DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-21 are pending.
Applicant’s election without traverse of shRNA as the SUV39H1 inhibitor and anti-PD-L1 as the immune checkpoint modulator species in the reply filed on 06/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13, 15-18, 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/23/2026.
Claims 12, 14, 19 and 21 read on the elected species and therefore are examined here.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 16/624977, filed on 12/20/2019.
The Application claims priority to EPO application 17305755.5, filed on 06/20/2017, via its 16/624,977, filed on 12/20/2019, and 371 of PCT/EP2018/066383, filed on 06/20/2018.
All the examined claims enjoy priority to its EPO ‘755.5 filing on 06/20/2017.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2024 was filed before the mailing date of the first Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 8, there appears to be a closed parenthesis next to “chordomas)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 14, 19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakshmikuttyamma et al. (2009, Oncogene, 29, 576-588) and Zhang et al. (2009, Blood, 114, 1545-1552).
Lakshmikuttyamma discloses that DNA methylation is widespread in acute myeloid leukemia (AML) thus DNA methylation inhibitor, 5-aza-2'-deoxycytidine (5-Aza-dC) has shown good therapeutic efficacy in AML clinical trials (pg. 576). Lakshmikuttyamma discloses that AML-193 cells transfected with SUV39H1 shRNA reduced SUV39H1 expression (pg. 580, Fig. 3a); and SUV39H1 inhibition decreases proliferation and viability and enhances apoptosis of AML-193 cells (pg. 583, see Fig. 6, pg. 584). Lakshmikuttyamma concludes based on their results that "our findings have potential relevance for designing novel epigenetic therapies. . . The addition of SUV39H1 inhibitors into epigenetic drug therapies may further enhance their activities" (pg. 585). Thus, Lakshmikuttyamma discloses that transfection of shRNA targeting SUV39H1 reduces AML culture cells, a model cell line to reexpress genes silenced by promoter hypermethylation (pg. 583), proliferation and induces apoptosis (relevant to instant cl. 12, 19, 21).
Lakshmikuttyamma does not disclose administering to a subject nor anti-PD-L1 antibody.
Zhang discloses that PD-L1 expression on solid tumor cells is capable of dampening antitumor T-cell response and its expression in tumor cells correlates with an inferior clinical outcome in various solid human malignancies (pg. 1545). Zhang discloses that PD-L1 expression on bone marrow samples from patients with AML and found increasing levels upon disease progression (pg. 1545). Zhang demonstrates in vivo administration of a PD-L1 blocking antibody to mice tumor-challenged with a highly lethal C1498.GFP cells led to a superior survival in mice (pg. 1545, 1550; relevant to instant cl. 12, 14, 21). The results led the authors to conclude evaluation of blocking antibodies against PD-L1 or PD-1 in patients with leukemia (pg. 1551).
One of the KSR rationales that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined shRNA targeting SUV39H1 of Lakshmikuttyamma in view of Zhang and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Based on the success of Lakshmikuttyamma inhibiting SUV39H1 by shRNA targeting SUV39H1 reduces proliferation and induces apoptosis of AML culture cells and Zhang demonstrating in vivo administration of a PD-L1 blocking antibody to mice tumor-challenged with a highly lethal C1498.GFP cells led to a superior survival, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success of co-administrating shRNA targeting SUV39H1 and anti-PD-L1 antibody to mice challenged with AML tumor cells. Thus, cl. 12, 14, 19 and 21 are obvious.
Double Patenting
copending Application No. 18/729,783
Claims 12, 14, and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 29, 32, 34, 35, 37 of copending Application No. 18/729,783 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 37 of ‘783 teaches a method of using a cell of claim 1 in treating a disease comprising administering to a subject in need thereof an amount of the cells effective to treat the disease, optionally cancer, an infectious disease, an autoimmune disease, an inflammatory disease, or an allergic disease, wherein the cells express one or more antigen-specific receptors that bind an antigen associated with a disease comprising administering to a subject with the disease: (1) the cell of claim 1, or (2) a modified oligonucleotide comprising a nucleobase sequence from any of [SEQ ID NO: 1-4] at least about 12 bases in length, wherein the modified oligonucleotide comprises one or more of a modified backbone linkage, a modified sugar moiety, a modified phosphate moiety, a modified nucleobase, or a chemically conjugated moiety, or (3) or a nucleic acid operatively linked to a heterologous expression control sequence, said nucleic acid comprising (a) a nucleotide sequence that encodes or expresses an RNA comprising the nucleobase sequence of [SEQ ID NO: 1] (IncRNA AF196970.3) or the nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID 13-17 or 26-30 or a fragment thereof capable of inhibiting expression of SUV39H1 in a cell, or (b) the nucleotide sequence of [SEQ ID NO: 5] (genomic sequence encoding AF196970.3 (ENSG00000232828)) or any one of SEQ ID NO:32-36 and 45-49 or a fragment thereof that expresses an RNA capable of inhibiting expression of SUV39H1 in a cell, optionally wherein the nucleotide sequence is within a vector, and optionally wherein the subject is administered a second therapeutic agent, optionally an immune checkpoint modulator, cancer vaccine, chemotherapeutic or anti-angiogen, and optionally wherein the immune checkpoint modulator is anti-PD-1 inhibitor or anti-PDL-1 inhibitor.
One interpretation of cl. 37 is administering to a subject in need, including cancer, cells expressing one or more antigen-specific receptors comprising administering to a subject with a disease (3) nucleic acid operatively linked to a heterologous expression control sequence, said nucleic acid comprising nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO: 13-17 or 26-30 and optionally the subject is administered an immune checkpoint modulator, including anti-PD-1 or anti-PDL-1.
Claim 1 of ‘783 teaches a cell comprising a first nucleic acid is (e) a heterologous nucleic acid that expresses the nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO: 13-17 and 26-30 or a fragment thereof capable of inhibiting expression of SUV39H1 in the cell and (f) teaches SEQ ID NO: 32-36 and 45-49.
The claim is interpreted as administering a cell with shRNA of SUV39HA1 (SEQ ID NO: 13-17 or 26-30) and the elected immune checkpoint modulator, anti-PDL-1, to a patient with cancer. SEQ ID NO: 13-17, 26-30, 32-36 and 45-49 are taught as shRNAs (par. 45, par. 69).
Claim 37 corresponds to instant cl. 12, 14 and 19 since the resulting outcome of administration of instant claims 12, 14, and 19 will result in cell with SUV39H1 shRNA inhibitor and with anti-PDL1 binding to its cognate ligand.
Claim 29 of ‘783 teaches a nucleic acid operably linked to expression control sequence, with nucleic acid being a nucleotide sequence of any one of SEQ ID NO: 13-17 or 26-30 capable of inhibiting expression of SUV39H1 in a cell, claim 32 limiting it a claimed vector and claim 34 limiting it the nucleic acid in a claimed delivery vehicle. Claim 35 of ‘783 teaches a method of producing a cell of claim 1, which is introducing the nucleic acid of claim 29 or vector comprising the nucleic acid of claim 29 into a cell.
Claims 29, 32, 34 and 35 in view of claim 37 of ‘783 render instant cl. 12, 14, and 19, since a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success by combining the elements of claims 29, 32, 34 and 35 and 37 to treat cancer.
Claim 21 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 34 of copending Application No. 18/729,783 in view of Zhang et al. (2009, Blood, 114, 1545-1552).
Teaching of ‘783 regarding instant cl. 12, 14, 19 is noted above.
‘783 does not teach AML of claim 21.
Zhang discloses that PD-L1 expression on bone marrow samples from patients with AML and found increasing levels upon disease progression (pg. 1545). Zhang demonstrates in vivo administration of a PD-L1 blocking antibody to mice tumor-challenged with a highly lethal C1498.GFP cells led to a superior survival in mice (pg. 1545, 1550).
One of the KSR rationales that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined shRNA targeting SUV39H1 of ‘783 in view of Zhang and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Based on Zhang demonstrating in vivo administration of a PD-L1 blocking antibody to mice tumor-challenged with a highly lethal C1498.GFP cells, an AML type cells, led to a superior survival, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success of co-administrating shRNA targeting SUV39H1 and anti-PD-L1 antibody to mice challenged with AML tumor cells. Thus, cl. 21 is obvious.
U.S. Patent No. 10,576,103
Claims 12, 14, 19 and 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13, 14, 15, 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,576,103 issued (03/03/2020) to Institut Curie (“Curie) in view of Lakshmikuttyamma et al. (2009, Oncogene, 29, 576-588).
Claim 1 of Curie teaches a method of treating a subject suffering from cancer comprising administering to subject an engineered immune cell with genetically engineered antigen receptor and an inactivated or disrupted SUV39H1 gene, wherein inactivation or disruption of the SUV39H1 gene results in enhanced anti-cancer activity.
Claims 13, 14 and 15 of Curie teaches a method of treating a subject suffering from cancer comprising administering to subject an engineered immune cell with genetically engineered antigen receptor and an inactivated or disrupted SUV39H1 gene, wherein inactivation or disruption of the SUV39H1 gene results in enhanced anti-cancer activity and (2) a second cancer therapeutic agent (cl. 13), including an immune checkpoint modulator (cl. 14); or with claim 15 limits the additional administration as an immune checkpoint modulator. Claim 17 teaches wherein the immune checkpoint modulator as anti-PDL-1 inhibitor (regarding instant cl. 12, 14).
Curie does not teach a shRNA inactivating or disrupting SUV39H1 expression.
As noted above, Lakshmikuttyamma discloses that transfection of shRNA targeting SUV39H1 of AML culture cells, a model cell line to reexpress genes silenced by promoter hypermethylation (pg. 583), reduces proliferation and induces apoptosis (relevant to instant cl. 12, 19, 21).
One of the KSR rationales that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have inactivated the shRNA targeting SUV39H1 of Curie with shRNA targeting SUV39H1 of Lakshmikuttyamma and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. Based on the success of Lakshmikuttyamma that inhibition of SUV39H1 by shRNA targeting SUV39H1 reduces proliferation and induces apoptosis of AML culture cells, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success of administrating shRNA targeting SUV39H1 that caused AML model cells to undergo apoptosis of Lakshmikuttyamma and substituting to inhibit the expression of SUV39H1 of Curie’s invention to specifically treat subject with AML. Here, the outcome of administration of instant claims will result in a cell comprising SUV39H1 inhibitor and anti-PD-L1 antibody binding to PD-ligand. Thus, cl. 12, 14, 19 and 21 would be prima facie obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
No claim allowed.
Conclusion
/KEYUR A VYAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600