DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 03/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the case.
No claims have been cancelled.
Claim 20 has been added.
Claims 1, 17 and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohanyerenwa et al. (US 2017/0364599 A1, published 12/21/2017, hereinafter “Ohanyerenwa”) in view of Clements et al. (US 2019/0050392 A1, published 02/14/2019, hereinafter “Clements”) and further in view of Vissicaro et al. (US 2018/0047195 A1, published 02/15/2018, hereinafter “Vissicaro”), further in view of Lim et al. (US 2022/0236856 A1, published 07/28/2022, hereinafter “Lim”) and further in view of Bang et al. (US 2008/0256107 A1, published 10/16/2008, hereinafter “Banga”).
Independent Claim 1:
Ohanyerenwa discloses a method comprising:
receiving a selection interaction of selecting a first emoticon to be posted on the profile page of the user via a first input interface (The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123]. Examiner considers the interface used to input the text and emoticons to be the first interface.); and
displaying the selected first emoticon on the profile page of the user (The tagline (which can comprise emoticons) is displayed in the user’s profile, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].),
Ohanyerenwa does not appear to expressly teach a method comprising:
displaying a first input interface for inputting an emoticon to be posted on a profile page of a user;
wherein the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user,
wherein the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message, and
wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Clements teaches a method comprising:
displaying a first input interface for inputting an emoticon (A universal keyboard is provided that can be displayed in different applications, Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. Examiner considers the keyboard interface being displayed in a first application to be a first input interface.);
a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message (The universal keyboard can be displayed in a chat interface (second input interface), Clements: Figs. 2A, ¶ [0132]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa to comprise:
displaying a first input interface for inputting an emoticon;
a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message, as taught by Clement.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide an effective means for inputting text and emoticons into a user interface and to improve the user’s experience by providing a more efficient means for performing actions in different applications (Clements: abstract, ¶ [0002]-[0003], [0011]-[0014].).
In combination, Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements teaches a method comprising:
displaying a first input interface for inputting an emoticon to be posted on a profile page of a user (A universal keyboard is provided that can be displayed in different applications, Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile in a social networking application that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0022], [0123]. Examiner considers the keyboard displayed in the social networking application to be the first input interface.);
a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message (The universal keyboard can be displayed in a chat interface (second input interface), Clements: Figs. 2A, ¶ [0132]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121].)
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein:
the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user,
the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for the second input interface, and
wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Vissicaro teaches a method wherein the input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user (The keyboard enables the user to type text and emojis and comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements wherein the input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user, as taught by Vissicaro.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user quick access to a subset of emojis that the user favors (Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
In combination, Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements and further in view of Vissicaro teaches a method wherein:
the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user (A universal keyboard is provided that can be displayed in different applications, Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The virtual keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044]. The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile in a social networking application that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0022], [0123]. Examiner considers the keyboard displayed in the social networking application to be the first input interface.), and
the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for the second input interface (The universal keyboard can be displayed in a chat interface (second input interface), Clements: Figs. 2A, ¶ [0132]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The virtual keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements and further in view of Vissicaro does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Lim teaches a method wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs (The interface includes a fixed tab region A32 that includes tabs for content designated by the user, wherein the content set may be a content set purchased by the user or downloaded by the user, Lim, Fig. 4, ¶ [0073]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements and further in view of Vissicaro wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, as taught by Lim.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with quick access to a set of emoticons that are of interest to the user (Lim, Fig. 4, ¶ [0073]).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Banga teaches a method wherein an order in which the plurality of tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the historical information of the content of the tabs (The application tabs are sorted (order of the tabs) based on the usage of the apps in each tab (historical information), Bang: ¶ [0041].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim wherein an order in which the plurality of tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the historical information of the content of the tabs, as taught by Bang.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by organize the tabs in such a way that the user has easier access to the content that the user is more likely to interact with (Bang: ¶ [0041].).
In implementing the sorting feature of Bang into the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim, the tabs and the historical information of the content of the tabs (as taught by Bang) would correspond to emoticon tabs and emoticon historical information since the plurality of tabs correspond to emoticons in the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim. Accordingly, in combination, Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang teaches a method wherein an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
Claim 2:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein the historical information is associated with at least one of the user’s recent usage history, favorite history, purchase history, download history, and possession history regarding emoticons (The keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Claim 3:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein each of the first and second input interfaces comprises:
a selection area for displaying an emoticon thumbnail to be selected by the selection interaction (The virtual keyboard that provides text and emoji input is a universal keyboard that presents the same virtual keyboard to different applications (first and second input interfaces), Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard comprises a favorites section (tab area) where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear and are selectable for insertion, Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user quick access to a subset of emojis that the user favors (Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Claim 4:
The rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein in both the first and second input interfaces, tabs in the tab area are provided with same configuration and order (The virtual keyboard that provides text and emoji input is a universal keyboard that presents the same virtual keyboard to different applications (first and second input interfaces), Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard comprises a favorites section (tab area) where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear and includes other sections (tabs) as well, Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044]. Accordingly, in combination the universal keyboard would include the set of tabs in a particular order and configuration and would be the same keyboard displayed in the various applications.).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user quick access to a subset of emojis that the user favors (Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Claim 5:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein:
the profile page of the user comprises a profile background and a profile image (The user’s profile comprises a profile image and a white background (in the embodiment illustrated in Fig. 10), Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].), and
the first emoticon is displayed and posted on at least one of the profile background and the profile image (The tagline with the emoticon is displayed on the white background, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].).
Claim 7:
The rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein in response to the first emoticon being displayed and included in the profile background, the first emoticon is displayed in association with the profile image (The tagline with the emoticon is displayed on the white background and below (in association with) the profile image, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].).
Claim 10:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein in displaying the profile page, the first emoticon is displayed in a modified manner different from a manner in which the first emoticon is displayed in the chat message (The tagline which includes the emoticon is displayed over the background of the profile without any frame surrounding it, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123]. The emoticon is displayed surrounded in a conversation bubble (modified manner), Vissicaro: Fig. 19, ¶ [0037]).
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing a clearer indication of which user inputted the content of a displayed message in a conversation app (Vissicaro: Fig. 19, ¶ [0037]).
Claim 13:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein displaying the first emoticon comprises providing an interface that connects to an emoticon set comprising the first emoticon (The keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (emoticon set), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Claim 20:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method wherein the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed as icon images respectively corresponding to emoticon sets designated by the user through purchasing, downloading, possessing, or receiving a gift (Lim: Fig. 4, ¶ [0073]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim, further in view of Bang, and further in view of Leydon (US 2013/0159919 A1, published 06/20/2013, hereinafter “Leydon”).
Claim 8:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method further comprising:
receiving text information to be posted along with the first emoticon on the profile page of the user (The user can create a tagline with text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].),
wherein in displaying the first emoticon, the text information input to the profile page of the user is displayed along with the first emoticon (The displayed tagline can include text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein in response to receiving the text information being performed before receiving the selection interaction, the first input interface comprises information about at least one recommended emoticon associated with the text information in displaying the first input interface.
However, Leydon appears to teach a method wherein in response to receiving the text information being performed before receiving the selection interaction, the first input interface comprises information about at least one recommended emoticon associated with the text information in displaying a first input interface (The virtual keyboard provides emoticon suggestions based on the text inputted by the user, Leydon: Fig. 6, ¶ [0025], [0032], [0041], [0098].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang wherein in response to receiving the text information being performed before receiving the selection interaction, the first input interface comprises information about at least one recommended emoticon associated with the text information in displaying a first input interface, as taught by Leydon.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with assistance in more efficiently selecting context appropriate emoticons (Leydon: ¶ [0004]).
In implementing the emoticon suggestion feature of Leydon into the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang, the suggested emojis displayed in the virtual keyboard (as taught by Leydon) would correspond to the first input interface of claim 1 since the keyboard that enables the user to input an emoji is a universal keyboard that is displayed to various applications including an application that enables a user to post an emoji on a profile page in the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang. Accordingly, in combination Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Leydon teaches a method wherein in response to receiving the text information being performed before receiving the selection interaction, the first input interface comprises information about at least one recommended emoticon associated with the text information in displaying the first input interface.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim, further in view of Bang and further in view of Jon et al. (US 2017/0075878 A1, published 03/16/2017, hereinafter “Jon”).
Claim 9:
The rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang further teaches a method further comprising:
receiving text information to be posted along with the first emoticon on the profile page of the user (The user can create a tagline with text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].),
wherein in displaying the first emoticon, the text information input to the profile page of the user is displayed along with the first emoticon (The displayed tagline can include text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein in response to receiving the selection interaction being performed before receiving the text information, the text input interface for inputting the text information comprises at least one recommended text information associated with the first emoticon in receiving the text information.
However, Jon appears to teach a method wherein in response to receiving the selection interaction being performed before receiving the text information, the text input interface for inputting the text information comprises at least one recommended text information associated with the first emoticon in receiving the text information (The virtual keyboard provides text suggestions based on the emoji character inputted by the user, Jon: Figs. 6A-6D, ¶ [0197]-[0199].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang wherein in response to receiving the selection interaction being performed before receiving the text information, the text input interface for inputting the text information comprises at least one recommended text information associated with the first emoticon in receiving the text information, as taught by Jon.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with assistance in more efficiently selecting context appropriate text (Jon: Figs. 6A-6D, ¶ [0197]-[0199].).
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, in view of Nasirishargh (US 2022/0236967 A1, published 07/28/2022, hereinafter “Nasirishargh”), further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang.
Independent Claims 17 and 19:
Ohanyerenwa discloses a server comprising:
a memory storing instructions (Ohanyerenwa: Fig.1, ¶ [0113]), and
a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to perform a method comprising (Ohanyerenwa: Fig.1, ¶ [0113]):
receiving a request from a user terminal to post an emoticon on a profile page of a user (The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123]. Examiner considers the user input to enable tagline creation (e.g. an input to edit the user’s profile) to be the request.);
providing the user terminal with a first input interface for inputting an emoticon to be posted on the profile page of the user (The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123]. Examiner considers the interface used to input the text and emoticons to be the first input interface.);
receiving selection information regarding selection of a first emoticon to be posted on the profile page of the user from the user terminal via the first input interface (The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].); and
providing the user terminal with the selected first emoticon on the user’s profile page (Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0123].),
wherein the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user, and
wherein the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message.
Ohanyerenwa does not appear to expressly teach a server and method wherein:
the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user,
the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message; and
wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Clements teaches a server comprising providing a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message (A universal keyboard is provided that can be displayed in different applications, Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The universal keyboard can be displayed in a chat interface (second input interface), Clements: Figs. 2A, ¶ [0132]. The system of Clements may be provided in a distributive system where some portions of the program instructions are provided by the server and some from the user’s device, since the universal keyboard is “optionally” provided by the user’s terminal, Examiner considers its suggested that the universal keyboard could be provided by the server when it is not “optionally” provided by the user’s terminal. Using a server to provide a virtual keyboard and to receiving input via said keyboard and to send output via said keyboard is known in the art. For example, Nasirishargh teaches that the server can provide a virtual keyboard, receive user input via the keyboard and provide output in response to the user input via the keyboard, ¶ [0006]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the server of Clements to provide the virtual keyboard via the server (in the optional embodiment where the keyboard is not provided by the user terminal). One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to offload computing resources from the user’s device.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the server and method of Ohanyerenwa to comprise providing a second input interface for inputting an emoticon to be displayed in a chat message, as taught by Clements in view of Nasirishargh.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to provide an effective means for inputting text and emoticons into a user interface and to improve the user’s experience by providing a more efficient means for performing actions in different applications (Clements: abstract, ¶ [0002]-[0003], [0011]-[0014].).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements and further in view of Nasirishargh does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein:
the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user, and
the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for the second input interface; and
wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Vissicaro teaches a server and method wherein the input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user (The keyboard enables the user to type text and emojis and comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the server and method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements wherein the input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user, as taught by Vissicaro.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user quick access to a subset of emojis that the user favors (Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
In combination, Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh and further in view of Vissicaro teaches a server and method wherein:
the first input interface comprises user custom information associated with emoticon historical information of the user (A universal keyboard is provided that can be displayed in different applications, Clements: Figs. 2A-2B, ¶ [0075]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The virtual keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044]. The user can create a tagline 1008 for their profile in a social networking application that includes text and emoticons, Ohanyerenwa: Fig. 10, ¶ [0022], [0123]. Examiner considers the keyboard displayed in the social networking application to be the first input interface.), and
the user custom information is identical to at least a part of user custom information for the second input interface (The universal keyboard can be displayed in a chat interface (second input interface), Clements: Figs. 2A, ¶ [0132]. The keyboard can enable the user to type an emoji, Clements: ¶ [0121]. The virtual keyboard comprises a favorites section where all of the emojis that the user favorited appear (custom information), Vissicaro: Figs. 17-20, ¶ [0037], [0044].).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh and further in view of Vissicaro does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, and an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Lim teaches a method wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs (The interface includes a fixed tab region A32 that includes tabs for content designated by the user, wherein the content set may be a content set purchased by the user or downloaded by the user, Lim, Fig. 4, ¶ [0073]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh and further in view of Vissicaro wherein a tab area of the first input interface includes a plurality of custom set tabs, as taught by Lim.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by providing the user with quick access to a set of emoticons that are of interest to the user (Lim, Fig. 4, ¶ [0073]).
Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim does not appear to expressly teach a method wherein an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
However, Banga teaches a method wherein an order in which the plurality of tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the historical information of the content of the tabs (The application tabs are sorted (order of the tabs) based on the usage of the apps in each tab (historical information), Bang: ¶ [0041].).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim wherein an order in which the plurality of tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the historical information of the content of the tabs, as taught by Bang.
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve the user’s experience by organize the tabs in such a way that the user has easier access to the content that the user is more likely to interact with (Bang: ¶ [0041].).
In implementing the sorting feature of Bang into the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim, the tabs and the historical information of the content of the tabs (as taught by Bang) would correspond to emoticon tabs and emoticon historical information since the plurality of tabs correspond to emoticons in the invention of Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh, further in view of Vissicaro and further in view of Lim. Accordingly, in combination, Ohanyerenwa in view of Clements, further in view of Nasirishargh, further in view of Vissicaro, further in view of Lim and further in view of Bang teaches a method wherein an order in which the plurality of custom set tabs are displayed in the tab area is determined based on the emoticon historical information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 11, 12, 14, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claims 6 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections of claims 6 and 16 are respectfully withdrawn.
Applicant’s prior art arguments have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2178