DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues the Examiners interpretation seeks to sever the top two layers, and therefore the Examiner alters the entire premise of the reference and is therefore, hindsight reconstruction. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. In theoffice action 06/16/2026 claim 1 is rejected under 102 as disclosed by Knippelmeyer. Under said rejection, Knippelmeyer is not modified, and the Examiner does not alter the premise of the reference. Instead, the BRI of “aperture lens plate” the plate can be considered to be taught by layers 313_1 and 331, through which the apertures 353 extend through. All the features of claim 1 are disclosed by said layers. Therefore, the use of Knippelmeyer to teach claim 1 does not rely on hindsight.
Regarding claim 19, applicant argues because there are no primary electron beamlets emerging from the additional apertures 354, Knippelmeyer does not teach an aperture lens plate body configured to allow charged particles to pass though the field correcting apertures. However, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. As explained above with respect to arguments addressing claim 1, the BRI of aperture lens plate can be considered to be taught by layers 313_1 and 331 which the apertures 353 extend through. Therefore, the body is configured such that the charged particles can pass through the plurality of correction openings though the aperture lens plate body. The charged particles being blocked by the integral layer is irrelevant to the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 12, applicant’s arguments are persuasive.
Regarding claim 17, applicant’s arguments have overcome the art of record. The rejections presented herein are with respect to a different embodiment of the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “an array of N beamlet openings… the array of N beamlet openings having beamlet openings”. It is unclear if the beamlet openings are the array of N beamlet openings or if the beamlet openings are a subset of the array of N beamlet openings. The claim later recites “a plurality of correction openings… configured to locally influence a lens field of the beamlet openings, wherein the correction openings are different than the beamlet openings”. Due to the lack of clarity described above, it is unclear if the correction openings are only different from a subset of the array of N beamlet openings or if the correction openings are in addition to the array of N beamlet openings. For the purposes of examination, the beamlet openings will be interpreted to be the array of N beamlet openings and therefore, the correction openings will be interpreted to be in addition to the array of N beamlet openings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marco Jan-Jaco Wieland (US 20230290609 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wieland.
Regarding claim 1, Wieland recites a multi-aperture lens plate of a multi-beam generator for a charged particle multi-beam apparatus, comprising: an aperture lens plate body having one or more layers (FIG. 25 depicts an illustrative planar element (e.g. an electrode in an objective lens array 241) (para. [0137])), the aperture lens plate body configured to generate a plurality of primary charged particle beamlets, the aperture lens plate body comprising: an array of N beamlet openings extending through all of the one or more layers of the aperture lens plate body (Fig. 23), the array of N beamlet openings having beamlet openings, the array of N beamlet openings configured to generate N primary charged particle beamlets, wherein N is a number >= 2 (Sub-beams pass through all of the apertures within the broken line box 720 (para. [0137])); and a plurality of correction openings extending through all of the one or more layers of the aperture lens plate body (The apertures outside of the broken line box 720 may be referred to as dummy apertures (para. [0137])) and configured to locally influence a lens field of the beamlet openings (Although no sub-beams pass through the dummy apertures, their presence may help to reduce or eliminate edge effects that might occur if the dummy apertures were not provided (para. [0137])), wherein the correction openings are different than the beamlet openings (The apertures outside of the broken line box 720 may be referred to as dummy apertures (para. [0137])).
Regarding claim 2, Wieland teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the beamlet openings are circular (Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 3, Wieland teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the correction openings are circular.
Regarding claim 7, Wieland teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the array of N beamlet openings is rectangular or square (Fig. 25).
Regarding claim 10, Wieland teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein a position of beamlet openings changes with a distance of the beamlet openings to a central point according to a linear function (Fig. 25), a third order function, and/or a fifth order function of the distance.
Regarding claim 19, Wieland teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the aperture lens plate body is configured such that charged particles can pass through the plurality of correction openings through the aperture lens plate body (FIG. 21, such that a sub-beam that passes through the center of an aperture in the electrode providing the strongest lensing effect (the electrode 302 in the example shown) will also have passed through centers of the corresponding displaced apertures upbeam (para. [0129])).
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Knippelmeyer.
Regarding claim 1, Knippelmeyer teaches a multi-aperture lens plate of a multi-beam generator for a charged particle multi-beam apparatus (The invention relates to particle-optical systems using multiple beamlets of charged particles (para. [0002])), comprising: an aperture lens plate body having one or more layers (layers 313_1 and 331 of multi-aperture lens plate 313), the aperture lens plate body configured to generate a plurality of primary charged particle beamlets, the aperture lens plate body comprising: an array of N beamlet openings extending through all of the one or more layers of the aperture lens plate body (array pattern 319), the array of N beamlet openings having beamlet openings (apertures 315), the array of N beamlet openings configured to generate N primary charged particle beamlets, wherein N is a number >= 2 (Multi-aperture plate 313.sub.1 is illuminated by illuminating beam 311, and the apertures 315 formed therein are of a diameter for selecting and generating the primary electron beamlets from the illuminating beam 311 (para. [0151])); and a plurality of correction openings extending through all of the one or more layers (apertures 353 extend through both layers 313_1 and 331) of the aperture lens plate body and configured to locally influence a lens field of the beamlet openings (Further, field correcting apertures are formed in the multi-aperture plate for correcting a distortion of the electrical field generated by the multi-aperture plate (para. [0044])), wherein the correction openings are different than the beamlet openings (At interstitial positions between apertures 315 smaller field correcting apertures 353 are formed (para. [0173])).
Regarding claim 2, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the beamlet openings are circular (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 3, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the correction openings are circular (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 4, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the beamlet openings are circular, wherein the correction openings are circular and have a different diameter than the beamlet openings (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 7, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the array of N beamlet openings is rectangular or square (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 8, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein a first neighboring beamlet opening of a first beamlet opening of the array of N beamlet openings is in a first direction having a first vector selected from the group consisting of: [1,0], [0,1], [-1,0], and [0,-1] and a first neighboring correction opening of the first beamlet opening is in a second direction selected from the group consisting of: [1/2,1/2], [1/2, -1/2], [-1/2,1/2] and [-1/2,- 1/2] (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 9, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the plurality of correction openings is located at equal distance to surrounding beamlet openings of the array of N beamlet openings (The additional apertures 354 may be arranged as a continuation of pattern 319, i.e. they are provided with a same pitch as array 319 (para. [0181])) (Fig. 9).
The correction openings are arranged in an array pattern with a set pitch. Therefore, the plurality of correction openings is located at equal distance to surrounding beamlet openings of the array of N beamlet openings.
Regarding claim 10, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein a position of beamlet openings changes with a distance of the beamlet openings to a central point according to a linear function, a third order function, and/or a fifth order function of the distance (Fig. 9; line X-X).
Regarding claim 19, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the aperture lens plate body (multi-aperture lens plate 313, layers 313_1 and 331) is configured such that charged particles can pass through the plurality of correction openings through the aperture lens plate body (Thereafter, the resist pattern corresponding to the pattern of the field correcting apertures 353 is provided on plate 313.sub.1 and etching is performed with the first etching agent through upper layer 313.sub.1. Thereafter, etching is continued with the second etching agent which etches only silicon and does not etch metal. Thus, apertures 353 are formed through silicon substrate 331 (para. [0176])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippelmeyer, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Marco Jan-Jaco Wieland (US 20230238215 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wieland15.
Regarding claim 5, Knippelmeyer fails to teach the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the correction openings have a diameter of 60% of the diameter of the beamlet openings or smaller.
However, Wieland15 teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the correction openings have a diameter of 20% of the diameter of the beamlet openings or smaller (In one particular arrangement, for example, an aperture in the sub-beam defining aperture array 152 has a diameter of about 50 microns and a corresponding aperture 124 in the down-beam aperture body 123 has a diameter of about 10 microns (para. [0100])) (10 is 20% of 50).
Further, optimizing the diameter of the correction openings is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Knippelmeyer teaches that “A diameter of the field correcting apertures 353 is determined such that a multipole characteristic of stray fields generated by both the apertures 315 and the field correcting apertures 353 is reduced as compared to the situation shown in FIG. 7 where no field correcting apertures 353 are provided (para. [0174])”. As such, Knippelmeyer identifies the diameter of the correction aperture as a variable which achieves a recognized result, i.e., reducing multipole characteristics of stray fields. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the diameter of the correction openings in Knippelmeyer such that the diameter of the beamlet openings is 50 micron and the diameter of the correction openings is 10 micron since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Knippelmeyer fails to teach the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the beamlet openings have a diameter of 30 to 70 pm and the correction openings have a diameter of 10 to 30 pm.
However, Wieland15 teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the beamlet openings have a diameter of 50 pm and the correction openings have a diameter of 10 pm (In one particular arrangement, for example, an aperture in the sub-beam defining aperture array 152 has a diameter of about 50 microns and a corresponding aperture 124 in the down-beam aperture body 123 has a diameter of about 10 microns (para. [0100])) (10 is 20% of 50).
Optimizing the diameter of the correction openings is well within the bounds of normal experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05 II (A). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, “[a] particular parameter must first be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, before the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation.” In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). In the case at hand, Knippelmeyer teaches that “A diameter of the field correcting apertures 353 is determined such that a multipole characteristic of stray fields generated by both the apertures 315 and the field correcting apertures 353 is reduced as compared to the situation shown in FIG. 7 where no field correcting apertures 353 are provided (para. [0174])”. As such, Knippelmeyer identifies the diameter of the correction aperture as a variable which achieves a recognized result, i.e., reducing multipole characteristics of stray fields. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to optimize the diameter of the correction openings in Knippelmeyer such that the diameter of the beamlet openings is 50 micron and the diameter of the correction openings is 10 micron since it is not inventive to dis-cover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippelmeyter as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Marco Jan- Jaco Wieland (US 20050211921 A1), hereinafter referred to as Wieland21.
Regarding claim 11, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-aperture lens plate of claim 1, wherein the array of N beamlet openings and the plurality of correction openings are provided through the foil (upper metal layer 313.sub.2; apertures 315 are formed in the upper metal layer 313 (para. [0157])) (Thereafter, the resist pattern corresponding to the pattern of the field correcting apertures 353 is provided on plate 313.sub.1 and etching is performed with the first etching agent through upper layer 313.sub.1 (para. [0176])).
Knippelmeyer fails to teach wherein the aperture lens plate body includes a foil having a thickness of 20 pm or below.
However, Wieland 21 teaches wherein the aperture lens plate body includes a foil having a thickness from 10-500 .mu.m (The lens array comprises two or more plates 13a and 13b, both having a thickness of about 10-500 .mu.m (para. [0097])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Knippelmeyer, the include the teachings of Wieland21 by making the foil 313 of Knippelmeyer less than 20 microns thick. A lens with a thickness in this range can effectively guide the charged beams through the optical system.
Claims 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippelmeyer in view of Benjamin John Cook (US 20220336186 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cook.
Regarding claim 12, Knippelmeyer teaches a multi-beam generator for a charged particle multi-beam apparatus, comprising:
a charged particle emitter configured to emit a primary charged particle beam (at least one beam of charged particles generated by the source (para. [0026]));
a multi-aperture lens plate being arranged for being illuminated with the primary charged particle beam, the multi-aperture lens plate comprising: an aperture lens plate body, the aperture lens plate body configured to generate a plurality of primary charged particle beamlets, the aperture lens plate body comprising (multi-aperture lens plate 313, layers 313_1 and 331):
an array of N beamlet openings through the aperture lens plate body (array 319), the array of N beamlet openings having beamlet openings (apertures 315), the array of N beamlet openings configured to generate N primary charged particle beamlets, wherein N is a number >= 2 (Multi-aperture plate 313.sub.1 is illuminated by illuminating beam 311, and the apertures 315 formed therein are of a diameter for selecting and generating the primary electron beamlets from the illuminating beam 311 (para. [0151]));
and a plurality of correction openings through the aperture lens plate body configured to locally influence a lens field of the beamlet openings (field correcting apertures 353), wherein the correction openings are different than the beamlet openings (the field correcting apertures have preferably a smaller size than the beam-manipulating apertures located adjacent thereto (para. [0048]));
Knippelmeyer fails to teach an aperture plate downstream of the multi-aperture lens plate with an aperture plate body having a plurality of N openings for passing of the N primary charged particle beamlets, the aperture plate body configured to block electrons passing through the correction openings.
However Cook teaches an aperture plate downstream of the multi- aperture lens plate with an aperture plate body having a plurality of N openings for passing of the N primary charged particle beamlets (beamlet blanker array 250), the aperture plate body configured to block electrons passing through the correction openings (The beamlet blanker array 250 allows blocking of a selectable subset of the plurality of beamlets while allowing another subset of the plurality of beamlets to pass toward the single transfer lens. (para. [0075])).
To be clear, Knippelmeyer teaches correction apertures through the aperture lens plate body. However, the charged particles passing through these apertures are immediately blocked by metal layer 313.sub.2 directly below the aperture lens plate. Cook teaches a blanker array capable of blocking a selectable subset of the plurality of beamlets. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Knippelmeyer to include the teachings of Cook by replacing layer 313.sub2 with the beamlet blanker array of Cook. Doing so provides the advantage of selecting the subset of beams to block (Cook; para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-beam generator of claim 12, further comprising: one or more electrodes with a common opening configured for passing of at least one of the primary charged particle beam or the N primary charged particle beamlets, the one or more electrodes being configured to generate an electric field on the multi-aperture lens plate to focus the N primary charged particle beamlets in a plane downstream of the multi-aperture lens plate (multi-aperture plate 313 is mounted in a center of a cup-shaped electrode 341 para. [0164]).
Regarding claim 14, Knippelmeyer teaches the multi-beam generator of any of claim 13, wherein the plane is flat (fig. 3 as annotated below).
Regarding claim 15, Knippelmeyer teaches a charged particle multi-beam apparatus configured to focus N primary charged particle beamlets on a specimen (landing angle of the primary electron beamlets 3 at the primary electron beam spots 5 formed on the object 7 (para. [0163])), comprising :a multi-beam generator of claim 12 (see rejection for claim 12 above).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippelmeyer in view of Cook, and in further view of Albertus Victor Mangnus (US 20220199355 A1), hereinafter referred to as Mangnus.
Regarding claim 16, Knippelmeyer teaches the charged particle multi-beam apparatus of claim 15, wherein the array of N beamlet openings and the plurality of correction openings form a first pattern within a first area, wherein further openings are provided in the aperture lens plate body to extend the first pattern beyond the first area to form a second pattern with a second area larger than the first area (Fig. 9 as annotated below).
Knippelmeyer fails to teach wherein the second pattern has an essentially circular shape.
However, Mangnus teaches wherein the second pattern has an essentially circular shape (Fig. 3A as annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Knippelmeyer to include the teachings of Mangnus by making the second pattern circular. The second pattern being circular produces “four-fold symmetry in azimuthal direction (Mangnus; para. [0043]).”
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Knippelmeyer in view of Pieter Kruit (WO 2021078352 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kruit.
Regarding claim 17, Knippelmeyer teaches a method of generating a plurality of N primary charged particle beamlets to be focused on a specimen, comprising: generating a primary charged particle beam with a charged particle emitter (electron source arrangement 301); illuminating a multi-aperture lens plate, the multi-aperture lens plate comprising an aperture lens plate body, with the primary charged particle beam (The beam blanking arrangement 340 comprises a further multi-aperture plate (not shown in FIG. 23) arranged such that a respective focus 323 is formed in each aperture thereof.); generating beamlets (Each aperture provides the function of a beam deflector which may be formed by two electrodes on opposite sides of the aperture. The electrodes are supplied by voltages controlled by a computer. When no voltage is applied to the electrodes of the aperture, the beamlet passing therethrough will pass along a straight line, i.e. the beamlet will not be deflected. When a suitable voltage is supplied to the electrodes an electrical field will be generated within the aperture to deflect the respective beamlet by a suitable angle (para. [0235])), comprising: generating N primary charged particle beamlets generated with an array of N beamlet openings of the aperture lens plate body (When no voltage is applied to the electrodes of the aperture, the beamlet passing therethrough will pass along a straight line, i.e. the beamlet will not be deflected (para. [0235])); and generating first dummy beamlets generated with a plurality of correction openings of the aperture lens plate body, wherein the correction openings are different than the beamlet openings (When a suitable voltage is supplied to the electrodes an electrical field will be generated within the aperture to deflect the respective beamlet by a suitable angle (para. [0235])), the N primary charged particle beamlets are focused in a plane downstream of the multi-aperture lens plate (Downstream of the beam blanking unit there are provided subsequent beam deflectors 451, 452 for displacing the writing beamlets by a distance d with respect to their beam path before traversing the beam deflectors 451, 452 (para. [0239])); and blocking at least the first dummy beamlets, downstream of the multi-aperture lens plate (Downstream of plane 325 where the foci 323 are formed there is provided a further multi-aperture plate (not shown in FIG. 23) having a plurality of apertures positioned such that each writing electron beamlet will pass through the aperture when it is not deflected by the deflecting arrangement, and such that it will substantially not pass through the aperture when the beam is deflected (para. [0237])).
To be clear, N primary charged particle beamlets are represented by the undeflected beamlets of Kippelmeyer. The dummy beamlets are represented by Kippelmeyer’s deflected beamlets where the voltage applied to the apertures differentiates the correction openings from the beamlet openings. The deflected beams are blocked whereas the undeflected beams are not.
Knippelmeyer fails to teach; focusing the N primary charged particle beamlets with an electric field generated at the multi-aperture lens plate with one or more electrodes.
However, Kruit teaches focusing the N primary charged particle beamlets with an electric field generated at the multi-aperture lens plate with one or more electrodes (For example, four electrodes 124 can be provided upstream of the multi-aperture lens plate 122 and one electrode 124 can be provided downstream of the multi-aperture lens plate 122 (para. [0042])).
To be clear, Knippelmeyer teaches the use of beam deflectors for form focused writing electron beam spots (Knippelmeyer; para. [0241]). However, Knippelmeyer does not teach doing such focusing with electrodes forming an electric field at the multi-aperture lens plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device described in Knippelmeyer to include the teachings of Kruit by including electrodes 124 in a region above the multi-aperture lens plate. Doing so “provides at least one additional degree of freedom in primary beamlet control (Kruit; para. [0042])”
Regarding claim 18, Figure 23 of Knippelmeyer does not teach the method of claim 17, wherein generating beamlets further comprises: generating second dummy beamlets with further openings extending beyond a first area of the array of N beamlet openings and the plurality of correction openings; and blocking the second dummy beamlets.
However, Figure 9 of Knippelmeyer teaches wherein generating beamlets further comprises: generating second dummy beamlets with further openings extending beyond a first area of the array of N beamlet openings and the plurality of correction openings (additional apertures 354); and blocking the second dummy beamlets (It is, however, also possible to form the additional aperture 354 as through-holes through the multi-aperture arrangement 305 such that also the additional apertures 354 generate primary electron beamlets downstream thereof. The beamlets formed by the additional apertures 354 may then be intercepted by some other means, such as a suitable stop, provided downstream of the multi-aperture arrangement (para. [0182])).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the “multi-aperture plate (not shown in FIG. 23) arranged such that a respective focus 323 is formed in each aperture thereof” to include additional apertures 354 and then blocking the dummy beamlets produces by said apertures. These apertures promote a homogenous electric field throughout the pattern (Knippelmeyer; para. [0055]).
Conclusion
/MICA JILLIAN EINHORN/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881