DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the feedback controller group (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: reference character “6” has been used to designate both y2 feedback controller and y4 feedback controller.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the output end of said sewage treatment device" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the input ends of said temperature feedback controller" in L5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the output ends of said temperature feedback controller" in L6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the input end of said decider" in L7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the output end of said decider" in L8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the input ends of said sewage treatment device and said feedback controller group" in L8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the output end of said feedback controller group" in L9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the input end of said sewage treatment device" in L10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 is indefinite because the phrase “ym feedback controller, where m is a positive integer; [...] so on, until the output end of said ym feedback controller is connected with the input end of said sewage treatment device” is open-ended. The limitation appears to claim an infinite number of controllers, thereby rendering the scope of the claim unclear.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the output end of said y1 feedback controller (5) is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (1) and said y4 feedback controller (6), respectively" in L5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the output end of said y2 feedback controller (6) is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (1) and said y3 feedback controller (7), respectively" in L7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the output end of said ym feedback controller" in L9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 is indefinite because the phrase “an optimal control step needs to be given under internal control by way of repeating the prediction and optimization of an intellectualized algorithm in each time stage, and then the output solved by the controller acts on said sewage treatment device (1) when the optimal solution of the optimization problem has been obtained.” is unclear what the applicant is trying to claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the output end of said sensor" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the input end of said optimizer" in L4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the output end of said optimizer" in L5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the input end of said emulator" in L5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the output end of said controller" in L6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the information output by said optimizer (9) and said controller (11)" in L9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the output ends of said emulator (10) and said controller element (12)" in L13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the optimal solution" in L20. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the optimization problem" in L21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 4 and 5 are ambiguous because they fail to clearly define the structural elements being claimed.
In Claim 4, while directed to a system, the claim introduces functional language: “the operation of said temperature feedback controller (2), said flow rate feedback controller (3) and each feedback controller in said feedback controller group follows the steps of [...]”. This clause recites elements that have not been positively claimed, including a sensor (8), an optimizer (9), a set water quality target value, a real-time simulation model, and an emulator (10), etc. Consequently, it is unclear which features are part of the claimed invention. Furthermore, it is unclear whether the applicant is attempting to claim structural elements, structural capabilities, a method of use, or merely an intended use, thereby rendering the metes and bounds of the claim vague and indefinite.
Claim 5 is similarly indefinite for failing to clearly define its structural elements.
Claim 5 is indefinite because the phrase “an expected model not limited to various machine learning algorithms including a recurrent neural network” uses open-ended language (“not limited to”) combined with exemplary language (“various [...] including”). This phrasing renders the metes and bounds of the claim vague and indefinite because the boundaries of the "expected model" are ambiguously defined.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the specific real-time simulation model" in L1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 & 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by He et al. (CN 113087030 A, published 07/09/2021; rejection referring to Google machine translated version).
Regarding claim 1, He teaches:
1. A multi-stage cyclic water resource control system, comprising
a sewage treatment device (e.g., 1), a temperature feedback controller (e.g., 2), a flow rate feedback controller (e.g., 3), a decider (e.g., machine learning controller P10/last paragraph), and a feedback controller group (e.g., double-cycle COD feedback controller 4 and a double-cycle BOD feedback controller 5, P11/¶ 1);
wherein the output end of said sewage treatment device is connected with the input ends of said temperature feedback controller and said flow rate feedback controller, respectively (see Fig. 6 & P6/¶ 9 “the utility model provides [...]”);
the output ends of said temperature feedback controller and said flow rate feedback controller are connected with the input end of said decider (P10/last paragraph);
the output end of said decider is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device and said feedback controller group, respectively (P11/¶ 1);
the output end of said feedback controller group is connected with the input end of said sewage treatment device (see P6/¶ 9 “the utility model provides [...]”).
With regard to limitations in claims 3-5, (e.g., the information output by said optimizer (9) and said controller (11) is transmitted to said first error regulator (13), then said first error regulator (13) acts on said controller (11) to update control variables after having made an adjustment according to the error between said optimizer (9) and said controller (11); and [...] said second error regulator (14) acts on the emulator (10) to update an internal optimization model after having made an adjustment according to the error between the output ends of said emulator (10) and said controlled component (12), so as to correct an expected state of a next round of optimization and continuously carry out a cyclic feedback adjustment; an optimal control step needs to be given under internal control by way of repeating the prediction and optimization of an intellectualized algorithm in each time stage, and then the output solved by the controller acts on said sewage treatment device (1) when the optimal solution of the optimization problem has been obtained, etc.), these claim limitations are considered process or intended use limitations, which do not further delineate the structure of the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)). "Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim." Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Furthermore, "[i]nclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." See In re Young, 75 F.2d *>996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)) (see MPEP § 2115).
Regarding claim 3, He teaches: 3. The system according to claim 1, wherein said temperature feedback controller, said flow rate feedback controller, and each feedback controller in said feedback controller group each contains a sensor (e.g., 6), an optimizer (e.g., 7), an emulator (e.g., 9), a controller (e.g., 8), and a controlled component (e.g., 10), the output end of said sensor is connected with the input end of said optimizer, the output end of said optimizer is connected with the input end of said emulator, and the output end of said controller is connected with said emulator and said controlled component, respectively (see P6/3rd from last paragraph, P10/4th from last paragraph, and Fig. 7 for example); a first error regulator (e.g., 11) is arranged between the output ends of said optimizer and said controller (see Fig. 7 & P6/last paragraph for example); and a second error regulator (e.g., 12) is arranged between the output ends of said emulator and said controlled element (Fig. 7 for example).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (CN 113087030 A, published 07/09/2021; rejection referring to Google machine translated version).
Regarding claim 2, He teaches: 2. The system according to claim 1, wherein said feedback controller group comprises a y1 feedback controller (e.g., 4), a y2 feedback controller (e.g., double-cycle COD feedback controller 4 and a double-cycle BOD feedback controller 5, P11/¶ 1), the output end of said decider is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device and said y1 feedback controller, respectively (see Fig. 6 for example);
the output end of said y1 feedback controller is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (see Fig. 6 for example) and said temperature feedback controller (see Fig. 6 for example); the output end of said y2 feedback controller is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (see Fig. 6 for example) and said flow rate feedback controller, respectively (see Fig. 6 for example); so on, until the output end of said feedback controller group is connected with the input end of said sewage treatment device (see Fig. 6 for example).
However, He does not explicitly teach: 2. The system according to claim 1, wherein said feedback controller group comprises a y1 feedback controller (5), a y2 feedback controller (6), a y3 feedback controller (7), . . . , and ym feedback controller, where m is a positive integer; the output end of said decider (4) is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (1) and said y1 feedback controller (5), respectively; the output end of said y1 feedback controller (5) is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (1) and said y4 feedback controller (6), respectively; the output end of said y2 feedback controller (6) is connected with the input ends of said sewage treatment device (1) and said y3 feedback controller (7), respectively; and so on, until the output end of said ym feedback controller is connected with the input end of said sewage treatment device (1).
The addition of feedback controllers to the system would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, because the loop feedback controller group updates and optimizes the process while continuously performing cyclic feedback adjustments (P2/Claims). Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
/DEAN KWAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795
DEAN KWAK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1795