Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai (US-20240201356-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 9, Dai discloses a computer-implemented method (Fig. 3 for computer, Fig. 6 for method), for processing data associated with at least one radio signal source (wireless node 502, Fig. 5A-5B or wireless node 602 in Fig 6), said method comprising:
receiving at least one multi-path received signal associated with the radio signal source (signal reflected through RIS controller 504 indicates signal source and signal component which is also used for differentiating path)(see paragraph 0085 for RIS controller, paragraph 0093 using TOA, first order and second order reflected signals to differentiate signal sources and paths), comprising the signal components which are associated with different signal paths,
determining at least one property (signal source and path) of at least one of the signal components,
providing position information, which characterizes the at least one position of an apparatus receiving the at least one multi-path received signal, and
determining a position of the at least one radio signal source based on the at least one property of at least one of the signal components and the position information (calculate a location of target object based on reflected signals and sensing configuration, step 1308, Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 2, Dai discloses method according to claim 1, comprising: a) determining an angle of incidence (calculate AOA, paragraphs 0078-0079) of at least one of the signal components, and/or b) determining an arrival time (TOA, paragraph 0093) of at least one of the signal components.
Regarding claim 3, Dai discloses comprising at least one of the following elements: a) filtering, the signal components based on a respective arrival time of a relevant signal component to eliminate such signal components associated with higher order reflections, b) determining the position of the at least one radio signal source based on the at least one property of at least one of the selected signal components and the position information (see Fig. 6, the sensing is based only on first and second order reflection implies high order reflected signals are eliminated/filtered out).
Regarding claim 4, Dai discloses method according to claim 1, comprising: identifying at least one object based on an angle of incidence of at least one of the signal components and on the position information, and determining a position of a reflection point of at least one of the signal components on the object based on an angle of incidence of at least one of the signal components and the position information (identify a set of reflective objects that have a LOS path to the designated range with respect to the first wireless device, paragraph 0132-0133).
Regarding claim 5, Dai discloses method according to claim 1, comprising: using further signal components to reduce an uncertainty regarding the determination of the position of the at least one radio signal source (step 1114, Fig. 11, the first wireless device may receive a path report from the second wireless device based on a first indication of a type of reflector associated with the reflective object and a second indication of a position associated with the reflective object. The sensing signal configuration may include the first indication and the second indication, paragraph 0129).
Regarding claim 6, Dai discloses method according to claim 1, wherein the method is used in an indoor environment.
Regarding claim 8, Dai discloses an apparatus for performing the method according to claim 1 (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Dai discloses a terminal device (UE) for a wireless communication system comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 8 (see controller 359 in UE 350, Fig. 3, paragraph 0065).
Regarding claims 6, 11, Dai discloses a system for an industrial environment comprising at least one apparatus according to claim 8 (Bluetooth, wi-fi based, 5G, paragraphs 0047-0048)(the system can be implemented indoors or outdoors).
Regarding claim 7, Dai discloses wherein a) the at least one radio signal source is mobile (wireless node 502 in Fig. 5) and/or wherein b) the at least one radio signal source is a terminal device for a wireless communication system, and/or wherein c) the at least one radio signal source is a network-side device, for example a base station for a wireless communication system.
Conclusion
/HARRY K LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Tel: (571) 270-1338
Fax: (571) 270-2338
Email: harry.liu@uspto.gov