DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image forming unit in claims 1, 8, 9; applying unit in claims 1,8,9; heating unit in claim 1; pressurizing unit in claim 1; special color image forming unit in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-14, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Toda et al. (WO 2023/054311; “Toda”). (Note: Family member US 2024/0239624, cited on IDS dated 2/11/2025, is being utilized as a translation. Cited paragraphs correspond to those in the US document. A machine translation of the WO reference is also being provided.)
Regarding claim 1, Toda discloses an image forming system (Fig. 1) comprising:
an image forming unit (process cartridge) that forms an image on a recording medium 4 by using a color toner 8 (Fig. 1 [0047, 0051]);
an applying unit (process cartridge) that applies a crimping toner 2 (“paste”) having pressure-responsiveness onto at least a portion of a surface of the recording medium 4 on which the image is formed ([0047-0052]);
a heating unit 5 that heats the crimping toner 2 applied to the recording medium 4 (Fig. 1 [0052]); and
a pressurizing unit 6/7 that pressurizes, in a thickness direction, a stacked body in which the recording medium 4 is folded with the heated crimping toner 2 interposed or a stacked body in which the recording medium and another medium are stacked with the heated crimping toner interposed (Fig. 1 [0053]),
wherein a volume average particle diameter of the crimping toner is more than a volume average particle diameter of the color toner (TABLE 4 [0143]).
Regarding claim 2, Toda discloses the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the volume average particle diameter of the crimping toner is more than 6 μm (TABLE 4 [0143]).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Toda discloses the image forming system according to claims 1 and 2, respectively, wherein the volume average particle diameter of the color toner is 6 μm or less (TABLE 4 [0143]).
Regarding claim 5, Toda discloses the image forming system according to claim 1, further comprising: a special color image forming unit (process cartridge) that forms a special color image on the recording medium by using a special color toner 9 (Fig. 1 [0047, 0051]), wherein the volume average particle diameter of the crimping toner is less than a volume average particle diameter of the special color toner (TABLE 4 [0143]).
The method steps of claims 10-14 are met by the operation of Toda as applied to claims 1-5.
Regarding claim 19, Toda discloses a crimping toner image forming apparatus (Fig. 1) that disposes a color toner 8 and a crimping toner 2 that exerts functionality by deformation due to pressure, on a medium 4 (Fig. 1 [0047-0053]), wherein a volume average particle diameter of the crimping toner is more than a volume average particle diameter of the color toner (TABLE 4 [0143]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (WO 2023/054311) in view of Ueda et al. (US 6,506,477; “Ueda”).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Toda discloses the image forming system according to claims 1 and 2, respectively, but fails to teach wherein a toner mass (TMA) per unit area of the crimping toner is lower than TMA of the color toner.
Ueda teaches a similar image forming system (Fig. 2) that uses a crimping toner (bonding toner) as an adhesive to bond stacks of sheets together (steps ST2-ST4 in Fig. 1, Col. 5 line 43 - Col. 6 line 31). Ueda further teaches that when sufficient adhesion strength can be obtained by color toner (i.e., toner for the color region), then no crimping/bonding toner is needed to transfer (Col. 9 lines 53-63). In other words, Ueda recognizes that the amounts of crimping toner and color toner are result-effective variables that affect the adhesion strength between the laminated sheets. Additionally, Ueda teaches that the adhesion strength can be controlled by changing the density, concentration, and pattern (i.e., changing the toner mass per unit area) (Col. 16 lines 35-41).
Utilizing the teachings of Ueda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the amounts of crimping toner and color toner, including that which results in a toner mass (TMA) per unit area of the crimping toner being lower than TMA of the color toner. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
The method steps of claims 15-16 are met by the operation of Toda modified by Ueda as applied to claims 6-7.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda (WO 2023/054311) in view of Ueda (US 6,506,477) as applied to claims 6-7, and further in view of Sakamaki (US 2006/0083527).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Toda teaches the image forming system according to claims 6 and 7, respectively, wherein in the image forming unit and the applying unit, the color toner and crimping toner are formed by developing an electrostatic latent image on an image holding member (drum) (Toda [0049, 0051] and Ueda Col. 5 lines 48-64).
Modified Toda fails to explicitly teach, wherein, in the image forming unit and the applying unit, TMA of the color toner and TMA of the crimping toner are controlled by a potential contrast in the electrostatic latent image on the image holding member.
Sakamaki teaches controlling a TMA (density) of a toner image by controlling a potential contrast in an electrostatic latent image on an image holding member (photosensitive drum) ([0091]).
Utilizing the teachings of Sakamaki, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to control the TMA of the color toner and TMA of the crimping toner by a potential contrast in the electrostatic latent image on the image holding member. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In this instance, the predictable results would be providing the apparatus with the means to ensure a proper amount of crimping and color toners are developed in order for the apparatus to function as intended.
The method steps of claims 17-18 are met by the operation of Toda modified by Ueda and Sakamaki as applied to claims 8-9.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited as related art.
Conclusion
/CARLA J THERRIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852