DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 3, claims 3-6 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged. Further, new claims 7-22 are drawn to elected group 3.
Claim Interpretation
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the funnel tip as recited in claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3-8,11-17,19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stivland U.S 2010/0030186.
Claims 3 ,11, 19: Stivland discloses an aspiration system comprising: an elongate tubular member (an aspiration catheter 70, fig. 8) having a distal end, a proximal end, and an aspiration lumen (see abstract) extending therethrough, the distal end of the elongate tubular member configured for placement within a blood vessel of a subject; and a funnel tip (distal tubular portion 62 also may include one or more circular ridges 66 whose outer profile more closely or exactly matches the inner diameter of the catheter aspiration lumen, see paragraph 30) hydraulically (it is noted that , fig. 4 discloses extension catheter tube 36 can include a luer fitting 38 at its proximal end for connection to a vacuum source such as a syringe and a distal aspiration lumen opening 40 at its distal end, see paragraph 26, thus it does have some sore of operating means of water or liquid in motion, for example, hydraulically) coupled to the distal end of the elongate tubular member, wherein the funnel tip has a distal inner diameter that is greater than a diameter of the aspiration lumen (it is noted that Extension catheter 36 is longer than the aspiration lumen of aspiration catheter 34 and can preferably be freely slid within aspiration catheter 34. Extension catheter tube 36 can be stiffer proximally and more flexibly distally. Such a tube may be fashioned by combining different materials such as stiffer and more flexible polymers and by varying the wall thickness. One contemplated tube includes two polymer layers that extend the length of the tube and provide a constant outer diameter and a constant inner diameter to the tube. One layer is stiffer than the other and the stiffness of tube 36 is varied along its length by varying the thicknesses of the layers while keeping the overall tube thickness constant. The tube profile can match that of the aspiration catheter aspiration lumen and tube 36 can be sized to be as large as possible while allowing it to slide freely within the aspiration lumen, see paragraph 26)
Claims 4, 7: Stivland discloses wherein the funnel tip see fig. 8 is configured to couple to and uncouple from the aspiration lumen (see abstract); further comprising an elongate support member (wire 68, fig. 8) coupled to the funnel tip and extending proximally therefrom.
Claims 5-6, 8, 10: Stivland discloses further comprising an elongate support member 68 coupled to the funnel tip see fig. 8 and extending proximally therefrom; wherein the funnel tip has a distal outer diameter configured to engage an inner wall of the blood vessel (see paragraph 30); further comprising: a tapered flow control element 64 and a first elongate support member 68 coupled to the flow control element and configured to extend proximally through the aspiration lumen.
Claims 12-13, 22: Stivland discloses wherein the funnel tip (fig. 8) is configured to be coupled to and uncoupled from the aspiration lumen; further comprising an elongate support member 68 coupled to the funnel tip and extending proximally therefrom.
Claims 14-15: Stivland discloses further comprising an elongate support 68 coupled to the funnel tip and extending proximally therefrom; wherein the elongate support is configured to couple the funnel tip (fig. 8) to and uncouple the funnel tip from the aspiration lumen.
Claims 16-17,20,21: Stivland discloses wherein the funnel tip (fig. 8) has a distal outer diameter configured to engage an inner wall of the blood vessel; further comprising: a flow control catheter 60 comprising a flow control taper 64 and a first elongate support 68 coupled to the flow control taper and configured to extend proximally through the aspiration lumen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stivland.
Claims 9, 18: Stivland discloses the aspiration system as best seen in fig. 8 but is silent regarding a delivery catheter comprising a distal tubular member and a second elongate support member coupled to a proximal portion of the distal tubular member, the distal tubular member having a lumen configured for placement of the elongate tubular member. However, Stivland in another embodiment , fig. 3 that teaches a delivery catheter 30 comprising a distal tubular member and a second elongate support member (the area where the filter wire 32 extending through the hollow elongate support member that locates inferior of area 36, fig. 3) coupled to a proximal portion of the distal tubular member, the distal tubular member having a lumen configured for placement of the elongate tubular member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Stivland, fig. 8 with the delivery catheter comprising a distal tubular member and a second elongate support member coupled to a proximal portion of the distal tubular member, the distal tubular member having a lumen configured for placement of the elongate tubular member in fig. 3 in order to be delivered together and to be better guiding catheter at the target site.
Conclusion
/VI X NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771