DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated over Tong et al. (US 20220242186 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tong discloses a hydraulic shock device (2100) comprising:
a shock bypass tube (2118) provided with a tubular wall (A, see Annotated Fig. 21A/21B below) having an outer cylindrical surface (B, see Annotated Figs. 21A/21B below); a plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures (2121) provided in the tubular wall (A) and extending through the outer cylindrical surface (B), wherein each of the plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures (2121) are respectively covered by a corresponding plurality of one way valving shims
Annotated Figs. 21A/21B
(shims 2122a-2122n), and wherein the corresponding plurality of one way valving shims (shims 2122a-2122n) extend over each of the plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures (2121);
and a tubular extension member provided on an end portion of the shock bypass tube (see Annotated Fig. 21C below), wherein the tubular extension member is secured to the end portion having a reduced tubular portion (see Annotated Fig. 21C below), wherein the tubular extension member is devoid of fluid outlet apertures and extends a bump stage of the hydraulic shock device by increasing a length of a non-bypass area of the shock bypass tube, and wherein the reduced tubular portion is provided with a circumferentially extending stepped portion which extends inwardly from the tubular wall (A) of the shock bypass tube (2118) (see Annotated Fig. 21C below).
Annotated Fig. 21C
The examiner interprets the aperture-free end region extending beyond the outlet apertures (2121) toward and through the mapped tubular extension member in Annotated Fig. 21C as the claimed non-bypass area. The mapped extension member is shown without fluid outlet apertures and contributes additional axial length to that region, which would otherwise be shorter without the extension member. On this structural interpretation, the extension member inherently extends the bump stage by increasing the length of the non-bypass area. Tong separately identifies the damper's end zone (2195) in Fig. 21D and paragraph 0117.
Regarding claim 2, Tong discloses the hydraulic shock device of claim 1, wherein the tubular extension member is provided with a cylindrical tubular wall portion having first and second opposite end portions thereof (tubular extension member shown in annotated Fig. 21C includes a generally cylindrical tubular wall portion having a first/left opposite end portion and a second/right opposite end portion), and wherein the first opposite end portion fits over the reduced tubular portion and is secured thereto (the first/left opposite end portion of the tubular extension member is shown fitted over/around the reduced tubular portion at the end portion of the internal shock bypass tube 2118 and secured thereto; see Annotated Fig. 21C above).
Regarding claim 3, Tong discloses the hydraulic shock device of claim 2, wherein the reduced tubular portion is a first reduced tubular portion (the reduced tubular portion previously mapped in claim 1 is a first reduced tubular portion; see Annotated Fig. 21C), and wherein the second opposite end portion is provided with a second reduced tubular portion (the second/right opposite end portion is provided with a second reduced tubular portion, as shown at the narrowed right-side portion of the tubular extension member in Annotated Fig. 21C).
Regarding claim 4, Tong discloses the hydraulic shock device of claim 3, wherein the circumferentially extending stepped portion is a first circumferentially extending stepped portion (the stepped portion previously mapped in claim 1 is a first circumferentially extending stepped portion; see Annotated Fig. 21C), and wherein the second reduced tubular portion is provided with a second circumferentially extending stepped portion which extends inwardly from the cylindrical tubular wall portion of the tubular extension member (the second/right reduced tubular portion is shown with a circumferential shoulder/stepped portion where the larger cylindrical tubular wall portion transitions inward to the reduced-diameter portion; see Annotated Fig. 21C).
Regarding claim 5, Tong discloses a hydraulic shock device of claim 4, wherein the tubular extension member is a first tubular extension member, wherein a second tubular extension member is secured to the first tubular extension member (right-side tubular member/second tubular extension member at the second reduced tubular portion; see Annotated Fig. 21C).
Regarding claim 6, Tong discloses the hydraulic shock device of claim 5, wherein the cylindrical tubular wall portion is a first cylindrical tubular wall portion and wherein the second tubular extension member is provided with a second cylindrical tubular wall portion having first and second opposing end portions thereof (see Annotated Fig. 21C).
Regarding claim 10, Tong discloses a method of assembling a hydraulic shock device comprising:
providing a shock bypass tube with a tubular wall having an outer cylindrical surface (providing shock bypass tube 2118 having tubular wall A and outer cylindrical surface B, see Annotated Figs. 21A/21B above);
providing a plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures in the tubular wall and extending through the outer cylindrical surface (providing fluid outlet apertures 2121 in the tubular wall A and extending through the outer cylindrical surface B);
covering each of the plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures with a corresponding plurality of one way valving shims, wherein the corresponding plurality of one way valving shims extend over each of the plurality of pairs of fluid outlet apertures (covering each fluid outlet apertures 2121 with corresponding one way valving shims 2122a-2122n, wherein the shims extend over the fluid outlet apertures 2121);
providing a tubular extension member on an end portion of the shock bypass tube (providing the tubular extension member on the end portion of shock bypass tube 2118), wherein the tubular extension member is devoid of fluid outlet apertures and extends a bump stage of the hydraulic shock device by increasing a length of a non-bypass area of the shock bypass tube (see Annotated Fig. 21C and the explanation in ¶ 0005 above, regarding the aperture-free extension member and its inherent extension of the bump stage for claim 1); securing the tubular extension member to the end portion having a reduced tubular portion (securing the tubular extension member to the end portion having the reduced tubular portion, see Annotated Fig. 21C);
Annotated Fig. 21C
and providing the reduced tubular portion with a circumferentially extending stepped portion which extends inwardly from the tubular wall of the shock bypass tube (providing the reduced tubular portion with the circumferentially extending stepped portion extending inwardly from the tubular wall A of shock bypass tube 2118; see Annotated Fig. 21C).
Regarding claim 11, Tong discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising providing the tubular extension member with a cylindrical tubular wall portion having first and second opposite end portions thereof (providing the tubular extension member shown in Annotated Fig. 21C with a generally cylindrical tubular wall portion having a first/left opposite end portion and second/right opposite end portion).
Regarding claim 12, Tong discloses the method of claim 11, further comprising fitting the first opposite end portion over the reduced tubular portion and securing thereto (fitting the first/left opposite end portion of the tubular extension member over/around the reduced tubular portion at the end portion of shock bypass tube 2118 and securing thereto).
Regarding claim 13, Tong discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising providing the reduced tubular portion as a first reduced tubular portion, and providing the second opposite end portion with a second reduced tubular portion (providing the reduced tubular portion previously mapped in claim 10 as a first reduced tubular portion, and providing the second/right opposite end portion of the tubular extension member with a second reduced tubular portion shown at the narrowed right-side portion of the tubular extension member).
Regarding claim 14, Tong discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising providing the circumferentially extending stepped portion as a first circumferentially extending stepped portion, and providing the second reduced tubular portion with a second circumferentially extending stepped portion which extends inwardly from the cylindrical tubular wall portion of the tubular extension member (providing the stepped portion previously mapped in claim 10 as a first circumferentially extending stepped portion, and providing the second/right reduced tubular portion with a second circumferentially extending stepped portion the larger cylindrical tubular wall portion transitions inwardly to the reduced-diameter portion).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
The specification and drawing objections are withdrawn in view of the correction of reference numeral 44 to 56 for the additional tubular extension member, as discussed on page 9 of the Remarks. The rejection of claim 9 under U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn because “second cylindrical tubular wall portion” has antecedent basis in claim 6.
Applicant's arguments filed August 24, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments on pages 10-11, bypass tube 2118 is not the mapped tubular extension member. The extension is the separate, aperture-free member identified in Annotated Fig. 21C. The reduced tubular portion, stepped portion, and attachment are identified from the depicted structural relationships, without measuring dimensions from the drawing. Such clearly depicted structures need not also be expressly described in the text. See MPEP § 2125. The added bump-stage limitation is addressed by the inherency explanation in ¶ 0005, provided above for claim 1, which also applies to claim 10. Accordingly, the rejection of claims 1-6 and 10-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.A.A./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/DAVID R MORRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616