DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31-36, 38-41, 44, 47, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thomas et al (US 9,600,138 -previously cited).
Re claim 31: Thomas discloses a computer-implemented digital image analysis method for navigating a surgical instrument in a patient using a surgical robot, comprising:
obtaining a route generated using an output of a trained model based on a plurality of locations of one or more blood vessels of the patient (col 12 lines 4-30, col 28 lines 39-47; see the setting or updating of a surgical path for a surgical tool in a vessel and see the adaptive learning paradigms to generate procedure specific outputs);
obtaining one or more images of an anatomy of the patient captured using one or more imaging devices (col 12, lines 4-30; see the imaging performed);
identifying, using the one or more images, a location of the surgical instrument (col 12, lines 4-30; see the sensor to track the surgical tool);
determining that the surgical instrument is on the route within a blood vessel a particular distance from a treatment site along the blood vessel (col 24 lines 39-52, col 26 lines 51-56; col 32 lines 14-32; see the distance analysis that is dynamically manipulated and see the determining and updating of tissue and surgical device positions, wherein blood vessels are overlayed to determine whether the instrument within the blood vessel during a surgical approach (even if it is intended to avoid the blood vessel); also see col 3, line 18; col 35, line 66-col 36, line 27; wherein other types of procedures are contemplated such as catheter based procedures and procedures for a blood clot removal which indicates navigating a catheter within a blood vessel and determining whether it is on the route within the blood vessel during the surgical approach);
generating, based on the location of the surgical instrument, one or more instructions for advancing the surgical instrument along the route (col 26, lines 51-56; see the updated positions to guide the tool to the target); and
displaying, on a graphical display, the one or more instructions for advancing the surgical instrument (col 24, lines 53-56; see the displayed path that includes entry points to guide the tool).
Re claim 32: The instrument is at least one of a catheter or an end effector (col 5, lines 51-59; see the catheter).
Re claim 33: The method includes virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument (col 18, lines 63-67; see the visual simulation of the tool approaching the target along the path).
Re claims 34, 38, 40, 41: The virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on a minimum diameter and/or a maximum diameter of the one or more blood vessels, is based on narrowing of the blood vessels, is based on atherosclerosis-related parameters, and is based on lipoprotein-related markers or lipid levels (col 32, lines 14-32; see the overlay of blood vessels which indicate size/diameter including the narrowing of the blood vessel (i.e. an atherosclerosis-related parameter with heightened lipoprotein and lipid levels)).
Re claims 35, 36, 39: The simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on a predicted amount of elasticity of the one or more blood vessels, is based on risk scores for the one or more blood vessels that are narrowed or stiffened by plaque buildup, and is based on wall stress parameters of the blood vessels (col 18, lines 5-17; see the elasticity measurements and stiffness/rigidity properties of vessel wall stresses, wherein stiffness and the “metric” is a score that indicates plaque buildup).
Re claim 44: The method includes determining a position of the surgical instrument based on the one or more images; comparing a planned position of the surgical instrument in a surgical plan to the determined position of the surgical instrument; determining whether the surgical instrument is at an unacceptable position based on the comparison; and in response to determining the surgical instrument is at the unacceptable position, generating corrective instructions for repositioning the surgical instrument (col 34, lines 32-55; see the real-time instrument position determination that is compared with estimated positions wherein the quality of agreement is reported which is an instruction to reposition the surgical tool relative the desired path).
Re claim 47: The trained model is a machine learning model trained using data sets from historical surgical procedures, and wherein the robot positions the instrument in the patient (col 17, lines 34-47; see the data from previous surgeries; col 34 lines 45-47; see the robotic manipulator to position the instrument).
Re claim 48: An incision site is determined for inserting the instrument into the blood vessel based on the treatment site (col 28, line 59; see the incision; col 35, line 66-col 36, line 27; see the catheter based procedures and procedures for a blood clot removal which indicates navigating a catheter within a blood vessel, which inherently requires determining an incision point into the blood vessel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas, as applied to claim 33, in view of Bidne et al (US Pub 2015/0049083 -previously cited).
Re claim 37: Thomas discloses all features except virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on eluting of medicants from implants. However, Bidne teaches virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on eluting of medicants from implants [0051; see the simulation of moving the device through the anatomy based on modeling of a drug-eluting material]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Thomas, to include simulation based on eluting as taught by Bidne, in order to improve accuracy of the simulation.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas, as applied to claim 33, in view of Shelton et al (US Pub 2019/0125357 -previously cited).
Re claim 42: Thomas discloses all features except wherein virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on family history data of atherosclerosis. However, Shelton teaches virtually simulating advancing of the surgical instrument is based on family history data of atherosclerosis [0602; see the surgical system that takes into account contributing factors including family history of atherosclerosis]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Thomas, to include simulation based on family history as taught by Shelton, in order to improve accuracy of the simulation.
Double Patenting
Claims 31-44 and 47 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,950,851. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘851 features a computer implemented method including obtaining images of anatomy, generating a plurality of intravascular routes for navigating a surgical instrument, virtually simulating navigation and determining metrics for each route, and using machine learning with training sets that describe the routes. While the claims of ‘851 include additional limitations such as determining an anomalous condition, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
Claims 31-44 and 47 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of copending Application No. 18/892,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘070 features a computer implemented method including obtaining images of anatomy, virtually simulating navigation and determining metrics for a plurality of intravascular routes, and using machine learning to perform the simulating of the catheter moving along the blood vessels. While the claims of ‘070 include additional limitations such as simulating a catheter, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to conclude that the instant claims are an obvious variant.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 31 and argues that Thomas discloses avoiding blood vessels as opposed to determining that the instrument is on the route ‘within the one or more blood vessels and a particular distance along the one or more blood vessels from a treatment site’. Respectfully, the Examiner disagrees. First, the Examiner agrees that Thomas, during certain procedures, wants to avoid blood vessels so as to cause less damage. However, Thomas still discloses that blood vessels overlays are generated (col 32, lines 14-32) and also that critical regions (i.e. blood vessels) are monitored and segmented (col 13, lines 17-22). The overlays or segmentations permit a determining whether or not the instrument is within a blood vessel, not within a blood vessel, or is in close proximity to a blood vessel as evidenced by a score calculated wherein a better score is given for a pathway that is not within blood vessel along a trajectory to a treatment site. Therefore, while Thomas discloses avoidance of blood vessels, the limitation as currently set forth is still met because the system determines a score based on the location of the instrument relative to a blood vessel.
In addition, Thomas’ disclosure is not limited to procedures of planning and navigating a tracked instrument (col 11, line 63-col 12, line 3) wherein it is desired to avoid blood vessels. Thomas further discloses other types of procedures such as catheter based procedures and procedures for a blood clot removal (col 3, line 18; col 35, line 66-col 36, line 27). These procedures would not involve avoiding a blood vessel as the catheter would be inserted into a blood vessel in order to remove a blood clot. As the instrument is tracked during a procedure, it is determined whether the instrument is at position on a pathway (i.e. along a blood vessel) directed toward a treatment site at a particular distance from the treatment sit.
The double patenting rejections are held in abeyance.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797