Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The indicated allowability of claim 29, 30, and 32-34 are withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Glenn (US 1893702 A).. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 29, 30, and 32-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Glenn (US 1893702 A).
With respect to claim 29, Glenn discloses a shower caddy comprising: a rod (1, figures 1-2); a connector (9) having a rotational lock (19) to secure a body of the connector along the rod (1) about a longitudinal axis of the rod, the connector having a receptacle (8), the receptacle defining a first longitudinal channel (8) that extends along an outer side surface of the body (9) generally parallel to the axis of the rod (1) and a second radial channel (23, figures 1-3) with a radially projecting bottom (figure 3) and an opposing open top (23, figure 3) and that extends radially outward from the body and generally perpendicular to the axis; and a product holder (2) including an attachment arm (3, 4, figures 1-3) sized to be received in the receptacle (portion 7, figure 1 received in first channel 8) and supported by the bottom of the second radial channel (arm 3 rest on bottom of 23, figure 3) to suspend the product holder (2) from the connector (9).
With respect to claim 30, Glenn discloses the shower caddy of claim 29 as advanced above, the attachment arm (3, 4 of 2) having a first longitudinal segment (6 or 7, figure 1) and a second radial segment (3 or 4), wherein when the attachment arm is received in the receptacle, the first longitudinal channel holds the first longitudinal segment (6 or 7) generally parallel to the axis and the second radial channel (23) holds the second radial segment (3 or 4) generally perpendicular to the axis.
With respect to claim 32, Glenn disclose the shower caddy of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the connector (9) includes a wedge (20) that locks the connector (9) to the rod (1), and the rotational lock comprises a cap (19) rotatably mounted to a body (18) of the connector and the wedge (20) locks the connector to the rod upon rotation of the cap.
With respect to claim 33, Glenn discloses the shower caddy of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the second radial channel (23) extends radially outward from an end of the first longitudinal channel (8, figures 1 and 2).
With respect to claim 34, Glenn discloses the shower caddy of claim 29 as advanced above, wherein the first longitudinal channel (9) curves to the second radial channel (23, figure 1).
Claims 19,22-28 and 36-38 are allowed.
Claim 35 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ovist et al (US 9211027 B2), Newport et al (US 10702085 B1) and Lai (US 20070163974 A1) discloses connectors of interests.
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc