DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims in application 18/610, 162 filed on 3/19/2024.
The instant application claims benefit to foreign application TW112209165 with a priority date of 8/28/2023.
The Pre-Grant publication # 2025/0078683A1 is published on 3/6/2025.
Claims 1-4 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent Application Publication Number US 20190378436 A1 to KRUMMENACHERR. et al. (Krummenacherr) in view of Patent Application Publication Number US 20210201699 A1 to Eggert et al. (Eggert).
Claim 1. Krummenacher teaches a training system for hemorrhage treatment ( Fig.1 element 10 ), comprising a control element Fig.1element 30c), a pulse width modulation (PWM) element ( Fig.1 element 20,21 para 0030 The circuit board 21a facilitates driving of the pump 20 with the simulated pulsatile flow using pulse width modulation, but could be driven in a different manner that produces pulsatile flow from the otherwise steady state circulation pump 20 ), a motor element (Fig.1 element 20 pump as motor element), a water flow sensor element, a water pressure sensor element (fig.1 element 32,58 The plurality of sensors may be comprised of nearly any sensor, such as a pressure sensor 32, a flow sensor, a thermometer, a strain gauge, or other sensors that are utilized to monitor the performance, operation or use of the model system 10. For example, the central processor 30 may be in communication with a plurality of pressure sensors 32 associated with the simulated artery 14 to detect pressure of the fluid in the simulated artery 14, a plurality of pressure sensors 32 associated with the simulated vein 24 to detect pressures within the simulated vein 24 or other sensors otherwise located in the model system 10 ), a Bluetooth element (Para 0047), a power supply (Para 0030), and a simulated body (Para 0005 a simulated body model);
wherein the control element is electrically connected to the PWM element, water flow sensor element, water pressure sensor element, Bluetooth element, and power supply (Fig.1 element 21, 30c, 32 control component connected to PWM element; Para 0030 circuit board preferably communicates with the pump 20, the processor 30 and the various sensors of the system 10 for operation of the simulator) ;
the control element outputs control signals to the PWM element and receive signals transmitted by the water flow sensor element and the water pressure sensor element; the control element utilizes the Bluetooth element to mutually exchange signals with a mobile device ( Fig.1 elements 30c, 20, 21 32 water flow sensor; Para 0035 central processor 30 preferably controls the pump 20 (on/off, adjust intensity and amplitude of pulsatile drive PWM and related functions), via a control panel 30c, as shown schematically in FIG. 1, collects pressure and/or beats per minute data from the pressure sensors 32 or other sensors wirelessly (or wired) and controls power supply or other data acquisition and storage mechanisms);
Krummenacher does not explicitly identify PWM element is electrically connected to the control element, relay, and power supply; the PWM element is used to receive control signals transmitted by the control element and to transmit the control signals to the relay when the relay is electrically connected to the PWM element, motor element, and power supply. Eggert however, teaches the PWM element is electrically connected to the control element, relay, and power supply (Para 0075 electrical interaction) ; the PWM element is used to receive control signals transmitted by the control element and to transmit the control signals to the relay (Para 0235 The master module 1420 is configured to receive information from and/or monitor the modules and relay that information to the control system) ; the relay is electrically connected to the PWM element, motor element, and power supply (Para 0091 electrically powered controlled pumps). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to incorporate PWM element is electrically connected to the control element, relay, and power supply (Para 0075 electrical interaction), the PWM element is used to receive control signals transmitted by the control element and to transmit the control signals to the relay, as taught by Eggert into the training system for hemorrhage treatment of Krummenacher , in order to provide interactive education system for teaching patient care with electrically controlled signal.
Krummenacher in combination with Eggert teaches the relay is used to receive control signals transmitted by the PWM element and to control the motor element’s operation based on the control signals; the motor element is electrically connected to the relay and power supply; the motor element is also connected to the simulated body via a water supply pipe (Krummenacher: Fig.1 element 20, Para 0075 electrical interaction; Eggert Para 0092: motor elements);
the motor element transports fluid to the simulated body based on the control signals from the relay to simulate bleeding effects; the water flow sensor element is electrically connected to the control element and power supply; the water flow sensor is used to detect a flow rate of the water supply pipe connected to the motor element and to transmit a detected flow rate signal back to the control element; the water pressure sensor element is electrically connected to the control element and power supply ( Krummenacher Fig.1 elements 14,32,58 flow rate sensors and detectors) ;
the water pressure sensor element is used to detect a pressure value of the water supply pipe connected to the motor element and to transmit a detected pressure signal back to the control element ( Krummenacher Para 0035 pressure sensors and supply pipes );
the Bluetooth element is electrically connected to the control element and power supply; the Bluetooth element is used to facilitate mutual communication and signal transmission between the control element and the mobile device; and the power supply is electrically connected to the control element, PWM element, relay, motor element, water flow sensor element, water pressure sensor element, and Bluetooth element to provide electrical power (Krummenacher Para 0047 The pulsatile flow is preferably displayed on the preferred tablet 30, which is in communication with the pressure sensors 32 via wireless communications, such as a Bluetooth signal; Eggert: Para 0007 simulator may communicate with other devices or instruments wirelessly; Bluetooth element could be used to facilitate mutual communication and signal transmission between the control element and the mobile device)
Claim 2. Krummenacher in combination with Eggert teaches the training system for hemorrhage treatment according to Claim 1, further comprising a servo motor; wherein the servo motor is electrically connected to the control element and power supply; and the servo motor simulates the pulsating of a pulse according to the control of the control element ( Krummenacher Fig.1 element 20 ; Eggert Para 0151 computers or server for motor controls).
Claim 3. Krummenacher in combination with Eggert teaches the training system for hemorrhage treatment according to Claim 1, further comprising a water reservoir; wherein the water reservoir is used to store fluid and is connected to the water supply pipe of the motor element; and fluid outputted from the simulated body is recirculated and transported back to the water reservoir by the motor element (Krummenacher Fig.1 element 22 reservoir with flow in an flow out controls)
Claim 4 Krummenacher in combination with Eggert teaches the training system for hemorrhage treatment according to Claim 2, further comprising a water reservoir; wherein the water reservoir is used to store fluid and is connected to the water supply pipe of the motor element; and fluid outputted from the simulated body is recirculated and transported back to the water reservoir by the motor element (Krummenacher Fig.1 element 60 flow outputted from simulated body) .
Conclusion
/S.Z/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715