input is performed within a determined range according to the state of the volume (read as audio output module 155 may output sound signals to the outside of the electronic device 101; audio module 170 may convert a sound into an electrical signal and vice versa; audio module 170 may obtain the sound via the input module 150 or output the sound via the audio output module 155) (Yoon – column 6 lines 24-30, column 6 lines 40-46).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein the flexible display is configured to provide, based on the screen area being extended or shrunk, at least one of text or a graphic indication indicating at least one of a direction in which the screen area is extended or shrunk or the driving level (read as display module 160 may visually provide information to the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 101; display module 101 may include a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuity to control a corresponding one of the display, hologram device, and projector) (Yoon – column 6 lines 31-39).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 1, Yoon further teaches wherein driving the motor to extend or shrink the screen area is prohibited or restricted based on the electronic device being in one state among a lock state, a do-not-disturb mode set state, a kids lock state, and a silent mode set state (read as haptic module 179 may convert an electrical signal into a mechanical stimulus (e.g., a vibration or a movement) or electrical stimulus which may be recognized by a user via his tactile sensation or kinesthetic sensation; the haptic module 179 may include a motor) (Yoon – column 7 lines 6-11).
Regarding claim 15, Yoon teaches a method for controlling driving of a motor in an electronic device (read as electronic device 200) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 1-17) having a flexible display having an externally visible screen area (read as display module 160 may visually provide information to the outside (e.g., a user) of the electronic device 101; electronic device may include a display, a hologram device, or a projector and control circuitry to control) (Yoon – column 6 lines 31-39) extended or shrunk by driving the motor (read as the electronic device 200 may include a housing 210, a sliding plate 220, and a flexible display 230; capable of expanding a screen 2301 in a sliding manner; the screen 2301 may be a display area or an active area that is visible to the outside of the flexible display 230) (Yoon – Figure 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, column 10 lines 63-67, column 11 lines 18-35), the method comprising:
obtaining a request for triggering to drive the motor (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; when a signal is generated through a hardware button or a software button provided through a screen, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or the open state to the closed state) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54);
obtaining one or more pieces of context information related to the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47);
or each of the one or more pieces of the context information, determine according to priority whether the respective piece of the context information meets a condition and, based on the condition being met, adjust a driving level of the motor according to a given criterion (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47);
determine a result of the adjustment as the driving level of the motor (read as motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47); and
drive the motor according to the determined driving level (read as motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor and the rotating direction, rotating angle, rotating amount, rotating speed, rotating acceleration, or rotating angular speed of the motor may be adjusted) (Yoon - column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, Yoon further teaches wherein the one or more pieces of the context information include remaining capacity information of a battery of the electronic device (read as sensor module 176 may detect an operational state (e.g., power) of the electronic device 101 then generate an electrical signal or data value corresponding to the detected state) (Yoon – column 6 lines 47-57).
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, Yoon further teaches wherein the one or more pieces of the context information include at least one of: information about whether the screen area is to be extended or to be shrunk; and information about whether a side where the screen arca is to extended or shrunk and a position of a grip (read as grip sensor) (Yoon - column 6 lines 47-57) on the electronic device is the same side with respect to the electronic device or about whether the screen area is to be extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, Yoon further teaches wherein the adjusting the driving level of the motor according to a given criterion includes: for each piece of context information: a) determine whether the respective piece of the context information meets a first condition; b) based on the first condition being determined to be met, adjust the driving level to a minimum level having a minimum speed or a maximum level having a maximum speed among a plurality of levels from the minimum level to the maximum level; c) based on the first condition being determined not to be met, determine whether the context information meets a second condition; d) based on the second condition being determined to be met, adjust the driving level to at least one lower level or at least one higher level among the plurality of levels; and e) based on a next piece of the context information in priority remaining, repeat a) to d) on a next piece of the context information in priority (read as motor-driving circuity may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor and the rotating direction, rotating angle, rotating amount, rotating speed, rotating acceleration or rotating angular speed of the motor may be adjusted) (Yoon – column 30 lines 25-47).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Yoon further teaches wherein the piece of the context information meeting the first condition includes at least one of: information indicating that a side where the screen area is to be extended or shrunk and a position of a grip on the electronic device is the same side with respect to the electronic device (read as grip sensor) (Yoon - column 6 lines 47-57) or that the screen area is to be extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47); information indicating that a do-not-disturb mode or a power saving mode is set on the electronic device; information indicating that a silent mode is set on the electronic device (read as haptic module 179 may convert an electrical signal into a mechanical stimulus (e.g., a vibration or a movement) or electrical stimulus which may be recognized by a user via his tactile sensation or kinesthetic sensation; the haptic module 179 may include a motor) (Yoon – column 7 lines 6-11); and information indicating that, in the electronic device, an application using a microphone or an application using a speaker without a microphone is in an active state (read as speaker or receiver) (Yoon – column 6 lines 24-30).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 15, Yoon further teaches wherein the driving of the motor includes: based on a side where the screen area is to be extended or shrunk and a position of a grip on the electronic device is the same side with respect to the electronic device or based on the screen area being extended or shrunk at a lower end of the electronic device (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47), driving the motor at a level lower than the determined driving level for a first time period and, based on the first time period, driving the motor at the determined driving level, or driving the motor so that the extension or shrinkage of the screen area occurs on a partial section smaller than an entire possible section (read as when a signal is generated through an input device included in the electronic device 200, the electronic device 200 may be switched from the closed state to the open state or from the open state to the closed state due to a driving device, such as a motor connected to the flexible display 230; motor-driving circuit may control the motor based on a control signal received from a processor; motor-driving circuit may include a motor encoder for detecting the driving state of the motor) (Yoon – column 13 lines 45-54, column 30 lines 25-47).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648