DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The tables disclosed in paragraphs [0058] (Table 1), [0059] (Table 2), [0060] (Table 3), [0061] (Table 4), [0062] (Table 5), [0063] (Table 6), [0064] (Table 7), [0065] (Table 8), [0066] (Table 9), [0067] (Table 10), [0068] (Table 11), [0069] (Table 12), [0070] (Table 13), [0071] (Table 14), [0072] (Table 15), [0073] (Table 16), [0074] (Table 17), [0075] (Table 18), [0076] (Table 19), [0077] (Table 20), [0078] (Table 21), and [0079] (Table 22) are blurry and difficult to read.
Applicant’s cooperation is respectfully requested in replacing the aforementioned blurry tables, and in further identifying and replacing any other blurry tables/figures not listed above, along with a statement that any amendments contain no new matter.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the instant case, the abstract uses the implied phrase “provided is” in line 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tagami et al. (US PGP 2015/0185633 A1).
Tagami teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including a support, an undercoat layer formed on the support, and a photosensitive layer formed on the undercoat layer (Abstract). An image forming apparatus having a process cartridge provided with the electrophotographic photosensitive member is also discussed ([0096]-[0102], Fig. 1) (which includes the corresponding components recited in instant claim 11 and claim 12).
The undercoat layer is taught to contain a polymerized product of at least one compound selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by formula (1) and a compound represented by formula (2), or a polymerized product of a composition comprising at least one compound selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by formula (1) and a compound represented by formula (2) ([0014]-[0016]):
The compound represented by the formula (1) above reads on the structural unit represented by formula (2) recited in instant claim 1.
In the formula (1), R1 to R3 is taught to represent a hydrogen atom, an unsubstituted or substituted arylene group, an unsubstituted or substituted hetero ring, an unsubstituted or substituted alkylene group having 1 to 6 main-chain atoms, a divalent group having 1 to 6 main-chain atoms and derived from one of CH2 in the main chain of an unsubstituted alkylene group substitute for an oxygen atom, or a divalent group having 1 to 6 main-chain atoms and derived from one of CH2 in the main chain of an unsubstituted alkylene group substituted for a sulfur atom ([0017]) (which reads on the corresponding limitations recited in instant claim 1, claim 4, claim 5, claim 6, claim 7, claim 8, claim 11, and claim 12).
Additionally, R4 to R7 is taught to represent a hydrogen atom, a cyano group, a nitro group, a halogen atom, an unsubstituted or substituted alkyl group, or an unsubstituted or substituted aryl group ([0022]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 3).
Examples of compounds represented by formula (1) are taught to include compound (E9) (Table 1):
The content of the polymerized product is taught to be 50% by mass or more and 100% by mass or less based on the total mass of the undercoat layer (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tagami et al. (US PGP 2015/0185633 A1), in view of Noguchi et al. (US PGP 2015/0185635 A1).
The teachings of Tagami are discussed above and incorporated herein. Tagami appears to be silent to teach or suggest a suitable molecular weight of the compound represented by the formula (1). Noguchi teaches an electrophotographic photosensitive member including an undercoat layer containing a compound represented by any one of specific formulae (A1) to (A8) (Abstract). The compounds represented by formula (A1) and (A8) are shown below:
The R106 in the formula (A1) and the R810 in the formula (A8) are taught to include a monovalent group represented by formula (A), shown below ([0021]-[0028]):
In the formula (A), at least one of α, β, and γ is taught to represent a group having a polymerizable functional group, l and m each independently represent 0 or 1, and a sum of l and m is 0 or more and 2 or less ([0024]).
In other words, the compound represented by formula (A1) corresponds to the compound represented by the formula (1) of Tagami and the structural unit represented by formula (2) recited in the claims.
The compound represented by the formula (A1) and formula (A8) is taught to preferably have a molecular weight of 150 or more and 1,000 or less. When the molecular weight falls within this range, the structure derived from the electron transport substance is taught to be present in the undercoat layer in a uniform manner ([0093]) (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the molecular weight of Tagami’s compound represented by the formula (1), to fall within the range taught by Noguchi, in view of improving the uniformity of the compound in the undercoat layer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tagami et al. (US PGP 2015/0185633 A1), in view of Shimizu (US PGP 2021/0286277 A1).
The teachings of Tagami are discussed above and incorporated herein. Tagami appears to be silent to teach the volume resistivity of the undercoat layer, or to suggest a suitable range for the volume resistivity of the undercoat layer. Shimizu teaches that the volume resistivity of the undercoat layer of an electrophotographic photoreceptor should be 1.0 x1010 Ω·cm or more, and more preferably 3.0 x1010 Ω·cm or more (which reads on the corresponding limitation recited in instant claim 10). When in this range, leakage hardly occurs in the photoreceptor, even under high voltage, and the pressure resistance of the photoreceptor is improved ([0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adjusted the volume resistivity of Tagami’s undercoat layer, to fall within the range taught by Shimizu, in view of preventing charge leakage and improving the pressure resistance of the photoreceptor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent No. 5,354,636 to Ono et al. teaches an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a photoconductive layer containing a high polymeric compound comprising a repeating unit comprised of a tetracarboxylic acid anhydride skeleton and a divalent organic group skeleton having an aromatic nucleus (Abstract). Examples of the high polymeric compound are shown below (Col. 5, lines 1-65):
/BOONE ALEXANDER EVANS/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
08/05/2026