DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Applicant’s submission overcomes prior claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b). Therefore, the corresponding rejections are withdrawn. Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan Beigi et al. (WO 2024/211172), hereinafter "Khan", in view of Muruganathan et al. (WO 2025/178547), hereinafter “Muruganathan”, and further in view of Cao et al. (US 2025/0374073), hereinafter “Cao”.
Regarding claims 1, 27, Khan teaches:
A user equipment (UE) or a method for wireless communications at a UE, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Khan, Fig. 1B, par. [0032]: the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (see Khan, Fig. 1B, par. [0032]: the WTRU 102 may include a processor 118, a transceiver 120, a transmit/receive element 122, a speaker/microphone 124, a keypad 126, a display/touchpad 128, non-removable memory 130, removable memory 132) to cause the UE to:
obtain a set of measured reference signal values from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0091]: SS reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) may be measured based on the synchronization signals (e.g., demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in PBCH or SSS), and see par. [0113]: The WTRU may detect one or more transmitted SSB beams and measure the beam quality (e.g., RSRP));
predict one or more reference signal measurements for one or more SSBs of the first subset of SSBs for a second set of wireless resources to obtain a set of predicted reference signal values, wherein the first subset of SSBs is absent from the second set of wireless resources (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: a WTRU may receive or be configured with a set of transmitted SSB beams or actually transmitted SSBs and a set of predicted SSB beams. The predicted SSBs may not be transmitted by a base station. The WTRU may select a predicted beam or SSB (e.g., based on predicted RSRP), for which it may perform initial access (e.g., PRACH preamble transmission); in this case, predicted RSRP for a predicted SSB is performed, corresponding to predicting reference signal measurements for SSBs which are absent); and
select one of a control resource set or a set of random access resources for a random access transmission based at least in part on the set of measured reference signal values and the set of predicted reference signal values (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: The WTRU may use transmit the PRACH preamble or random access preamble using a beam associated with the predicted beam or predicted SSB In an example, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH scrambled with RA-RNTI that schedules a RAR to detect RAR within the period RAR-Window corresponding to the transmitted PRACH and/or associated detected and/or predicted SSB beams, and see par. [0076]: the WTRU may be configured to transmit the PRACH preamble on multiple resources corresponding to the detection and/or prediction of more than one SSB beam (e.g., based on the configurations received for the detected SSB, e.g., in the direction of the detected SSB). For example, the first resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a first predicted SSB beam are both preferred beams, the second resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a second predicted SSB beams are preferred beams, and so forth; in this case, random access resources are configured based on detected and predicted SSB (i.e. based on the set of measured reference signal values and the set of predicted reference signal values)).
However, Khan does not teach:
obtain a set of measured reference signal values from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs in a second SSB burst, wherein the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst are transmitted in a first set of wireless resources, and the first subset of SSBs is transmitted using a different set of transmit spatial filters than the second subset of SSBs;
wherein the one or more reference signal measurements are predicted based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources;
Muruganathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
obtain a set of measured reference signal values from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs in a second SSB burst, wherein the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst are transmitted in a first set of wireless resources, and the first subset of SSBs is transmitted using a different set of transmit spatial filters than the second subset of SSBs (see Muruganathan, page 22, lines 27-29: the UE trains an AI/ML model using at least one measurement of the first set of DL-RSs and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted to the UE with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 21, lines 25-27: the UE may receive the first set of DL-RSs transmitted using a first set of spatial filters and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted using a second set of spatial filters with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 23, lines 12-13: the second set of spatial filters is different from the first set of spatial filters);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the obtaining measured reference signal values of Khan with the subsets of SSBs transmitted with different spatial filters of Muruganathan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing reference signal overhead (see Muruganathan, page 9, line 30-page 10, line 2).
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan does not teach:
wherein the one or more reference signal measurements are predicted based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources;
Cao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more reference signal measurements are predicted based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources (see Cao, par. [0188]: the third network model is configured to output a third prediction dataset based on an input of a third measurement dataset. In other words, the terminal device inputs the third measurement dataset to the third network model to output the third prediction dataset, and see par. [0189]: the third measurement dataset includes the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set. The third prediction dataset includes one of: identity information of K2 predicted uplink transmit spatial filters in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set, or identity information of K2 predicted uplink transmit spatial filters and K2 predicted uplink receive spatial filters in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set, and see par. [0190]: the third measurement dataset includes the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set and the index of the uplink-reference-signal resource corresponding to the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set, and see par. [0202]: an uplink-reference-signal resource in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set at least includes an SRS resource, and see par. [0207]: Each SRS resource may be configured with spatial relation information, i.e., an uplink beam, which contains a downlink reference signal, i.e., a CSI-RS or an SSB, and see par. [0222]: there are two main manners for the input to the third network model. One model input manner (first model input manner) is to input only link quality (such as L1-RSRP) of downlink-reference-signal resources (CSI-RS resources and/or SSB resources) in Set D′ in a fixed order (i.e., the fifth order); in this case, link quality information (i.e. measured values) of resources including CSI-RS and SSB resources (i.e. reference signal values of SSBs and other reference signal values) is used for predicting a reference signal prediction set);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the predicted reference signal measurements of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan with the predicted reference signal measurements based on measured reference signal values of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing overhead for beam indication (see Cao, par. [0098]).
Regarding claims 3, 28, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or method. Khan further teaches:
wherein, to select one of the control resource set or the set of random access resource, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select a first control resource set or a first random access resource associated with a first SSB of the first subset of SSBs or a first SSB of the second subset of SSBs, wherein the first SSB of the first subset of SSBs and the first SSB of second subset of SSBs is a same SSB or a different SSB, and wherein the first SSB of the first subset of SSBs or the first SSB of second subset of SSBs has a reference signal measurement value or a predicted reference signal value that indicates more favorable channel conditions than other reference signal measurement values or predicted reference signal values of other SSBs of the first subset of SSBs or the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: The WTRU may use transmit the PRACH preamble or random access preamble using a beam associated with the predicted beam or predicted SSB In an example, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH scrambled with RA-RNTI that schedules a RAR to detect RAR within the period RAR-Window corresponding to the transmitted PRACH and/or associated detected and/or predicted SSB beams, and see par. [0076]: the WTRU may be configured to transmit the PRACH preamble on multiple resources corresponding to the detection and/or prediction of more than one SSB beam (e.g., based on the configurations received for the detected SSB, e.g., in the direction of the detected SSB). For example, the first resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a first predicted SSB beam are both preferred beams, the second resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a second predicted SSB beams are preferred beams, and so forth; in this case, random access resources are configured based on detected and predicted SSB (i.e. based on the set of measured reference signal values and the set of predicted reference signal values). The resources may be associated with preferred beams, corresponding to favorable channel conditions).
Regarding claims 4, 23, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or network entity. Khan further teaches:
wherein the first subset of SSBs and the second subset of SSBs each comprise one or more SSBs having one or more symbol structures that include one or more combinations of a first quantity of symbols that include a primary synchronization signal, a second quantity of symbols that include a secondary synchronization signal, and a third quantity of symbols that include a physical broadcast channel (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE.
Khan does not teach, but Muruganathan teaches:
wherein each SSB of both the first subset of SSBs and the second subset of SSBs has a same symbol structure (see Muruganathan, page 12, lines 6-9: Each SSB carries New Radio-Primary Synchronization Signal (NR-PSS), New RadioSecondary Synchronization Signal (NR-SSS) and New Radio-Physical Broadcast Channel (NR- PBCH) in four successive symbols. One or multiple Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) are transmitted in one SSB burst which is repeated with certain periodicity).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the SSBs of Khan with the symbol structure of Muruganathan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing reference signal overhead (see Muruganathan, page 9, line 30-page 10, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein each SSB of the second subset of SSBs includes one or more symbols that contain the primary synchronization signal (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH)), and each SSB of the first subset of SSBs includes one or more symbols that contain the secondary synchronization signal and the physical broadcast channel (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein: each SSB of the second subset of SSBs has a symbol structure that includes the primary synchronization signal, the secondary synchronization signal, and the physical broadcast channel (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH)), and
each SSB of the first subset of SSBs has a symbol structure that includes only the primary synchronization signal, only the secondary synchronization signal, or both the primary synchronization signal and the secondary synchronization signal (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein the set of random access resources for the random access transmission is selected from a plurality of available sets of random access resources associated with only the first subset of SSBs (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: The WTRU may use transmit the PRACH preamble or random access preamble using a beam associated with the predicted beam or predicted SSB In an example, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH scrambled with RA-RNTI that schedules a RAR to detect RAR within the period RAR-Window corresponding to the transmitted PRACH and/or associated detected and/or predicted SSB beams, and see par. [0076]: the WTRU may be configured to transmit the PRACH preamble on multiple resources corresponding to the detection and/or prediction of more than one SSB beam (e.g., based on the configurations received for the detected SSB, e.g., in the direction of the detected SSB). For example, the first resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a first predicted SSB beam are both preferred beams, the second resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a second predicted SSB beams are preferred beams, and so forth; in this case, random access resources are configured based on detected and predicted SSB (i.e. the resources are associated with the first subset of SSBs)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
and wherein a first set of transmit spatial filters of the first subset of SSBs are indicated by one or more of a synchronization signal sequence or an indicator of a physical broadcast channel of one or more SSBs of the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH), and see par. [0085]: A WTRU may transmit or receive a physical channel or reference signal according to at least one spatial domain filter. The term "beam” may be used to refer to a spatial domain filter. The WTRU may transmit a physical channel or signal using the same spatial domain filter as the spatial domain filter used for receiving an RS (such as CSI-RS) or a SS block).
Khan does not teach, but Muruganathan teaches:
wherein the first set of wireless resources comprise a first set of temporal locations within a single cycle associated with the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst (Muruganathan, page 4, lines 23-31: The maximum number of SSBs within a half frame, denoted by Z, depends on the frequency band, and the time locations for these L candidate SSBs within a half frame depends on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) of the SSBs. The Z candidate SSBs within a half frame are indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to Z-l. By successfully detecting PBCH and its associated DMRS, a UE knows the SSB index. A cell does not necessarily transmit SS/PBCH blocks in all Z candidate locations in a half frame, and the resource of the un-used candidate positions can be used for the transmission of data or control signaling instead. It is up to network implementation to decide which candidate time locations to select for SSB transmission within a half frame and which beam to use for each SSB transmission),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wireless resources of Khan with the temporal locations of Muruganathan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing reference signal overhead (see Muruganathan, page 9, line 30-page 10, line 2).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select an artificial intelligence model for predicting the one or more reference signal measurements based at least in part on a model ID or an identification of transmitted SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that is provided in the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0115]: The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble to the selected cell, that is associated to the selected predicted SSB. The WTRU may indicate its determined or selected active mode of operation (e.g., AIML operation) via sending PRACH for example (e.g., via sending PRACH on AIML RO time and frequency resources and/or via using the PRACH preamble selected from a first set that indicates that the WTRU supports AIML, e.g., as described herein)).
Regarding claims 16, 30, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or method. Khan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select an artificial intelligence model for predicting the one or more reference signal measurements based at least in part on the measured reference signal values of the first subset of SSBs and second subsets of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0115]: The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble to the selected cell, that is associated to the selected predicted SSB. The WTRU may indicate its determined or selected active mode of operation (e.g., AIML operation) via sending PRACH for example (e.g., via sending PRACH on AIML RO time and frequency resources and/or via using the PRACH preamble selected from a first set that indicates that the WTRU supports AIML, e.g., as described herein), and see par. [0079]: The WTRU may use transmit the PRACH preamble or random access preamble using a beam associated with the predicted beam or predicted SSB In an example, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH scrambled with RA-RNTI that schedules a RAR to detect RAR within the period RAR-Window corresponding to the transmitted PRACH and/or associated detected and/or predicted SSB beams).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein a bandwidth, a quantity of physical resource blocks, a quantity of resource elements, or any combination thereof, of the first subset of SSBs is the same or different than the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0096]: One or more of following configurations may be used for a RS resource. For example, a WTRU may be configured with one or more RS resources. The RS resource configuration may include one or more of following: RS resource ID; resource mapping (e.g., REs in a PRB)), and wherein the first subset of SSBs has a same quantity or a different quantity of transmit spatial filters as the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, par. [0085]: The WTRU may receive a first (target) downlink channel or signal according to the same spatial domain filter or spatial reception parameter as a second (reference) downlink channel or signal).
Regarding claim 21, Khan teaches:
A network entity, comprising:
configure a user equipment (UE) to obtain a set of measured reference signal values and a set of predicted reference signal values (see Khan, par. [0111]: The WTRU may be configured with or receive (e.g., via MIB, SIB1 , and/or RAR) one or more parameters regarding offsets and/or thresholds for comparing the RSRP measured based on RAR (e.g., PDCCH DMRS, or PDSCH DMRS) with the RSRP predicted for SSB), wherein the set of measured reference signal values is configured to be obtained from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs in a second SSB burst (see Khan, par. [0091]: SS reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) may be measured based on the synchronization signals (e.g., demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in PBCH or SSS), and see par. [0113]: The WTRU may detect one or more transmitted SSB beams and measure the beam quality (e.g., RSRP)), the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst transmitted in a first set of wireless resources, and wherein the set of predicted reference signal values is configured to be obtained for the first subset of SSBs for a second set of wireless resources in which the first subset of SSBs is absent (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: a WTRU may receive or be configured with a set of transmitted SSB beams or actually transmitted SSBs and a set of predicted SSB beams. The predicted SSBs may not be transmitted by a base station. The WTRU may select a predicted beam or SSB (e.g., based on predicted RSRP), for which it may perform initial access (e.g., PRACH preamble transmission); in this case, predicted RSRP for a predicted SSB is performed, corresponding to predicting reference signal measurements for SSBs which are absent);
transmit, in the second set of wireless resources, one or more reference signals of the second subset of SSBs in a second instance of the second SSB burst (see Khan, par. [0091]: SS reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) may be measured based on the synchronization signals (e.g., demodulation reference signal (DMRS) in PBCH or SSS), and see par. [0113]: The WTRU may detect one or more transmitted SSB beams and measure the beam quality (e.g., RSRP)); and
receive a random access message from the UE in a set of random access resources, wherein the set of random access resources is associated with at least one SSB of the first subset of SSBs or the second subset of SSBs (see Khan, Fig. 2, par. [0079]: The WTRU may use transmit the PRACH preamble or random access preamble using a beam associated with the predicted beam or predicted SSB In an example, the WTRU may monitor the PDCCH scrambled with RA-RNTI that schedules a RAR to detect RAR within the period RAR-Window corresponding to the transmitted PRACH and/or associated detected and/or predicted SSB beams, and see par. [0076]: the WTRU may be configured to transmit the PRACH preamble on multiple resources corresponding to the detection and/or prediction of more than one SSB beam (e.g., based on the configurations received for the detected SSB, e.g., in the direction of the detected SSB). For example, the first resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a first predicted SSB beam are both preferred beams, the second resource may indicate that the detected SSB and a second predicted SSB beams are preferred beams, and so forth; in this case, random access resources are configured based on detected and predicted SSB (i.e. based on the set of measured reference signal values and the set of predicted reference signal values)).
However, Khan does not teach:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
wherein the set of measured reference signal values is configured to be obtained from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs in a second SSB burst, the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst transmitted in a first set of wireless resources,
and wherein the set of predicted reference signal values is configured to be obtained based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources;
transmit, in the first set of wireless resources, one or more reference signals of the first subset of SSBs in a first instance of the first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of the second subset of SSBs in a first instance of the second SSB burst, wherein the first subset of SSBs is transmitted using a different set of transmit spatial filters than the second subset of SSBs;
Muruganathan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see Muruganathan, Fig. 11, page 35, lines 17-21: The memory 804 may store any suitable instructions, data, or information, including a computer program, software, an application including one or more of logic, rules, code, tables, and/or other instructions capable of being executed by the processing circuitry 802 and utilized by the network node 800); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity (see Muruganathan, Fig. 11, page 35, lines 17-21: The memory 804 may store any suitable instructions, data, or information, including a computer program, software, an application including one or more of logic, rules, code, tables, and/or other instructions capable of being executed by the processing circuitry 802 and utilized by the network node 800) to:
wherein the set of measured reference signal values is configured to be obtained from one or more reference signals of a first subset of synchronization signal blocks (SSBs) in a first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of a second subset of SSBs in a second SSB burst, the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst transmitted in a first set of wireless resources (see Muruganathan, page 22, lines 27-29: the UE trains an AI/ML model using at least one measurement of the first set of DL-RSs and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted to the UE with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 21, lines 25-27: the UE may receive the first set of DL-RSs transmitted using a first set of spatial filters and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted using a second set of spatial filters with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 23, lines 12-13: the second set of spatial filters is different from the first set of spatial filters),
transmit, in the first set of wireless resources, one or more reference signals of the first subset of SSBs in a first instance of the first SSB burst and one or more reference signals of the second subset of SSBs in a first instance of the second SSB burst, wherein the first subset of SSBs is transmitted using a different set of transmit spatial filters than the second subset of SSBs (see Muruganathan, page 22, lines 27-29: the UE trains an AI/ML model using at least one measurement of the first set of DL-RSs and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted to the UE with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 21, lines 25-27: the UE may receive the first set of DL-RSs transmitted using a first set of spatial filters and the second set of DL-RSs transmitted using a second set of spatial filters with the first set of DL-RS characteristics, and see page 23, lines 12-13: the second set of spatial filters is different from the first set of spatial filters);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network entity of Khan with the subsets of SSBs transmitted with different spatial filters of Muruganathan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing reference signal overhead (see Muruganathan, page 9, line 30-page 10, line 2).
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan does not teach:
wherein the set of predicted reference signal values is configured to be obtained based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources;
Cao, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the set of predicted reference signal values is configured to be obtained based at least in part on measured reference signal values of the second subset of SSBs in the second set of wireless resources and the set of measured reference signal values from the first set of wireless resources (see Cao, par. [0188]: the third network model is configured to output a third prediction dataset based on an input of a third measurement dataset. In other words, the terminal device inputs the third measurement dataset to the third network model to output the third prediction dataset, and see par. [0189]: the third measurement dataset includes the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set. The third prediction dataset includes one of: identity information of K2 predicted uplink transmit spatial filters in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set, or identity information of K2 predicted uplink transmit spatial filters and K2 predicted uplink receive spatial filters in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set, and see par. [0190]: the third measurement dataset includes the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set and the index of the uplink-reference-signal resource corresponding to the link quality information measured based on the second uplink-reference-signal measurement set, and see par. [0202]: an uplink-reference-signal resource in the first uplink-reference-signal prediction set at least includes an SRS resource, and see par. [0207]: Each SRS resource may be configured with spatial relation information, i.e., an uplink beam, which contains a downlink reference signal, i.e., a CSI-RS or an SSB, and see par. [0222]: there are two main manners for the input to the third network model. One model input manner (first model input manner) is to input only link quality (such as L1-RSRP) of downlink-reference-signal resources (CSI-RS resources and/or SSB resources) in Set D′ in a fixed order (i.e., the fifth order); in this case, link quality information (i.e. measured values) of resources including CSI-RS and SSB resources (i.e. reference signal values of SSBs and other reference signal values) is used for predicting a reference signal prediction set);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the predicted reference signal measurements of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan with the predicted reference signal measurements based on measured reference signal values of Cao with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing overhead for beam indication (see Cao, par. [0098]).
Claims 2 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Maleki et al. (US 2024/0284233), hereinafter “Maleki”.
Regarding claims 2, 22, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or network entity.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the first subset of SSBs are transmitted at a first periodicity and the second subset of SSBs are transmitted at a second periodicity, and wherein the first periodicity divided by the second periodicity is an integer value that is greater than or equal to 2.
Maleki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the first subset of SSBs are transmitted at a first periodicity and the second subset of SSBs are transmitted at a second periodicity, and wherein the first periodicity divided by the second periodicity is an integer value that is greater than or equal to 2 (see Maleki, par. [0164]: an SSB 60, a set of SSBs 62, and/or an SSB time window 64 may be configured to have a periodicity 66, which may refer to one or more periodicities such as periodicity 66a, 66b, 66c. For example, SSB time window 64a (and/or SSB 60 and/or the first set of SSB 62a) may have a periodicity 66a equal to 20 ms, and SSB time window 64b (and SSB time window) may have a periodicity 66b equal to 80 ms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the transmission of SSBs of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the different periodicity of Maleki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of overcoming drawbacks of using a single periodicity for all SSBs (see Maleki, par. [0179]).
Claims 8-9, 24, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (US 2022/0174509), hereinafter “Noh”.
Regarding claims 8, 24, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or network entity.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the control resource set, a remaining minimum system information communication, or both, are provided only via one or more beams associated with SSBs of the second subset of SSBs.
Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the control resource set, a remaining minimum system information communication, or both, are provided only via one or more beams associated with SSBs of the second subset of SSBs (see Noh, par. [0254]: Some signals transmitted through a wide beam may include at least one of SSB, CORESET #0, CORESET, CSI-RS (e.g., used for tracking), or signals used for a random access channel (RACH) procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the control resource set of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the provision via a beam associated with SSBs of Noh with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving beam-based wireless signal relaying performance (see Noh, par. [0007]).
Regarding claims 9, 29, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE or method. Khan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select one or more beams to monitor based at least in part on the selected control resource set or random access resources (see Khan, par. [0080]: a WTRU may determine a predicted SSB beam is the best beam (e.g., based on predicted RSRP) based on detected and/or received SSB beams and an Al ML model. The WTRU may start initial access procedure by sending PRACH preamble for the predicted SSB beam (e.g., in time and freq, resources associated with the predicted SSB beam). The WTRU may monitor to receive RAR in the RAR window), wherein the one or more beams to monitor are determined based at least in part on one or more of a sequence of a primary synchronization signal, a sequence of a secondary synchronization signal, or an indication included in a physical broadcast channel, transmitted in a SSB associated with the selected control resource set or random access resources (see Khan, par. [0080]: a WTRU may determine a predicted SSB beam is the best beam (e.g., based on predicted RSRP) based on detected and/or received SSB beams and an Al ML model. The WTRU may start initial access procedure by sending PRACH preamble for the predicted SSB beam (e.g., in time and freq, resources associated with the predicted SSB beam). The WTRU may monitor to receive RAR in the RAR window, and see par. [0088]: A WTRU may receive a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH) block. The SS/PBCH block (SSB) may include a primary synchronization signal (PSS), secondary synchronization signal (SSS), and physical broadcast channel (PBCH))).
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
one or more beams to monitor for the control resource set, a remaining minimum system information communication, or both,
Noh, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
one or more beams to monitor for the control resource set (see Noh, par. [0376]: the PDCCH including the L1 signaling transmitted from the base station to the repeater may be transmitted (or, monitored) only in a specific frequency band such as an initial BWP, CORESET #0 (refer to ControlResourceSetZero configuration)), a remaining minimum system information communication (optional limitation), or both (optional limitation),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the monitoring beams of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the monitoring beams for the control resource set of Noh with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of improving beam-based wireless signal relaying performance (see Noh, par. [0007]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Nilsson et al. (WO 2024/035322), hereinafter “Nilsson”.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the set of random access resources for the random access transmission are indicated by a remaining minimum system information transmission associated with a SSB that is selected based at least in part on the set of reference signal measurement values and the predicted reference signal measurement values of the first subset of SSBs.
Nilsson, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the set of random access resources for the random access transmission are indicated by a remaining minimum system information transmission associated with a SSB that is selected based at least in part on the set of reference signal measurement values and the predicted reference signal measurement values of the first subset of SSBs (see Nilsson, Fig. 17, page 48, lines 15-18: the message including the reporting configuration (e.g., CSI reporting prediction configuration and/or a CSI prediction reporting configuration), based on which the wireless device 22 transmits predicted information to the network derived from spatial-domain predictions, and see page 58, lines 26-33: The reporting configuration may include the configuration of the UL control channel in which the wireless device 22 is to transmit the predicted information upon reception of the command, such as the type of UL control channel (e.g. PUSCH, PUCCH, RACH, or any other UL channel) and the actual resource configuration (e.g., indication in the time and frequency domain where the UL resources are reserved for that purpose), such as a UL control resource list).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the set of random resources of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the indicated set of Nilsson with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing the number of measurements performed (see Nilsson, page 71, lines 1-4).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Frenne et al. (WO 2024/035325), hereinafter “Frenne”.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE.
Khan does not teach, but Muruganathan teaches:
wherein the first set of wireless resources comprise a first set of temporal locations within a single cycle associated with the first SSB burst and the second SSB burst (Muruganathan, page 4, lines 23-31: The maximum number of SSBs within a half frame, denoted by Z, depends on the frequency band, and the time locations for these L candidate SSBs within a half frame depends on the Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) of the SSBs. The Z candidate SSBs within a half frame are indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to Z-l. By successfully detecting PBCH and its associated DMRS, a UE knows the SSB index. A cell does not necessarily transmit SS/PBCH blocks in all Z candidate locations in a half frame, and the resource of the un-used candidate positions can be used for the transmission of data or control signaling instead. It is up to network implementation to decide which candidate time locations to select for SSB transmission within a half frame and which beam to use for each SSB transmission),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the wireless resources of Khan with the temporal locations of Muruganathan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing reference signal overhead (see Muruganathan, page 9, line 30-page 10, line 2).
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein a first set of transmit spatial filters of the first subset of SSBs at a first temporal location of the first set of temporal locations have a predefined quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship to a second set of transmit spatial filters of the second subset of SSBs at a second temporal location of the first set of temporal locations.
Frenne, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein a first set of transmit spatial filters of the first subset of SSBs at a first temporal location of the first set of temporal locations have a predefined quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship to a second set of transmit spatial filters of the second subset of SSBs at a second temporal location of the first set of temporal locations (see Frenne, page 40, lines 13-19: The DL RS (and their relationship to one another, e.g., QCL) can be configured in a way that enables wireless device’s 22 to use AI/ML models to reliably predict the “best beam’VDL RS without needing to measure all possible (denoted as the number F) beams/DL RS (thus saving beam-management overhead), and how the wireless device 22 train(s) or re-trains (updates) the AI/ML model (e.g., inference function) which predicts the Set A based on measurements of Set B, based on the one or more measurements on the configured Set B (online training) and CSI measurements on the Set A, and see page 6, lines 19-28: The maximum number of SSBs within a half frame, denoted by L, depends on the frequency band, and the time locations for these L candidate SSBs within a half frame depends on the SCS of the SSBs. The L candidate SSBs within a half frame are indexed in an ascending order in time from 0 to L-l. By successfully detecting PBCH and its associated DMRS, a wireless device knows the SSB index. A cell does not necessarily transmit SS/PBCH blocks in all L candidate locations in a half frame, and the resource of the un-used candidate positions can be used for the transmission of data or control signaling instead. It is up to network implementation to decide which candidate time locations to select for SSB transmission within a half frame, and which beam to use for each SSB transmission).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sets of transmit spatial filters of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the QCL relationship of Frenne with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of reducing overhead during beam management (see Frenne, page 25, lines 7-13).
Claims 15, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0336687), hereinafter “Pezeshki”.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE. Khan further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
select an artificial intelligence model for predicting the one or more reference signal measurements (see Khan, par. [0115]: The WTRU may transmit a PRACH preamble to the selected cell, that is associated to the selected predicted SSB. The WTRU may indicate its determined or selected active mode of operation (e.g., AIML operation) via sending PRACH for example (e.g., via sending PRACH on AIML RO time and frequency resources and/or via using the PRACH preamble selected from a first set that indicates that the WTRU supports AIML, e.g., as described herein))
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
select an artificial intelligence model for predicting the one or more reference signal measurements based at least in part on a geographical location of the UE and a set of candidate models associated with different geographical locations.
Pezeshki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
select an artificial intelligence model for predicting the one or more reference signal measurements based at least in part on a geographical location of the UE and a set of candidate models associated with different geographical locations (see Pezeshki, par. [0134]: a machine learning model may learn locations and times at which a UE is stationary (for example, the machine learning model may learn that the UE is typically stationary at night in a particular location, which may be in the living room of a house) and locations and times at which a UE is in motion (for example, the machine learning model may learn that the UE is typically in motion during particular time periods, which may be associated with commuting in a vehicle to work in the morning and in the evening). The machine learning model may be trained using supervised learning techniques in which a training data set used to train the machine learning model includes time and location information associated with a tag, label or other reference indicating whether the UE is stationary or in motion; in this case, training a model based on location and using different models for different locations corresponds to selecting an AI model based on location and candidate models).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the selecting an AI model of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the selection based on location and models of Pezeshki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient modification of SSB and efficient selection of beams (see Pezeshki, par. [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the UE.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a scheduling message that indicates that a measurement report is to be transmitted that includes at least a portion of the set of predicted reference signal values.
Pezeshki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive a scheduling message that indicates that a measurement report is to be transmitted that includes at least a portion of the set of predicted reference signal values (see Pezeshki, par. [0107]: a gNB scheduler may perform the beam scheduling/assignment (e.g., both for beam training and for data communication), and see par. [0130]: The UE may additionally or alternatively predict the mobility state of the UE using other contextual information, such as signal quality measurements. The UE may report the predicted mobility state of the UE and position information associated with the UE to a network entity for use by the network entity in identifying beams to use for communications between the UE and the network entity, and see par. [0096]: the UE may receive information regarding the modified SSB burst pattern (e.g., as data set based on UE position information). In some cases, the UE may reduce monitoring and measuring time, for example, only measuring and reporting reference signal receiver power (RSRP) of the top-N, as indicated in the data-set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the UE of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the scheduling message of Pezeshki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient modification of SSB and efficient selection of beams (see Pezeshki, par. [0006]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the network entity.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit a scheduling message to the UE that indicates that a measurement report is to be provided that includes at least a portion of the set of predicted reference signal values.
Pezeshki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
transmit a scheduling message to the UE that indicates that a measurement report is to be provided that includes at least a portion of the set of predicted reference signal values (see Pezeshki, par. [0107]: a gNB scheduler may perform the beam scheduling/assignment (e.g., both for beam training and for data communication), and see par. [0130]: The UE may additionally or alternatively predict the mobility state of the UE using other contextual information, such as signal quality measurements. The UE may report the predicted mobility state of the UE and position information associated with the UE to a network entity for use by the network entity in identifying beams to use for communications between the UE and the network entity, and see par. [0096]: the UE may receive information regarding the modified SSB burst pattern (e.g., as data set based on UE position information). In some cases, the UE may reduce monitoring and measuring time, for example, only measuring and reporting reference signal receiver power (RSRP) of the top-N, as indicated in the data-set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the UE of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the scheduling message of Pezeshki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of efficient modification of SSB and efficient selection of beams (see Pezeshki, par. [0006]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, as applied to claims 15, 17, and 26 above, and further in view of Maleki.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, teaches the UE.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, does not teach:
wherein at least the portion of the set of predicted reference signal values is provided in the measurement report when a reporting periodicity of the measurement report is shorter than a transmission periodicity of the first subset of SSBs.
Maleki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:’
wherein at least the portion of the set of predicted reference signal values is provided in the measurement report when a reporting periodicity of the measurement report is shorter than a transmission periodicity of the first subset of SSBs (see Maleki, Fig. 4, par. [0133]: Wireless device 22 is configured to receive (Block S104) a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration including a first set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a first set periodicity and a second set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a second set periodicity. Each SSB of the second set of SSBs is configurable to be transmitted periodically at an SSB periodicity. Wireless device 22 is further configured to perform (Block S106) at least one measurement associated with one of at least one SSB of any one of the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs, and see par. [0136]: any one of the first SSB time window and the second SSB time window is determined based at least in part on any one of an SSB periodicity parameter defining a periodicity of at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a serving cell and an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) defining a time window for the WD to measure the at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a neighboring cell, and see par. [0167]: a time window, e.g., an SMTC time window, can be configured as an integer or a fraction value, X, where X means the periodicity of the time window is X times that of the periodicity of the first set of SSBs 62a and/or of the first SSB time window 64a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the measurement report of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, with the different periodicity of Maleki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of overcoming drawbacks of using a single periodicity for all SSBs (see Maleki, par. [0179]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, teaches the UE.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, does not teach:
wherein at least a portion of the set of measured reference signal values is provided in the measurement report in response to a trigger for an aperiodic measurement report when a timer associated with corresponding measurements is unexpired, and at least the portion of the set of predicted reference signal values is provided in the response to the trigger when the timer associated with the corresponding measurements is expired, and wherein a duration of the timer corresponds to a periodicity of the second subset of SSBs.
Maleki, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein at least a portion of the set of measured reference signal values is provided in the measurement report in response to a trigger for an aperiodic measurement report when a timer associated with corresponding measurements is unexpired (see Maleki, Fig. 4, par. [0133]: Wireless device 22 is configured to receive (Block S104) a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration including a first set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a first set periodicity and a second set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a second set periodicity. Each SSB of the second set of SSBs is configurable to be transmitted periodically at an SSB periodicity. Wireless device 22 is further configured to perform (Block S106) at least one measurement associated with one of at least one SSB of any one of the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs, and see par. [0136]: any one of the first SSB time window and the second SSB time window is determined based at least in part on any one of an SSB periodicity parameter defining a periodicity of at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a serving cell and an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) defining a time window for the WD to measure the at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a neighboring cell, and see par. [0167]: a time window, e.g., an SMTC time window, can be configured as an integer or a fraction value, X, where X means the periodicity of the time window is X times that of the periodicity of the first set of SSBs 62a and/or of the first SSB time window 64a; in this case, reporting is done based on a time window (i.e. a timer) either during or after the measurement time window), and at least the portion of the set of predicted reference signal values is provided in the response to the trigger when the timer associated with the corresponding measurements is expired (see Maleki, Fig. 4, par. [0133]: Wireless device 22 is configured to receive (Block S104) a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration including a first set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a first set periodicity and a second set of SSBs to be transmitted periodically at a second set periodicity. Each SSB of the second set of SSBs is configurable to be transmitted periodically at an SSB periodicity. Wireless device 22 is further configured to perform (Block S106) at least one measurement associated with one of at least one SSB of any one of the first set of SSBs and the second set of SSBs, and see par. [0136]: any one of the first SSB time window and the second SSB time window is determined based at least in part on any one of an SSB periodicity parameter defining a periodicity of at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a serving cell and an SSB Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) defining a time window for the WD to measure the at least one SSB when the at least one SSB is associated with a neighboring cell, and see par. [0167]: a time window, e.g., an SMTC time window, can be configured as an integer or a fraction value, X, where X means the periodicity of the time window is X times that of the periodicity of the first set of SSBs 62a and/or of the first SSB time window 64a; in this case, reporting is done based on a time window (i.e. a timer) either during or after the measurement time window), and wherein a duration of the timer corresponds to a periodicity of the second subset of SSBs (see Maleki, par. [0167]: a time window, e.g., an SMTC time window, can be configured as an integer or a fraction value, X, where X means the periodicity of the time window is X times that of the periodicity of the first set of SSBs 62a and/or of the first SSB time window 64a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the measurement report of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, and further in view of Pezeshki, with the timer of Maleki with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of overcoming drawbacks of using a single periodicity for all SSBs (see Maleki, par. [0179]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 10, 13-14, 16, 20-21, 23, 27-28, and 30 above, and further in view of Shi (WO 2023/186014), published 05 October, 2023, hereinafter “Shi” (see “WO_2023186014_Translation.pdf” for citations).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, teaches the network entity.
However, the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, does not teach:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
provide an indication to the UE of an artificial intelligence model for predicting the set of predicted reference signal values based at least in part on a model ID or an identification of transmitted SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that is provided in the second subset of SSBs.
Shi, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
provide an indication to the UE of an artificial intelligence model for predicting the set of predicted reference signal values based at least in part on a model ID or an identification of transmitted SSBs in the first subset of SSBs that is provided in the second subset of SSBs (see Shi, pars. [0084-0085]: S410, the first communication device sends a target signal to the second communication device. The target signal is associated with a first SSB, and the target signal is used for the verification of the target AI model and/or the prediction of target beam-related information. The first SSB is at least a portion of the SSBs that are not enabled in the SSB burst set).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the network entity of the combination of Khan in view of Muruganathan, and further in view of Cao, with the AI model indication of Shi with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification for the benefit of maintaining consistent information between devices (see Shi, par. [0082]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 21, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bai et al. (US 2023/0397029) teaches methods, systems, and devices for beam report enhancements for beam prediction.
Han et al. (WO 2024/173821) teaches an apparatus and system are described for using an artificial intelligence/machine learning (AI/ML) model in beam scheduling.
Sanguanpuak et al. (WO 2024/183971) teaches an apparatus and methods for beam prediction using neural networks at a network node side and a user equipment (UE) side.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419