Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1,8,9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mullen al. et al (US3694021).
7. Regarding Claim 1, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) for gripping a work piece, see Abstract “
The mechanical hand comprises a base member simulating the palm portion of a human hand with a plurality of finger digits and a thumb digit articulated to the base portion”, comprising: a base(11), Col 4 lines 12-13 “Connected to the base plate 11 are a plurality of finger digit means 12 and a thumb digit means 13”, “at least one middle segment (12B, 12C), Col 4 lines 29-31, “ A first phalanx or joint 12B is pivotally connected to the other end of the metacarpal joint 12A about a connecting pivot pin 16 disposed perpendicular to the pivot 14, Col 4 lines 33-34 “The second phalanx joint 12C is connected to the outer end of the first phalanx joint 12B by a pivot pin 17”, pivotally connected to the base(11); a distal segment(12D), Col 4 lines 35-36 “, and a third or distal phalanx 12D is connected to the outer end of a second or middle phalanx 12C”, pivotally connected to the at least one middle segment; at least one actuator(127), see Fig 5, Col 9 line 229-30 “The power unit 127 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described”, a yoke(131), see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, coupled to the at least one actuator(127) and configured to be moved in opposing directions by the at least one actuator(127); and at least one tendon(128, 128A), see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 34-36 “flexing tendon and restoring tendon”, coupled to the distal segment at two different coupling points(130, 130A) Col 9 lines 34-35 “connected between pin” and coupled to the yoke(131A, 131B),see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 34-37 “one end” and the other end”, wherein the at least one middle segment and the distal segment(12D) are configured to pivot clockwise as the at least one actuator(127) moves the yoke(131) in a first direction and to pivot counterclockwise as the at least one actuator moves the yoke(131) in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 37-42 “Thus depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134 the connected digit 112 is pushed or pulled between a flexed operative position as shown in phantom on FIG. 5 and an extended inoperative position as shown in the solid line showing”.
8. Regarding Claim 8, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 1.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one actuator(127), see Fig 5, Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 127 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described” is configured for linearly moving the yoke(131A, 131). see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 34-36 “flexing tendon and restoring tendon see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-42 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134 the connected digit 112 is pushed or pulled between a flexed operative position as shown in phantom on FIG. 5 and an extended inoperative position as shown in the solid line showing”.
9. Regarding Claim 9, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 1.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one actuator is in the form of at least one fluid powered linear actuator, Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 27 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described except that the piston rod 131 is constructed to extend beyond both cylinders”, see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-40 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus, depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134”. The piston is shown in Fig 5 to move between two fluid ports.
10. Regarding Claim 10, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 9.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one fluid powered linear actuator includes at least one cylinder and at least one piston slideably disposed within the at least one cylinder, Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 27 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described except that the piston rod 131 is constructed to extend beyond both cylinders”, see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-40 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus, depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134”. The piston is shown in Fig 5 to move between two fluid ports. Fig 5 shows atleast one pistons(135) and at least one cylinder(134), slideably disposed within the at least one cylinder.
11. Regarding Claim 12, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 10
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one piston(135) comprises a rod(131) portion coupled to the yoke(131A) such that sliding of the at least one piston(135) within the at least one cylinder(134) causes a corresponding movement of the yoke, see Fig 5, Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 27 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described except that the piston rod 131 is constructed to extend beyond both cylinders”, see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-40 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus, depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134”. The rod portion coupled to the yoke is shown in Fig 5, and depending on the movement of the piston(135) within the cylinder the connected digits(112) is pushed or pulled between operative positions”.
12. Regarding Claim 14, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 1.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one tendon comprises a first tendon coupled to the yoke and the distal segment and a second tendon coupled to the yoke and distal segment, see Fig 3-5 show a first tendon(128) and a second tendon(128A) coupled to the yoke(131) and the distal segment(12D), Col 6 lines 50-54 “The displacement of piston 35 and its rod 31 thus exerts a pull-on tendon 28A causing the associated finger digit 12 to flex as seen in FIG. 4. The finger remains flexed as long as pressure is applied to chamber 37 of cylinder 34. In the flexed position of FIG.4, it will be noted that tendon 28B causes spring 32 to be distended. The operation of the finger digits is such that when a pull is applied to tendon 28A, the respective finger joints are serially activated starting with the distal joint 12D”.
13. Regarding Claim 16, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper array, comprising: a plurality of juxtaposed grippers, see Fig 1, Abstract “The mechanical hand comprises a base member simulating the palm portion of a human hand with a plurality of finger digits and a thumb digit articulated to the base portion”, each of the grippers comprising: a base(11), Col 4 lines 12-13 “Connected to the base plate 11 are a plurality of finger digit means 12 and a thumb digit means 13”, “at least one middle segment (12B, 12C), Col 4 lines 29-31, “ A first phalanx or joint 12B is pivotally connected to the other end of the metacarpal joint 12A about a connecting pivot pin 16 disposed perpendicular to the pivot 14, Col 4 lines 33-34 “The second phalanx joint 12C is connected to the outer end of the first phalanx joint 12B by a pivot pin 17”, pivotally connected to the base(11); a distal segment(12D), Col 4 lines 35-36 “, and a third or distal phalanx 12D is connected to the outer end of a second or middle phalanx 12C”, pivotally connected to the at least one middle segment; at least one actuator(127), see Fig 5, Col 9 line 229-30 “The power unit 127 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described”, a yoke(131), see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, coupled to the at least one actuator(127) and configured to be moved in opposing directions by the at least one actuator(127); and at least one tendon(128, 128A), see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 34-36 “flexing tendon and restoring tendon”, coupled to the distal segment at two different coupling points(130, 130A) Col 9 lines 34-35 “connected between pin” and coupled to the yoke(131A, 131B),see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 34-37 “one end” and the other end”, wherein the at least one middle segment and the distal segment(12D) are configured to pivot clockwise as the at least one actuator(127) moves the yoke(131) in a first direction and to pivot counterclockwise as the at least one actuator moves the yoke(131) in a second direction which is opposite to the first direction, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 37-42 “Thus depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134 the connected digit 112 is pushed or pulled between a flexed operative position as shown in phantom on FIG. 5 and an extended inoperative position as shown in the solid line showing”.
14. Regarding Claim 17, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 16.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one actuator is in the form of at least one fluid powered linear actuator, Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 127 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described except that the piston rod 131 is constructed to extend beyond both cylinders”, see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-40 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus, depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134”. The piston is shown in Fig 5 to move between two fluid ports.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
17. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
18. Regarding Claim 2, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 1.
Mullen et al. does not explicitly disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one tendon comprises a single tendon having an adducting portion coupled to the distal segment, an abducting portion coupled to the distal segment, and a yoke coupling point coupled to the yoke.
19. However, William(US2022/176570) discloses, wherein the at least one tendon(204) comprises a single tendon(204) having an adducting portion coupled to the distal segment, an abducting portion coupled to the distal segment, and a yoke(203) coupling point coupled to the yoke(203), see Figs 7-10 paragraph 25 “ Gripper 200 may include an adducting tendon 202 having a proximal connected to 203. A setscrew 204 may mechanically fasten the proximal of the cable 202 to the yoke”.
20. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with coupling at least one tendon coupled to the distal segment and a yoke coupling point coupled to the yoke to connect the respective components taught by William(US2022/176570) thereby enabling adjustable gripping pressure, providing power actuation means for independent actuation of the gripper and enhancing the efficiency of the gripper, Col 2 line 22-29 “Another object of this invention is to provide a mechanical hand having tendon means for effecting the actuation thereof disposed on opposite side of the joint pivots. Another object of this invention is to provide a mechanical hand having power activating means for effecting the independent actuation of the respective finger and thumb digits”. The Predictable result of combining Mullen gripper and William tendon is because tension applied to tendon is transmitted to the gripper to produce actuation of the gripper in line with the known function of a tendon. See MPEP 2143 Rationale (A), KSR International C. V. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
21. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
22. Regarding Claim 3, Mullen et al. in view of William discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 2.
23. Mullen et al. further discloses the gripper, wherein the yoke(131) coupling point is part of an intermediate portion that is between the adducting portion(128) and the abducting portion(128A), see Fig 5.
24. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
25. Regarding Claim 4, Mullen et al. in view of William discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 2.
26. Williams further discloses the gripper of claim 2, wherein the single tendon(202), see Figs 7-10 paragraph 38, “abducting tendon(202)” is internally disposed within the base(201), see Figs 6-8 paragraph 42 “towards the base” the at least one middle segment(12B, 12C), and the distal segment(12D). See Fig 5. The abducting portion comprises a second end coupled to the distal segment(130A). See motivation statement for claim 2 above.
27. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
28. Regarding Claim 5, Mullen et al. in view of William discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 2.
29. Mullen et al. further discloses the gripper, wherein the adducting portion comprises a first end coupled to the distal segment(130) and the abducting portion comprises a second end coupled to the distal segment(130A), see Fig 5.
30. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
31. Regarding Claim 6, Mullen et al. in view of William discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 2.
Williams further discloses the gripper, further comprising a plurality of pulleys, see Fig 5, paragraph 28 “Although pulley(105) shown as being directly supported by pivot pins”, paragraph 30 “Cable (102) passes over pulleys(109) disposed within each identical segment(120)”, internally disposed within the base(201), see Figs 6-8 paragraph 42 “towards the base” and the at least one middle segment, see Figs 6-8, paragraph 38 “gripper(200) consist of base(201) to which is attached a chain of multiple identical articulated segments(210) and each pulley(105) of the plurality of pulleys(109) is configured for contacting the adducting portion of the single tendon,(202), see paragraph 38 “The abducting tendon(202) may be in form of a cable”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with plurality of pulleys as taught by William(US2022/176570) thereby enabling adjustable gripping pressure, providing power actuation means for independent actuation of the gripper and enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
32. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of William(US2022/176570).
33. Regarding Claim 7, Mullen et al. in view of William discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 2.
34. Williams further discloses the gripper, further comprising a tendon pulley(202) see Figs 7-10, paragraph 38 “abducting tendon” disposed in the base(201), see Figs 6-8 paragraph 42 “towards the base” the abducting portion being wrapped around the tendon pulley(202), see Figs 7-10, paragraph 38 “abducting tendon”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with tendon pulleys as taught by William(US2022/176570) thereby enabling adjustable gripping pressure, providing power actuation means for independent actuation of the gripper and enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
35. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021)
36. Regarding Claim 11, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 10.
Mullen et al. further disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one fluid powered linear actuator includes two cylinders and two pistons respectively disposed within the cylinders., Col 9 line 29-30 “The power unit 27 is similar in construction to that hereinbefore described except that the piston rod 131 is constructed to extend beyond both cylinders”, see Fig 5, Col 9 lines 37 “piston rod”, see Fig 5 Col 9 lines 33-40 “In this embodiment flexing tendon 128 is operatively connected between pin 130 to one end 131A of the piston rod 131. The restoring tendon 128A is connected between pin 130A to the other end 131B of the piston rod 131. Thus, depending upon the direction of movement of the piston 135 within the cylinder 134”. The piston is shown in Fig 5 to move between two fluid ports. Fig 5 shows two pistons(135) and a first cylinder(134) but does not show second cylinder associated with 2 pistons. The second cylinder can be duplicated. Mere duplication of the cylinder has no patentable significance, since a new and unexpected matter cannot be produced, see MPEP 2144.04(vi)9b), In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
37. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to duplicate the cylinder(134) as taught by Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) such that the 2 pistons are respectively associated with the 2 cylinders to meet operational requirements hence improving the efficiency of the gripper.
38. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of Sharma(US20230008971).
39. Regarding Claim 13, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 9.
40. Mullen et al. does not explicitly disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one fluid powered linear actuator comprises a first port and a second port, wherein fluid flow into the first port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the first direction and fluid flow into the second port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the second direction.
41. Sharma discloses a fluid power linear actuator, wherein the at least one fluid powered linear actuator comprises a first port and a second port, wherein fluid flow into the first port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the first direction and fluid flow into the second port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the second direction, see Fig 1-3, Claim 7, paragraph 40 “The present disclosure related to methods and systems relating to improvements in reliability of fluid power actuators, the fluid power actuators including single acting linear actuators”, paragraph 44 “Further, the first end 340 of the hollow tie rod 335 is coupled to a first port T1, wherein the first port T1 is configured for feeding a pressurized fluid through hollow tie rod 335 into a volume A in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurized fluid from the volume A between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325”, paragraph 46 “Further, in one embodiment of the present disclosure, the first end cap 315 comprises a second port T2 configured for feeding the pressurised fluid into a volume B in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurised fluid from the volume B between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325”, paragraph 58 “ FIG. 5A illustrates a rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator with internal hollow tie rod in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. Similar to the linear power actuators, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A comprises an actuator body 505 having a cylindrical cavity 510, a first end cap 515, a second end cap 520, a piston 525 with a piston rod 530, and a hollow tie rod 535. In addition, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A includes a yoke module 575 for converting a linear motion to a rotary motion of a yoke in one of a clockwise direction and an anti-clockwise direction”.
42. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with linear actuator taught by Sharma(US20230008971) thereby creating a double-acting, self-articulating finger that can conform around different workpiece, hence enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
43. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen et al. (US3694021) in view of Wingate et al.(4055070).
44. Regarding Claim 15, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim .
45. Mullen et al. does not explicitly disclose a gripper(10), wherein the at least one actuator is internally disposed within the base.
46. Wingate et al. discloses an actuator, wherein the at least one actuator is internally disposed within the base, see Fig 2 and Fig 4, disclosed is an actuator(92) internally disposed within the base(22), Col 3 lines 40-43 “The actuator 92 includes three wheels 93 rotatably disposed within the actuator housing and equally spaced about shaft 86 and in contact therewith”
47. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with actuator taught by Wingate et al.(4055070) thereby creating a double-acting, self-articulating finger that can conform around different workpiece, hence enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
48. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of Sharma(US20230008971).
49. Regarding Claim 18, Mullen et al. discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 17.
50. Mullen et al. does not explicitly disclose a gripper(10), wherein each fluid powered linear actuator respectively comprises a first port and a second port, wherein fluid flow into the first port causes the fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the first direction and fluid flow into the second port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the second direction.
51. Sharma discloses a fluid power linear actuator, wherein each fluid powered linear actuator respectively comprises a first port and a second port, wherein fluid flow into the first port causes the fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the first direction and fluid flow into the second port causes the at least one fluid powered linear actuator to move the yoke in the second direction, see Fig 1-3, Claim 7, paragraph 40 “The present disclosure related to methods and systems relating to improvements in reliability of fluid power actuators, the fluid power actuators including single acting linear actuators”, paragraph 44 “Further, the first end 340 of the hollow tie rod 335 is coupled to a first port T1, wherein the first port T1 is configured for feeding a pressurized fluid through hollow tie rod 335 into a volume A in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurized fluid from the volume A between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325”, paragraph 46 “Further, in one embodiment of the present disclosure, the first end cap 315 comprises a second port T2 configured for feeding the pressurised fluid into a volume B in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurised fluid from the volume B between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325”, paragraph 58 “ FIG. 5A illustrates a rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator with internal hollow tie rod in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. Similar to the linear power actuators, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A comprises an actuator body 505 having a cylindrical cavity 510, a first end cap 515, a second end cap 520, a piston 525 with a piston rod 530, and a hollow tie rod 535. In addition, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A includes a yoke module 575 for converting a linear motion to a rotary motion of a yoke in one of a clockwise direction and an anti-clockwise direction”.
52. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with linear actuator taught by Sharma(US20230008971) thereby creating a double-acting, self-articulating finger that can conform around different workpiece, hence enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
53. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Mullen al. et al. (US3694021) in view of Sharma(US20230008971).
54. Regarding Claim 19, Mullen et al. in view of Sharma discloses a gripper(10) and all the limitations of Claim 18.
55. Mullen et al. does not explicitly disclose a gripper array(10), further comprising a first fluid passage fluidly coupled to the first port of each fluid powered linear actuator and a second fluid passage fluidly coupled to the second port of each fluid powered linear actuator.
56. Sharma discloses a fluid power linear actuator, further comprising a first fluid passage fluidly coupled to the first port of each fluid powered linear actuator and a second fluid passage fluidly coupled to the second port of each fluid powered linear actuator, see Fig 1-3, Claim 7, paragraph 40 “The present disclosure related to methods and systems relating to improvements in reliability of fluid power actuators, the fluid power actuators including single acting linear actuators”, paragraph 44 “Further, the first end 340 of the hollow tie rod 335 is coupled to a first port T1, wherein the first port T1 is configured for feeding a pressurized fluid through hollow tie rod 335 into a volume A in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurized fluid from the volume A between the second end cap 320 and the piston 325”, paragraph 46 “Further, in one embodiment of the present disclosure, the first end cap 315 comprises a second port T2 configured for feeding the pressurised fluid into a volume B in the cylindrical cavity 310 between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325, and for draining the pressurised fluid from the volume B between the first end cap 315 and the piston 325”, paragraph 58 “ FIG. 5A illustrates a rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator with internal hollow tie rod in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. Similar to the linear power actuators, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A comprises an actuator body 505 having a cylindrical cavity 510, a first end cap 515, a second end cap 520, a piston 525 with a piston rod 530, and a hollow tie rod 535. In addition, the rotary scotch yoke double acting fluid power actuator 500A includes a yoke module 575 for converting a linear motion to a rotary motion of a yoke in one of a clockwise direction and an anti-clockwise direction”.
57. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to utilize Mullen et al. (US3694021) gripper with linear actuator taught by Sharma(US20230008971) thereby creating a double-acting, self-articulating finger that can conform around different workpiece, hence enhancing the efficiency of the gripper.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL T KIO whose telephone number is (571)270-0743. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8a.m -5 p.m. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert W Hodge can be reached at 571-272-2097. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MTK./
Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654