DETAILED ACTION
International Search Report
No “X” and/or “Y” references were cited in the International Search Report and Written Opinion for International Application PCT/US2015/062483, to which the instant application is related although priority is not claimed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the term “bulk” is used several times in the instant Specification (in at least paragraphs [0086], [0171], [0181], [0191], [0201] and Table 1 on p 52) with the units of microns or microns/1 ply. The same paragraphs also recite a caliper in units of microns, with the two terms used apparently interchangeably. The term “bulk” is commonly known to those of ordinary skill in the art as the reciprocal of density, or volume per unit weight, often expressed as cm3/g. It is believed that the Specification, in reciting bulk in units of microns, is intended to recite a caliper.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) and as evidenced by Rekoske (US 2014/0096924).
Chen et al discloses a three-dimensional textured (having a three dimensional surface structure) tissue product (Abs; col 4, lines 27-31; col 6, lines 38-40) comprising raised web portions formed by a molding process and having a height above the planar surface of the web of from about 0.2 mm to about 1 mm (about 200-1000 microns), or from about 0.25 mm to about 0.7 mm (about 250-700 microns) (col 4, lines 44-49; col 15, lines 20-31 and 54-60). The three-dimensional textured tissue product thus has a peak to valley depth of the web comprising raised web portions of at least 100 microns. In an embodiment, the paper product is multi-ply, and comprises two or more tissue web plies (col 11, lines 56-58; col 31, lines 45-50; col 32, lines 37-39). The product can be in roll form (col 32, lines 46-47) and can be bath tissues, facial tissues, paper towels, wipers, absorbent articles, etc. (col 33, lines 12-17), which read on sanitary tissue products.
Chen et al discloses that the web has a basis weight between about 10 and about 200 gsm, specifically between about 15 and 120 gsm (col 4, lines 34-38); therefore, obtaining a basis weight for a 2-ply product from about 20 to about 400 gsm, or from about 30 to 240 gsm, which ranges significantly overlay the claimed range, is embodied. Absent convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims, obtaining a basis weight for 2-ply product within the claimed range would have been obvious from the disclosure to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of obtaining a suitable tissue product.
Chen et al discloses that the web has a bulk between about 3 and about 20 cc/g (col 4, lines 39-40). Combined with the disclosed basis weight, a caliper per 2-ply between about 300 and about 80,000 microns can be calculated as the product of basis weight x bulk x 2(plies) with appropriate unit conversion, which significantly overlays the claimed ranges. Chen et al discloses that the plies forming the opposing outer surfaces of the product may comprise any of the following: a creped and uncreped web; a calendered and uncalendered web (col 32, lines 20-22), therefore uncalendered tissue products are embodied. Absent convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims, obtaining a claimed basis weight and an uncalendered tissue product having a caliper per 2-ply in the claimed ranges would have been obvious from the disclosure to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Chen et al also teaches that any known molding process suitable for a paper web may be used (col 10, lines 10-12), thus indicating to one of ordinary skill in the art that structured webs produced by any molding process would be expected to produce the same or similar product.
The product of Chen et al comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit the claimed crumple resistance and bulk softness or at least, absent convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims, obtaining the claimed crumple resistance and bulk softness values would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because, where the claimed and prior art apparatus or product are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In other words, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent or at least obvious.
Alternatively or in addition, numerous consumer tissue products have a TS7 softness of less than 10, such as from 8 to 10 (see Rekoske, p 3, Table 1 for evidence). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the tissue of Chen et al with a claimed TS7 softness value as appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Rekoske.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Wilhelm (US 6896767).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed machine direction (MD) or cross machine direction (CD) tensile strength per 2-ply properties or, at least, obtaining the claimed MD or CD tensile properties would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, physical properties of many 2-ply consumer tissue products having basis weights in the claimed range are disclosed In Table 3 of Wilhelm (columns 13 and 14). For example, sample No. 8, P&G Charmin, has MD tensile of 961 gmf/76.2 mm, equivalently 123 N/m (= 961/76.2 x 9.8 with appropriate unit conversions) which falls within the claimed range of 110-190 N/m, and has CD tensile of 473 gmf/76.2 mm, equivalently 61 N/m (= 473/76.2 x 9.8) which falls within the claimed range of 35-90 N/m (the factor of 9.8 converts gmf to N). Sample No. 25, Kimberly-Clark Kleenex, has MD tensile of 1180 gmf/76.2 mm, equivalently 152 N/m which falls within the claimed range of 110-190 N/m, and has CD tensile of 543 gmf/76.2 mm, equivalently 70 N/m which falls within the claimed range of 35-90 N/m. Other samples in Table 3 have MD and CD tensile which fall within claimed ranges. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the two-ply tissue of Chen et al to have MD tensile and CD tensile within the claimed ranges appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Wilhelm.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Underhill et al (US 20070131366).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed MD stretch or CD stretch properties per 2-ply or, at least, obtaining claimed MD stretch or CD stretch properties would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, physical properties of many consumer tissue products are disclosed in Underhill et al. In the table of Underhill that begins on page 9, paragraph [0068], physical properties of commercial tissues are disclosed including MD Dry Stretch (%) and CD Dry Stretch (%). Nearly all of the numerous two-ply tissues therein have an MD stretch which falls within the claimed range of 4 to 30% and a CD stretch which falls within the claimed range of 4 to 20%. For example, Kimberly-Clark Classic 2-ply has an MD stretch of 16.95% and a CD stretch of 12.87%. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the two-ply tissue of Chen et al to have a MD stretch and CD stretch within the claimed ranges as values appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Underhill et al.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Miller et al (US 2013/0029105) and Manifold (US 2011/0189435).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed 2-ply CD wet tensile strength properties or, at least, obtaining the claimed 2-ply CD wet tensile strength properties would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, physical properties of consumer tissue products are tabulated in Miller on page 22, Table16, including CD wet tensile. The CD wet tensile of most of the samples falls in the range of 23 to 71 gm/3 inches, which corresponds to a range of 3.0 to 9.1 N/m using the calculation discussed above, and falls within the claimed range of 0 to 25 N/m. Most of the listed products are two-ply (see Manifold, p 5, Table 1 for evidence). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the two-ply tissue of Chen et al to have a 2-ply CD wet tensile within the claimed ranges as appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Miller et al.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Manifold (US 2011/0189435).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed ball burst per 2-ply properties or, at least, obtaining a claimed ball burst per 2-ply would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, In Table 1 of Manifold (page 5, paragraph [0086]), physical properties of consumer tissue products are disclosed, including dry burst (equivalently ball burst). The two-ply Quilted Northern has a dry burst (also ball burst) of 218 gf which falls within the claimed range of 150-300 gf per two-ply. The two-ply Charmin Ultra Soft has a dry burst of 245 gf which falls within the narrower claimed range of 150-300 gf per two-ply. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the tissue of Chen et al to have a ball burst value per two-ply within the claimed ranges as appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Manifold.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Batra (US 6162327).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed lint value per 2-ply properties or, at least, obtaining a claimed lint value per 2-ply would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, In Table 1 of Batra (columns 17 to 20), physical properties of consumer tissue products are tabulated, including lint value. Many of the tissues listed have a lint value within the claimed range of 2.5 to 7.5. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the tissue of Chen et al to have a lint value per 2-ply within the claimed ranges as appropriate for consumer tissue products as disclosed by Batra.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al (US 7182837) as evidenced by Rekoske and as further evidenced by Klerelid (US 2011/0180223).
The product of Chen et al with the evidence of Rekoske, as discussed above, comprises the same structure as the claimed product and can exhibit claimed softness properties or, at least, obtaining a claimed softness would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for reasons given previously, there being no convincing evidence of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims.
Alternatively or in addition, Klerelid discloses in paragraphs [0021] and [0022] that a multi-ply towel may have a TSA softness of up to 90 on a 0-100 scale, which substantially overlaps the claimed ranges of TSA softness. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to have provided the sanitary tissue product of Chen et al a softness values within the claimed range as appropriate for consumer tissue products as evidenced by Klerelid.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 20, 24-32 and 38 of U.S. Patent No. 10,273,635. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite the limitations of the instant claims, but in different combinations plus additional limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the claims of the patent to obtain the limitations of the instant claims. A sanitary tissue product in roll form would have been obvious as a typical consumer product.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 20-21 and 23-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10,900,176. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite the limitations of the instant claims, but in different combinations plus additional limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the claims of the patent to obtain the limitations of the instant claims. A sanitary tissue product in roll form would have been obvious as a typical consumer product.
Claims 1-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,959,226. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent recite the limitations of the instant claims, but in different combinations plus additional limitations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the claims of the patent to obtain the limitations of the instant claims. A sanitary tissue product in roll form would have been obvious as a typical consumer product.
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of copending Application No. 18/609863 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application recite the limitations of the instant claims, but in different combinations. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the claims of the patent to obtain the limitations of the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/DENNIS R CORDRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748