DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0048] recites “several cross-sections 620, 630, 640 of the mode converter 600.” However, fig. 6 shows “several cross-sections 610, 620, 630 of the mode converter 600.” Clarification required.
Paragraph [0048] states “the first section (Section 1) is not actually part of the mode converter 600.” This conflicts with paragraph [0049], which states “the first section (Section 1) is a portion of the mode converter 600.” Clarification required.
Paragraph [0049] states “the first section (Section 1)…, as shown at 620, includes only the first optical waveguide layer 104.” However, figure 6 shows 620 corresponding to section 2, which includes both first optical waveguide layer 104 and second optical waveguide layer 106. Clarification required.
Paragraph [0050] recites 620 as both the first waveguide section which includes only the first optical waveguide layer 104 and the second waveguide section which includes both the first optical waveguide layer 104 and the second optical waveguide layer 106. Clarification required.
Paragraph [0063], “the mode converter is optically to a second end of the hybrid waveguide” should be “the mode converter is optically coupled to a second end of the hybrid waveguide”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9, line 7: replace “the mode converter is optically to a second end of the hybrid waveguide” with -- the mode converter is optically coupled to a second end of the hybrid waveguide --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant stated, “The Office Action acknowledged that Bian reference does not teach a mode converter at least on page 10” and argued that a mode converter 4 of Guan et al. does not include the first and second sections as claimed (Remarks, pages 9-10). However, the Office Action acknowledged that Bian does not teach a mode converter having a higher-order mode set forth in claims 8 and 9, not the mode converter including first and second sections structure as recited in claim 20. Guan et al.’s mode converter 4 includes a higher-order mode (col. 4, lines 18-37) of claims 8 and 9; the mode converter of claim 20 was addressed using first optical waveguide layer (102) and second optical waveguide layer (152) shown in figs. 5A-B of Bian on page 11 of the Office Action.
This action is therefore made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 10-12, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bian (US 20230314708 A1).
Re claims 1-3: Bian discloses a system, comprising: a hybrid waveguide (fig. 3A) including a first optical waveguide layer (102) and a second optical waveguide layer (132), wherein the first optical waveguide layer (102) is formed of a x(2) nonlinear optical material (III-V semiconductor material; par. [0030]), wherein the second optical waveguide layer (132) is formed of a non-x(2) optical material (silicon nitride; par. [0044]), wherein a width (W6) of the first optical waveguide layer is substantially equal to a width of the second optical waveguide layer (fig. 3A; par. [0042]), wherein an index of refraction of the first optical waveguide layer is within fifteen percent of an index of refraction of the second optical waveguide layer (III-V semiconductor material’s refractive index vs. silicon nitride’s refractive index); an edge coupler (100) configured to be optically coupled to an optical fiber (par. [0022]) and match a mode field size of the optical fiber, wherein the edge coupler includes at least the first optical waveguide layer (102), wherein the first optical waveguide layer is tapered (fig. 3A); a spot size converter (the taper region serves as a spot size converter) configured to convert between an optical mode size of the hybrid waveguide and the optical mode size of the optical fiber or an optical mode size of the edge coupler, wherein the spot size converter includes both the first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (132), wherein the second optical waveguide layer is tapered (fig. 3A); and a mode converter configured to convert between a first optical mode and a second optical mode, wherein the mode converter includes a first section with only the first optical waveguide layer (102) and a second section with the first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (132), wherein the first section is proximate the second section (figs. 5A-B). Examiner notes that the limitations “match a mode field size…” and “convert an optical mode size…” are intended use limitations. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)); that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)); and that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). See MPEP § 2111.02, II and MPEP § 2114, II.)
Re claim 7: Bian discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the spot size converter is optically coupled to the hybrid waveguide, which includes taper portion of first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (132).
Re claims 10-12: Bian discloses a hybrid waveguide, comprising: a waveguide core including: a first optical waveguide layer (102), wherein the first optical waveguide layer (102) is formed of a x(2) nonlinear optical material (III-V semiconductor material; par. [0030]); and a second optical waveguide layer (132) disposed on top of the first optical waveguide layer (102) (par. [0037]), wherein the second optical waveguide layer (132) is formed of a non-x(2) optical material (silicon nitride; par. [0044]); and a cladding material surrounding the waveguide core (dielectric layers 128, 142); wherein a width (W6) of the first optical waveguide layer is substantially equal to a width of the second optical waveguide layer (fig. 3A); wherein an index of refraction of the first optical waveguide layer is within fifteen percent of an index of refraction of the second optical waveguide layer (III-V semiconductor material’s refractive index vs. silicon nitride’s refractive index); and a mode converter configured to convert between a first optical mode and a second optical mode, wherein the mode converter includes a first section with only the first optical waveguide layer (102) and a second section with the first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (132), wherein the first section is proximate the second section (figs. 5A-B).
Re claim 14: Bian discloses a component of an integrated photonics chip, comprising: a first optical waveguide layer (102), wherein the first optical waveguide layer is formed of a x(2) nonlinear optical material (III-V semiconductor material; par. [0030]); and a second optical waveguide layer (152) disposed on top of the first optical waveguide layer (102) (figs. 5A-6B), wherein the second optical waveguide layer (152) is formed of a non-x(2) optical material (silicon nitride; par. [0057]); and a cladding material surrounding the waveguide core (dielectric layers 116, 128, 146, 162); wherein a width of the first optical waveguide layer is substantially equal to a width of the second optical waveguide layer for at least a first portion of a length of the component (fig. 5A, better seen in figs. 7C-D); wherein an index of refraction of the first optical waveguide layer is within fifteen percent of an index of refraction of the second optical waveguide layer (III-V semiconductor material’s refractive index vs. silicon nitride’s refractive index); and a mode converter configured to convert between a first optical mode and a second optical mode, wherein the mode converter includes a first section with only the first optical waveguide layer (102) and a second section with the first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (152), wherein the first section is proximate the second section (figs. 5A-B).
Re claim 17: Bian discloses the component of the integrated photonics chip of claim 14, wherein the component of the integrated photonics chip comprises an edge coupler configured to be optically coupled to an optical fiber (par. [0022]) and match a mode field size of the optical fiber, wherein the width of the first optical waveguide layer (102) is tapered over the length of the component (figs. 5A-B), wherein the second optical waveguide layer is removed over at least a majority portion of the length of the component (Applicant is claiming the product including the process of making the light guide device, and therefore are of "product-by-process" nature. The courts have been holding for quite some time that: the determination of the patentability of product-by-process claim is based on the product itself rather than on the process by which the product is made. In re Thrope, 777 F. 2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985); and patentability of claim to a product does not rest merely on a difference in the method by which that product is made. Rather, it is the product itself which must be new and unobvious. Applicant has chosen to claim the invention in the product form. Thus, a prior art product which possesses the claimed product characteristics can anticipate or render obvious the claim subject matter regardless of the manner in which it is fabricated. A rejection based on 35 U.S.C. section 102 or alternatively on 35 U.S.C. section 103 of the status is eminently fair and acceptable. In re Brown and Saffer, 173 USPQ 685 and 688; In re Pilkington, 162 USPQ 147. As such no patentable weight is given to the removal of the second optical waveguide layer). Examiner also notes that the limitation “match a mode field size…” is intended use limitation. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)); that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)); and that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). See MPEP § 2111.02, II and MPEP § 2114, II.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314708 A1) in view of Krueger et al (US 11204469 B1).
Re claims 4, 13 and 15: Bian discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the non-x(2) optical material is silicon nitride (par. [0044]), but fails to teach the x(2) nonlinear optical material is lithium niobate.
Krueger et al teaches first and second waveguide layers (210, 220) can be composed of silicon, lithium niobate (LiNbO.sub.3), or combinations thereof (col. 4, lines 24-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use lithium niobate as an alternative material in forming a waveguide to achieve a desired high index in transmitting optical signals. Such modification would have been an obvious design variation, well within the ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 146.
Claim(s) 5, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314708 A1) in view of Ma et al (US 9829632 B2).
Re claims 5, 16 and 18: Bian discloses the system of claim 1 and the component of the integrated photonics chip of claim 14 above, wherein the system comprises the edge coupler configured to be optically coupled to an optical fiber (par. [0022]) and match a mode field size of the optical fiber, wherein a tip of the edge coupler includes the first optical waveguide layer (102) and the second optical waveguide layer (132). Bian, however, is silent with respect to the width of the first optical waveguide layer and the width of the second optical waveguide layer are tapered equally over a length of the edge coupler.
Ma et al discloses an optical waveguide component, used for mode-size conversion, edge coupling, and mode conversion, comprising a first optical waveguide layer (410) and the second optical waveguide layer (420), wherein the width of the first optical waveguide layer and the width of the second optical waveguide layer are tapered equally over a length of the edge coupler (col. 5, lines 10-57), OR the width of the first optical waveguide layer is equal to the width of the second optical waveguide layer for all of the length of the component (col. 5, lines 37-57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tapered width of the first optical waveguide layer and the second optical waveguide layer of Bian as taught by Ma et al. for a higher efficiency device with lower loss, lower back-reflection, higher optical bandwidth (Ma et al: col. 1, lines 34-36 and col.4, lines 19-21).
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314708 A1) in view of Jiang et al (US 10345524 B2).
Re claims 6 and 19: Bian discloses the system of claim 1 and the component of the integrated photonics chip of claim 14 above, and further discloses a spot size converter configured to convert between an optical mode size of a hybrid waveguide and an optical mode size of an optical fiber or edge coupler (par. [0022]), but fails to teach a tip of the edge coupler includes only the first optical waveguide layer, OR the width of the second optical waveguide layer is tapered over a second portion of the length of the component and the width of the first optical waveguide layer is not tapered over the second portion of the length of the component.
Jiang et al teaches a tip of the edge coupler (105) includes only the first optical waveguide layer (115) (fig. 2A; col. 7, lines 47-55), the width of the second optical waveguide layer (110) is tapered over a second portion of the length of the component and the width of the first optical waveguide layer (115) is not tapered over the second portion of the length of the component (see annotated fig. 2A below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second optical waveguides of Bian to have the tapered width as taught by Jiang et al. to optimize the optical coupling between fiber and chip by reducing optical coupling losses.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (US 20230314708 A1) in view of Guan et al (US 10873173 B1).
Re claims 8 and 9: Bian discloses the system of claim 1, but is silent with respect to the first optical mode is a higher-order mode of the hybrid waveguide and the second optical mode is a fundamental mode; OR the spot size converter is optically coupled to the edge coupler and a first end of the hybrid waveguide, wherein the spot size converter is configured to convert between the optical mode size of the edge coupler and the optical mode size of the hybrid waveguide; and the mode converter is optically to a second end of the hybrid waveguide, wherein the first optical mode is a higher-order mode of the hybrid waveguide and the second optical mode is a fundamental mode (claim 9).
Guan et al. teaches an edge coupler (3) includes a spot size converter (col. 2, lines 63-67), and a mode converter 4 includes a higher-order mode, which is optically to the hybrid waveguide (fig. 3B; col. 3, lines 13-21; and col. 4, lines 18-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an on-chip mode converter to reduce the accumulated back reflection as light travels back-and-forth within the PIC chip (Guan et al: col. 1, lines 28-30).
Examiner notes that the limitation “convert the optical mode size…” is an intended use limitations. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does” (Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc. 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990)); that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim (Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987)); and that if a prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use as recited in the preamble, then it meets the claim (In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997)). See MPEP § 2111.02, II and MPEP § 2114, II.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Little (US 7359593 B2) and Kang et al. (US 7583869 B2) disclose a system having a waveguide, an edge coupler, a spot size converter, and a mode converter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874