DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 as amended in applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 12 February 2025 are presently under consideration.
Claim Interpretation
As recited in para [0039] of applicant’s originally filed specification spatially relative terms, such as “beneath,” “below,” “lower,” “above,” “upper,” and the like are used to describe one element or feature's relationship to another element(s) or feature(s) and the spatially relative terms are intended to encompass different orientations of the device in use or operation in addition to the orientation depicted in the figures. As such, unless specifically limited otherwise spatially relative terms such as “lower” can refer to one element or feature in any of a width, length, or vertical/height direction. Further, one element recited as “lower” and another element recited as “lower” are not necessarily interpreted as being “lower” with respect to the same direction (width, length, or vertical/height direction) unless explicitly claimed as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “wherein the fastening flanges are provided on both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules in the second direction such that a plurality of fastening flanges are arranged at intervals in the first direction along each of both sides of the plurality of battery modules” where it’s unclear if the recitation of “a plurality of fastening flanges” in claim 4 is a new plurality of fastening flanges or is referencing a subset of the previously defined plurality of fastening flanges recited in claim 1. As such, the scope of claim 4 cannot be reasonably determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 5 and 6 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 4.
Claims 5 and 6 also each recite “the fastening flanges” where it’s unclear which fastening flanges are being recited as claim 4 appears to define multiple sets or pluralities of fastening flanges. As such, the scope of claims 5 and 6 cannot be reasonably determined and are also rendered indefinite for this reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qian et al (CN 207558892U, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1 Qian discloses a battery module assembly comprising:
a frame ([0052], Figs. 3-4 see: peripheral walls 22 and intermediate walls 23 of lower housing 2);
a plurality of battery modules accommodated in a lower portion of the frame ([0052], Figs. 3-4 see: plurality of battery modules 1 arranged in a lower portion (along the length direction L) of lower housing 2), each of the plurality of battery modules comprising a battery cell ([0049], Fig. 1 see: battery cells 11 in battery modules 1); and
a protective cover extending across and protecting lower portions of the plurality of battery modules ([0052], Figs. 3-4 see: bottom wall 21 of lower housing 2 protecting lower portions (along the length direction L or height direction H) of battery modules 1),
wherein the frame comprises a plurality of support fixing portions extending in a length direction ([0052], Figs. 3-4 see: intermediate walls 23 extending in length direction L) in which each of the plurality of battery modules extends (Figs. 3-4 see: battery modules 1 extend in direction L) and being configured to support both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 3-4 see: intermediate walls 23 support battery modules 1 at their sides in the width direction W at screw holes 231 with screws 3 in fixing holes FH on bosses B of battery modules 1),
wherein the plurality of battery modules further comprises fastening flanges protruding in directions from the sides of the battery module adjacent to the plurality of support fixing portions and overlapping the plurality of support fixing portions in a vertical direction ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 3-4 see: battery modules 1 comprise bosses B at their sides in the width direction W which vertically overlap intermediate walls 23), and
wherein the plurality of battery modules are fixed to the lower portion of the frame by using fixing members that extend through the fastening flanges from lower sides of the fastening flanges and are accommodated in the plurality of support fixing portions ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 3-4 see: battery modules 1 fixed to intermediate walls 23 of lower housing 2 by screws 3 extending through fixing holes FH in bosses B an into screw holes 231).
Regarding claim 2 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery modules are arranged in a second direction crossing a first direction from a front side of the frame to a rear side of the frame (Figs. 3-4 see: battery modules 1 arranged along width direction W crossing length direction L which extends from front to rear sides of lower housing 2).
Regarding claim 3 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 2, wherein the length direction in which each of the plurality of battery modules extends is the first direction (Figs. 3-4 see: battery modules 1 extend in length direction L).
Regarding claim 4 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 3, wherein the fastening flanges are provided on both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules in the second direction such that a plurality of fastening flanges are arranged at intervals in the first direction along each of both sides of the plurality of battery modules ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 2-4 see: bosses B provided on either side of battery modules 1 in width W direction and arranged at intervals along length L direction).
Regarding claim 5 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 4, wherein the fastening flanges are asymmetrically provided on both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules such that the fastening flanges do not overlap each other at battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 2-4 see: bosses B arranged at intervals along length L direction such that they do not vertically overlap with bosses B of adjacent modules).
Regarding claim 6 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 5, wherein the fastening flanges protrude at positions that are closer to lower ends of each of the plurality of battery modules than to upper ends of each of the plurality of battery modules ([0054]-[0055] Figs. 2-4 see: some of the bosses B of the plurality of bosses B are provided at lower ends of the modules 1 in the length direction L and thus are further from upper ends of the modules 1 in the length direction).
Regarding claim 7 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a busbar fixed to the frame, wherein the plurality of battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction are electrically connected to each other through the busbar ([0058]-[0059] Figs. 3-6 see: electrical connection boxes 4 in intermediate walls 23 having V shaped conductive elements 43 that electrically interconnect adjacent battery modules 1 at the two extension portions 1622 of the two opposite output pieces 162 of the adjacent battery modules).
Regarding claim 8 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein the busbar extends in the second direction, and wherein the plurality of battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction are electrically connected to each other through the busbar ([0058]-[0059] Figs. 3-6 see: V shaped conductive elements 43 extend in the width direction W to electrically interconnect adjacent battery modules 1 at the two extension portions 1622 of the two opposite output pieces 162 of the adjacent battery modules).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takada (US 20230238656 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Takada discloses a battery module assembly comprising:
a frame (Fig. 1 see: housing 80);
a plurality of battery modules accommodated in a lower portion of the frame (Fig. 1 see: cell assemblies 40 in housing 80), each of the plurality of battery modules comprising a battery cell (Fig. 2 see: battery cells 30); and
a protective cover extending across and protecting lower portions of the plurality of battery modules ([0035] Fig. 1 a lid (not illustrated) seals the opening of housing main body 80a and thus covers lower portions of cell assemblies 40),
wherein the frame comprises a plurality of support fixing portions extending in a length direction ([0035] Fig. 1 see: partition walls 85 extending in the x-direction) in which each of the plurality of battery modules extends and being configured to support both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules ([0048], Figs. 1 and 4 see: cell assemblies 40 extend in the x-direction and partition walls 85 support left and right sides of assemblies 40 at fixed parts 18, 28),
wherein the plurality of battery modules further comprise fastening flanges protruding in directions from the sides of the battery module adjacent to the plurality of support fixing portions and overlapping the plurality of support fixing portions in a vertical direction ([0048], Figs. 1-2 and 4 see: cell assemblies 40 include fixed parts 18, 28 at their left and right sides vertically overlapping the partition walls 85), and
wherein the plurality of battery modules are fixed to the lower portion of the frame by using fixing members that extend through the fastening flanges from lower sides of the fastening flanges and are accommodated in the plurality of support fixing portions ([0048], Figs. 1 and 4 see: cell assemblies 40 fixed to partition walls 85 through bolts B extending through bolt holes 18h, 28h in fixed parts 18, 28 and extending into bolt holes 81, 82 in the face of partition walls 85, considered the lower portion covered by the lid (not illustrated)).
Regarding claim 2 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of battery modules are arranged in a second direction crossing a first direction from a front side of the frame to a rear side of the frame ([0035] Fig. 1 see: cell assemblies 40 arranged along y-direction which crosses the x-direction that extends front to rear).
Regarding claim 3 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 2, wherein the length direction in which each of the plurality of battery modules extends is the first direction ([0035] Fig. 1 see: cell assemblies 40 extend in the x-direction).
Regarding claim 4 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 3, wherein the fastening flanges are provided on both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules in the second direction such that a plurality of fastening flanges are arranged at intervals in the first direction along each of both sides of the plurality of battery modules ([0048], Figs. 1-2, 4, and 6 see: fixed parts 18, 28 provided on both sides of cell assemblies 40 are arranged at intervals extending in the x-direction).
Regarding claim 5 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 4, wherein the fastening flanges are asymmetrically provided on both sides of each of the plurality of battery modules such that the fastening flanges do not overlap each other at battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction ([0048], Fig. 6 see: fixed parts 18, 28 provided on both sides of cell assemblies 40 do not overlap with the fixed parts 18, 28 of an adjacent assembly 40).
Regarding claim 6 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 5, wherein the fastening flanges protrude at positions that are closer to lower ends of each of the plurality of battery modules than to upper ends of each of the plurality of battery modules (Figs. 1-2, and 4, see: fixed parts 18, 28 provided on both sides of cell assemblies 40 are positioned closer to a lower end of the assemblies 40 (closer to the lid) than to upper ends of the cell assemblies 40).
Regarding claim 7 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a busbar fixed to the frame, wherein the plurality of battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction are electrically connected to each other through the busbar ([0054], Fig. 6 see: coupling bus bar 50 in partition wall 85 connecting adjacent cell assemblies in the y-direction).
Regarding claim 8 Takada discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 7, wherein the busbar extends in the second direction, and wherein the plurality of battery modules adjacent to each other in the second direction are electrically connected to each other through the busbar ([0054], Fig. 6 see: coupling bus bar 50 includes a bent portion so it partly extends in the y-direction to connect adjacent cell assemblies in the y-direction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al (CN 207558892U, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 1-8 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0067040A1).
Regarding claim 9 Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 3, wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises an upper housing extending in the first direction and disposed toward the frame and a lower housing extending in the first direction and opposite the upper housing (Qian, [0042]-[0043], Figs. 1-4 see: battery module 1 includes cover 12 and side plates 14 forming an upper and lower housing where both are considered “disposed toward the frame” as they are seated in or on housing 2), but Qian does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper housing has first sides extending, from both end portions of the upper housing in the second direction, toward the lower housing in the vertical direction, wherein the lower housing has second sides extending, from both end portions of the lower housing in the second direction, toward the upper housing in a direction opposite the vertical direction.
Kim discloses a battery module having an upper and lower housing wherein the upper housing has first sides extending, from both end portions of the upper housing in the second direction, toward the lower housing in the vertical direction, wherein the lower housing has second sides extending, from both end portions of the lower housing in the second direction, toward the upper housing in a direction opposite the vertical direction (Kim, [0063] Figs. 1-2 see: case 30 and cooling plate 20 forming upper and lower housings each with vertically extending sidewalls extending in opposite directions vertically).
Kim and Qian are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery module assembly of Qian in view of Kim such that the upper housing has first sides extending, from both end portions of the upper housing in the second direction, toward the lower housing in the vertical direction, wherein the lower housing has second sides extending, from both end portions of the lower housing in the second direction, toward the upper housing in a direction opposite the vertical direction as in Kim (Kim, [0063] Figs. 1-2 see: case 30 and cooling plate 20 forming upper and lower housings each with vertically extending sidewalls extending in opposite directions vertically) as such a modification would have amounted to the selection of a known battery module housing configuration for its intended use in a battery module assembly to accomplish the entirely expected result of providing protection of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 10 modified Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein the first sides are longer than the second sides in the vertical direction (Kim, [0063] Figs. 1-2 see: case 30 having sides in the vertical direction longer than the sides of cooling plate 20).
Regarding claim 11 modified Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises terminal housings that connect the upper housing and the lower housing to each other at both end portions of the respective battery module in the first direction (Kim, [0071] Figs. 1-2 see: front and rear covers 40) or (Qian, [0042]-[0043], Figs. 1-4 see: battery module 1 includes two end plates 13), and
Qian discloses wherein at least one of the upper housing, the lower housing, and the terminal housings comprises a weld line formed on an edge that is in contact with another of the upper housing, the lower housing, and the terminal housings (Qian, [0048], Figs. 1-4 see: the end face of each side plate 14 is fixed together with the corresponding end face of each end plate 13 by welding).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al (CN 207558892U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0067040A1) as applied to claims 1-11 above, and further in view of Nakajima et al (JP 2012079510A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 12 modified Qian discloses the battery module assembly claimed in claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery cell comprises a first vent in a lower portion thereof and configured to discharge gas, and wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a gas flow path in an inner lower side thereof to guide the gas.
Nakajima discloses a battery module where the battery cell comprises a first vent in a lower portion thereof and configured to discharge gas (Abstract, Pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: safety valve 16 at a lower portion of each of cells 10 for exhausting gas), and wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a gas flow path in an inner lower side thereof to guide the gas (Abstract, Pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: safety valves 16 connect to hood 31 and exhaust duct 31 inside case 31 for guiding gas to conduction ports 21 in end plates 20).
Nakajima and modified Qian are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery module assembly of Qian in view of Nakajima such that the battery cell comprises a first vent in a lower portion thereof and configured to discharge gas as in Nakajima (Abstract, Pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: safety valve 16 at a lower portion of each of cells 10 for exhausting gas), and wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a gas flow path in an inner lower side thereof to guide the gas as in Nakajima (Abstract, Pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: safety valves 16 connect to hood 31 and exhaust duct 31 inside case 31 for guiding gas to conduction ports 21 in end plates 20) for the express purpose of safely exhausting gas outside the battery module in the event of a failure or abnormality of the battery cells.
Regarding claim 13 modified Qian discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 12, and Nakajima discloses wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a second vent in the terminal housings and connected to the gas flow path to discharge the gas to an outside area (Abstract, Pages 2-3 of translation, Fig. 1 see: gas guided to conduction ports 21 and out through exhaust ports 22 in end plates 20).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qian et al (CN 207558892U, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of Kim et al (US 2020/0067040A1) as applied to claims 1-11 above, and further in view of Chung et al (KR 20210019891A, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 14 modified Kim discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 9, but does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a heat transfer sheet between the battery cell and the upper housing and extending in the first direction.
Chung discloses a battery module assembly wherein each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a heat transfer sheet between the battery cell and the upper housing and extending in the first direction (Abstract, page 5 of translation, Chung, Fig. 2 see: a heat transfer member 90 is provided in both upper and lower housing portions of case 30 between the battery cells 10 and one of plates 40, 50).
Chung and modified Qian are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of battery modules.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the battery module assembly of Qian in view of Chung such that each of the plurality of battery modules further comprises a heat transfer sheet between the battery cell and the upper housing and extending in the first direction as in Chung (Abstract, page 5 of translation, Chung, Fig. 2 see: a heat transfer member 90 is provided in both upper and lower housing portions of case 30 between the battery cells 10 and one of plates 40, 50) for the express purpose of increasing heat transfer from the battery cells to the housing where it can be further removed.
Regarding claim 15 modified Kim discloses the battery module assembly as claimed in claim 14, and Chung further discloses wherein the upper housing comprises a cooling path therein, the cooling path extending in the first direction and configured to cool the respective battery module (Page 7 of translation, Figs. 2 and 4 see: case 30 can further have a cooling device 20 integrally coupled thereto with an internal cooling passage 22 extending lengthwise for cooling the module).
Conclusion
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726