DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 20150364972 A1) in view of Fujii (JP 2022186580 A).
Claim 1
Ito teaches: An electric work machine (1), comprising:
a power supply device (battery 10);
a first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6);
a second electric component (motor 16);
a first electric wire (43, see. para. 54) connecting the power supply device (battery 10) and the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6);
a second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) connecting the power supply device (battery 10) and the second electric component (motor 16);
a power supply housing (‘battery housing’) accommodating the power supply device (battery 10);
a first housing (rear housing 2, see Fig. 1) accommodating the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) without accommodating the second electric component (motor 16);
a second housing (54 comprised in middle housing 2, see para. 54) accommodating the second electric component (motor 16) without accommodating the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6);
Ito is silent to: and a sheath accommodating the first electric wire and the second electric wire;
The concept of accommodating wires in sheath, such that the sheath has a first end located inside a housing, and a second end located inside an additional housing is known. For example, Fuji teaches an electric work machine (1) comprised of a sheath (84) accommodating a first electric wire (46), a second electric wire (46), and two additional electric wires (46) as illustrated in Fig. 26. The sheath (84) has a first end located inside a housing (92), and a second end located inside an additional housing (13).
It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art of the claimed invention to have a sheath accommodating the first electric wire and the second electric wire. Accommodating wires in a sheath offers advantages in enhanced safety preventing shocks, durability against environmental damage, improved signal integrity, and easier installation/management through an organized assembly.
With the modification of Ito to include a sheath wrapped around it’s wires the remainder of the claim limitations may be taught, such that the sheath (84; Fujii) having a first end located inside the power supply housing (10; Ito), and a second end located inside the first housing (rear housing 2, see Fig. 1; Ito), wherein the second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) extending from the sheath (84; Fujii) is placed in the second housing (54, see para. 54; Ito).
The concept of positioning a sheath comprising of a first and second wire between two housings, and extending one of the wires into a tertiary housing, lacks novelty and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) for the following reasons:
It is well established in the art that electrical or conductive assemblies often employ sheaths or cables containing multiple wires to connect distinct housings or components. The use of a sheath containing multiple conductors for facilitating electrical or mechanical connection between spaced housings is a routine design choice.
Extending one of the wires within a sheath into an additional housing beyond the sheath’ s primary termination points represents predictable and straightforward variation. A PHOSITA would recognize that selectively routing one wire to an additional housing merely involves modifying the termination point of the conductor which is a common adaptation to meet specific circuit or functional requirements.
This configuration does not introduce a new mode of operation or an unexpected result. The function of transmitting signals or power between housings remains the same. The mere extension of one wire from a sheath into another housing does not impart a new or non-obvious structure or function.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to extend a single wire to a third housing (for example Ito’s motor housing 54) to reduce the need for an additional cable assembly, simplify wiring harnesses, and optimize space and cost.
Claim 2/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
the power supply device (battery 10) and the first electric component (LED 26) are arranged in a first direction (rear and front direction as illustrated in Fig. 1), and the second electric component (motor 16) is located between the power supply device (battery 10) and the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) in the first direction (rear and front direction as illustrated in Fig. 1).
Claim 3/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
the second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) extending from the sheath (84; Fujii) is folded (in portion labeled “fold” below) and placed in the second housing (54 comprised in middle housing 2, see para. 54).
Folding a wire inside a housing is a routine and predictable manufacturing practice used to manage excess wire length, maintain compactness, or facilitate positioning for electrical contact. PHOSITA’s are accustomed to folding or routing a second wire extend and fit within spatial constraints. Fujii also demonstrates this in their electric work machine as they illustrate a wire 115 extending from sheath 84 is being folded to meet spatial constraints of their motor assembly 1103.
Therefore, extending a second wire from the sheath, folding it and placing it into the second housing would be obvious to a PHOSITA. A PHOSITA would recognize folding as a space saving, strain relief, and simplified technique that would naturally lead a PHOSITA to fold a wire in this manner.
Claim 4/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, further comprising:
a sheath cover (85; Fujii) accommodating the sheath (84; Fujii) and the second electric wire (38 and 52; Ito) extending outside the sheath (by modification of Fujii similar to wire 115).
Claim 5/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
the sheath (84; Fujii) extends without through the second housing (54 comprised in middle housing 2, see para. 54).
Claim 6/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, but is silent to: wherein
the sheath extends through the second housing.
A sheath configured to extend between two housings is a well-known means for protecting and organizing wires as demonstrated by Fujii. Extending that same sheath further into the second housing represents a predictable extension of an existing configuration. A PHOSITA would recognize that increasing the sheath’s reach to an additional housing is a straightforward modification that does not change its fundamental function of protecting routing the wires between connection points.
A PHOSITA would naturally extend the sheath into the second housing If doing so improved strain relief, protection from external interference, or assembly neatness. Adjusting the sheath’s length or termination point is routine design optimization, and not a novel innovation.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA before the time of the claimed invention to have the sheath extend through the second housing in order to provide continuous environmental protection up until the point of connection, and reduce unshielded wire exposure in an effort to minimize signal loss or mechanical wear.
Claim 7/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first connecting member (34) connecting the power supply housing (‘battery housing’) and the first housing (rear housing 2, see Fig. 1).
Claim 8/7/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 7, wherein
the first connecting member (34) supports the sheath (by way of Fujii ).
Claim 9/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second connecting member (17) connecting the first housing (rear housing 2, see Fig. 1) and the second housing (54 comprised in middle housing 2, see para. 54).
Claim 10/9/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 9, wherein
the second connecting member (17) supports the second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) extending from the sheath (84; Fujii).
Claim 11/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
at least one of the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) or the second electric component (motor 16) is a motor.
Claim 12/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
at least one of the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) or the second electric component (motor 16) is a light.
Claim 13/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
at least one of the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) or the second electric component (motor 16) is a switch operable to activate the motor (16).
Claim 14/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
at least one of the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) or the second electric component (motor 16) is a controller configured to control the motor.
Claim 15/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 1, wherein
the power supply device (battery 10) is a battery connector (via 33) to which a battery (10) is connectable.
Claim 16/15/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 15, wherein
the first electric wire (43, see. para. 54) is a power line through which a drive current flows from the battery (10) to a motor (16).
Claim 17/16/15/1
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 16, wherein
the second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) is a signal line (signal line, see sensor substrate para. 2) through which an electric signal is transmitted from a switch (14) operated to activate the motor (16) to a controller (6) configured to control the motor (16).
Claim 18
Ito teaches: An electric work machine (1), comprising:
a power supply device (battery 10);
a first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6);
a second electric component (motor 16);
a first electric wire (43, see. para. 54) connecting the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) and the second electric component (motor 16);
a second electric wire (38 and 52, see para. 54, and 75, see sensor substrate para. 2) connecting the power supply device (battery 10) and the second electric component (motor 16);
a power supply housing (‘battery housing’) accommodating the power supply device (battery 10);
a first housing (rear housing 2, see Fig. 1) accommodating the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) without accommodating the second electric component (motor 16);
a second housing (54 comprised in middle housing 2, see para. 54) accommodating the second electric component (motor 16) without accommodating the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6);
Ito is silent to: a sheath accommodating the first electric wire and the second electric wire;
The concept of accommodating wires in sheath, such that the sheath has a first end located inside a housing, and a second end located inside an additional housing is known. For example, Fuji teaches an electric work machine (1) comprised of a sheath (84) accommodating a first electric wire (46), a second electric wire (46), and two additional electric wires (46) as illustrated in Fig. 26. The sheath (84) has a first end located inside a housing (92), and a second end located inside an additional housing (13).
It therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art of the claimed invention to have a sheath accommodating the first electric wire and the second electric wire. Accommodating wires in a sheath offers advantages in enhanced safety preventing shocks, durability against environmental damage, improved signal integrity, and easier installation/management through an organized assembly.
With the modification of Ito to include a sheath wrapped around it’s wires the remainder of the claim limitations may be taught, such that the sheath having a first end located inside the second housing, and a second end located inside the first housing, wherein the second electric wire extending from the sheath is placed in the power supply housing.
The concept of positioning a sheath comprising of a first and second wire between two housings, and extending one of the wires into a tertiary housing, lacks novelty and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) for the following reasons:
It is well established in the art that electrical or conductive assemblies often employ sheaths or cables containing multiple wires to connect distinct housings or components. The use of a sheath containing multiple conductors for facilitating electrical or mechanical connection between spaced housings is a routine design choice.
Extending one of the wires within a sheath into an additional housing beyond the sheath’ s primary termination points represents predictable and straightforward variation. A PHOSITA would recognize that selectively routing one wire to an additional housing merely involves modifying the termination point of the conductor which is a common adaptation to meet specific circuit or functional requirements.
This configuration does not introduce a new mode of operation or an unexpected result. The function of transmitting signals or power between housings remains the same. The mere extension of one wire from a sheath into another housing does not impart a new or non-obvious structure or function.
A PHOSITA would have been motivated to extend a single wire to a third housing (for example Ito’s motor housing 54) to reduce the need for an additional cable assembly, simplify wiring harnesses, and optimize space and cost.
Claim 19/18
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 18, wherein
the first electric component (switch 14, or LED 26, or controller 6) and the second electric component (motor 16) are arranged in a first direction (rear and front direction as illustrated in Fig. 1),
Ito is silent to: the power supply device is located between the first electric component and the second electric component in the first direction.
The positioning of a power supply device in this configuration is a routine design choice and represents a predictable variation depending on the electric work machine. For example, Fujii teaches an electric work machine (1), wherein a power supply device 17 is located between a first electric component 11 comprised in a housing 14 and a second electric component trigger 8 located in a housing 2.
It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to configure a power supply device to be located between the first electric component and the second electric component in the first direction. This configuration does not introduce a new mode of operation or an unexpected result. A position change of the power supply source is a design based constraint that does not impart a new or non-obvious function. A PHOSITA would have been motivated to make such a modification to meet specific circuit or functional requirements while optimizing space with user experience in mind.
Claim 20/18
Ito as modified by Fujii teaches: The electric work machine (1) according to claim 18, but is silent to: wherein
the second electric wire extending from the sheath is folded and placed in the power supply housing.
Folding a wire inside a housing is a routine and predictable manufacturing practice used to manage excess wire length, maintain compactness, or facilitate positioning for electrical contact. PHOSITA’s are accustomed to folding or routing wires to fit within spatial constraints. Fujii also demonstrates this in their electric work machine as they illustrate a wire 115 extending from sheath 84 is being folded to meet spatial constraints of their motor assembly 1103.
Therefore, extending a second wire from the sheath, folding it and placing it into the power supply housing would be obvious to a PHOSITA. A PHOSITA would recognize folding as a space saving, strain relief, and simplified technique that would naturally lead a PHOSITA to fold a wire in this manner.
Conclusion
/AHMED F SECK/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834