E2E Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This action is in response to the amendment filed 12/19/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 have been amended.
This action is final.
Response to Amendment
In the 12/19/2025 amendment/request for reconsideration, applicant argues, “Grabowski appears to teach a user interface that facilitates searching for BMS devices by a desired variable or fixed parameter and presenting the locations of the requested BMS devices on a user interface. However, Grabowski does not teach issuing, from the user interface, a command to the BMS devices based on a specific condition or location of the BMS devices to initiate a physical identification signal corresponding to a specific state of the BMS devices. Hence, Applicant respectfully submits that Grabowski does not teach or suggest issuing a command to a group of fire alarm system devices based on a specific condition or location of the group of fire alarm system devices, from a fire alarm system control application on a mobile device, to initiate a physical identification signal corresponding to a specific state of the group of fire alarm system devices, as presently recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 16.”
Applicants’ arguments have been considered and the rejection of claims 1-20 set for the under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabowski et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0327293 A1), in the 10/20/2025 non-final rejection, is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The term, “loop” as recited in the amended claims is interpreted in view of applicants’ disclosure.
Loop
[0024] As used herein the term loop means a number of fire alarm system devices that are part of a sub-system of the overall system of a building. A building may have a plurality of loops each comprised of a different set of fire alarm system devices
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being U. S. Patent US 9830806 issued to Cree et al, date published 2017-11-28, hereinafter “Cree.”
With respect to claim 1, Cree teaches a fire alarm system in a building, comprising:
a gateway (Fig. 1, 104, Remote Access Unit) connected to a system control panel (Fig. 1, 102) for allowing mobile device access to the system;
a mobile device (Fig. 1, 110 , mobile device) used by a technician (Fig. , 108) and connected to the control panel (Fig. 1, 102) ;
a fire alarm system control application on the mobile device, wherein the fire alarm control system application gains access to the control panel via the gateway (Fig. 1, 104);
a database
(see Cree, col. 9, lines 37-46… “(48) FIG. 5 is a table 500 illustrating the event data 502 that is serially generated by the control panel 102. (49) In typical implementation, the event data 502 is generated and stored as lines of text in a log file. FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a log file and the generated event data. Typically, the event data includes or specifies a time that the event data was generated, a date the event data was generated, an identification number of a device that was activated, a status of the device that was activated, and a descriptive text associated with the device.” See Cree, col. 3, ln 27-32 –“(19) In one example, the mobile computing device saves the stream of event data to a log file. In another example, the mobile computing device sends the log file and/or stream of event data to a central communication system, which stores the log file and/or stream of event data.” The “log file” is equated with the claimed “database”)
accessible via the fire alarm control system application
(see Cree, col. 3, ln 23-25- “(18) In embodiments, the mobile computing device typically includes an application executing on the mobile computing device, the application bypassing any login screen in response to the mobile computing device receiving new event data from the control panel.”)
wherein location and condition information about a plurality of fire alarm system devices is located, such that a search utility in the fire alarm control system application can search the database and identify a
wherein the fire alarm system control application on the mobile device includes a schematic map depicting an actual layout of a part of the building the technician is traversing and the identified group of fire alarm system devices; and
wherein the fire alarm system control application issues a command
(see Cree, col. 7, ln 25-45 – “(30) The entered command is then sent from the mobile computing device 110 to the remote access unit 104, which forwards the command to the control panel 102. The control panel 102 receives the command and performs the requested action (e.g., the button press). The control panel 102 then sends updated control panel status information to the remote access unit 104, which forwards the updated control panel status information to the mobile computing device 110. Next, the simulated interface is updated to show the updated control panel status information.”
to the group of fire alarm system devices based on the location and condition information of the group of fire alarm system devices to initiate a physical identification signal corresponding to a specific state of the group of fire alarm system devices
(see Cree, col 8, ln 58-67, “(42) The simulated Zone indicators (not shown) generally show the status of different zones or groups of zones in the building 50. For example, a flashing red indicator is an alarm. A steady red indicator shows operated, or if the zone is disabled, a disabled alarm or operate state. A flashing yellow indicator is a fault. And a steady yellow indicator shows a disabled zone. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, these indicators can be configured to convey other non-alarm statuses (e.g., devices need maintenance or repair, low battery, device blocked, to name but a few possibilities).”
See also Cree, abstract: “A system for enabling one person testing and remote control of a fire control panel and generating text-to-speech audio during a walkthrough test of fire alarm system is disclosed. Typically, a technician interacts with a simulated interface displayed on the display of the mobile computing device. In response, commands are generated and sent to the control panel to cause the control panel to perform requested actions. The control panel then sends updated control panel user interface displayed information to the mobile computing device reflecting technician entered commands. Testing of the detection devices on the fire control panel generates event data that is sent to the mobile computing device, which receives the event data and enables a technician to select filtering options. The event data are then parsed to identify keywords and text-to-speech audio is generated for the filtered event data.)
With respect to claim 2, (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes location information about a floor on which each of the plurality of fire alarm system devices is located and the fire alarm control system application search utility includes an ability to search the database and return results based on the location information), Cree teaches that a technician can enters a keyword to search specific wors and/or phrases such as “alarm fault” from the data stored and/or made available from one or more stream of data.
(See Cree, col. 3, ln 27-32 –“for a “log file” that is equated with the claimed “database”
See Cree, col. 9, ln 59 - col 10, ln 8 – “(53) In more detail, FIG. 6A shows the first check box of the interface that controls whether the display 110-d of the computing device 110 stays active to display new events. The second check box is used to enable the text-to-speech audio function in which event data to speech mode is provided. The third check box is used to enable the filtering function of the event data to speech mode. Below, the third check box is a keyword entry region 650 for user entry of keywords. When the user selects the keyword entry region 650, a keyword entry box 652 is displayed as shown in FIG. 6B. Here, the user enters the keywords such as “alarm fault.” In a typical implementation, the technician selects keywords that must be present in the streams of event data in order to generate text-to-speech audio. Alternatively, the keywords may be used to ignore streams of event data.” See also, Cree, Col. 11, ln 32-42 – “(63) Alternatively, or in addition to, the technician may select keywords in order to filter out (i.e., ignore) specific event data in each line. Thus, rather than searching for keywords that must be included in order to generate text-to-speech audio, the filtering options enable event data to be ignored based on the presence of keywords.
(64) In still other embodiments, more filtering options may be available. For example, filtering tools such as word stemming (reducing keywords to their root form), or Boolean logic (e.g., “and”, “or”, “not”) could be used to identify and filter keywords, for example.”
With respect to claim 3 (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes zone information about a plurality of zones within the building each zone having multiple fire alarm system devices and into which each of the plurality of fire alarm system devices is a member of a zone of the plurality of zones and the fire alarm control system application search utility includes an ability to search the database and return results based on the zone information), Cree teaches fire alarm zones, group of zones, their statuses regarding fire alarm related and non-fire alarm related maintenance and other factors such as “low battery” etc.
(see Cree, col 8, ln 58-67, “(42) The simulated Zone indicators (not shown) generally show the status of different zones or groups of zones in the building 50. For example, a flashing red indicator is an alarm. A steady red indicator shows operated, or if the zone is disabled, a disabled alarm or operate state. A flashing yellow indicator is a fault. And a steady yellow indicator shows a disabled zone. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, these indicators can be configured to convey other non-alarm statuses (e.g., devices need maintenance or repair, low battery, device blocked, to name but a few possibilities).”
Claim 4 (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes loop information about a plurality of loops within the building each loop having multiple fire alarm system devices and into which each of the plurality of fire alarm system devices is a member of a loop of the plurality of loops and the fire alarm control system application search utility includes [[the]]an ability to search the database and return results based on the loop information) is rejected under the same rationale as applied to claims 1-2 above.
Claim 5 (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes group information about a plurality of groups within the building each group having multiple fire alarm system devices and into which each of the plurality of fire alarm system devices is a member of a group of the plurality of groups and the fire alarm control system application search utility includes [[the]]an ability to search the database and return results based on the group information) ) is rejected under the same rationale as applied to claims 1-2 above.
With respect to claim 6 (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes service history information for each fire alarm system device, and the fire alarm control system application search utility includes an ability to search the database and return results based on the service history information), Cree teaches that the event data is logged into a history file.
See Cree, col. 9,ln 22-26 – “(46) Next, in step 410, the mobile computing device receives the event data 110, displays it in the display (or screen), and logs the event data into a history file. Typically, this history file is stored in the mobile computing device's non-volatile memory.”
With respect to Claim 7 (the fire alarm system of claim 1, wherein the database includes suggested maintenance timeframe information for each fire alarm system device, and the fire alarm system application search utility includes an ability to search the database and return results based on the suggested maintenance timeframe information), . Cree teaches that a technician can enters a keyword to search specific wors and/or phrases such as “alarm fault” from the data stored and/or made available from one or more stream of data. See the rejection of claim 2 above.
Claim 8. (Currently Amended) A method of identifying a group of fire alarm system devices in a fire alarm system in a building, comprising:
connecting a gateway to a system control panel for allowing mobile device access to the system;
connecting a mobile device used by a technician to the control panel;
opening a fire alarm system control application on the mobile device;
gaining access to the control panel via the gateway;
identifying a group of fire alarm system devices that are in a specific condition or location and wherein the group of fire alarm system devices are identified from a plurality of fire alarm system devices; and
issuing a command to the group of fire alarm system devices based on the specific condition or location of the group of fire alarm system devices, from the fire alarm system control application on the mobile device, to initiate a physical identification signal corresponding to a specific state of the group of fire alarm system devices.
Claim 8, as provided hereinabove, is rejected under the same rationale and for the same reasons as applied to claim 1.
Features that are further limiting claims 9-14 are highlighted below for convenience.
Claim 9. (Original) The method of claim 8, wherein the specific condition is a maintenance condition wherein service is needed.
Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, wherein the specific condition is membership of the group of fire alarm system devices in a group of devices defined within the plurality of fire alarm system devices as having a common characteristic.
Claim 11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, wherein the specific location is wherein thegroup of fire alarm system devices are located in a group of devices at a particular location in a building.
Claim 12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, wherein the specific location is wherein thegroup of fire alarm system devices are located in a group of devices on a particular floor in a building.
Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, wherein the specific location is wherein thegroup of fire alarm system devices are located in a group of devices on a particular loop in a building.
Claim 14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 8, wherein the method includes identifying agroup of fire alarm system devices that are in a specific condition and location and wherein the group of fire alarm system devices air identified from a plurality of fire alarm system devices having different conditions or locations.
With respect to claims 9-14, Cree (in col. 8, lines 57-67) discloses “the status of different zones or groups of zones in the building 50, “ status indicators soch as , a flashing red indicator, a zone that is disabled, and other factors such as non-alarm statuses (e.g., devices need maintenance or repair, low battery, device blocked, to name but a few possibilities).)
(See Cree, col. 8, ln 58-67, “(42) The simulated Zone indicators (not shown) generally show the status of different zones or groups of zones in the building 50. For example, a flashing red indicator is an alarm. A steady red indicator shows operated, or if the zone is disabled, a disabled alarm or operate state. A flashing yellow indicator is a fault. And a steady yellow indicator shows a disabled zone. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, these indicators can be configured to convey other non-alarm statuses (e.g., devices need maintenance or repair, low battery, device blocked, to name but a few possibilities).)
Claim 16. (Currently Amended) A method of identifying a group of fire alarm systemdevices in a fire alarm system in a building, comprising:
connecting a gateway to a system control panel for allowing mobile device access to the system;
connecting a mobile device used by a technician to the control panel;
opening a fire alarm system control application on the mobile device;
gaining access to the control panel via the gateway;
identifying a group of fire alarm system devices that are in a specific condition or location and wherein the group of fire alarm system devices are identified from a plurality of fire alarm system devices;
issuing a command to the group of fire alarm system devices based on the specific condition or location of the group of fire alarm system devices, from the fire alarm system control application on the mobile device, to initiate a physical identification signal corresponding to a specific state of the group of fire alarm system devices; and
wherein the fire alarm system control application on the mobile device includes a schematic map depicting an actual layout of the part of building the technician is traversing and the identified group of fire alarm system devices in the specific state.
Claim 16, as provided hereinabove, is rejected under the same rationale and for the same reasons as applied to claim 1.
Features that are further limiting claims 17-20 are highlighted below for convenience.
Claim 17. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, wherein the method further includes commanding the group of fire alarm system devices, via the mobile application, to show a physical identification signal, viewable by the technician, on thegroup of fire alarm system devices that differentiates the group of fire alarm systemdevices from other of the plurality of fire alarm system devices.
Claim 18. (Original) The method of claim 17, wherein the physical identification signal is a visual indicator.
Claim 19. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, wherein identifying the group of fire alarm system devices that are in a specific condition or location includes identifying multiple particular fire alarm system devices that are in the same specific condition or location and wherein the multiple particular fire alarm system devices are identified from a plurality of fire alarm system devices.
Claim 20. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 16, wherein commanding the group of fire alarm system devices includes commanding at least one of the group of fire alarm system devices, via the mobile application to show a physical identification signal by activating a visual indicator, viewable by a technician, on the commanded at least one fire alarm system device that differentiates the at least one fire alarm system device from other of the plurality of fire alarm system devices.
Claim 17-20 are rejected as being anticipated by Cree.
(See Cree, col. 8, ln 58-67, “(42) The simulated Zone indicators (not shown) generally show the status of different zones or groups of zones in the building 50. For example, a flashing red indicator is an alarm. A steady red indicator shows operated, or if the zone is disabled, a disabled alarm or operate state. A flashing yellow indicator is a fault. And a steady yellow indicator shows a disabled zone. Additionally, in alternative embodiments, these indicators can be configured to convey other non-alarm statuses (e.g., devices need maintenance or repair, low battery, device blocked, to name but a few possibilities).)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132