txDETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 11 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Wu teaches a light source device (14, figure 8) is the device disposed on the heat dissipation base (42, figure 8) and connected to the circuit board (141, figure 1, paragraph 0028), and a projection lens (34, figure 18) disposed on a transmission path of the image beam and configured to project the image beam.
Wu does not teach the heat dissipation based with a plurality of first fastener holes, a circuit board with a through hole and a plurality of second fastener holes disposed on the heat dissipation base, a mask cover with a plurality of third fastener holes; a plurality of pressing members fixed on the mask cover, and a plurality of fasteners passing through the plurality of third fasteners holes, the plurality of second fastener holes, and the plurality of first fastener holes in sequence, the plurality of fasteners is configured to fasten the mask cover and the circuit board on the heat dissipation base, and the mask cover is connected to the light source unit on the heat dissipation base through the plurality of pressing members; and a light valve disposed on a transmission path of the illumination beam generated by the light source device and configured to convert the illumination beam into an image beam.
Tang teaches a heat dissipation base (121, figure 1) with a plurality of first fastener holes (134, figure 1; paragraph 0092);
A circuit board (101, figure 1,paragraph 0092) with a through hole (133, figure 1, paragraph 0093) and a plurality of second fastener holes (117, figure 1) disposed on the heat dissipation base;
a mask cover (105, figure 1) with a plurality of third fastener holes (114, figure 1)
a plurality of pressing members (129 and 130, figure 1; paragraph 0066 and 0070) fixed on the mask cover; and
a plurality of first fasteners (135, figure 1) passing through the plurality of third fastener holes, the plurality of second fastener holes and the plurality of first fastener holes in sequence (this limitation is met as long as the fasteners pass through the circuit board between the mask cover and the heat dissipation base, which does happen in figure 1 of Tang), the plurality of first fasteners is configured to fasten to mask cover and the circuit board on the heat dissipation base (figure 3 shows the fastened view rather than the exploded view), and the mask cover is connected to the optical element on the heat dissipation base through the plurality of pressing members (paragraph 0066-0074, 129 and 130, figure 6); and
a light valve (DMD, paragraph 0056) and that the light valve is disposed on the transmission path of the illumination beam generated by the light source device and configured to covert the illumination beam into an image beam (upon modification this is implicit in all projectors that the modulator follows the illumination system and is prior to the projection lens elements).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Wu to use the heat dissipation structure of Tang for the light source in order to improve rigidity in the light source (paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 5, Wu in view of Tang teaches the claimed invention except for specifying that the mask cover is provided with a plurality of grooves and the plurality of pressing members are fixed in the plurality of grooves. Instead Wu in view of Tang (see Tang specifically 129 and 130) the pressing members are integral to the mask cover. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made make a groove/pressing member system separately, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use the separate pressing members fixed in grooves in order to make the pressing members out of different material than the cover so that the pressing members could be used to absorb thermal stress from the light source to prevent breaking and deformation.
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Wu in view of Tang further teaches the light source is the optical element to be cooled (see Wu, 14 and 42, figure 8).
Wu does not teach the mask cover is provided with an opening, and at least part of the light source is exposed from the opening.
Tang further teaches the mask (105, figure 2) is provided with an opening (106, figure 2), and at least part of the optical element (102, figure 7) is exposed from the opening (106, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Wu to use the heat dissipation structure of Tang for the light source in order to improve rigidity in the light source (paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Wu does not teach that the mask cover covers at least part of the circuit board.
Tang teaches the mask cover covers at least part of the circuit board (see 105, 101, figure 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Wu to use the heat dissipation structure of Tang for the light source in order to improve rigidity in the light source (paragraph 0091).
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Wu teaches the light source unit (142, figure 1) unit comprises a light emitting element (paragraph 0028) and a lens assembly (there is a lens a lens array shown but not labeled in figure 1 with 20 lenses in the array, see annotated figure below)
Wu does not teach glue between the light emitting element and the lens assembly, and the mask cover covers an area with the glue between the light emitting element and the lens assembly.
Tang teaches glue between the optical element active area and the window of the optical element (126, paragraph 0065), Tang further teaches the mask cover covers an area with the glue (paragraph 0065). Gluing the lens array to the laser diodes of Wu would prevent dust from deteriorating the emission efficiency of the light sources and shielding the glue from light would prevent the epoxy from deteriorating (paragraph 0065 of Tang).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projector of Wu to use the epoxy of Tang in order to better seal the light sources from dust that would deteriorate the efficiency of the light.
Regarding claim 11, Wu does not specify a sealing ring disposed between the mask cover and the circuit board to block lateral light emitted from the light source unit.
Tang teaches a sealing ring (111, figure 2) between the mask cover (105, figure 2) and the circuit board (101, figure 1). The function of blocking later light emitted from the light source unit follows from the combination wherein the sealing ring is used in conjunction with a light source as the optical element.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Wu to use the heat dissipation structure of Tang for the light source in order to improve rigidity in the light source (paragraph 0091).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsu (US 2023/0016205 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Wu in view of Tang does not specify the heat dissipation base has a plurality of alignment pins and the light source unit is provided with a plurality of alignment holes corresponding to the plurality of alignment pins.
Hsu teaches the heat dissipation base has a plurality of alignment pins (118, figure 2B) and the light source unit is provided with a plurality of alignment holes (128, figure 2B) corresponding to the plurality of alignment pins.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the display of Wu in view of Tang to use the alignment system of Hsu in order to ensure a better connection and alignment to the heat sink.
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hou (CN 107329232 A).
Regarding claim 3, Wu in view of Tang does not specify the plurality of pressing members are resilient members.
Hou teaches a pressing member that is a resilient member (31, figure 6; paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use an elastic pressing member such as taught in Hou in order to improve contact between the cover and the light source.
Regarding claim 4, Hou further teaches the resilient member is an elastic piece (paragraph 0034).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use an elastic pressing member such as taught in Hou in order to improve contact between the cover and the light source.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yan et al. (US 2020/0301265 A1).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Wu in view of Tang does not specify the mask cover comprises an extension portion extending from at least part of an edge thereof toward the heat dissipation base, and the extension portion is configured to block at least a part of light emitted by the light source unit.
Yan teaches the mask cover (1052, figure 5E-1) comprises an extension portion (paragraph 0093) extending from at least part of an edge thereof toward the heat dissipation base (110A, figure 5E-1), and the extension portion is configured to block at least a part of light emitted by the light source unit (this function follows form 1052 being opaque).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use the sealing structure of Yan in order to improve sealing between the cover and the light.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Tang further teaches an insulating sheet disposed between the circuit board and the heat dissipation base (see 119, which is between 101 and 121, figure 1), wherein at least a part of the periphery edge of the insulating sheet is connected to an inner edge of the extension portion (via 118 they would be connected upon modification to include the mask cover of Yan, because the claim only broadly specifies that they be connected not that the periphery edge of the insulating sheet mates with the inner edge of the extension portion).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirasawa et al. (US 2021/0240062 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Wu in view of Tang does not specify that the mask cover is made by die casting.
Hirasawa teaches an optical element holder made from die casting (paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use the die casting method to form the mask cover as taught in Hirasawa in order to reduce manufacturing cost and complexity.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Otsuki et al. (US 2022/0121092 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Wu in view of Tang does not specify the plurality of heat pipes, wherein the heat dissipation based is disposed between the plurality of heat pipes and the light source unit and an extension portion of each of the plurality of heat pipes is disposed on the heat dissipation base and parallel to a short side of the heat dissipation base.
Otsuki teaches the plurality of heat pipes (7024, figure 5), wherein the heat dissipation base (7023, figure 5) is disposed between the plurality of heat pipes and the light source unit (701, figure 5) and an extension portion of each of the plurality of heat pipes is disposed on the heat dissipation base and parallel to a short side of the heat dissipation base (see figure 5 the extension of the heat pipes is in the negative Y direction).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection illumination system of Wu in view of Tang to use the heat pipes of Otsuki in order to improve heat dissipation in the light source.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2020/0096852 A1) in view of Tang et al. (US 2019/0179217 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chao et al. (US 2020/0033704 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wu in view of Tang does not teach a second fastener, the heat dissipation base having a fourth fastener hole, the mask cover having a fifth fastener hole, the through hole being provided with a notch, wherein the second fastener passes through the fifth fastener hole, the notch and the fourth fastener hole in sequence and long sides of the mask cover and the circuit board have protrusions corresponding to the notch.
Chao teaches a second fastener (71, figure 1), and a base (10, figure 1, which upon modification would correspond to the heat dissipation base of Wu in view of Tang) having a fourth fastener hole (see annotated figure 1 below), the cover of the optical element (40, figure 1, which upon modification would correspond to the mask cover) having a fifth fastener hole (see annotated figure 1 below), the through hole (21, figure 1) being provided with a notch (23, figure 1), wherein the second fastener passes through the fifth fastener hole, the notch and the fourth fastener hole in sequence (see 71, figure 1 and the dot dash line), and the long sides of the mask cover and the circuit board have protrusions corresponding to the notch (the corners of each element 40 and 20 can be called the protrusions).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the projection system of Wu in view of Tang to use the notches of Chao to facilitate ease of assembly and alignment.
Conclusion
/RYAN D HOWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 2/14/2026