DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Replacement drawings with 1 Sheet of Fig 2 received on 6/21/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to Claims 1,3, in the submission filed 6/21/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
New Claim 15 is acknowledged and accepted as the subject matter of the claim is similar to the subject matter of the originally filed claims.
Amendments to the Abstract and Specification are acknowledged and accepted.
In view of the amendments to the Claims, objections to Claims are withdrawn.
Pending Claims are 1-15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 6/21/2026) have been considered, but, respectfully, are not found persuasive.
a) For a person having ordinary skill in the art, the so-called second pass band in
Chen is merely a fluctuation immediately following the first pass band. Based on the definition of a pass band in para [0059] of Chen, the so-called second pass band in Figure 4 has a transmittance of only about 80% and therefore should not be considered a pass band.
Fig 4 of Chen clearly shows that there is a narrow pass band with a peak around 1150nm. Its transmittance might be 80% at peak but the band around 1150nm is still considered a pass band as light is getting transmitted within those frequencies within the band.
b) Chen does not disclose feature (B) of amended claim 1: "there is a cut-off band between the first pass band and the second pass band."
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive in view of the amended claims and the new grounds of rejection in view of Chen’790 et al.
Claims 1-15 are rejected as follows:
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “and a there is a cut-off band” in line 10. This seems to be a grammatical error. It is suggested to be replaced with –and there is a cut-off band--.
Claims 2-15 are dependent on claim 1 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13,15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/0393601 A1, of record) in view of Chen et al (CN 111999790 A, hereafter Chen’790).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches (fig 1,2,4) a dual pass band filter element (optical filter, para 42) comprising:
a substrate (glass substrate 1, para 42) with a first surface (first surface with IR film layer 2, fig 1, para 42) and a second surface (second surface with AR film layer 3, fig 2, para 42) opposite the first surface;
a bandpass filtering structure (IR film layer 2, infrared cut-off film layer, para 42) formed on the first surface and including first material layers (first refractive index material layer L, para 43) and second material layers (second refractive-index material layer H, para 43) with refractive indexes higher than refractive indexes of the first material layers, (para 43) (taking Example 1, para 53, IR film layer 2 is M,(LH)*n L, para 53, Table 1)
wherein the first and second material layers (first and second refractive index material layers L, H, para 43) are stacked alternately along a normal of the substrate (glass substrate 1, para 42); and
an anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) formed on the second surface (second surface with AR film layer 3, fig 2, para 42);
wherein the dual pass band filter element (optical filter, para 42) has a first pass band (first pass band centered around 950nm, fig 4) and a second pass band (second pass band centered around 1150nm, fig 4) (first and second pass bands with peak transmissions around 950nm and 1150nm are considered the dual pass bands) that does not overlap with the first pass band, in a band of 400 nm to 1800 nm (950 nm and 1150nm are in between 400nm-1800nm).
However, Chen does not teach
wherein there is a cut-off band between the first pass band and the second pass band.
Chen and Chen’790 are related as dual pass band filters.
Chen’790 teaches (fig 4) a dual pass filter
wherein there is a cut-off band (the dip between the two pass bands in fig 4, “when the incident angle of visible light with a wavelength of 600nm to 650nm is 0° to 30°, the center cutoff wavelength shift of the dual-pass filter is no greater than 5nm”, para 9) between the first pass band and the second pass band (pass bands in fig 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dual pass band filter of Chen to have the cut-off band of Chen’790 for the purpose of improved signal to noise ratio (para 5,7).
Regarding Claim 2, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein in the bandpass filtering structure (IR film layer 2, infrared cut-off film layer, para 42), a film layer (layer 2, Table 1, SiO2, page 5) closest to the first surface (first surface with IR film layer 2, fig 1, para 42) and a film layer (layer 20, Table 1, SiO2, page 5) farthest from the first surface are both the first material layers (first material, SiO2).
Regarding Claim 3, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein a thickness of a film layer (layer 24, Table 1, SiO2, page 5, Thickness = 71.01 nm) farthest from the first surface is different than that of a film layer (layer 2, Table 1, SiO2, page 5, Thickness = 264.2 nm) closest to the first surface (first surface with IR film layer 2, fig 1, para 42) in the bandpass filtering structure.
However, Chen does not teach that thickness of layer farthest from first surface is same as thickness of layer closest to first surface.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Chen teaches that the ratio of thicknesses of the layers is in a range of values (para 16). An increase in the ratio will help in better optical properties while making the adhesion harder and a decrease in the ratio of thicknesses would make the adhesion better while optical properties are less pronounced. Therefore, the ratio of thicknesses is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed relative thicknesses, and one would have chosen the thickness of layer farthest from first surface is same as thickness of layer closest to first surface according to a result effective variable balancing the need to improving image quality with adhesivity. One would have been motivated to have thicknesses to be within the claimed range balancing a desired image quality with adhesivity.
Regarding Claim 4, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein thicknesses of the first material layers (first refractive index material layers L, para 43, SiO2, Table 1, page 5) in the bandpass filtering structure are 5.34 nm-205.21 nm (smallest thickness is of layer 16, 20nm and largest thickness is of layer 2, 264.2nm, hence the range 20nm-264.2nm).
However, Chen does not teach
wherein thicknesses of first material layers in the bandpass filtering structure are 5.34 nm-205.21 nm
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed range of thicknesses of first material layers, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraph [0021] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses 20nm-264.2nm. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Chen to have the claimed range of thicknesses for the purposes of a desired improved filter behavior (para 25, Chen).
Regarding Claim 5, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein thicknesses of the second material layers (second refractive index material layers H, para 43, SiH, Table 1, page 5) in the bandpass filtering structure are 19.96 nm-269.93 nm (smallest thickness is of layer 19, 80.36nm and largest thickness is of layer 21, 261.68nm, hence the range 80.36nm-261.68nm).
However, Chen does not teach
wherein thicknesses of second material layers in the bandpass filtering structure are 19.96 nm-269.93 nm.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed range of thicknesses of second material layers, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraph [0022] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses 80.36nm-261.68nm. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Chen to have the claimed range of thicknesses for the purposes of a desired improved filter behavior (para 25, Chen).
Regarding Claim 6, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein in the bandpass filtering structure, thicknesses of the first material layers are 0.02-10.28 times thicknesses of the second material layers (thicknesses of first material layers are in the range 20nm-264.2nm and thicknesses of second material layers are in the range 19.96 nm-269.93 nm and hence the ratio of thicknesses is in the claimed range of 0.02-10.28).
Regarding Claim 7, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein in the bandpass filtering structure, a thickness of each of the first material layers is 0.04-9.43 times a thickness of one of the second material layers adjacent to this first material layer (thickness of layer 2 is 264.2 and thickness of adjacent layer 3 is 240.21 and the ratio of 264.2/240.21=1.099 which is in the claimed range, similarly, ratio of thicknesses of layers 22 and 23 is 72.69/242.21 = 0.3 which is again in the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 8, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein in the bandpass filtering structure, a thickness of each of the first material layers is 0.07-4.37 times a thickness of one of the second material layers adjacent to this first material layer (thickness of layer 2 is 264.2 and thickness of adjacent layer 3 is 240.21 and the ratio of 264.2/240.21=1.099 which is in the claimed range, similarly, ratio of thicknesses of layers 22 and 23 is 72.69/242.21 = 0.3 which is again in the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 9, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the number of film layers of the bandpass filtering structure (IR film layer 2, infrared cut-off film layer, para 42) is 5.7 times that of the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) (number of layers in IR film layer in Example 1 is 25 (Table 1, page 5) and number of layers in AR film layer is 25 in (Table 2, page 5) and hence the same).
However, Chen does not teach that number of film layers of bandpass filtering structure is 5.7 times that of anti-reflection structure.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Chen teaches that the ratio of number of film layers is in a range of values (para 62). An increase in the number of film layers of bandpass filtering structure will help in clearer pass bands while making the device bulky on the topside and a decrease in the number of film layers of bandpass filtering structure would make the device less bulky on the top side while bands are less pronounced. Therefore, the ratio of number of film layers in IR and AR structures is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed ratio of number of film layers, and one would have chosen number of film layers of bandpass filtering structure is 5.7 times that of anti-reflection structure according to a result effective variable balancing the need to improving IR pass band quality with bulk. One would have been motivated to have ratio of number of layers to be within the claimed range balancing a desired image quality with device bulk.
Regarding Claim 10, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) includes at least one third material layer (low refractive index material layer L, para 46, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) and at least one fourth material layer (high refractive index material layer H, para 46, SiH, Table 2, page 5), the at least one third material layer and the at least one fourth material layer are stacked along the normal (as in fig 2),
a material of the third material layer is the same as that of the first material layer (SiO2), a material of the fourth material layer is the same as that of the second material layer (SiH) (Tables 1,2, page 5), and
in the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42), a film layer closest to the second surface (layer 1, Table 2, SiO2) and a film layer farthest from the second surface (layer 25, Table 2, SiO2) are both the third material layers.
Regarding Claim 11, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) includes at least one third material layer (low refractive index material layer L, para 46, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) and at least one fourth material layer (high refractive index material layer H, para 46, SiH, Table 2, page 5), the at least one third material layer and the at least one fourth material layer are stacked along the normal (as in fig 2),
a material of the third material layer is the same as that of the first material layer (SiO2), a material of the fourth material layer is the same as that of the second material layer (SiH) (Tables 1,2, page 5), and
in the anti-reflection structure, a thickness of a film layer closest (thickness of layer 1 in table 2 is 118.99nm, page 5) to the second surface is different from that of a film layer farthest from the second surface (thickness of layer 25 in table 2 is 139.6nm, page 5).
However, Chen does not teach that thickness of layer farthest from second surface is same as thickness of layer closest to second surface.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Chen teaches that the ratio of thicknesses of the layers is in a range of values (para 16). An increase in the ratio will help in better optical properties while making the adhesion harder and a decrease in the ratio of thicknesses would make the adhesion better while optical properties are less pronounced. Therefore, the ratio of thicknesses is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed relative thicknesses, and one would have chosen the thickness of layer farthest from second surface is same as thickness of layer closest to second surface according to a result effective variable balancing the need to improving image quality with adhesivity. One would have been motivated to have thicknesses to be within the claimed range balancing a desired image quality with adhesivity.
Regarding Claim 12, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 3,
wherein the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) includes at least one third material layer (low refractive index material layer L, para 46, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) and at least one fourth material layer (high refractive index material layer H, para 46, SiH, Table 2, page 5), the at least one third material layer and the at least one fourth material layer are stacked along the normal (as in fig 2),
a material of the third material layer is the same as that of the first material layer (SiO2), a material of the fourth material layer is the same as that of the second material layer (SiH) (Tables 1,2, page 5), and
in the anti-reflection structure, a thickness of a film layer closest (thickness of layer 1 in table 2 is 118.99nm, page 5) to the second surface is different than that of a film layer farthest from the second surface (thickness of layer 25 in table 2 is 139.6nm, page 5).
However, Chen does not teach that thickness of layer farthest from second surface is same as thickness of layer closest to second surface.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Chen teaches that the ratio of thicknesses of the layers is in a range of values (para 16). An increase in the ratio will help in better optical properties while making the adhesion harder and a decrease in the ratio of thicknesses would make the adhesion better while optical properties are less pronounced. Therefore, the ratio of thicknesses is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed relative thicknesses, and one would have chosen the thickness of layer farthest from second surface is same as thickness of layer closest to second surface according to a result effective variable balancing the need to improving image quality with adhesivity. One would have been motivated to have thicknesses to be within the claimed range balancing a desired image quality with adhesivity.
Regarding Claim 13, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1, wherein the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) includes at least one third material layer (low refractive index material layer L, para 46, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) and at least one fourth material layer (high refractive index material layer H, para 46, SiH, Table 2, page 5), the at least one third material layer and the at least one fourth material layer are stacked along the normal (as in fig 2),
a material of the third material layer is the same as that of the first material layer (SiO2), a material of the fourth material layer is the same as that of the second material layer (SiH) (Tables 1,2, page 5), and
in the anti-reflection structure, a thickness of a film layer closest (thickness of layer 1 in table 2 is 118.99nm, page 5) to the second surface is different from that of a film layer farthest from the second surface (thickness of layer 25 in table 2 is 139.6nm, page 5).
wherein a thickness of a film layer (layer 24, Table 1, SiO2, page 5, Thickness = 71.01 nm) farthest from the first surface is different from that of a film layer (layer 2, Table 1, SiO2, page 5, Thickness = 264.2 nm) closest to the first surface (first surface with IR film layer 2, fig 1, para 42) in the bandpass filtering structure,
a thickness of a film layer closest (thickness of layer 1 in table 2 is 118.99nm, page 5) to the second surface is different as that of a film layer farthest from the second surface (thickness of layer 25 in table 2 is 139.6nm, page 5).
However, Chen does not teach that a film layer farthest from the first surface and a film layer closest to the first surface in the bandpass filtering structure, and a film layer closest to the second surface and a film layer farthest from the second surface in the anti-reflection structure have a same thickness.
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Chen teaches that the thicknesses of the layers is in a range of values (para 16). An increase in the thickness will help in better optical properties while making the adhesion harder and a decrease in thicknesses would make the adhesion better while optical properties are less pronounced. Therefore, the ratio of thicknesses is a result effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed relative thicknesses, and one would have chosen a film layer farthest from the first surface and a film layer closest to the first surface in the bandpass filtering structure, and a film layer closest to the second surface and a film layer farthest from the second surface in the anti-reflection structure to have a same thickness according to a result effective variable balancing the need to improving image quality with adhesivity. One would have been motivated to have thicknesses to be within the claimed range balancing a desired image quality with adhesivity.
Regarding Claim 15, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein a transmittance of the first pass band is greater than 95% (as in fig 4, Chen, transmittance is greater than 95%)
However, Chen does not teach
a transmittance of the second pass band is greater than 95%.
Chen and Chen’790 are related as dual pass band filters.
Chen’790 teaches (fig 4) a dual pass filter,
one of the transmittances of the second pass band is greater than 95% (fig 4, transmittance of second pass band is greater than 95%).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dual pass band filter of Chen to have the cut-off band of Chen’790 for the purpose of improved signal to noise ratio (para 5,7).
However, Chen-Chen’790 does not teach
a transmittance of the second pass band is greater than 95%.
MPEP 2144.05 I states “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the art a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the claimed range of viewing angles, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
The instant application at paragraph [0033] does not disclose any criticality to the claimed range. The prior art discloses transmittance greater than 90%. The entire range would perform the same function. Because there is no allegation of criticality and no evidence of demonstrating a difference across the range, the prior art discloses the range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP section 2131.03.II. Clearview Inc. v. Pearl River Polymers Inc., 668 F.3d 340, 101 USPQ2d 1773 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Chen-Chen’790 to have the claimed range of transmittances for the purposes of a wider range of pass band (para 52, Chen’790).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US 2020/0393601 A1, of record) in view of Chen et al (CN 111999790 A, hereafter Chen’790) and further in view of Cheah et al (US 2019/0242004 A1, of record).
Regarding Claim 14, Chen-Chen’790 teaches the dual pass band filter element as claimed in claim 1,
wherein the anti-reflection structure (AR film layer 3, para 42) includes at least two third material layers (low refractive index material layer L, para 46, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) (Layers 1,3, SiO2, Table 2, page 5) and at least one fourth material layer (high refractive index material layer H, para 46, SiH, Table 2, page 5) (Layer 2, SiH, Table 2, page 5),
the at least two third material layer and the at least one fourth material layers are stacked along the normal (as in fig 2),
a material of the third material layer is the same as that of the first material layer (SiO2), a material of the fourth material layer is the same as that of the second material layer (SiH) (Tables 1,2, page 5).
However, Chen does not teach
in the anti-reflection structure, a pair of film layers furthest away from the second surface and stacked together are the third material layers.
Chen and Cheah are related as AR layer structures.
Cheah teaches (fig 66)
in the anti-reflection structure (anti reflective layers, para 362), a pair of film layers (Al2O3 layers, fig 49, “A high refractive index AR layer as the 2.sup.nd outermost layer is coated on top of the pairs of Al.sub.2O.sub.3 and low refractive index layers. Finally, the top most Al.sub.2O.sub.3 AR layer is fabricated”, para 362) furthest away from the surface and stacked together are the third material layers (Al2O3 layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pair of film layers furthest away from second surface of Chen to include the third material of Cheah for the purpose of design arrangements for different substrates (para 362).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 9/19/2026