DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-24 in the reply filed on 11/18/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 25-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/18/2025.
Status of Claims
The Amendment filed 11/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-24 are currently pending in the application. Claims 25-29 have been canceled. No new claims have been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the two-axis build platform” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no earlier recitation of the limitation. MPEP 2173.05(e). For compact prosecution, the limitation has been examined as if it read --the two-axis build portion--. Claims 2-15 which depend from claim 1 are similarly rejected.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a rotational build platform coupled to the second motor to rotate about the second axis” in line(s) 7-8. Claims must particularly point out and distinctly define the metes and bounds of the subject matter. A claim is indefinite if the scope of the claim is not clear to a hypothetical person possessing the ordinary level of skill in the pertinent art. One cannot ascertain whether “a rotational build platform coupled to the second motor to rotate about the second axis” recited in claim 3 is the same as or different than “a two-axis build portion rotationally coupled to the frame about a first axis” or a “two-axis build platform further being configured to rotate about a second axis” previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the two-axis build platform” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no earlier recitation of the limitation. MPEP 2173.05(e). For compact prosecution, the limitation has been examined as if it read --the two-axis build portion--. Claims 17-24 which depend from claim 16 are similarly rejected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (CN-109049703-A - translation provided).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus (replacement build platform) comprising a Z axis sliding block (2) mounted on guide post (4) (a frame configured to removably couple with the structure) and printing substrate 14 (two-axis build portion), wherein the printing substrate (14) is connected with B axle turntable (13), and B axle turntable (13) is connected with Y-axis sliding block (12), Y Axis sliding block (12) is connected with A axis turntable (11), A axis turntable (11) is connected with X-axis slide block (9), X-axis slide block (9) and Z axis are sliding Block (2) is connected, Z axis sliding block (2) is mounted on guide post (4), and one end of guide post (4) is connected with printing machine base (1), (a two-axis build portion rotationally coupled to the frame about a first axis, the two-axis build platform further being configured to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis) (Fig 1-2 and Translation, Pg 4).
The limitation “for an additive manufacturing system having a structure for supporting a build platform” is a recitation of intended use of the claimed replacement build platform. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Zhang teaches an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim, specifically a Z axis sliding block (frame) and a printing substrate 14 (two-axis build portion).
Regarding claim 3, as applied to claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus wherein the frame includes a first and a second arm (end portions of 12); the two-axis build portion includes: a shaft rotationally coupled between the first arm and second arm; a first motor configured to rotate the shaft about the first axis; a second motor coupled to the shaft; and a rotational build platform coupled to the second motor to rotate about the second axis (Fig 1-2 and Translation, Pg 4)..
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus wherein the frame includes a first arm having a first channel and a second arm having a second channel, the first channel and second channel being sized to receive the structure (Fig 2 and Translation, Pg 4).
Regarding claim 5, as applied to claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus wherein the frame includes base (central portion of 2) that extends between the first arm and second arm (end portions of 2).
Claim 16-17, 19-20, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kane (US 8,203,702 B1).
Regarding claim 16, Kane teaches an apparatus (build platform) comprising outer ring 17 (a planar build portion) and octagonal mirror 11 (a two-axis build portion), wherein a mirror subassembly rotates on two opposing pivot points 16, 19 inside the inner ring, and wherein the mirror subassembly and inner ring rotate about another set of pivot points 14, 19′ between the inner and outer rings and mounted at right-angles to the pivot points between the mirror subassembly and inner ring thus providing independent orthogonal rotations of the mirror 11 (a two-axis build portion rotationally coupled to the planar build portion about a first axis, the two-axis build platform further being configured to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis (Fig 4A-4E, 5A and col 15, ln 27-38).
The limitation “for additive manufacturing system” is a recitation of intended use of the claimed build platform. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114(II). Here, Kane teaches an apparatus which includes all the structural limitations of the claim, specifically outer ring 17 (a planar build portion) and octagonal mirror 11 (a two-axis build portion) (Fig 4A-4E, 5A and col 15, ln 27-38).
Regarding claim 17, as applied to claim 16, Kane teaches an apparatus further comprising a first motor coupled to the two-axis build portion to rotate the two-axis build portion about the first axis; and a second motor coupled to the two-axis build platform to rotate the two-axis build portion about the second axis (drive mechanisms…on-axis drive motors) (col 24, ln 53-56).
Regarding claims 19-20, as applied to claim 16, Kane teaches an apparatus wherein the planar build portion has an opening sized to receive the two-axis build portion; and the two-axis build portion has a first build area having a circular shape and wherein the two-axis build portion is centrally located in the planar build portion (Fig 4A,4B).
Regarding claim 24, as applied to claim 16, Kane discloses an apparatus wherein the planar build portion includes a pitch relief area adjacent the two-axis build portion, the pitch relief area defining a pitch clearance area (Kane, Fig 4A, 4B; see gap between outer ring 17 and inner ring 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN-109049703-A - translation provided).
Regarding claim 6, as applied to claim 4, Zhang teaches an apparatus wherein Z axis sliding block (2) is mounted on guide post (4), one end of guide post (4) and printer Pedestal (1) is connected (Fig 1-2 and Translation, Pg 4).
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach an apparatus wherein the frame further includes at least one clip portion coupled to the base, the at least one clip portion being configured to engage the frame and fixedly couple the frame to the structure.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Zhang such that the frame further includes at least one clip portion coupled to the base, the at least one clip portion being configured to engage the frame and fixedly couple the frame to the structure, since it has been held that the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)-(B). One would have been motivated to connect the frame to the structure of the additive manufacturing system.
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN-109049703-A - translation provided), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Wang (CN-108450007-A - translation provided).
Regarding claims 7-14, as applied to claim 1, Zhang does not teach an apparatus further comprising a processor module operably coupled to the two-axis build portion, the processor module being configured to execute executable computer instructions for receiving at least one input and causing a rotation of the two-axis build portion about at least one of the first axis or the second axis; wherein the input is at least one distance measurement; wherein the processor module is further responsive to executable computer instructions for predicting the next state of a machine control code in response to receiving the at least one input; wherein the predicting of the next state of machine control code is based at least in part on a machine learning model; wherein the machine learning model is a Hidden Markov Model; wherein the predicting the next state of machine control code is based on determining an end condition has been achieved based at least in part on the at least one input; wherein the predicting the next state of machine control code determines a change in phase; nor wherein the change of phase is an initialization phase, a calibration phase, and a completion phase.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (state problem; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Wang discloses a device that includes a platform and a movable member. The platform may include a plurality of stacked boards having an array of inertial sensors and a processor that receives input from each inertial sensor in the array of inertial sensors. Each inertial sensor in the sensor array outputs a rate of rotation of the movable member. A movable member is coupled to the platform and each inertial sensor in the array of inertial sensors. The processor defines an Hidden Markov Model representing discrete valued measurements of the rate of rotation of the movable member. The transition probabilities of the HMM take into account the motion model of the movable member. The observation probability takes into account noise and bias of at least one of the inertial sensors in the inertial sensor array. A processor determines a rate of rotation of the movable member by solving an output of the HMM with input received from the array of inertial sensors. (Translation Pg 3-4).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Zhang by applying the known technique of providing a processor determines a rate of rotation of the movable member by solving an output of the HMM with input received from the array of inertial sensors disclosed in Wang to the apparatus comprising a two-axis build portion disclosed in Zhang with predictable results and resulting in an improved apparatus. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kane (US 8,203,702 B1), as applied to claim 17, and in further view of Manuel (US 2020/0001522 A1).
Regarding claim 18, applied to claim 17, Kane does not explicitly an apparatus wherein the first motor and second motor are stepper motors.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (stepper motors configured to rotate build platforms; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Manuel discloses at [0042] that turntable 110 comprises a motor, which may be a stepper motor, under the control of controller 101 that is capable of rotating platform 111 (and, consequently object 151) around an axis of rotation. In particular, turntable 110 is capable of: [0043] i. rotating platform 111 clockwise around the axis of rotation from any angle to any angle, and [0044] ii. rotating platform 111 counter-clockwise around the axis of rotation from any angle to any angle, and [0045] iii. rotating platform 111 at any rate, and [0046] iv. maintaining (statically) the position of platform 111 at any angle.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the apparatus disclosed in Kane by substituting the on-axis driver motors disclosed in Kane with the stepper motors disclosed in Manuel since the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. MPEP 2143(B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2, 15, and 21-23 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, as applied to claim 1, Zhang discloses a replacement build platform for an additive manufacturing system having a structure for supporting a build platform, the replacement build platform comprising: a frame configured to removably couple with the structure and a two-axis build portion rotationally coupled to the frame about a first axis, the two-axis build platform further being configured to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis.
The apparatus as claimed is deemed novel and non-obvious because the prior art of record along with a further prior art search do not teach or suggest an apparatus further comprising a planar build portion coupled to the frame adjacent the two-axis build portion.
Claim 15 is allowed because the claims are dependent upon allowable claim 2.
Regarding claim 21, as applied to claim 1, Zhang discloses a build platform for an additive manufacturing system, the build platform comprising a planar build portion and a two-axis build portion rotationally coupled to the planar build portion about a first axis, the two-axis build platform further being configured to rotate about a second axis, the second axis being perpendicular to the first axis; a first motor coupled to the two-axis build portion to rotate the two-axis build portion about the first axis; and a second motor coupled to the two-axis build platform to rotate the two-axis build portion about the second axis.
The apparatus as claimed is deemed novel and non-obvious because the prior art of record along with a further prior art search do not teach or suggest an apparatus wherein the two-axis build portion includes a first build area and the planar build portion includes a second build area, wherein the first build area and second build area being co-planar when in an initial position.
Claims 22-23 are allowed because the claims are dependent upon allowable claim 21.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sehrt (US 2022/0314532 A1) teaches an apparatus wherein the build platform or the entire build container can preferably be made to carry out a rotational movement by way of a drive, in particular by way of a motor, preferably by way of a stepper motor, wherein the rotational movement, in particular, ends before a powder bed layer is applied or a layer is produced by powder fusion (¶0025).
Rakshit (US 2021/0129421 A1) teaches an apparatus wherein the moveable platform 102 can be configured to move in one or more directions including translational movement (e.g., movement in the x, y, and/or z directions), yaw (e.g., clockwise or counterclockwise rotational movement about a vertical axis of the 3D printer 100), pitch (e.g., clockwise or counterclockwise rotational movement about a lateral axis or transverse axis of the 3D printer 100), roll (e.g., clockwise or counterclockwise rotational movement about a longitudinal axis of the 3D printer 100), and/or a combination of two or more of the aforementioned movements (¶0026).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743