DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 9, 12, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, in lines 6-7, replace “the first terminal for the first terminal itself” with --the first terminal--.
Regarding claim 9, in line 8, replace “code” with --codes--.
Regarding claim 12, in lines 5-6, replace “the first terminal for the first terminal itself” with --the first terminal--.
Regarding claim 17, in line 8, replace “code” with --codes--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al (US 2022/0279609 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wu discloses a method for information processing, comprising:
receiving first information transmitted by a sending terminal (188th paragraph, the communication device 513B may transmit sidelink control information to communication device 513A), wherein the first information includes identification information (188th paragraph, the sidelink control information may include a destination field, the destination field may include at least a part of the identity of the relay communication device, e.g, communication device 513A) in an adaptation layer protocol data unit (PDU) (194th paragraph, the destination field of the header of the MAC PDU indicates the identity of the communication device 513A. Herein, the MAC PDU includes the encapsulated APAP PDU generated by the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph. The destination field of the sidelink control information and the destination field of the MAC PDU both indicate the identity of the communication device 513A); and
determining whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU based on the identification information (192nd paragraph, the communication device 513A may determine discarding the data or delivering to upper layer based on the sidelink control information. Herein, the data is ADAP PDU encapsulated data from the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph).
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 18, Wu discloses that wherein the identification information comprises at least one of a first user equipment (UE) identifier (ID) (188th paragraph, the sidelink control information may include a destination field, the destination field may include at least a part of the identity of the relay communication device, e.g, communication device 513A) or a first bearer ID in the adaptation layer PDU ().
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 19, Wu discloses that wherein the first information is received by a first terminal from a relay terminal (200th – 201st paragraphs ad Fig. 5D, communication device 513A transmits sidelink control information to the communication device 513C).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Wu discloses that wherein determining whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU based on the identification information comprises: discarding the adaptation layer PDU when the identification information satisfies a first condition, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of: the first UE ID in the adaptation layer PDU is not a UE ID configured for the first terminal for the first terminal itself (134th paragraph, the communication device 510C may determine discarding the data when the sidelink control information does not indicate the identity of the communication device 510C); or the first bearer ID in the adaptation layer PDU is not a bearer ID configured for the first terminal (alternative).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Wu discloses that wherein determining whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU based on the identification information comprises: discarding the adaptation layer PDU when the identification information satisfies a second condition, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of: the first UE ID in the adaptation layer PDU is not a UE ID configured for the relay terminal for a related second terminal (192nd paragraph and Fig. 5D, the communication device 513A may determine discarding the data or delivering to upper layer based on the sidelink control information. Herein, the data is ADAP PDU encapsulated data from the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph); or the first bearer ID in the adaptation layer PDU is not a bearer ID configured for the relay terminal for the related second terminal (alternative).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Wu discloses that wherein the first information is received by a relay terminal from a first terminal (Fig. 5D, communication device 513A, acting as a relay, receives sidelink control information from communication device 513B).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Wu discloses that wherein determining whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU based on the identification information comprises: discarding the adaptation layer PDU when the identification information satisfies a third condition, wherein the third condition comprises: the first UE ID in the adaptation layer PDU is not a UE ID configured for the relay terminal for the first terminal (192nd paragraph and Fig. 5D, the communication device 513A may determine discarding the data or delivering to upper layer based on the sidelink control information. Herein, the data is ADAP PDU encapsulated data from the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses a computer device (Fig. 6), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 6, processor 606);
a memory (227th paragraph, apparatus 600 may include a memory); and
a transceiver (Fig. 6, Tx/Rx circuitry 602 and 604),
wherein the processor, the memory and the transceiver communicate with each other via an internal connection path (Fig. 6);
wherein the memory is configured to store program codes (229th paragraph, instructions stored in memory to be executed by a processor); and
wherein the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cooperate the transceiver to:
receive first information transmitted by a sending terminal (188th paragraph, the communication device 513B may transmit sidelink control information to communication device 513A), wherein the first information includes identification information (188th paragraph, the sidelink control information may include a destination field, the destination field may include at least a part of the identity of the relay communication device, e.g, communication device 513A) in an adaptation layer protocol data unit (PDU) (194th paragraph, the destination field of the header of the MAC PDU indicates the identity of the communication device 513A. Herein, the MAC PDU includes the encapsulated APAP PDU generated by the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph. The destination field of the sidelink control information and the destination field of the MAC PDU both indicate the identity of the communication device 513A); and
determine whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU based on the identification information (192nd paragraph, the communication device 513A may determine discarding the data or delivering to upper layer based on the sidelink control information. Herein, the data is ADAP PDU encapsulated data from the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses a computer device (Fig. 6), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 6, processor 606);
a memory (227th paragraph, apparatus 600 may include a memory); and
a transceiver (Fig. 6, Tx/Rx circuitry 602 and 604),
wherein the processor, the memory and the transceiver communicate with each other via an internal connection path (Fig. 6);
wherein the memory is configured to store program codes (229th paragraph, instructions stored in memory to be executed by a processor); and
wherein the processor is configured to call the program codes stored in the memory to cooperate the transceiver to:
send first information to a receiving terminal (188th paragraph, the communication device 513B may transmit sidelink control information to communication device 513A), wherein the first information includes identification information (188th paragraph, the sidelink control information may include a destination field, the destination field may include at least a part of the identity of the relay communication device, e.g, communication device 513A) in an adaptation layer protocol data unit (PDU) (194th paragraph, the destination field of the header of the MAC PDU indicates the identity of the communication device 513A. Herein, the MAC PDU includes the encapsulated APAP PDU generated by the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph. The destination field of the sidelink control information and the destination field of the MAC PDU both indicate the identity of the communication device 513A), the identification information being used for the receiving terminal to determine whether to discard the adaptation layer PDU (192nd paragraph, the communication device 513A may determine discarding the data or delivering to upper layer based on the sidelink control information. Herein, the data is ADAP PDU encapsulated data from the communication device 513B, 185th paragraph).
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses that wherein the first information is sent by a network device or a first terminal to a relay terminal (Fig. 5D, communication device 513A, acting as a relay, receives sidelink control information from communication device 513B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Xu, Wen (WO 2018/059701 A1.
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Wu discloses the communication device 513A receives sidelink control information from the communication device 513B (Fig. 5D). Wu does not disclose that wherein the first information is received by a relay terminal from a network device. Xu discloses that the control information instructions issued by network apparatus to UEs, including assisting UE, e.g., relay UE, for example, sidelink maintain/discard (page 11, lines 30-31). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving control information from the network for sidelink maintain and/or discard in Wu’s system, as suggested by Xu, to maintain and/or discard sidelink communications among UEs.
Conclusion
Lohr et al (US 2022/0038381 A1), same field of endeavor, discloses discarding RLC SDUs based on conditions (Figs. 7-9).
Chen et al (US 2022/0174783 a1), same field of endeavor, discloses ADAP PDU authentication (Figs. 5-10).
ANH VU H. LY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/ANH VU H LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472