DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JP 2021-102522 (henceforth JP ‘522).
JP ‘522 teaches an image forming apparatus comprising a first image forming section for forming a printed image using a toner and a second image forming section for forming an adhesive image by using a powder adhesive ([0007-9]). IN embodiments the toner and the powder adhesive both contain an ester wax and the powder adhesive contains 11.7% ester wax (14 parts ester wax/120 total parts x 100% = 11.7%; [0045]) and the toner comprises 9.8% ester wax (12 parts ester wax/122.5 total parts x 100% = 9.8%; [0051-53]). The weight average particle diameter of the adhesive powder is taught to be 6.8 micrometers ([0050]) and the weight average particle diameter of the toner is taught to be 6.5 micrometers ([0058]).
JP ‘522 further teaches that the adhesive powder is stored in a process cartridge that is detachably mountable to the image forming apparatus and that the adhesive cartridge contains an image forming section along with the powder adhesive described above ([0037-39]). Furthermore, the process cartridge may further comprise a first image forming section comprising a toner and a second image forming section comprising an adhesive powder as recited in pending claim 14 ([0037-39]).
In embodiments JP ‘522 teaches the use of ethylene glycol distearate as the ester wax. Ethylene glycol distearate has the following structure and reads on the Applicant’s recited formula (3) wherein m and n are 16:
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2021-102522 (henceforth JP ‘522).
The complete discussion of JP ‘522 above is included herein. While JP ‘522 teaches an image forming apparatus and process cartridge that comprises a first image forming section for developing a toner image and second image forming section for developing an image with an adhesive powder, JP ‘522 does not teach relative amounts of each of the toner and adhesive powder. However, during routine operation of said apparatus one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to set the amounts as needed to produce the desired outcome through routine operation of said apparatus. Dictating the amount of each of the toner and the adhesive powder for use in any printing operation would flow natural from normal and routine use of the apparatus. According to the MPEP, “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP 2144.05 II A) In the instant case routine operation of the image forming apparatus would cover the three possible utilization ratios wherein more powder adhesive was used than toner, wherein less powder adhesive was used than toner and wherein equal amounts of powder and adhesive and toner were used. As such, it would have been obvious to any person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application during routine operation of the image forming apparatus of JP ‘522 to have set the amount of powder adhesive on the image bearing member to be greater than the amount of toner of the image bearing member in order to optimize the image forming process and desired adhesive quality of the print.
Conclusion
/PETER L VAJDA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 08/13/2026