DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 15, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited section of Banabic discloses which fault is to be injected, rather than whether a fault is to be injected at all, and therefore Banabic does not disclose or make obvious the feature of “performing processing to determine whether to inject a fault for the call at the fault location associated with the call”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claim language does not appear to preclude the fault exploration logic of Banabic. The claimed determination is for “whether to inject a fault for the call at the fault location associated with the call”. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim includes a decision as to whether a fault is to be injected at the particular call and associated location.
The Examiner notes that the new limitation on the determining step, “wherein determining if the fault is to be injected for the call comprises identifying, based upon the historical fault injection data, a set of one or more faults previously injected for the call and determining if another fault is to be injected based upon the set of one or more faults”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, appears to include the behavior of Banabic’s fault exploration where new faults are only injected for a call if the corresponding part of the fault space has not been exhausted. Given the additional limitation on the determination in the amended claims, more detail is provided to the mapping of the determination with the exploration of Banabic in this Office action.
In the interview conducted May 19, 2026, Examiner acknowledged that Banabic teaches a search method which does not exhaustively explore the fault space, and teaches away from an exhaustive search for being inefficient. Applicant argues that, in line with the interview, the new limitation “wherein determining if the fault is to be injected for the call comprises identifying, based upon the historical fault injection data, a set of one or more faults previously injected for the call and determining if another fault is to be injected based upon the set of one or more faults” supports fully searching the fault space. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The present claim language does not appear to limit whether all possible faults are to be fully explored in the manner discussed in the interview, and merely indicates that there is some determination made as to whether to continue injecting faults for the call. With respect to this limitation, Examiner notes the “aging” mechanism described on page 4 of Banabic, where old tests are retired and stop producing offspring. The claim language as written appears to read on the fault exploration method described by Banabic; whether there are tests for a call remaining in the test queue determines whether new faults will be injected to that call.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banabic et al. (NPL, Fast Black-Box Testing of System Recovery Code), hereinafter Banabic, in view of Marinescu et al. (NPL, LFI: A Practical and General Library-Level Fault Injector), hereinafter Marinescu.
Regarding claim 1, Banabic teaches:
A computer-implemented method, comprising:
intercepting, during execution of a software component being tested (CBT) by a processor (Page 9 Experimental Platform describes the processors used), a call invoked by the CBT during execution of the CBT (Page 9 Fault Space Definition Methodology paragraph 2, the LFI injector is used to inject error returns into calls made to functions in the standard C library libc.so), the CBT comprising one or more instructions executable by the processor (Page 9 Fault Space Definition Methodology, The CBT is the C library);
determining context information for the call, the context information comprising information identifying a fault location associated with the call (Pages 5 and 6 Injection Point Precision, the system chooses an injection point for faults, which includes the specific location in the program to inject them);
performing processing to determine whether to inject a fault for the call at the fault location associated with the call, the processing comprising, based on historical fault injection data stored for the CBT and the context information determined for the call, determining if a fault is to be injected for the call (Page 3 section 3 Fault Exploration, the fault injector explores the fault space to determine what faults in a fault space are to be injected. Page 4 notes that old faults are retired from a priority queue into a fault History to “avoid redundant re-execution of already evaluated tests”, and that these old test cases never have offspring. Page 4 further describes not exploring parts of the fault space that would not yield high-impact results. Therefore there are faults that are determined by the fault exploration algorithm AFEX to be not useful to inject, due to redundancy or low impact. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims includes the determinations regarding these faults; Page 4 Algorithm 1, this determination considers the history of all previously executed tests, and the identity of the context information for the call represented by ϕ), wherein the historical fault injection data stored for the CBT includes data for previously injected faults for the CBT (The history in Algorithm 1) and historical fault context information, wherein the historical fault context information comprises, for at least one previously injected fault, information identifying a location in the CBT at which the previously inject fault was injected and information identifying any arguments for the previously injected fault (The history and priority queue in Algorithm 1 store the identifiers for previously injected faults; Page 2, the identifiers consist of a vector of attributes for the faults, including the call the fault was injected at), and wherein determining if the fault is to be injected for the call comprises identifying, based on the historical fault injection data, a set of one or more faults previously injected for the call and determining if another fault is to be injected based upon the set of one or more faults (In Algorithm 1, faults that have been previously injected are either in the history, or the priority queue. As per the description on Page 4, old tests moved from the priority queue to the history can never have offspring. Depending on where the previous faults for a call are in these two data structures, a fault either is determined to be injected (At least one fault corresponding to the call is chosen from the priority queue), or determined not to be injected (All faults corresponding to the call are in the History and cannot be chosen to produce a new fault). Based on the state of the previously injected faults, whether that part of the fault space is to be explored, i.e., whether to inject a new fault for that call, is determined);
in response to determining that a fault is to be injected, identifying a particular fault to be injected and injecting the particular fault at the fault location (Algorithm 1, the new fault is added to the pending queue of tests awaiting execution; Page 4 left column, the new test is executed).
Banabic does not explicitly teach that the context information for the call comprises information identifying arguments provided as input to the call (Although implied by Figs. 3 – 5 on Page 8, Banabic does not explicitly explain the fields of the fault space), nor does it teach, in response to determining that a fault is not to be injected, invoking a library implementation corresponding to the call (Banabic focuses on the scenario where a fault is to be injected. Although it can be reasoned that a library implementation is invoked, Banabic does not explicitly recite this scenario).
Marinescu teaches LFI, the fault injector used by Banabic. Marinescu teaches that, in LFI, the context information for the call comprises information identifying arguments provided as input to the call (Page 383, Fault Injection Scenarios, a fault trigger modifies an argument of the function. Because Banabic uses LFI, it follows that the fault space and fault parameters include this information), and in response to determining that a fault is not to be injected, a library implementation corresponding to the call is invoked (Page 384, Interception Mechanisms example code stub, if the eval_trigger returns false, determining that the fault is not to be injected, the original library function is invoked).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention that the context information would comprise arguments provided as input to the call, and that, if a fault is not to be injected, a library implementation corresponding to the call would be invoked. It would be obvious because Banabic directly cites Marinescu as the fault injector it is based on (Banabic page 3 Fig. 1, and Page 9 Fault Space Definition Methodology, the base fault space is created by LFI). It would be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fault space would contain the faults provided by LFI, and that any information on LFI not described in Banabic may be found in Marinescu, including what the context information includes and whether the original library implementation should be invoked.
Regarding claim 2, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the context information identifies a function or a workflow that caused the call to be invoked (Banabic page 6 left column, the injection point is partially defined by the cardinality of the call and the test from the test suite).
Regarding claim 3, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein:
performing processing to determine whether to inject the fault comprises selecting a particular fault to be injected based upon the historical fault injection data for a combination of the call and associated particular context (Banabic Algorithm 1 line 12, if the fault to be injected has already been called, based on its identifier/context, then it is not added to the queue of faults to inject); and
injecting the fault at the fault location during execution of the CBT comprises injecting the selected particular fault into the CBT by providing the selected particular fault to the CBT as a response to the call (Banabic page 2 Fault Space, returning an error code to a call is one type of fault that can be injected; Marinescu page 384 stub code, the interceptor returns a modified return code to the call).
Regarding claim 4, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein selecting the particular fault comprises:
determining, based on the historical fault injection data, a particular type of fault that has not been previously injected for the combination (Banabic Algorithm 1 lines 6 – 12, the algorithm generates a new fault by changing one attribute of a previous fault in the priority queue, making it a new type of fault for the combination. Line 12 checks to determine if the fault has not been previously injected); and
selecting the particular fault for injection to be of the particular type of fault (Banabic Algorithm 1 lines 13, the fault is added to the pending queue).
Regarding claim 5, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 3, wherein selecting the particular fault comprises selecting a default type (Banabic page 9 Fault Space Definition Methodology, the fault space is defined by the default test suites of the test targets) or a customized fault type, and wherein the customized fault type is using configuration information provided to a computing system (Banabic page 5 Leveraging Domain Knowledge, the system can instead use existing knowledge on what tests are effective to select tests).
Regarding claim 6, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 5, wherein:
intercepting the call from the CBT is performed by a dynamic proxy handler of the computing system that is configured to intercept the call, obtain the context information, and inject the select particular fault into the CBT (Marinescu page 384, LFI intercepts calls, checks the context, and injects the fault);
determining whether the fault is to be injected is performed by a fault driver of the computing system that is configured to select the particular fault for injection into the CBT (AFEX, the system of Banabic selects what faults are to be injected; Banabic Page 7 Fig. 2 shows the AFEX Explorer).
Regarding claim 7, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the fault is to be injected comprises determining whether to inject multiple faults sequentially or at least partially in parallel (Banabic page 9 Fault Space Definition Methodology, although the evaluation of the system is limited to single-fault scenarios, AFEX is capable of exploring a fault space which contains multi-fault scenarios; Marinescu page 386 6.4 Performance Overhead, LFI can simultaneously perform fault injection on multiple calls).
Regarding claim 8, Banabic teaches a system comprising one or more processors (Page 9 Experimental Platform, the CPUs used to run the experiments); and
a memory couple to the one or more processors, the memory storing a plurality of instructions executable by the one or more processors, the plurality of instructions comprising instructions executable by the one or more processors to cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Page 9 Experimental Platform, the RAM and HDD).
Claims 8 – 14 otherwise recite similar language to claims 1 – 7, and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15, Banabic teaches a non-transitory computer-readable memory storing a plurality of instructions executable by one or more processors, the plurality of instructions comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Page 9 Experimental Platform, the CPUs, RAM, and HDD used to run the experiments).
Claims 15 – 19 otherwise recite similar language to claims 1, 3, 4, and 5, and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, Banabic in view of Marinescu teaches the non-transitory computer-readable memory of claim 10, wherein the configuration is specific for a fault injection system for controlling faults, at a CBT-level (Banabic page 5 Leveraging Domain Knowledge, the existing knowledge on the system being tested is used to determine which tests to first select), that are injected by the fault injection system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.P.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114