Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-7, 9-12 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/25.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 3, “a corresponding circuitry” it is unclear what the circuitry is corresponding to.
Claim 16, line 8, “circuitry” is improper grammar, and it should be changed to-circuitry- OR -a circuit-.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-4, 8, 13, 14, 15, 17-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-11, 15 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,705,295.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim language is substantially similar with only slight differences in terminology and arrangement, such as “the positioning portion with an aperture” vs “ positioning portion extending to a through-hole.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yen (US20200273642) in view of Chen (US. Pat. 9,040,856).
Regarding claim 1, Yen teaches a keyboard, comprising: a backlight module, comprising a light source 23a and a reflective layer 21a, wherein the light source and a corresponding circuitry 25a are arranged on the reflective layer, and a circuitry connecting portion 25a extends from the reflective layer; a base plate 110G, disposed on the backlight module, wherein the base plate has a positioning portion 120G with an aperture (where the hook of the support unit 400a is positioned), and a membrane circuit 200a, disposed on the base plate; and a plurality of keycaps 300a, disposed on the membrane circuit (Fig. 5c). Yen does not teach a portion of the reflective layer contacts the base plate or the positioning portion. However, Chen teaches a similar keyboard comprising backlight module with a reflective layer 56; and a base plate 51, disposed on the backlight module, and a portion 561 of the reflective layer contacts the base plate (Fig. 6); wherein the portion of the reflective layer does not extend to the aperture (Fig. 6), as required by claim 15. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Chen in the keyboard of Peng to provide a better illuminated keyboard.
Regarding claim 4, Yen teaches the keyboard wherein the backlight module further comprises a light guide layer 22g disposed between the base plate 110g and the reflective layer 21a, and the positioning portion 120g is disposed corresponding to a through-hole of the light guide layer (Fig. 5c).
Regarding claim 8, Yen teaches the keyboard wherein a part 122g of the positioning portion 120g protrudes toward the membrane circuit 200a, and the positioning portion has a recess (where the hook of the support unit 400a is positioned) corresponding to the through-hole of the light guide layer (the recess is disposed or arranged withing the through hole, see Fig. 5c).
Claim 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yen (US20200273642) in view of Fu (US. Pat. 10,629,395).
Regarding claim 16, Yen teaches a keyboard, comprising: a backlight module, comprising a light source 23a, a reflective layer 21a, and a shielding layer 24g, wherein the light source is electrically connected to a circuitry 25a arranged on the reflective layer or the shielding layer; a base plate 110G, disposed on the backlight module, wherein the base plate has a positioning portion 120G; a membrane circuit 200A, disposed on the base plate, wherein a portion (the opening where positioning portion is extending from) of the membrane circuit corresponding to the positioning portion; and a plurality of keycaps 300A, disposed on the membrane circuit (Fig. 5C). Yen does not teach membrane the circuit having a non-uniform thickness corresponding to the positioning portion. However, Fu teaches a similar keyboard comprises with a membrane circuit 30 and base plate 10; wherein the membrane circuit has a non-uniform thickness 315 that corresponds to a positioning portion 13 of the base plate (Figs. 4-5 and col. 4, lines 60-67). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Fu in the keyboard of Yen to provide a waterproofing function (col. 5, lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 17, Yen teaches the keyboard wherein a connecting portion 25a electrically connected to the light source 23a extends from the corresponding reflective layer 21g (Fig. 5c).
Regarding claim 18, Yen teaches the keyboard wherein a portion of the of the shielding layer 24g where the light source 23a is arranged contacts the base plate 110G (Fig. 5c).
Regarding claim 19, Yen teaches the keyboard wherein the light source 23a is arranged optically corresponding to a light transmissive portion 24A1 of the shielding layer 24a (paragraph 88).
Claims 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatani (US. Pat. 9,418,798) in view of Peng (US20140009903).
Regarding claim 16, Nakatani teaches a keyboard, comprising: a base plate 38 wherein the base plate has a positioning portion (opening portion on the base plate where sidewall 34 is positioned when the keycap is pressed); a membrane circuit 46, disposed on the base plate, wherein a portion of the membrane circuit has a non-uniform thickness corresponding to the positioning portion (the opening portion of the membrane has zero thickness); and a plurality of keycaps 31, disposed on the membrane circuit (Figs. 5-7). Nakatani does not teach the backlight module. However, Peng teaches a keyboard that comprises a backlight module 200 with a light source 226, a reflective layer 220, and a shielding layer 230, wherein the light source is electrically connected to a circuitry 224 arranged on the reflective layer; a base plate 100, disposed on the backlight module; and a plurality of keycaps 120 (Figs. 1-2), as required by claim 16; wherein a connecting portion 224 electrically connected to the light source 226 extends from the corresponding reflective layer 220 (Figs. 1-2), as required by claim 17; wherein the light source 226 is arranged optically corresponding to a light transmissive portion 232 of the shielding layer 230 (Fig. 2 and paragraph 25), as required by claim 19. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Peng in the key switch of Nakatani to provide an illuminated keyboard.
Regarding claim 20, Nakatani teaches the keyboard wherein the membrane circuit 46 has a first portion corresponding to a position between two adjacent keycaps and a second portion adjacent to the first portion covered by one of the keycaps, and a thickness of the first portion is less than a thickness of the second portion (the first portion has zero thickness, see annotated figure below).
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833