DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2 of claim 6, “a vessel” should read “the vessel” to provide proper antecedent basis.
On line 2 of claim 7, “a needle” should read “the needle” to provide proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Young et al. (US 2011/0213309; hereafter Young).
In regard to claim 1, Young discloses a vascular channel device (100) comprising: a bottom portion (lower portion of 104 and 102) configured to surround a bottom portion of a vessel (see Fig. 8), the bottom portion comprising: a vessel-facing surface (102) comprising a vessel-facing meshwork of pores or channels to promote tissue ingrowth between the vessel and the vessel-facing surface (see par. [0167]-[0179]) and sized to prevent passage of a needle (see par. [0164]-[0166] and [0189]; the device is made of rigid materials); an outer surface (lower portion of 104) comprising an outer meshwork of pores or channels to promote tissue ingrowth between tissue surrounding the outer surface and the outer surface (see par. [0167]-[0179]; “In other embodiments, at least a portion of the body 104 can comprise an ingrowth-inducing covering 152.”).
In regard to claim 2, Young discloses wherein the vessel facing surface is made of hardened, non-compliant material (see par. [0164]-[0166] and [0189]; the device is made of rigid materials).
In regard to claim 3, Young discloses further comprising a palpable feature (146) that is palpable from a surface of a patient’s skin (see par. [0158]).
In regard to claim 4, Young discloses wherein the bottom portion further comprises one or more suture holes (114) for a surgeon to place resorbable sutures during implantation of the device to properly orient the device for needle insertion (see par. [0153]).
In regard to claim 5, Young discloses wherein the vessel-facing meshwork of pores or channels is created by at least one of powder metallurgical processes and compaction and sintering metallic beads (product-by-process limitations; see par. [0168]).
In regard to claim 6, Young discloses further comprising a top portion (upper portion of 104) configured to surround a top portion of a vessel, the top portion comprising an opening (134) that allows a needle to pass through (see par. [0156]).
In regard to claim 10, Young discloses wherein the outer surface of the bottom portion and the second outer surface of the top portion are roughened (see par. [0167]-[0179]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 12-37, and 39-47 of U.S. Patent No. 10,905,867. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,944,774. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the patented claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.***Allowability is predicated upon resolution of the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
THEODORE J. STIGELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783