DETAILED ACTION
2. This office action is a response to an application filed on 04/12/2024 where claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37CFR 1.97.
Drawings
4. The drawings were received on 04/12/2024. These drawing are acceptable.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 1,3,4,5, 7, 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
With regards to claims 1,3,4,5, 7, 8 , the claim limitations contain the undefined abbreviation and/or acronym “VPN”. Abbreviation /acronym must be defined at least one in the claims.
With regards to claims 1,5 , the claim limitations contain the undefined abbreviation and/or acronym “TAP”. Abbreviation /acronym must be defined at least one in the claims.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung (KR20200016025A) hereinafter Chung in view of Khan et al. (US 20140237585 A1) hereinafter Khan and further in view of in view of Hong et al.(US 20160182639 A1)hereinafter Hong; translated copy of FOR doc is provided,
As to claim 1. Chung teaches A method of installing a home network system applied to an apartment building composed of a plurality of unit spaces, the method comprising: ([0008] establishing a secure network for each household in a multi-unit building by utilizing network virtualization to dynamically generate multiple VPN services in the building)
providing a home server connected to a network, a plurality of home network devices installed for unit spaces, respectively, ([0011] [0037]a dynamic VPN management system for a public building network comprising a plurality of home gateways and service gateways, comprising a dynamic VPN management device that is included in or connected to the service gateway and provides a dynamic VPN service between the service gateway and the home gateway; apartment communication room network or home server includes CCTV servers, elevator servers, parking control servers, gas control servers, dispatch control servers)
a VPN server installed between the home server and the home network devices, and ([0026][0037] the VPN/VPN server provides a one-to-one communication channel or a tunnel between a user terminal and a virtual router on a gateway, which may also be referred to as a tunnel, access the CCTV server from an authenticated user terminal connected to the home gateway, a temporary (dynamic) VPN connection/VPN server from the user terminal to the CCTV server may be activated)
Chung does not teach wherein the VPN gateways each include a first bridge terminal for communication with a corresponding home network device, a first intermediate communication terminal for communication with the VPN server and
an operation mode alteration detector, and the first bridge terminal includes a first end communication interface and a TAP interface; directly connecting the first end communication interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal; until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector and
connecting the first TAP interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector.
Khan teaches wherein the VPN gateways each include a first bridge terminal for communication with a corresponding home network device, a first intermediate communication terminal for communication with the VPN server ([0028][0039][0040] Fig. 1, In response to receiving the inner IP packets, the site node 110 sends a response communication to the VPN client 120. the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120 and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal, 124; TUN virtual network interfaces 122 and 128 may also be network tap ("TAP") interfaces i.e., TUN virtual network interface 128 acts as a bridge between the gateway router/reverse proxy 130 of network server device/VPN server, which allows access to one or more site nodes in a VPN) and
and the first bridge terminal includes a first end communication interface and a TAP interface;([0028] Fig. 1, the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120/ first end communication interface, and the WebSocket endpoint to , network server device side TAP interface 128)
directly connecting the first end communication interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal;([0028] Fig. 1, the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120/ first end communication interface, and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal to , network server device side TAP interface 128/direct)
and
connecting the first TAP interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal ([0028][0039][0040] Fig. 1, In response to receiving the inner IP packets, the site node 110 sends a response communication to the VPN client 120. the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120 and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal, 124; TUN virtual network interfaces 122 and 128 may also be network tap ("TAP") interfaces i.e., TUN interface 122 as TAP, WebSocket endpoint 124 as intermediate and Tun 128 as bridge)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khan with teaching of Chung because Khan teaches that network tap TAP interfaces enable application programs to write packets from VPN modules thereby, network TUN/network TAP modules can be leveraged with the WebSocket endpoints to enable secure, bidirectional, application layer communications between the devices in the VPN.(Khan [0028])
The combination of Chung and Khan does not teach an operation mode alteration detector, until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector, after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector
Hong teaches an operation mode alteration detector, ([0104]Fig. 6, detection server )
until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector ([0084][0104] Fig. 2, Fig. 6, virtual machines requests detection information/start signal, necessary for each virtual machine from the detection server device, and receives the detection information from the detection server device to store and process the received detection information, detection server transmits the acquired detection information to the virtual machine)
after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server by means of the operation mode alteration detector. ([0084][0104] Fig. 2, Fig. 6, virtual machines requests detection information/start signal, necessary for each virtual machine from the detection server device, and receives the detection information from the detection server device to store and process the received detection information, detection server transmits the acquired detection information to the virtual machine)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention combine teaching of Hong with teaching of combination Chung and Khan because Hong teaches that controlling operation mode based on operation state would reduce energy consumption in the Internet of Things network environment where a vast amount of data is processed.(Hong [0070])
As to claim 5 Chung teaches A home network system applied to an apartment building composed of a plurality of unit spaces, ([0008] establishing a secure network for each household in a multi-unit building by utilizing network virtualization to dynamically generate multiple VPN services in the building)
the home network system comprising a home server connected to a network, a plurality of home network devices installed for unit spaces, respectively, ([0011] [0037]a dynamic VPN management system for a public building network comprising a plurality of home gateways and service gateways, comprising a dynamic VPN management device that is included in or connected to the service gateway and provides a dynamic VPN service between the service gateway and the home gateway; apartment communication room network or home server includes CCTV servers, elevator servers, parking control servers, gas control servers, dispatch control servers)
a VPN server installed between the home server and the home network devices, ([0026][0037] the VPN/VPN server provides a one-to-one communication channel or a tunnel between a user terminal and a virtual router on a gateway, which may also be referred to as a tunnel, access the CCTV server from an authenticated user terminal connected to the home gateway, a temporary (dynamic) VPN connection/VPN server from the user terminal to the CCTV server may be activated)
Chung does not teach and VPN gateways individually installed for the home network devices between the home network devices and the VPN server, wherein the VPN gateways each include a first bridge terminal for communication with a corresponding home network device, a first intermediate communication terminal for communication with the VPN server, and an operation mode alteration detector, the first bridge terminal includes a first end communication interface and a TAP interface, the operation mode alteration detector directly connects the first end communication interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server, and the operation mode alteration detector connects the first TAP interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server.
Khan teaches wherein the VPN gateways each include a first bridge terminal for communication with a corresponding home network device, a first intermediate communication terminal for communication with the VPN server([0028][0039][0040] Fig. 1, In response to receiving the inner IP packets, the site node 110 sends a response communication to the VPN client 120. the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120 and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal, 124; TUN virtual network interfaces 122 and 128 may also be network tap ("TAP") interfaces i.e., TUN virtual network interface 128 acts as a bridge between the gateway router/reverse proxy 130 of network server device/VPN server, which allows access to one or more site nodes in a VPN)
the first bridge terminal includes a first end communication interface and a TAP interface ;([0028] Fig. 1, the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120/ first end communication interface, and the WebSocket endpoint to , network server device side TAP interface 128)
directly connects the first end communication interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal ;([0028] Fig. 1, the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120/ first end communication interface, and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal to , network server device side TAP interface 128/direct)
connects the first TAP interface and the first intermediate communication terminal of the first bridge terminal. ([0028][0039][0040] Fig. 1, In response to receiving the inner IP packets, the site node 110 sends a response communication to the VPN client 120. the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120 and the WebSocket endpoint/intermediate terminal, 124; TUN virtual network interfaces 122 and 128 may also be network tap ("TAP") interfaces i.e., TUN interface 122 as TAP, WebSocket endpoint 124 as intermediate and Tun 128 as bridge)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khan with teaching of Chung because Khan teaches that network tap TAP interfaces enable application programs to write packets from VPN modules thereby, network TUN/network TAP modules can be leveraged with the WebSocket endpoints to enable secure, bidirectional, application layer communications between the devices in the VPN.(Khan [0028])
the combination of Chung and Khan does not teach and an operation mode alteration detector , the operation mode alteration detector and VPN gateways individually installed for the home network devices between the home network devices and the VPN server, until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server, and the operation mode alteration detector connects after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server.
Hong teaches the operation mode alteration detector ([0104]Fig. 6, detection server )
and VPN gateways individually installed for the home network devices between the home network devices and the VPN server, ([0049] [0051] VPN management system for a public building includes a server system includes a plurality of in-home systems, home gateway registers information about the in-home devices and manages their status).
until receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server, and the operation mode alteration detector ([0084][0104] Fig. 2, Fig. 6, virtual machines requests detection information/start signal, necessary for each virtual machine from the detection server device, and receives the detection information from the detection server device to store and process the received detection information, detection server transmits the acquired detection information to the virtual machine)
after receiving a virtual private network start signal from the VPN server or the home server. . ([0084][0104] Fig. 2, Fig. 6, virtual machines requests detection information/start signal, necessary for each virtual machine from the detection server device, and receives the detection information from the detection server device to store and process the received detection information, detection server transmits the acquired detection information to the virtual machine)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Hong with teaching of combination Chung and Khan because Hong teaches that controlling operation mode based on operation state would reduce energy consumption in the Internet of Things network environment where a vast amount of data is processed.(Hong [0070])
As to claim 2 the combination of Chung, Khan and Hong specifically Khan teaches wherein the first end communication interface and the first intermediate communication terminal have a same communication interface. ;([0028] Fig. 1, the TUN virtual network interface 122 acts as a bridge between the VPN client 120/ first end communication interface, and the WebSocket endpoint 124/intermediate terminal are common interface)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khan with teaching of Chung because Khan teaches that network tap TAP interfaces enable application programs to write packets from VPN modules thereby, network TUN/network TAP modules can be leveraged with the WebSocket endpoints to enable secure, bidirectional, application layer communications between the devices in the VPN.(Khan [0028])
Claim 6 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
As to claim 3. the combination of Chung, Khan and Hong specifically Chung teaches wherein the VPN gateway is installed in the unit space together with the home network device. ([0032] [0033] dynamic VPN management system for a public building, a service gateway (e.g., an SPN switch) can establish a virtual private network (VPN) between the SPN (Secure Private Network) switch and a plurality of home gateways; the authorized user of Unit 101 (151) can only access the authorized Unit 101 home network.)
Claim 7 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung, Khana, Hong and further in view of Sturges et al. (US 20020114274 A1)hereinafter Sturges
As to claim 4 the combination of Chung, Khan and Hong specifically Khan teaches and, when virtual private networks are started, the VPN server makes communication between the home network devices and the home server ([0038] Fig. 1, he VPN client 120 hosted by the remote network device 102 sends a VPN access request message/started, to the WebSocket endpoint 124 of the remote network device 102. And to at reference numeral 408, to the WebSocket endpoint 126 of the network server device 104, WebSocket endpoint 126 of the network server device 104 sends a request with address of the VPN client 120/establish connection)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Khan with teaching of Chung because Khan teaches that network tap TAP interfaces enable application programs to write packets from VPN modules thereby, network TUN/network TAP modules can be leveraged with the WebSocket endpoints to enable secure, bidirectional, application layer communications between the devices in the VPN.(Khan [0028])
the combination of Chung, Khan and Hong does not teach wherein the home network system includes a separate back bone for connecting the home server and the home network devices, be processed using a back bone gateway in priority to the back bone.
Sturges teaches wherein the home network system includes a separate back bone for connecting the home server and the home network devices ([0012] The local server, which resides on a customer's local area or wide area network, detects and marks packets for applications requiring QoS prior to the packets being routed to an access or backbone network; the local server uses a network management protocol such as SNMP (Simple Network Management Protocol) to communicate with routers and switches on the local area network),
be processed using a back bone gateway in priority to the back bone. ([0030][0034] Fig. 1, he backbone network may connect to the public switched telephone network 114 through a TDM gateway 116 and TDM switch 118, local server identifies and classifies traffic, and, if necessary, marks its priority for a particular QoS treatment,. Traffic flows classified by other packet information, for example, source and destination IP addresses, TCP/UDP ports, and application layer information; local server registers the beginning and the end of sessions associated with customer traffic serviced by the backbone network)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Sturges with teaching of Chung, Khan and Hong because Sturges teaches that use of a local server at each customer network allows architecture independence from routers and servers used by customers by classifying and marking packets entering the backbone network. (Sturges [0030])
Claim 8 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Buffone; Robert [US 20190324881 A1] SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR GOVERNING CLIENT-SIDE SERVICES
Suresh; Ashwin et al. [US 11876798 B2] Virtual delivery appliance and system with remote authentication and related methods
WANG; Huatao [US 20200162287 A1] METHOD, APPARATUS AND SYSTEM FOR CONTROLLING SMART DEVICE
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413