DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
1. Oath and declaration filed on 4/9/2024 is accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The prior art documents submitted by application in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 3/23/2024 have all been considered and made of record ( note the attached copy of form PTO – 1449).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al (2022/0260714 A1) in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al (2022/0371182 A1).
Regarding claim 1,Tan et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) apparatus comprising: a vertical direction actuator; a horizontal direction actuator; and a rotational actuator (apparatus 100, vertical ,horizontal and rotational actuator , paragraph 0034 and paragraph 0036) mounted on one of the horizontal direction actuator or the vertical direction actuator, the rotational actuator comprising a motor configured to rotate a universal rotation sleeve within the rotational actuator, wherein the universal rotation sleeve (12a) (paragraph 0037) is secured to a probe adapter configured to hold the imaging probe therein.
Tan et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye.
Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye (figures 1 and 2, a universal actuator pack 102 and arm 101, paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide of teaching a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye in to the Tan et al apparatus for the purpose of various electronic control cards connect the programmable logic controller and to analog input and digital output as taught by Alatorre Troncoso et al (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 2, Tan et al discloses wherein the motor is coupled to a drive gear that engages with teeth on the universal rotation sleeve (12a).
Regarding claim 3, Tan et al discloses wherein the probe adapter and the universal rotation sleeve (12a) are secured to one another via respective keyed surfaces located on the universal rotation sleeve and the probe adapter.
Regarding claim 4, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses wherein the probe adapter comprises a first half and a second half, the first and second halves comprising a recess therein dimensioned to accommodate the imaging probe.
Regarding claim 5, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses further comprising a locking ring surrounding the first half and the second half of the probe adapter.
Regarding claim 6, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses further comprising the imaging probe disposed inside the probe adapter.
Regarding claim 12, Tan et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) an apparatus (apparatus 100, paragraph 0034 and paragraph 0036) comprising: a housing (10) (paragraph 0038) containing a motor mechanically coupled to a pinion gear; an imaging probe receiver coupled to a curved rack engaging with the pinion gear; and a pivot collar mounted (arm 12a ) at a distal end of the housing (10), the pivot collar pivotably secured to the housing and forming a pivot axis (paragraph 0038).
Tan et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye.
Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye (figures 1 and 2, a universal actuator pack 102 and arm 101, paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide of teaching a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye in to the Tan et al apparatus for the purpose of various electronic control cards connect the programmable logic controller and to analog input and digital output as taught by Alatorre Troncoso et al (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses further comprising guide rails or slots disposed on the housing and interfacing with a pin on the imaging probe receiver.
Regarding claim 14, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses further comprising the imaging probe secured in the imaging probe receiver and in the pivot collar.
Regarding claim 15, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses wherein the imaging probe receiver pivots between 10° and 40°.
Regarding claim 16, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses comprising: inserting the imaging probe into the imaging probe receiver and the pivot collar; rotating the pinion gear to rotate the probe about the pivot axis; and acquiring a plurality of images or a movie of the eye with the imaging probe at a plurality of different pivot angles.
Regarding claim 17, combination of Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses further comprising generating a three-dimensional (3D) image reconstruction or model of the object from the plurality of images or the movie.
Regarding claim 18, Tan et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) an apparatus comprising: a housing (10) having a first surface for holding one or more actuators and an imaging device secured to the one or more actuators (apparatus 100, vertical ,horizontal and rotational actuator , paragraph 0034 and paragraph 0036) and an interface extending from a second side of the housing opposite the first side and comprising a plurality of rotatable fins or tabs located at the peripheral regions thereof (paragraph 0037).
Tan et al discloses all of the claimed limitations except a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye.
Alatorre Troncoso et al discloses a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye (figures 1 and 2, a universal actuator pack 102 and arm 101, paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide of teaching a universal actuator for moving an imaging probe in a controlled manner to acquire a plurality of images of an eye in to the Tan et al apparatus for the purpose of various electronic control cards connect the programmable logic controller and to analog input and digital output as taught by Alatorre Troncoso et al (paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 19, Tan et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) wherein the actuator comprises a rotatable platform and mechanically coupled to a rotary motor (12b), the rotatable platform comprising an imaging device mount disposed thereon.
Regarding claim 20, Tan et al discloses (refer to figures 1 and 2) further comprising an imaging device mounted on the imaging device mount.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tan et al (2022/0260714 A1) in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al (2022/0371182 ) further in view of Makino (2006/0168732 A1).
Regarding claim 21, depends on claim 18, Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al all of the claimed limitations except a slit lamp microscope comprising a face support defined by opposing vertical supports and a chin support, wherein the interface is positioned between the opposing vertical supports and wherein the rotatable fins or tabs are extended and secure the universal actuator to the face support.
Makino discloses, a slit lamp microscope (3) comprising a face support defined by opposing vertical supports and a chin support (8), wherein the interface is positioned between the opposing vertical supports and wherein the rotatable fins or tabs are extended and secure the universal actuator to the face support (paragraph 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to provide a slit lamp microscope comprising a face support defined by opposing vertical supports and a chin support, wherein the interface is positioned between the opposing vertical supports and wherein the rotatable fins or tabs are extended and secure the universal actuator to the face support in to the Tan et al in view of Alatorre Troncoso et al a universal actuator device for the purpose of better head support for the patient as taught by Makino (paragraph 0011).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 7-11,22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a pivoting actuator configured to pivot the imaging probe along an arc, pivoting actuator comprises a motor mechanically coupled to a pinion gear and wherein the rotational actuator is coupled to a curved rack that engages with the pinion gear, the curved rack being mechanically coupled to the rotational actuator and imaging probe pivots about an axis of rotation that is located through the imaging probe and the imaging probe pivots about an axis of rotation that is located through the eye and positioning the imaging probe adjacent to an eye of the subject; and obtaining a plurality of images of the eye with the imaging probe while moving the imaging probe in one or more of a horizontal direction, a vertical direction, a rotational direction, and/or a pivoting direction and generating a three-dimensional (3D) image reconstruction or model of the eye from the plurality of images and securing the universal actuator to a slit lamp microscope having a chin rest extending between a pair of supports, wherein the interface of the housing is positioned between the pair of supports and the plurality of fins or tabs are rotated into contact with the pair of supports; securing an imaging device to the one or more actuators; moving the imaging device in one or more of a horizontal direction, a vertical direction, and/or a rotational direction; and acquiring a plurality of images or a movie of an eye or face with the imaging device during rotation of the rotatable platform and generating a three-dimensional (3D) image reconstruction or model of the object from the plurality of images or the movie.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED A HASAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 2/11/2026