DETAILED ACTION
Specification
ABSTRACT - The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard for proper grammatical form. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
“JUMBO CASE” - The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an applying unit, a heating unit, a pressurizing unit in claim 1.
If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Every term that is referred to as a “device”, “part”, “member”, “unit”, or “portion” to execute a function without sufficient structure, is being considered a generic placeholder reciting a means-plus-function limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by US 9,110,425 to Watanabe et al.
Watanabe teaches a crimping toner image forming apparatus (1, Fig.1) that disposes a crimping toner (i.e., adhesive toner) that exerts functionality by deformation due to pressure, on a medium (P), wherein an image forming parameter of the crimping toner image forming apparatus is an image forming parameter for obtaining distributed disposition so that a periodic structure of a crimping toner is not formed on a medium (Figs. 2, 9B, 9C)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9,110,425 to Watanabe et al.
Watanabe discloses:
(claim 1) An image forming system (1, Fig.1) comprising:
an applying unit (100) that applies a crimping toner (i.e., adhesive toner) having pressure-responsiveness onto at least a portion (bonding range BA) of a surface of a recording medium (P) to form a net-dot structure (col. 4 lines 44-56, col. 9 lines 5-10);
a heating unit (301,302) that heats the crimping toner applied to the recording medium; and
a pressurizing unit (310-312) that pressurizes, in a thickness direction, a stacked body in which the recording medium is folded with the heated crimping toner interposed or a stacked body (PB) in which the recording medium and another medium are stacked with the heated crimping toner interposed (Fig.1);
(claim 2) wherein, in the applying unit, an area ratio of the crimping toner in the net-dot structure is set to be less than 100% (Figs. 9B & 9C); and
(claim 3) wherein, in the applying unit, the area ratio of the crimping toner in the net-dot structure is set to be in a range of 20% or more and 60% or less (col. 9 lines 21-25).
Watanabe does not explicitly teach the net-dot structure having 300 or more of screen lines. Watanabe specifically teaches the number of pixels of the adhesive toner pattern Pc can be varied according to required bonding strength for each page. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to discover the optimum or workable range of the number of lines in the net-dot structure, as a recognized result-effective variable, by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding claims 4 and 5, by the same optimization principle, an image forming system according to either of claims 1 and 2, wherein, in the applying unit, the number of the screen lines is set to be in a range of 400 lines or more and 600 lines or less is also rendered obvious.
Regarding claims 6-10, Watanabe teaches the claimed method, since it has been held that when the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 6,980,767 is relevant to the teachings of adhering sheets of print media together by use of toner in an electrophotographic printer. US 5,213,560 is relevant to the teachings of constructing sealed printed packages and one-piece mailers provides fixedly applying printing toner to predetermined locations upon a first part of a face of a printable sheet; the sheet is then folded so that a second part of the face overlies the first part which includes the locations having the toner thereon. US 5,582,570 is relevant to the teachings of binding sheets using solid or semi-solid strips in different configurations.
/Arlene Heredia Ocasio/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852