DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 23-40 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 23-36 recite the limitation “Apparatus” in line 5. Please amend it to --- The apparatus ---.
Claim 24 recites the limitation “an angle” in line 1. Please amend it to --- the angle ---.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “an angle” in line 1. Please amend it to --- the angle ---.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the region” in line 2. Please amend it to --- a region ---.
Claim 27 recites the limitation “a first end and an second end” in lines 1-2. Please amend it to --- the first end and the second end ---.
Claim 31 recites the limitation “an angle” in lines 1-2. Please amend it to --- the angle ---.
Claim 32 recites the limitation “an angle” in lines 1-2. Please amend it to --- the angle ---.
Claim 37 recites the limitation “the direction” in line 12. Please amend it to --- a direction ---.
Claims 38-40 recite the limitation “A method” in line 1. Please amend it to --- The method ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 27-30, 33-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Foss-Smith (US 2014/0325867).
Regarding claim 21, Foss-Smith shows a method of removing moisture from particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract), including:
providing a drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) having first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1);
directing a flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
directing gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), using a plurality of gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]), in order to interact with the flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
wherein the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) defines a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
wherein a first type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) is of a type configured to direct a blade or shaft of gas into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) for the purpose of intersecting the flow of material travelling through the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1); and wherein a second type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) is of a type configured to direct gas into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) in a direction intended to travel about the longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), in order to create a spinning effect;
wherein the second type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) is downstream of the first type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (as shown in fig. 1, a plurality of passages of items 6 are positioned downstream of a plurality of passages of items 5).
Regarding claim 22, Foss-Smith shows apparatus for removing moisture from particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract), the apparatus comprising a dryer (fig. 1) having a drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) with a first end (right end of item 11, fig. 1) and a second end (left end of item 11, fig. 1) for directing a flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) between said first end (right end of item 11, fig. 1) and said second end (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1); and wherein the dryer (fig. 1) is configured for directing gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), for interacting with a flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
wherein the apparatus has multiple types of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) for directing gas into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) to interact with the flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), wherein a first type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) is of a type configured to direct a blade or shaft of gas into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) for the purpose of intersecting the flow of material travelling through the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1); and wherein a second type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) is of a type configured to direct gas into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) in a direction intended to travel about the longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), in order to create a spinning effect;
wherein the second type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) is downstream of the first type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (as shown in fig. 1, a plurality of passages of items 6 are positioned downstream of a plurality of passages of items 5).
Regarding claim 23, Foss-Smith shows wherein the first type and/or second type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) is configured for directing the gas flow into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) in a plane (plane of air or gas from item 5, fig. 1) perpendicular (as shown in fig. 1) to the direction of flow of material (general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), or in a direction at an angle to the perpendicular.
Regarding claim 27, Foss-Smith shows wherein the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) has a first end (the first end) (right end of item 11, fig. 1) and an second end (the second end) (left end of item 11, fig. 1), and the apparatus is configured to create a helical flow (helical flow or rotational flow or tangential flow of entrainment air from item 3, figs. 1, 3) of particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) passing along the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) between said first end (right end of item 11, fig. 1) and said second end (left end of item 11, fig. 1) in a first rotational sense (rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8, fig. 1), optionally clockwise.
Regarding claim 28, Foss-Smith shows further wherein said one or more gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) is configured to direct gas in a generally tangential or rotational manner (tangential air jets 6, figs. 1, 2A, [0051]), in a second rotational sense (as shown in fig. 2A, the item 6 is configured to eject tangential air jets, [0039], [0051], in an anti-clockwise direction) which is counter to said first rotational sense (rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8, fig. 1), optionally anti-clockwise, in order to create a reverse spin effect within the flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract).
Regarding claim 29, Foss-Smith shows wherein at least one of said gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) configured for creating a spinning effect is configured for directing a tangential/rotational gas flow into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Foss-Smith shows wherein at least one of said gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]) configured for directing a tangential/rotational gas flow into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) is configured to do so in a direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular (as shown in fig. 2A, air slots or passages of items 6, configured for directing a rotational gas flow into the chamber inside the item 11, is configured to do so in a direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular of item 5 to the general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 33, Foss-Smith shows wherein the dryer (fig. 1) comprises a body of modular construction (as shown in figs. 1, 2A) having a plurality of discrete annular elements (side walls of items 5, fig. 1), arranged in series, one adjacent another, each (side walls of items 5, fig. 1) having a body (body of side walls of items 5, fig. 1) defining a central aperture (central apertures of side walls of items 5 where item 10 disposes inside, figs. 1, 2A), and wherein the annular elements (side walls of items 5, fig. 1) are arranged together with the central apertures (central apertures of side walls of items 5 where item 10 disposes inside, figs. 1, 2A) aligned.
Regarding claim 34, Foss-Smith shows wherein at least one pair of said plurality of annular elements (side walls of items 5, fig. 1) cooperate to define at least one of said gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) so as to be configured for directing gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) from between said pair and into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 35, Foss-Smith shows wherein the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) is arranged in fluid communication with a source (compressed air, [0044]) (air compressor 8a, [0037]) of gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]), via the gas guides or guide passages (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) (passages of items 6, fig. 1, [0039]).
Regarding claim 36, Foss-Smith shows wherein the first type of gas guide or guide passage (passages of items 5, figs. 1, 2A) has an outlet which is continuous through 360 degrees (as shown in figs. 1, 2A).
Regarding claim 37, Foss-Smith shows a method of removing moisture from particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract), comprising the steps of:
providing a dryer (fig. 1) having a drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) with first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1);
directing a flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
directing gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), in order to interact with the flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) within the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1);
wherein the flow of gas-entrained particulate material (gas from item 3-granulated coal or other materials in particulate form from item 1, Abstract) is directed to follow a helical flow path (as shown in fig. 1) in a first rotational sense (rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8, fig. 1) (e.g. clockwise) from said first end (right end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) to the second end of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1); and wherein gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) is directed into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) at a first location (location at items 6, fig. 1) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) in a rotational or tangential manner (tangential air jets 6, figs. 1, 2A, [0051]) with respect to the direction of travel (general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1) of the particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1), but in a second rotational sense (as shown in fig. 2A, the item 6 is configured to eject tangential air jets, [0039], [0051], in an anti-clockwise direction) which is counter to said first rotational sense (rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8, fig. 1) (e.g. anti-clockwise), in order to shock the flow of particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) moving between the first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 38, Foss-Smith shows a method according to claim 37, further wherein gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) is directed into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) at a second location (location at items 5, fig. 1) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), wherein said second location (location at items 5, fig. 1) is downstream from said first location (location at items 6, fig. 1) (as shown in fig. 1, location of a plurality of items 5 is downstream from location of a plurality of items 6), and wherein said gas at said second location (location at items 5, fig. 1) is directed in a rotational or tangential manner with respect to the direction of travel (general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1) of the particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1), but in said first rotational sense (rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8, fig. 1) (after air or gas exiting items 5, some air or gas would be directed in a rotational manner with respect to the general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11 and in rotational of entrainment air from item 3 in clockwise direction by viewing from item 8), in order to re-promote the direction of helical flow of particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) moving between the first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 39, Foss-Smith shows wherein the gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) is directed into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) at said first location (location at items 6, fig. 1) in either a) a plane (plane of air or gas from item 5 at location at items 6, fig. 1) which is orthogonal to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) or the general direction of travel (general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1) of the particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), or b) a plane which is angled in a generally rearward sense relative to a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the drying chamber or the general direction of travel of the particulate material between said first and second ends of the drying chamber, or c) a plane which is angled in generally forward sense to a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the drying chamber or the general direction of travel of the particulate material between said first and second ends of the drying chamber.
Regarding claim 40, Foss-Smith shows wherein the gas under pressure (air or gas from item 5, fig. 1, [0044]) (8, fig. 1, [0037]) is directed into the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) at said second location (location at items 5, fig. 1) in either a) a plane (plane of air or gas from item 5 at location at items 5, fig. 1) which is orthogonal to a longitudinal axis (longitudinal axis of chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1) or the general direction of travel (general flow direction from right or first end of item 11 to left or second end of item 11, fig. 1) of the particulate material (granulated coal or other materials in particulate form, Abstract) between said first and second ends (right end of item 11, fig. 1) (left end of item 11, fig. 1) of the drying chamber (chamber inside item 11, fig. 1), or b) a plane which is angled in generally forward sense relative to a plane orthogonal to a longitudinal axis of the drying chamber or the general direction of travel of the particulate material between said first and second ends of the drying chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss-Smith as applied to claim 23 above, and in view of Mark (US 3,713,225).
Regarding claim 24, Foss-Smith discloses the limitations of apparatus according to claim 23 above, but does not disclose wherein with direction at an angle to the perpendicular is in a generally rearward direction with respect to the direction of flow of the particulate material between first and second ends of the drying chamber.
Mark teaches wherein with direction (Mark, upward angle direction of air or gas from passages between items 18, fig. 2) at an (the) angle to the perpendicular (Mark, the perpendicular to vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) is in a generally rearward direction (Mark, upward angle direction, fig. 2) with respect to the direction of flow (Mark, vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) of the particulate material (Mark, wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2, col. 3, lines 31-41) between first and second ends (Mark, 1, upper or first end of item 1, fig. 2) (Mark, 1, lower or second end of item 1, fig. 2) of the drying chamber (Mark, 1, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Foss-Smith with wherein with direction at an angle to the perpendicular is in a generally rearward direction with respect to the direction of flow of the particulate material between first and second ends of the drying chamber, as taught by Mark, for effectively drying a material to be dried which would result in reducing a process drying time. Thus, the operation cost of the apparatus is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Regarding claim 26, Foss-Smith discloses the limitations of apparatus according to claim 23 above, but does not disclose wherein the angle to the perpendicular is in the region of 25 to 65 degrees from perpendicular, optionally 30 to 60 degrees from perpendicular.
Mark teaches wherein the angle (Mark, upward angle of air or gas from passages between items 18, fig. 2) to the perpendicular (Mark, the perpendicular to vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) is in the region of 25 to 65 degrees from perpendicular (Mark, the perpendicular to vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) (Mark, as shown in fig. 2, upward angle of air or gas from passages between items 18 to the perpendicular to vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a is in a region of about 25 to 65 degrees), optionally 30 to 60 degrees from perpendicular.
--- It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Foss-Smith with wherein the angle to the perpendicular is in the region of 25 to 65 degrees from perpendicular, as taught by Mark, for effectively drying a material to be dried which would result in reducing a process drying time. Thus, the operation cost of the apparatus is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss-Smith as applied to claim 23 above, and in view of Luker (US 6,189,234).
Regarding claim 25, Foss-Smith discloses the limitations of apparatus according to claim 23 above, but does not disclose wherein with direction at an angle to the perpendicular is in a generally forward direction with respect to the direction of flow of the particulate material between first and second ends of the drying chamber.
Luker teaches wherein with direction (Luker, upward left-to-right angle direction of air or gas from items 41 of item 40, figs. 7, 6) at an (the) angle to the perpendicular (Luker, the perpendicular to horizontal flow direction or left-to-right flow direction of moist product to be dried inside item 27, fig. 6) is in a generally forward direction (Luker, left-to-right direction, figs. 7, 6) with respect to the direction of flow (Luker, horizontal flow direction or left-to-right flow direction of moist product to be dried inside item 27, fig. 6) of the particulate material (Luker, moist product to be dried, Abstract) between first and second ends (Luker, left side or end of item 27, fig. 6) (Luker, right side or end of item 27, fig. 6) of the drying chamber (Luker, 27, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Foss-Smith with wherein with direction at an angle to the perpendicular is in a generally forward direction with respect to the direction of flow of the particulate material between first and second ends of the drying chamber, as taught by Luker, for effectively drying a material to be dried which would result in reducing a process drying time. Thus, the operation cost of the apparatus is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss-Smith as applied to claim 30 above, and in view of Mark (US 3,713,225).
Regarding claim 31, Foss-Smith discloses the limitations of apparatus according to claim 30 above, but does not disclose wherein the direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular is to emit the gas flow in a generally rearward direction against the direction of flow of material within the drying chamber.
Mark teaches wherein the direction (Mark, upward angle direction of air or gas from passages between items 18, fig. 2) which is at an (the) angle to the perpendicular (Mark, the perpendicular to vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) is to emit the gas flow in a generally rearward direction (Mark, upward angle direction of air or gas from passages between items 18, fig. 2) against the direction of flow of material (Mark, vertical flow direction from item 19 downward toward item 12 of wet particles or material from item 19a, fig. 2) within the drying chamber (Mark, 1, fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Foss-Smith with wherein the direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular is to emit the gas flow in a generally rearward direction against the direction of flow of material within the drying chamber, as taught by Mark, for effectively drying a material to be dried which would result in reducing a process drying time. Thus, the operation cost of the apparatus is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foss-Smith as applied to claim 30 above, and in view of Luker (US 6,189,234).
Regarding claim 32, Foss-Smith discloses the limitations of apparatus according to claim 30 above, but does not disclose wherein the direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular is to emit the gas flow in a generally forward direction along the direction of flow of material within the drying chamber.
Luker teaches wherein the direction (Luker, upward left-to-right angle direction of air or gas from items 41 of item 40, figs. 7, 6) which is at an (the) angle to the perpendicular (Luker, the perpendicular to horizontal flow direction or left-to-right flow direction of moist product to be dried inside item 27, fig. 6) is to emit the gas flow in a generally forward direction (Luker, left-to-right direction, figs. 7, 6) along the direction of flow (Luker, horizontal flow direction or left-to-right flow direction of moist product to be dried inside item 27, fig. 6) of material (Luker, moist product to be dried, Abstract) within the drying chamber (Luker, 27, fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Foss-Smith with wherein the direction which is at an angle to the perpendicular is to emit the gas flow in a generally forward direction along the direction of flow of material within the drying chamber, as taught by Luker, for effectively drying a material to be dried which would result in reducing a process drying time. Thus, the operation cost of the apparatus is reduced and thus benefits the consumer.
Conclusion
/BAO D NGUYEN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762 /MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762