DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group lI, Claims 9-18, drawn to a micro-puree machine, in the reply filed on 01/19/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Applicant respectfully submits, however, that the search for the claims of one group of claims listed in the Office Action would certainly also encompass the search for the remaining group of claims since these groups of claims are both generally directed to a handle for a micro-puree machine that is configured to initiate an extrusion process. Applicant also notes that UPC subclass 366/64, identified for the first group of claims, has approximately 200 references, while UPC subclass 425/202, identified for the second group of claims, has approximately 400 references, and UPC subclass 264/176.1, identified for the third group of claims, has approximately 2,500 references. Applicant respectfully submits it would not impose a serious search burden upon the Examiner to review approximately 3,100 references in connection with all groups of claims. Therefore, reconsideration and withdrawal of the present restriction requirement is respectfully requested.”. This is not found persuasive because the Restriction Requirement on 11/19/2025 clearly shows that each invention has attained recognition in the art as a separate subject for inventive effort, and also a separate field of search, and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-8 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “204” has been used to designate both a lever and an arm in Fig. 3.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “850”, “851”, 852” in Fig. 1D.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “500” recited in Pa [0041]-[0044].
Claim Objections
Claims 9, 14 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, Applicant has been advised to replace “the first electrical signal” to -- the electrical signal --;
In claim 14, Applicant has been advised to replace “first electrical circuit” in line 1 to – the first electrical circuit --; and
In claim 18, Applicant has been advised to replace “the second electric circuit” in line 1 to – the second electrical circuit --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the limitation “a rotation structure” in claims 11 and 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “a rotation structure” in claims 11 and 12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The written description discloses that “a rotation structure configured to increase resistance when a user pulls the lever” (Pa [0004], [0006]), and “Rotation structure 208 is configured to increase resistance when a user pulls lever 202 and returns lever 200 to its original position when it releases lever 202.”, Pa [0032]). That is, the written description merely discloses the function of rotation structure, but does not disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “outputs” in line 2. It renders the claim indefinite since whether it is meant to be the first electrical signal recited in the referred claim 9 or another new outputs. For the compact prosecution, Examiner has interpreted it as the first electrical signal.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first electrical components” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it renders the claim indefinite since whether it is meant to be the first electrical circuit recited in the referred claim 9 or another new electrical components. For the compact prosecution, Examiner has interpreted it as the first electrical circuit.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “one or more electrical components” in line 3. It renders the claim indefinite since whether it is meant to be the second electrical circuit recited in the referred claim 9 or another new electrical components. The specification discloses that “Variable resistor 300 sends the resistance signal to an electrical coupler 308. Electrical coupler 308 may send the resistance signal to a circuit, for example, in a main PCBA 400”, Pa [0035]). Thus, for the compact prosecution, Examiner has interpreted it as the second electrical circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebordosa et al. (EP0556467A1-Machine Translation provided herewith) in view of Wang (WO2020/108380A1-Machine Translation provided herewith).
With respect to claim 9, Rebordosa teaches a micro-puree machine (“a multi-purpose kitchen machine”) comprising:
a motor (“an electric drive unit 8 with an electric motor”, Pa [0016]);
extrusion output shaft (“output shaft 11”) coupled to the motor, the extrusion output shaft extruding food materials in a processing bowl of the micro-puree machine based on an output speed of the motor (“The drive unit 8 is connected to its output shaft 11 according to Fig. 2 via a gearbox 9 provided within the base plate 2 with a drive shaft 10 running perpendicular to the base plate 2 and parallel to the electric drive unit 8”, Pa [0017]; “At the upwardly free end of the drive shaft 10, a first coupling half 17 is provided according to Fig. 2, which can be brought into drive connection with a second coupling half 18 of a receiving container 20 which can be placed on the base plate 2. In the receiving container 20, which can be made of, for example, heat-resistant glass or stainless steel, a working tool 19 is rotatably mounted, which is used for stirring or It is used for processing food.”, Pa [0019]);
a handle (“a ring-shaped speed controller 43 with rotary handle 39”, Pa [0016]) coupled to the motor (“If the speed control 43 is now turned via the rotary handle 39 in the direction of arrow 60, the speed of the electric motor 8 changes and thus also the speed of the working tool 19.”, Pa [0033]), the handle including:
a lever (“rotary handle 39”); and
an arm (“a ring-shaped speed controller 43”) coupled to the lever, the arm configured to allow the lever to rotate about the arm at an angle (“the speed control 43 is now turned via the rotary handle 39 in the direction of arrow 60”).
Rebordosa further teaches that depending on the position of the speed controller 43, the electric motor 8 rotates at a corresponding speed and transmits this via the gearbox 9 to the drive shaft 10 (Pa [0031]), but does not explicitly teach a first electrical circuit coupled to the arm, the first electrical circuit configured to produce a first electrical signal based on the angle rotated by the lever; and a second electrical circuit coupled to the motor, the second electrical circuit configured to receive the electrical signal corresponding to the angle rotated by the lever from the first electrical circuit and generate a second electrical signal indicative of the output speed of the motor, wherein the motor receives the second electrical signal from the second electrical circuit and generates the output speed.
In the same field of endeavor, a food processor, Wang teaches that the food processor includes a switch structure 1, a food preparation component 2, a drive circuit board 3, and a drive component 4, wherein the drive component 4 is electrically connected to the drive circuit board 3, the switch structure 1 includes a control circuit board 11, and the drive circuit board 3 is electrically connected to the control circuit board 11, operating the switch structure 1 can trigger the control circuit board 11 to generate a control signal and send the generated control signal to the drive circuit board 3, the drive circuit board 3 is used to control the drive component 4 to operate according to a preset operating mode after receiving the control signal, so as to process the food in the cooking component 2 in accordance with the different working modes of the food processor (Pa [0028]), the control circuit board 11 is provided with a trigger component 13 and a main control chip electrically connected to the trigger component 13, the trigger component 13 is used to generate a trigger signal after being triggered, the main control chip generates a corresponding control signal according to the trigger signal and sends the generated control signal to the display component 12 and the drive circuit board 3, and the drive circuit board 3 controls the operation mode of the drive component 4 according to the control signal (Pa [0029]). Wang further teaches that the triggering component 13 includes a rotation trigger 131 and the operating component 14 includes a rotating component 141 for triggering the rotation trigger 131 to generate a rotation control signal, which controls the working mode or gear adjustment of the food processor (Pa [0031]), the rotation trigger 131 includes an encoder 1311 disposed on the control circuit board 11 and a rotating handle 1312 disposed on the encoder 1311, the rotation component 141 includes a rotating part 1411 and a locking part 1412 disposed on the rotating part 1411, the locking part 1412 is locked onto the rotating handle 1312, the rotating part 1411 rotates to cause the locking part 1412 to push the rotating handle 1312 to rotate, thereby triggering the encoder 1311 to generate a rotation trigger signal, the main control chip receives the rotation trigger signal and generates a control signal, which is sent to the drive circuit board 3 (Pa [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Rebordosa with the teachings of Wang to substitute the drive circuit board 3, the control circuit board 11 with the rotation trigger 131 and the rotating component 141 for the speed control 43 of Rebordosa such that the rotating part 1411 rotates to cause the locking part 1412 to push the rotating handle 1312 to rotate, thereby triggering the encoder 1311 to generate a rotation trigger signal, the main control chip receives the rotation trigger signal and generates a control signal, which is sent to the drive circuit board 3. In this modification, the encoder 1311 corresponds to the claimed first electrical circuit and the drive circuit board 3 corresponds to the claimed second electrical circuit.
With respect to claim 10, Rebordosa as applied to claim 9 teaches the lever (“rotary handle 39”), but does not explicitly teach that the lever is vertically positioned on the arm. Wang as applied in the combination claim 9 above further shows that the switch structure 1 is located on the side of the food processor. Thus, one would have found it obvious to locate the switches on the side of the machine in order to operate the machine, and in this modification, the lever (“rotary handle 39”) is vertically positioned on the arm.
With respect to claim 11, Wang as applied in the combination claim 9 above further teaches that the arm (“a rotating component 141”) is coupled to a rotation structure (“a rotating handle 1312”) configured to increase resistance when a user pulls the lever (“the rotating part 1411 rotates to cause the locking part 1412 to push the rotating handle 1312 to rotate, thereby triggering the encoder 1311 to generate a rotation trigger signal”, Pa [0032]).
With respect to claim 12, Wang as applied in the combination claim 11 above further teaches an interface (“a positioning member 16”) positioned between the arm and the rotation structure, wherein the interface is configured to protect the rotation structure (“the switch structure 1 also includes a positioning member 16 fixed on the control circuit board 11. The positioning member 16 is provided with a groove 161 for limiting the rotation angle of the engaging part 1412, thereby protecting the rotating trigger member 131.”, Pa [0034]).
With respect to claim 13, Wang as applied in the combination claim 12 above further teaches that the interface is positioned on a plate for support (“a positioning member 16 fixed on the control circuit board 11”, Pa [0034]).
With respect to claim 14, Wang as applied in the combination claim 9 above further teaches that first electrical circuit is an encoder (“the encoder 1311”).
With respect to claim 15, Wang as applied in the combination claim 9 above further teaches that the first electrical circuit is coupled to an electrical coupler (“a main control chip”) configured to send outputs from the first electrical components to one or more electrical components (“The trigger component 13 is used to generate a trigger signal after being triggered. The main control chip generates a corresponding control signal according to the trigger signal and sends the generated control signal to the display component 12 and the drive circuit board 3.”, Pa [0029]).
With respect to claims 16 and 17, Rebordosa as applied to claim 9 above further teaches that the extrusion output shaft is coupled to a drivetrain, wherein the drivetrain comprises a plurality of gears for producing rotational motion (“The drive unit 8 is connected to its output shaft 11 according to Fig. 2 via a gearbox 9 provided within the base plate 2 with a drive shaft 10 running perpendicular to the base plate 2 and parallel to the electric drive unit 8, which in turn is supported in a bearing sleeve 47 fixed in the support plate 24. The gearbox 9 consists of a gear 12 fixed in a rotationally fixed manner on the output shaft 11 of the drive unit 8, which is connected via a toothed belt 13 to a gear 14 fixed in a rotationally fixed manner on the drive shaft 10.”, Pa [0017]).
With respect to claim 18, in another machine translation, Rebordosa as applied to claim 9 above teaches a printed circuit board provided for the kitchen appliance 1 as an electrical circuit 34 (pg 6 li 30). Thus, one would have found it obvious to provide a printed circuit board for the second electric circuit (“the drive circuit board 3”), since it has been held that Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Conclusion
/YUNJU KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742