Detailed Action
1. Claims 1-26 are pending in this Application.
Continued Examination Under 3 7 CFR 1.114.
3. A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.1 14, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.1 14. Applicant's submission filed on 09/10/2026 has been entered.
Response to amendment
4. Applicant’s response to the last Office Action filed on 06/11/2026 has been entered and made of record.
5 Claims 1, 24-26 have been amended.
.
Response to Argument
6. The Applicant’s argument filed 09/10/2026 is fully consider. For Examiner response see discussion below.
a. Applicant’s has amended claim 1 by adding “classify the first image into a plurality of regions according to the distance information”, and substantially argue the applied prior arts Suzuki and Ohira does not teach the added limitation.
As to above argument Examiner agree with the Applicant’s arguments. Although Suzuki teaches a method of segmenting an image into a plurality of regions, but fails to teach classifying the segmented region based on the distance information. Thus, the 103 rejection based on Suzuki and Ohira are expressly withdrawn. However after further search and consideration a new prior art LIU et al.,(CN 112954239) that teaches the added limitation is found.
Specifical LIU teaches “First, firstly, in the space camera shooting process to the ground, the image collector collects the image (in this example, the image size is 12000 * 5000 pixel) from the surface array detector. In order to ensure the diversity of the image participating in the calculation, the difference between any two images is large, the one point according to the following method to ensure: space remote sensing camera in the push-sweeping process, in order to ensure a larger difference between two adjacent images, the relative pushing distance is preferably greater than the amplitude, as shown in FIG. 2, by the push distance calculating unit obtains relative push distance information from the attitude control system, when the relative push distance is greater than the amplitude; sending the instruction of collecting image to the image collector so as to ensure the non-overlapped area of two adjacent images, so as to ensure the difference of the image;”, see page 5 par., 5.
Thus, from the above statement it is clear that two adjacent images are classified as similar or dissimilar images based on the distance information obtained from the attitude control system which is part of remote sensing camera, and where the distance information is the distance between the space remote sensing camera and the plurality of adjacent images.
b. In pages 13-14 the Applicant argues “In addition, on page 5 of the Office Action, the Office acknowledged that that Suzuki did not disclose "wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display", but specified that paragraph [0113] of Ohira disclosed said feature. Please note that the Office cited paragraph [0013] of Ohira. However, based on the description quoted in the Office Action, it appears that the Office may have intended to refer to paragraph [0113] of Ohira.”
As to above argument [b], Examiner agrees with the Applicant argument about the typo error. As point out correctly by the Applicant Examiner intend to par[0113] but not [0013])
Applicant also argue “Ohira's paragraph [0013] does not mention displaying an image, such as the claimed first image. As such, Accordingly, Ohira does not cure the deficiencies of Suzuki to teach or suggest the display of both the first image and the first brightness information data, as required by claim 1.Therefore, the limitation "wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display" in claim 1 is non-obvious over the cited references of record.”
As to above argument [b] Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicants, argument for the following reasons:
i. As point out by the Applicant Examiner intended to par., [0113] but not par., [0013].
ii. Par., [0113] clearly teach the limitation of “wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display".
Further pars. [0047], [0082] and [0097] also teach the above limitation. For example par. [0082] teaches that It is not necessary to display (n) and the cumulative histogram AHl (n) by the brightness cumulative curve generation unit 12. However, the histogram Hl (n) and the cumulative histogram AHl (n) may be actually displayed in a case where the user manually performs correction by displaying them on the image display device 48)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-6,8-12, 19-22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over SUZUKI HIROSH (hereafter SUZUKI), JP2007329619 (A) , pub 12/20/2007, in view of LIU et al., (hereafter LIU), CN 112954239 A, pub. 06/11/2021, further in view of OHIRA MASAKAZU( hereafter OHIRA), JP 2004032427A, pub. 01/29/2004, f
As to claim 1, SUZUKI teaches An image processing apparatus comprising: a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: acquire distance information data related to distance information between an image sensor and a subject ([0045], the distance information calculation unit 108 uses an external infrared sensor 109 to calculate distance information indicating the distance between the imaging device and the subject);
output first image data indicating a first image obtained by imaging with the image sensor to a display ([0045]- [0046], the video signal is transferred to the buffer 105 in the same manner as in the pre photographing. The video signal in the buffer 105 is transferred to a photometry evaluation unit 106. FIG. 12 is a characteristic diagram of gradation curve setting for a classification pattern, which is display in a computer screen. The gradation conversion curve directly manipulates the brightness information in the digital image or video);
output first brightness information data indicating first brightness information created based on a first signal of the first image data ([0046] The video signal in the buffer 105 is transferred to a photometry evaluation unit 106 , a distance information calculation unit 108 , and a signal processing unit 110 .The photometry evaluation unit 106 obtains the luminance level in the video signal), for each of a plurality of regions into which the first image is classified according to the distance information ([0074], FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a division pattern for photometric evaluation, in which the image is divided into 13 regions, and a luminance value (a i=1 to 13) is obtained for each region. ); and
in a case in which a first instruction to adjust the first brightness information for at least one of the plurality of regions is received by a reception device, perform first processing of reflecting a content of the first instruction in the first image and/or the first brightness information ([0039], sequentially extracting local areas centered on a pixel of interest using the signal-processed video signal; creating a histogram (luminance) of the extracted area; performing clipping processing on the histogram based on the correction coefficient; generating a gradation conversion curve by accumulating and normalizing the histogram after the clipping processing; and performing gradation conversion(adjustment ) processing on the pixel of interest based on the gradation conversion curve);
It is noted Suzuki does not specifically teach add limitation “classify the first image into a plurality of regions according to the distance information”; wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display”
On the other hand LIU teaches classify the first image into a plurality of regions according to the distance information (page 5 par., 5, as discuss in more the response to argument section above, LIU teaches a method of classifying two or more adjacent images as similar images or dissimilar images based on the distance information obtained from the attitude control system which is part of remote sensing camera, where the distance information is the distance between the space remote sensing camera and the plurality of adjacent images.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate LIU’s method of calculating a difference between two adjacent images using a space remote sensing camera during the push-sweeping process into SUZUKI.
The motivation for this combination would have been to allow the user of SUZUKI to classify a sequence of adjacent images as similar or dissimilar by measuring the differences between them.
It is noted that the combination of Suzuki and LIU does not teach “wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display”
On the other hand OHIRA teaches wherein the first instruction is an operation instruction from a user based on the first image displayed on the display and the first brightness information data displayed on the display ([0013], when the brightness correction
parameters are set by operating the operation panel 84, the histogram Hl (n) and the cumulative histogram AHl (n) are displayed on a display device (not shown) so that
the user can adjust the brightness correction parameters. This can be referred to
when performing correction. Therefore, for such a case, the histogram Hl (n) and the cumulative histogram AHl (n) may be actually displayed)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of adjusting brightness correction parameters manually taught by OHIRA into modified SUZUKI.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow user of modified SUZUKI to fine-tune image exposure, specifically improving the recovery of shadow details, highlight details, and uneven lighting.
As to claim 2, SUZUKI teaches the first brightness information is a first histogram ([0050], FIG. 3A shows the original histogram from the histogram creation unit 203 and the clip value versus frequency on the vertical axis, where the frequent represent the number of pixels, and horizontal axis represent the luminance of the frequent (number of pixels) .
As to claim 3, SUZUKI teaches the first histogram indicates a relationship between a signal value and the number of pixels ([0050], histogram calculation means for calculating a histogram of the target pixel and a neighboring region, 0050], FIG. 3A shows the original histogram from the histogram creation unit 203 and the clip value versus frequency on the vertical axis, where the frequent represent the number of pixels, and horizontal axis represent the luminance of the frequent ( number of pixels)).
As to claim 4, SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to output second brightness information data indicating second brightness information created based on a second signal of the first image data for a second region among the plurality of regions ([0074], FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a division pattern for photometric evaluation,
in which the image is divided into 13 regions, and a luminance value (ai, i=1 to 13) is obtained for each region. The subject distribution estimation unit 301 calculates, for example, parameters of equation (5) as photometric information from the luminance value ai of each region. This calculates the luminance distribution.), and
the first processing includes second processing of prohibiting the content of the first instruction from being reflected in the second region and/or the second brightness information. ([0029], inherent luminance value of each of the 13 divided regions are generated independently based on gradation conversion curve for luminance).
As to claim 5, SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to output third brightness information data indicating third brightness information created based on a third signal of the first image data for a third region among the plurality of regions, ([0074], FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a division pattern for photometric evaluation,
in which the image is divided into 13 regions, and a luminance value (ai, i=1 to 13) is obtained for each region. The subject distribution estimation unit 301 calculates, for example, parameters of equation (5) as photometric information from the luminance value ai of each region. This calculates the luminance distribution.), and
the first processing includes third processing of reflecting the content of the first instruction in the third region and/or the third brightness information.([0029], inherent luminance value of each of the 13 divided regions (i.e., ai, i =1 to 13)are adjusted independently based on gradation conversion curve for luminance)
As to claim 6, SUZUKI teaches the first processing is processing of changing the first signal according to the content of the first instruction, the third processing is processing of changing the third signal according to the content of the first instruction, and a change amount of a first signal value included in the first signal is different from a change amount of a second signal value included in the third signal([0074], FIG. 10, as discuss in claim 5 above SUZUKI teaches a method of dividing the image into 13 regions, adjusting a luminance value (ai, i=1 to 13) of each region using gradation conversion curve for luminance formula, the signal applied to adjust the a luminance value each region is different, since each region has different luminance value).
As to claim 8, SUZUKI teaches the first processing is processing of changing the first signal according to the content of the first instruction, the third processing is processing of changing the third signal according to the content of the first instruction, and a change amount of a second signal value included in the third signal varies depending on distances between a plurality of second pixels corresponding to the third region and the subject ([0010], A video signal processing device that performs gradation conversion processing is characterized by having a distance information acquisition means that acquires distance information between the object to be photographed and the photographing means, and a gradation conversion means that performs gradation conversion processing on a target pixel of the video signal using the distance information. As discussed calim5 above luminance value of each of the 13 divided regions (i.e., ai, i =1 to 13)are adjusted independently based on gradation conversion curve for luminance)
As to claim 9, SUZUKI teaches the first processing of changing the first signal according to the content of the first instruction([0029], [0039], video signal processing program for performing gradation conversion processing on a video signal. a video signal processing program that perform high-quality gradation conversion according to the subject..).
As to claim 10, SUZUKI teaches the first instruction is an instruction to change a form of the first brightness information ([0029], a predetermined standard gradation conversion curve for luminance is read into the gradation conversion curve ROM 208, and the gradation curve modification unit 209 converts (changes) the gradation conversion curve using the correction coefficients calculated by the correction coefficient calculation unit 11).
As to claim 11, SUZUKI teaches wherein the first brightness information is a second histogram having a plurality of bins, and the first instruction is an instruction to move a bin corresponding to a third signal value selected based on the first instruction among the plurality of bins ([0059], [0072], . The conversion unit 111 sets a tone conversion curve using the histogram of the local region and the correction coefficient calculated by the correction coefficient calculation unit 112, and performs tone conversion processing on the video signal. For example, if the tone transformation curve for an input luminance value i (i=0 to 1) is given as γ(i), the corrected tone transformation curve γ'(i) is expressed by equation(4). Examiner Note: Adjusting the luminance in image processing and digital photography of involves manipulating a luminance histogram, which acts as a map of image brightness divided into bins).
As to claim 12, SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to output second image data indicating a second image in which the plurality of regions are divided in different aspects according to the distance information ([0039], calculating distance information using the signal-processed video signal; calculating a correction coefficient based on the distance information; sequentially extracting local areas centered on a pixel of interest using the signal-processed video signal; creating a histogram of the extracted area; performing clipping processing on the histogram based on the correction coefficient; generating).
As to claim 19, SUZUKI teaches the first image data is moving image data ([0035], the "step of obtaining a video signal of an object to be imaged by an image pickup means. Thus, the object is a moving object ).
As to claim 20, SUZUKI teaches the image processing apparatus is an imaging apparatus ([0010], the video signal of the object to be imaged obtained from the imaging means).
As to claim 21, SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to output the first image data and/or the first brightness information data to a display destination ([0046], the object photographed and displayed. . For example the tree is photographed based on the exposure conditions determined by the photometry evaluation unit 106 and the focusing conditions determined by the lens control unit 107).
As to claim 22, SUZUKI teaches the first processing is processing of changing a display aspect of the first image and/or the first brightness information displayed on the display destination ([0059], The gradation curve modification unit 209 corrects the gradation transformation curve read from the gradation transformation curve ROM 208 based on the correction coefficients of the correction coefficient calculation unit 112 .For example, if the tone transformation curve for an input luminance value i (i=0 to 1) is given as γ(i), the corrected tone transformation curve γ'(i) is expressed by equation (4).).
Claim 25 is rejected the same as claim 1 except claim 25 is method claim . All the limitations of claim 25 are addressed in claim 1. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 1 is applicable to claim 25
As to claim 26, SUZUKI teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute a process comprising([0039], The video signal processing program of the present invention is characterized in that it
causes a computer to execute the following steps );
regarding the remaining limitations of claim 26, all the remaining limitations are rejected
the same as claims 1 except claim 26 is directed to a computer program claim. All the remaining limitations of claim 26 are addressed in claim 1. Thus, argument analogous to that presented above for claim 1 is applicable to claim 26.
8. Claims 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI, JP2007329619 (A), in view of LIU, CN 112954239 A, further in view of OHIRA, JP 2004032427A, still further in view of TSUTSUMI et al., (hereafter TSUTSUMI ), JP 2015188251 A, pub. 10/29/ 2015.
Regarding claim 13, while SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to: output third image data and output fourth image data (as discussed in claim 5 above where SUZUKI teaches apparatus equipped with the image sensor, and display devise that display 13 divided regions of the image (i.e., ai, i =1 to 13), and adjusted luminance value of each of the 13 divided regions (i.e., ai, i =1 to 13), but fail to teach the underline limitation of claim 13 “output third image data indicating a distance map image representing a distribution of the distance information with respect to an angle of view of a first imaging apparatus equipped with the image sensor; and output fourth image data indicating a reference distance image representing a reference distance for classifying the plurality of regions”
On the other hand TSUTSUMI teaches output third image data indicating a distance map image representing a distribution of the distance information with respect to an angle of view of a first imaging apparatus equipped with the image sensor; and output fourth image data indicating a reference distance image representing a reference distance for classifying the plurality of regions([0050], FIG. 10A is a diagram showing an example of a single-viewpoint image, and FIG. 10B shows a distance map as distance information derived from the single-viewpoint image of FIG.10A. In the scene obtained by the single-viewpoint image shown in FIG. 10A, three types of subjects (a person, a building, and a mountain) exist at different distances from the imaging device. The distance map shown in Figure 10 (b) is displayed in shades of gray according to the distance from the imaging device, with the subject "person" that is close to the imaging device being displayed in the darkest color, the subject "mountain" that is far from the imaging device being displayed in the brightest color, and the subject "building" that is between the person and the mountain being displayed in a color of intermediate brightness. Thus, in this step, distance information of the subject in the scene is derive).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a well- known method of determining a distance map, as distance information derived from the single-viewpoint taught by TSUTSUMI into modified SUZUKI.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow user of modified SUZUKI to produce accurate, geometrically correct, and perspective-aware distance metrics (depth maps) from a single image.
As to claim 14, TSUTSUM teaches the reference distance image is an image showing a scale bar and a slider, the scale bar indicates a plurality of distance ranges corresponding to the plurality of regions, the slider is provided on the scale bar, and a position of the slider indicates the reference distance ([0080](a) and (b) of Figure 14 are examples of focus information display images generated based on the rearranged image shown in (a) of Figure 12, and display information on the focus position 2801, focus control range 2802, and depth of field 2803.A focus position 2801 indicated by a black square mark on the slider bar indicates the focus position of the lens at the time of image capture included in the optical parameters, or the focus position specified by a user input, which will be described later…. The focus control range 2802 indicated by diagonal lines on the slider bar indicates the range from subject distance d1 (d1') to subject distance d2 (d2'))
As to claim 15, TSUTSUM teaches the scale bar is one scale bar collectively indicating the plurality of distance ranges ([0080], the focus control range 2802 indicated by diagonal lines on the slider bar indicates the range from subject distance d1 (d1') to subject distance d2 (d2'))).
Regarding the motivation statement, the motivation statement applied to claim13 applied equally to claim 15.
As to claim 16, TSUTSUM teaches the scale bar is a plurality of scale bars separately indicating the plurality of distance ranges ([0084],. the user inputs data via a touch screen or the operation unit 1505 of the imaging device. For example, possible methods include directly specifying the subject to be newly focused on the rearranged image, directly specifying the subject distance to the new focus position, or manipulating the mark representing the focus position 2801 on the slide bar).
Regarding the motivation statement, the motivation statement applied to claim13 applied equally applied to claim 16.
As claim 17, SUZUKI teaches the processor is configured to, in a case where the reception device receives a second instruction to output the third image data and/or the fourth image data, output fifth image data indicating a third image in which the plurality of regions are divided in different aspects (([0074], FIG. 10 is an explanatory diagram showing an example of a division pattern for photometric evaluation, in which the image is divided into 13 regions, and a luminance value (ai, i=1 to 13) is obtained for each region. The subject distribution estimation unit 301 calculates, for example, parameters of equation (5) as photometric information from the luminance value ai of each region. This calculates the luminance distribution)according to the distance information);
however, it is noted that SUZUKI does not specifically teach “plurality of regions are divided in different aspects according to the distance information.”
On the other hand TSUTSUM teaches plurality of regions are divided in different aspects according to the distance information (([0050], FIG. 10A is a diagram showing an example of a single-viewpoint image, and FIG. 10B shows a distance map as distance information derived from the single-viewpoint image of FIG.10A. In the scene obtained by the single-viewpoint image shown in FIG. 10A, three types of subjects (a person, a building, and a mountain) exist at different distances from the imaging device))
As claim 18, TSUTSUM teaches the processor is configured to, in a case where the reception device receives a third instruction related to the reference distance, perform fourth processing of reflecting a content of the third instruction in the reference distance image, and change the reference distance according to the content of the third instruction ([0041], the rearranged image generating unit 2205 performs processing to change the position (coordinates) of each subject area extracted by the subject area extracting unit 2204 in accordance with the distance information supplied from the distance deriving unit 2203 .
This process rearranges each subject area according to the distance from the imaging device, creating an image (hereinafter referred to as a "rearranged image") that makes it easier to grasp the sense of distance for each subject area.)
9. Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI, JP2007329619 (A), in view of LIU, CN 112954239 A, further in view of OHIRA, JP 2004032427A, still further in view of HOSONO et al., (hereafter HOSONO), US 20170359524 A1, pub. 12/14/2017.
Regarding claim 23, while modified SUZUKI teaches the limitation of claim 1, but fails to teach the limitation of claim 23.
On the other hand in the same field endeavor the image processing apparatus of HOSONO teaches the image sensor has a plurality of phase difference pixels, and the processor is configured to acquire the distance information data based on phase difference pixel data output from the phase difference pixels([0088], With this example, the image sensor 15 has an image plane Phase Difference AF function (capability of detecting distance information at each pixel of the image sensor), and it is possible to ascertain subject focus information (subject distance information from the camera) for each block. The region information processing section 201 carries out division of image regions based on subject distance information for each block.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a well- known Phase Difference AF(PDAF) function taught by HOSONO into modified SUZUKI.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow user of SUZUKI to maximize the speed and accuracy of tracking moving object.
As to claim 24, HOSONO teaches the phase difference pixel of the plurality of phase difference pixels is a pixel for selectively outputting non-phase difference pixel data and the phase difference pixel data, the non-phase difference pixel data is pixel data obtained by performing photoelectric conversion on an entire region of the phase difference pixel ([0044], In the event that the image sensor 15 is utilizing an image plane phase difference imager, ranging is carried out over the entire pixel region. Subject brightness and ranging are carried out in increments of each region designated in the next step and the data is associated with its respective region.), and the phase difference pixel data is pixel data obtained by performing photoelectric conversion on a partial region of the phase difference pixel([0088], this limitation discussed in claim 23 above).
Regarding the motivation statement, the motivation statement applied to claim 23 applied equally applied to claim 24.
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SUZUKI, JP2007329619 (A), in view of LIU, CN 112954239 A, further in view of OHIRA), JP 2004032427A, further in view of IKUTA SATOSHI et al., (hereafter IKUTA ), JP2013135308A, pub. 08/07/2013.
Regarding claim 7, while SUZUKI teaches the limitation of claim 6, but fails to teach the limitation of claim 7.
On the other hand in the same field endeavor the imaging apparatus of IKUTA teaches wherein, in a case where a range of distances between a plurality of first pixels corresponding to the first region and the subject is set as a first distance range, and a range of distances between a plurality of second pixels corresponding to the third region and the subject is set as a second distance range, the change amount of the first signal value is constant in the first distance range, and the change amount of the second signal value is constant in the second distance range(page 6 last par., - page 7 1st par., three distance ranges of “short distance”, “medium distance”, and “far distance” are applied as a plurality of distance ranges divided by a specific threshold. In this embodiment, the “short distance” is set to a distance range in which the distance to the subject is 0 to 3 m. “Medium distance” is set to a distance range of 3 to 8 m from the subject. “Far distance” is set to a distance range in which the distance to the subject is 8 to ∞m. The histogram generation unit 112 determines whether the distance information of each pixel is “short distance”, “medium distance”, or “far distance”)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method of calculating distances between the digital camera and the subject using the calculated defocus amount and each information of the lens and the aperture taught by IKUTA into modified SUZUKI.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to allow user of modified SUZUKI to achieve fast and accurate autofocus (AF) without requiring specialized hardware.
Contact Information
If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Eng, George can be reached on (571) 272-7495.The fax phone number for the organization where the application or proceeding is assigned is 571-237-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published application may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished application is available through Privet PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have question on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217-919 (tool-free)
/MEKONEN T BEKELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699