DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 3/19/2024.
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of Application No. KR10-2023-0036710, filed on 3/21/2023 has been received.
3. Claims 1-15 are pending in the case. Claims 1 and 9 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, and 12 recite the limitation “the magnitude ratio of the CIR”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no earlier recitation of “a magnitude ratio of CIR”.
Claims 4, and 12 recite the limitation “the first beam pattern”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no earlier recitation of “a first beam pattern”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the first beam pattern” and “the second beam pattern”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no earlier recitation of “a first beam pattern” and “a second beam pattern”.
Claim 13 recite the limitation “first segment of the signal” and “second segment of the signal”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation since there is no earlier recitation of “a first segment of the signal” and “a second segment of the signal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the antenna is configured by connecting a plurality of antennas having identical beam patterns”. However, independent claim 9 which claim 15 depends on recites, “an antenna configured to form a plurality of different beam patterns” which appears to contradict dependent claim 15. As such, dependent claim 15 does not appear to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis et al, U.S. Patent Publication No.20200088869, filed on 9/18/2018 (hereinafter Pefkianakis) in view of OPSHAUG , US Patent Publication No.20190320408, filed on 10/17/2019 (hereinafter OPSHAUG).
For independent Claim 1, Pefkianakis discloses a method comprising:
Receiving a signal from a target device through at least one antenna configured to form
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware; Pefkianakis paragraph [0056] discloses a wireless AP receives CIR measurements for a plurality of directional beams used to exchange wireless communications between the AP and a client device; Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses mmWave signal as RF signal used to determine CIR measurement. Directional beam refers to a short pulse or impulse is transmitted through the channel, and the response is observed at the receiver.)
obtaining a channel impulse response (CIR) of the received signal for each of the plurality of beam patterns; and
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware; Pefkianakis paragraph [0056] discloses a wireless AP receives CIR measurements for a plurality of directional beams used to exchange wireless communications between the AP and a client device; Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses mmWave signal as RF signal used to determine CIR measurement.)
finding the direction of the target device based on the CIR.
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware; Pefkianakis paragraph [0056] discloses a wireless AP receives CIR measurements for a plurality of directional beams used to exchange wireless communications between the AP and a client device; Pefkianakis paragraph [0057] discloses for each individual beam in the plurality of directional beams, determining a respective amplitude of a LOS path between the AP and the client device based on a portion of the CIR measurements that corresponds to the individual beam; Pefkianakis paragraph [0041] discloses the angle identifier selects the direction specified by the azimuth elevation coordinates of the centroid as the estimate for the direction of the LOS path.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose an antenna configured to form a plurality of different beam patterns. However, OPSHAUG discloses an antenna configured to form a plurality of different beam patterns (conventional multiple-beam antenna).
(OPSHAUG paragraph [0070] In a 5G network, antenna 202 may be configured to transmit a number of beams, with each beam having a different angle of departure (e.g., different angles of elevation and/or of azimuth) and targeted at a pre-determined geographical region.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine OPSHAUG with Pefkianakis for the benefit of having an antenna capable of forming a plurality of beam patterns. The motivation to combine to have an antenna that is capable to form a plurality of beam patterns for the benefit of cost saving in field configuration.
As for Claim 2, limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the finding of the direction of the target device includes finding the direction of the target device by comparing magnitudes of CIRs corresponding to different beam patterns.
(Pefkianakis Fig. 2 show the component of the Access point (AP) with a driver and firmware components. Pefkianakis paragraph [0025] discloses the firmware collects Channel Impulse Response (CIR) measurements for wireless communications exchanged between the AP and the client device. The driver sanitizes the CIR measurements for the directional beams supported by the AP. Next, upon analyzing the CIR measurements, the driver extracts the LOS path for each beam and excludes non-LOS (NLOS) paths from strong reflectors. Next, the driver selects a subset of the beams that strongly amplify the LOS path. Pefkianakis paragraph [0041] discloses the angle identifier selects the direction specified by the azimuth elevation coordinates of the centroid as the estimate for the direction of the LOS path. In the current invention, the description for the magnitude ratio of CIRs may be clearly distinguished according to an incident angle of a signal. Broadest reasonable interpretation views the incident angle to be the same as the angle of arrival discloses by the angle identifier.)
As for Claim 3, limitations of claim1 and claim 2 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the finding of the direction of the target device includes:
obtaining a magnitude ratio of a CIR corresponding to a second beam pattern to a CIR corresponding to a first beam pattern;
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR.)
obtaining an incident angle of a signal corresponding to the obtained magnitude ratio; and
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR. Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] discloses an AP is communicating with a wireless client device, the beams with relatively high signal strength are more likely to be aligned with the direction of the Line-of-Sight (LOS) wireless propagation path between the AP and the device. Through techniques described herein, the mWaveLoc system can use beams identified through the beamforming process to help find the direction of the LOS path and the position of the device. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] FIG. 1 illustrates an environment in which a mWaveloc system can be implemented, according to one example. As shown, the environment includes a wireless access point (AP) and a client device. A driver and firmware execute on the AP. The direction of an LOS path between the AP and the client device can be quantified in spherical coordinates by an azimuth 140 and an elevation 150. Pefkianakis paragraph [0024] discloses the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
determining the direction of the target device based on the incident angle of the signal.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0064] discloses the direction of the LOS path is represented by an azimuth coordinate of the centroid and an elevation coordinate of the centroid. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023]-[0024] discloses FIG.1 illustrated the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
As for Claim 4, limitations of claim 2 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the finding of the direction of the target device includes:
obtaining the magnitude ratio of the CIR corresponding to the second beam pattern to the CIR
corresponding to the first beam pattern with respect to each of direct waves and reflected waves of the signal;
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware. Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of the CIR.)
obtaining an incident angle of each of the direct waves and the reflected waves
based on the obtained magnitude ratio; and
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] discloses an AP is communicating with a wireless client device, the beams with relatively high signal strength are more likely to be aligned with the direction of the Line-of-Sight (LOS) wireless propagation path between the AP and the device. Through techniques described herein, the mWaveLoc system can use beams identified through the beamforming process to help find the direction of the LOS path and the position of the device; Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] FIG. 1 illustrates an environment in which a mWaveloc system can be implemented, according to one example. As shown, the environment includes a wireless access point (AP) and a client device. A driver and firmware execute on the AP. The direction of an LOS path between the AP and the client device can be quantified in spherical coordinates by an azimuth 140 and an elevation 150. Pefkianakis paragraph [0024] discloses the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
determining a position of the target device corresponding to a combination of
incident angles of the direct waves and the reflected waves.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0064] discloses the direction of the LOS path is represented by an azimuth coordinate of the centroid and an elevation coordinate of the centroid. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023 -[0024] discloses FIG.1 illustrated the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
As for Claim 5, limitations of claim 1 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the receiving of the signal from the target device includes:
receiving a first segment of the signal in a state in which a first beam pattern is formed in the at least one antenna;
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point with an antenna. Pefkianakis paragraph [0047] discloses FIG.3 plot 310a shows a curve 311a for a first beam as determined by CIR measurements for the first beam. As shown, the curve 311a includes local maximum 312a, local maximum 313a, and local maximum 314a (which is the highest local maximum for curve 311a). Curve 311a also includes other local maxima that represent noise.)
changing the second beam pattern to be formed in the at least one antenna based on completion of reception of the first segment; and
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point (AP) with an antenna, and a driver. Pefkianakis Paragraph [0029] discloses to estimate the LOS path, the driver can leverage two specific properties of mmWave channels: channel sparsity and beam-independent path extraction. Pefkianakis Paragraph [0029] While changing beam patterns at a transmitter leads to different CIR measurements at a receiver, the underlying signal paths traversed by the different beams is the same. Typically, the amplitudes of CIR measurements for beams whose radiation patterns overlap more favorably with those signal propagation paths will be higher than the amplitudes for beams whose radiation patterns focus in other directions.)
receiving a second segment of the signal in a state in which the second beam pattern is formed in the at least one antenna.
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point with an antenna. Pefkianakis paragraph [0048] discloses similarly, plot 320a shows a curve 321a for a second beam as determined by CIR measurements for the second beam. As shown, the curve 321a includes local maximum 322a, local maximum 323a (which is the highest local maximum for curve 320a), and local maximum 324a. Curve 321a also includes other local maxima that represent noise.)
As for claim 8, claim 8 reflects article of manufacture comprising computer executable instructions for implementing method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0055] FIG. 5 illustrates functionality 500 for an AP as described herein, according to one example. The functionality 500 may be implemented as a method or can be executed as instructions on a machine (e.g., by one or more processors), where the instructions are included on at least one computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a transitory or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis in view of Opshaug in view of CHOO, Korean Patent Publication No. KR101803208B1, published on 12/28/2017 (hereinafter CHOO)
As for Claim 6, Pefkianakis claim 1 discloses a method comprising:
wherein the antenna includes an antenna including a plurality of feed.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] For example, mmWave devices use phased array antennas to focus RF energy through directional beams (i.e., beamforming), thereby compensating for the attenuation loss that occurs in high frequency (60 GHz) bands.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose plurality of feed points formed in one radiator). However, CHOO discloses a plurality of feed points formed in one radiator (a single radiator with multi-feeding).
(CHOO, Abstract page 1, discloses the present invention relates to a beam steering antenna using multiple power feed of a single radiator. According to the present invention, the beam steering antenna includes: a dielectric substrate having a predetermined specific inductive capacity)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CHOO with Pefkianakis and Opshaug for the benefit of having a radiator with plurality of feeding points to form a plurality of beam patterns. The benefit to have plurality of beam patterns to capture CIR measurements to accurately determine the direction finding of client device. The motivation for having multiple feeds is to reduce hardware requirements to set up beam patterns, therefore, a cost saving benefit.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis in view of Opshaug in view of Neinhues, US Patent Application No. 20170310003, filed on 3/10/2017 (hereinafter Neinhues).
As for Claim 7, Pefkianakis discloses the method of claim1,
wherein the antenna is configured by connecting a plurality of antennas having identical beam patterns
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0029] Typically, the amplitudes of CIR measurements for beams whose radiation patterns overlap more favorably with those signal propagation paths will be higher than the amplitudes or beams whose radiation patterns focus in other directions.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose a method comprising the access point (AP) capable of performing a 180-degree hybrid module, and a sum pattern and a delta pattern. Pefkianakis discloses while changing beam patterns at a transmitter leads to different CIR measurements at a receiver the underlying signal paths traversed by the different beams is the same. However, Neinhues discloses the method comprising a 180-degree hybrid module, and a sum pattern and a delta pattern.
(Neinhues Fig.2 discloses the antenna array 2 is formed by a two-element array. The antenna array 2 comprises in the illustrated embodiment two antenna elements 3-1, 3-2 connected to a 180-degree hybrid circuit 4 as shown in FIG. 2. The 180-degree hybrid 4 comprises a first output 5-1 and a second output 5-2. The 180-degree hybrid 4 is adapted to generate an inphase summation signal Σ and an out-of-phase summation signal Δ of the two antenna signals received from the two antenna elements 3-1, 3-2. The antenna array 2 forms a linear two-element antenna array connected to the 180-degree hybrid circuit 4. Neinhues page 5, line 7-10 discloses a further possible embodiment of the directional antenna module according to the first aspect of the present invention, the antenna array comprises antenna elements formed by loaded loop antennas arranged in front of a reflector plate and used in a first frequency range.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Neinhues with Pefkianakis and Opshaug for the benefit of having 180-degree hybrid, a sum pattern, and a delta pattern of the identical beam pattern. Neinhues discloses the at least one frequency range for input into feed 7-1 and 7-2, with the identical frequency, the output will be two identical beam patterns. The motivation to combine further improve an ability to dynamically change beam patterns within the antenna array region.
Claims 9- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis in view of OPSHAUG .
For independent Claim 9, Pefkianakis discloses an electronic device for finding a direction using a difference between antenna beam patterns, the electronic device comprising:
an antenna configured to form
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware. Pefkianakis paragraph [0056] discloses a wireless AP receives CIR measurements for a plurality of directional beams used to exchange wireless communications between the AP and a client device.)
a memory configured to store a program therein for performing direction finding; and
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0055] FIG. 5 illustrates functionality for an AP as described herein, according to one example. The functionality may be implemented as a method or can be executed as instructions on a machine (e.g., by one or more processors), where the instructions are included on at least one computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a transitory or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).
at least one processor, wherein, based on receiving a signal from a target device through the antenna, the processor is configured to obtain a channel impulse response (CIR) of the received signal for each of the plurality of beam patterns, and find the direction of the target device based on the CIR.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0055] FIG. 5 illustrates functionality for an AP as described herein, according to one example. The functionality may be implemented as a method or can be executed as instructions on a machine (e.g., by one or more processors), where the instructions are included on at least one computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a transitory or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware. Pefkianakis paragraph [0056] discloses a wireless AP receives CIR measurements for a plurality of directional beams used to exchange wireless communications between the AP and a client device. Pefkianakis paragraph [0057] discloses for each individual beam in the plurality of directional beams, determining a respective amplitude of a LOS path between the AP and the client device based on a portion of the CIR measurements that corresponds to the individual beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0026] discloses the driver is also configured to determine the distance between the AP and the client device in the direction of the LOS path.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose an antenna configured to form a plurality of different beams patterns. However, OPSHAUG discloses a conventional multiple-beam antenna.
(OPSHAUG paragraph [0070] In a 5G network, antenna may be configured to transmit a number of beams, with each beam having a different angle of departure (e.g., different angles of elevation and/or of azimuth) and targeted at a pre-determined geographical region.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine OPSHAUG with Pefkianakis for the benefit of having an antenna capable of forming a plurality of beam patterns. The motivation for having plurality of CIR measurements is to accurately determine the direction and distance between the UWB anchor and tag.
As for Claim 10, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 9,
wherein, in finding the direction of the target device, the processor is further configured to find the direction of the target device by comparing magnitudes of CIRs corresponding to different beam patterns.
(Pefkianakis Fig. 2 show the component of the Access point (AP) with a driver and firmware components. Pefkianakis paragraph [0025] discloses the firmware collects Channel Impulse Response (CIR) measurements for wireless communications exchanged between the AP and the client device. The driver sanitizes the CIR measurements for the directional beams supported by the AP. Next, upon analyzing the CIR measurements, the driver extracts the LOS path for each beam and excludes non-LOS (NLOS) paths from strong reflectors. Next, the driver selects a subset of the beams that strongly amplify the LOS path. Pefkianakis paragraph [0041] discloses the angle identifier selects the direction specified by the azimuth elevation coordinates of the centroid as the estimate for the direction of the LOS path. In the current invention, the description for the magnitude ratio of CIRs may be clearly distinguished according to an incident angle of a signal. Broadest reasonable interpretation views the incident angle to be the same as the angle of arrival discloses by the angle identifier.)
As for Claim 11, limitations of parent claim 9 and 10 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 10,
wherein the processor is further configured to obtain a magnitude ratio of a CIR corresponding to a second beam pattern to a CIR corresponding to a first beam pattern,
(Pefkianakis Fig. 2 show the component of the Access point (AP) with driver and angle identifier. Pefkianakis paragraph [0055] FIG. 5 illustrates functionality for an AP as described herein, according to one example. The functionality may be implemented as a method or can be executed as instructions on a machine (e.g., by one or more processors), where the instructions are included on at least one computer-readable storage medium (e.g., a transitory or non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR.)
obtain an incident angle of a signal corresponding to the obtained magnitude ratio,
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR. Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] discloses an AP is communicating with a wireless client device, the beams with relatively high signal strength are more likely to be aligned with the direction of the Line-of-Sight (LOS) wireless propagation path between the AP and the device. Through techniques described herein, the mWaveLoc system can use beams identified through the beamforming process to help find the direction of the LOS path and the position of the device. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] FIG. 1 illustrates an environment in which a mWaveloc system can be implemented, according to one example. As shown, the environment includes a wireless access point (AP) and a client device . A driver and firmware execute on the AP . The direction of an LOS path between the AP and the client device can be quantified in spherical coordinates by an azimuth 140 and an elevation 150. Pefkianakis paragraph [0024] discloses the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
and determine the direction of the target device based on the incident angle of the signal
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0064] discloses the direction of the LOS path is represented by an azimuth coordinate of the centroid and an elevation coordinate of the centroid. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] -[0024] discloses FIG.1 illustrated the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
As for Claim 12, limitations of parent claim 9 and 10 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 10, wherein the processor is further
configured to obtain the magnitude ratio of the CIR corresponding to the second beam pattern to the CIR corresponding to the first beam pattern with respect to each of direct waves and reflected waves of the signal,
(Pefkianakis FIG. 2 shows an Access Point (AP) with an antenna and the components for a driver and firmware. Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR.)
obtain an incident angle of each of the direct waves and the reflected waves based on the obtained magnitude ratio
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0063] discloses for each individual beam in the high-LOS-amplitude subset: determining a quotient by dividing the respective gain of the individual beam for the individual direction by a highest respective gain of any of the beams in the high-LOS-amplitude subset for the individual direction; The first beam pattern is recorded in the high-LOS-amplitude subset. The second beam pattern is the individual beam being process. The quotient is the magnitude ratio of a CIR. Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] discloses an AP is communicating with a wireless client device, the beams with relatively high signal strength are more likely to be aligned with the direction of the Line-of-Sight (LOS) wireless propagation path between the AP and the device. Through techniques described herein, the mWaveLoc system can use beams identified through the beamforming process to help find the direction of the LOS path and the position of the device. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] FIG. 1 illustrates an environment in which a mWaveloc system can be implemented, according to one example. As shown, the environment includes a wireless access point (AP) and a client device. A driver and firmware execute on the AP. The direction of an LOS path between the AP and the client device can be quantified in spherical coordinates by an azimuth 140 and an elevation 150. Pefkianakis paragraph [0024] discloses the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
and determine a position of the target device corresponding to a combination of incident angles of the direct waves and the reflected waves.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0031] discloses the driver uses the CIR measurements for each beam to measure the amplitude of the different wireless propagation paths (e.g., both direct and reflected) for that beam. Pefkianakis paragraph [0064] discloses the direction of the LOS path is represented by an azimuth coordinate of the centroid and an elevation coordinate of the centroid. Pefkianakis paragraph [0023] -[0024] discloses FIG.1 illustrated the azimuth 140 and the elevation 150 are angles used to define the position of the client device relative to the AP.)
As for Claim 13, limitations of parent claim 9 and 10 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 9, wherein, in the receiving of the signal from the target device,
the processor is further configured to receive a first segment of the signal in a state in which the first beam pattern is formed in the at least one antenna,
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point with an antenna. Pefkianakis paragraph [0047] Plot 310a shows a curve 311a for a first beam as determined by CIR measurements for the first beam. As shown, the curve 311a includes local maximum 312a, local maximum 313a, and local maximum 314a (which is the highest local maximum for curve 311a). Curve 311a also includes other local maxima that represent noise.)
changes the second beam pattern to be formed in the at least one antenna based on completion of reception of the first segment, and
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point (AP) with an antenna, and a driver Pefkianakis Paragraph [0029] To estimate the LOS path, the driver can leverage two specific properties of mmWave channels: channel sparsity and beam-independent path extraction. Pefkianakis Paragraph [0029] While changing beam patterns at a transmitter leads to different CIR measurements at a receiver, the underlying signal paths traversed by the different beams is the same. Typically, the amplitudes of CIR measurements for beams whose radiation patterns overlap more favorably with those signal propagation paths will be higher than the amplitudes for beams whose radiation patterns focus in other directions.)
then receive a second segment of the signal in a state in which the second beam pattern is formed in the at least one antenna.
(Pefkianakis Fig.2 discloses an access point with an antenna. Pefkianakis paragraph [0048] discloses similarly, plot 320a shows a curve 321a for a second beam as determined by CIR measurements for the second beam. As shown, the curve 321a includes local maximum 322a, local maximum 323a (which is the highest local maximum for curve 320a), and local maximum 324a. Curve 321a also includes other local maxima that represent noise.)
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis in view of Opshaug in view of CHOO in view of Neinhues.
As for Claim 14, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 9,
wherein the antenna includes an antenna including a plurality of feed points
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0020] For example, mmWave devices use phased array antennas to focus RF energy through directional beams (i.e., beamforming), thereby compensating for the attenuation loss that occurs in high frequency (60 GHz) bands.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose plurality of feed points formed in one radiator. However, CHOO discloses plurality of feed points formed in one radiator (a single radiator with multi-feeding).
(CHOO, Abstract page 1, discloses the present invention relates to a beam steering antenna using multiple power feed of a single radiator. According to the present invention, the beam steering antenna includes: a dielectric substrate having a predetermined specific inductive capacity;)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine CHOO with Pefkianakis and Opshaug for the benefit of having a radiator with plurality of feeding points to form a plurality of beam patterns. The benefit to have plurality of beam patterns to capture CIR measurements to accurately determine the direction finding of client device. The motivation to combine is to reduce hardware requirements to form a plurality of beams.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pefkianakis in view of Opshaug in view of Neinhues.
As for Claim 15, limitations of parent claim 9 have been discussed above. Pefkianakis discloses the electronic device of claim 9,
wherein the antenna is configured by connecting a plurality of antennas having identical beam patterns through a 180-degree hybrid module, and a sum pattern and a delta pattern of the identical beam pattern are implemented by adjusting a direction of a current flowing in the plurality of antennas.
(Pefkianakis paragraph [0029] Typically, the amplitudes of CIR measurements for beams whose radiation patterns overlap more favorably with those signal propagation paths will be higher than the amplitudes for beams whose radiation patterns focus in other directions.)
Pefkianakis does not appear to explicitly disclose the access point (AP) as a radiator capable of performing 180-degree hybrid module. Pefkianakis discloses while changing beam patterns at a transmitter leads to different CIR measurements at a receiver the underlying signal paths traversed by the different beams is the same. However, Neinhues discloses the 180-degree hybrid limitation.
(Neinhues Fig.2 discloses the antenna array 2 is formed by a two-element array. The antenna array 2 comprises in the illustrated embodiment two antenna elements 3-1, 3-2 connected to a 180-degree hybrid circuit 4 as shown in FIG. 2. The 180-degree hybrid 4 comprises a first output 5-1 and a second output 5-2. The 180-degree hybrid 4 is adapted to generate an inphase summation signal Σ and an out-of-phase summation signal Δ of the two antenna signals received from the two antenna elements 3-1, 3-2. The antenna array 2 forms a linear two-element antenna array connected to the 180-degree hybrid circuit 4. Neinhues page 5, line 7-10 discloses a further possible embodiment of the directional antenna module according to the first aspect of the present invention, the antenna array comprises antenna elements formed by loaded loop antennas arranged in front of a reflector plate and used in a first frequency range.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Neinhues with Pefkianakis and Opshaug for the benefit of having 180-degree hybrid, a sum pattern, and a delta pattern of the identical beam pattern. Neinhues discloses the at least one frequency range for input into feed 7-1 and 7-2, with the identical frequency, the output will be two identical beam patterns. The motivation to combine further improve an ability to dynamically change beam patterns within a predefined antenna array region.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH KHANH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646