DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12, 14-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9, line 2, the limitation, “the second anode lead is connected to an end of the anode body” is confusing. Claim 1, requires the second anode lead to be extended in the body.
Claim 10 is confusing. Claim 1 requires the lead to be continuous.
Claim 12 is confusing. Claim 1 requires the lead to be continuous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 18, and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funaya (US 2008/0123253) in view of Arai et al. (US 2003/0222734).
Regarding claim 1, Funaya discloses a capacitor (title) comprising: a capacitor element (8) comprising an anode body [0024], a dielectric [0024] that overlies the anode body [0024], and a solid electrolyte [0024] that overlies the dielectric [0024], wherein the solid electrolyte [0024] includes a conductive polymer [0024], wherein the capacitor element (8) defines opposing first (left) and second (right) ends and an upper surface (top) and opposing lower (bottom) surface, wherein a first exposed anode lead portion (11) extends from the first end (left) of the capacitor element in a lateral direction, a second exposed anode lead portion (11) extends from the second end (right) of the capacitor element in a lateral direction;
a housing (1-3) that defines an interior cavity within which the capacitor element (8) is positioned and hermetically sealed [0037], wherein the first exposed anode lead portion (11) and the second exposed anode lead portion (11) are positioned within the interior cavity (fig. 4C);
a first anode termination (6) that is in electrical connection with the first exposed anode lead portion (11); a second anode termination (6) that is in electrical connection with the second exposed anode lead portion (11); and
a cathode termination (7) that is in electrical connection with the solid electrolyte [0024].
Funaya discloses the claimed invention except for the anode body includes a sintered anode body and a continuous anode lead extends through the first end and the second end of the capacitor element, thereby defining the first exposed anode lead portion and the second exposed anode lead portion.
Arai et al. discloses a capacitor comprising an anode body (11), wherein the anode body comprises a sintered tantalum [0031] and a continuous anode lead (1) extends through the first end (left) and the second end (right) of a capacitor element (3), thereby defining the first exposed anode lead portion (left – 1) and the second exposed anode lead portion (right – 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Funaya so that the anode body includes a sintered anode body and a continuous anode lead extends through the first end and the second end of the capacitor element, thereby defining the first exposed anode lead portion and the second exposed anode lead portion, since such a modification would form a capacitor having an anode having large surface area and very low impedance.
Regarding claim 2, Arai et al. disclose the anode body includes tantalum and the dielectric includes tantalum pentoxide (Arai et al. – [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Arai et al. disclose a first anode lead (1 - left) is embedded in the anode body (11) that includes the first exposed anode lead portion (left) and an embedded portion (central).
Regarding claim 8, Arai et al. disclose a second anode lead (1- right) that includes the second exposed anode lead portion (1 - right).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Arai et al. disclose the second anode lead is connected (at least electrically) to an end of the anode body (11).
Regarding claims 10-12, as best understood, Arai et al. disclose the anode lead is continuous.
Regarding claim 14, Funaya discloses the housing is formed from a metal, plastic [0042], ceramic, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Funaya disclose a first anode lead connective member (4) that contains a first portion (side) that is positioned generally perpendicular to the lateral direction of the first exposed anode lead portion and connected thereto (see fig. 4C @ 11).
Regarding claim 16, Funaya discloses the first anode lead connective member (4) further contains a second portion (top) that is generally parallel to the lateral direction in which the first exposed anode lead portion extends (see fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 17, Funaya discloses the second portion (top) of the first anode lead connective member (4) is positioned within the housing (4C).
Regarding claim 18, Funaya discloses the first anode termination (5-6) contains a first region (5) that is positioned within the housing (1-3) and electrically connected to the first anode connection member (4) and a second region (6) that is positioned external to the housing (1-3) and provides a mounting surface.
Regarding claim 20, Funaya discloses a second anode lead connective member (4) that contains a first portion (side) that is positioned generally perpendicular to the lateral direction of the second exposed anode lead portion (11) and connected thereto.
Regarding claim 21, Funaya discloses the second anode lead connective member (4) further contains a second portion (top) that is generally parallel to the lateral direction in which the second exposed anode lead portion (11) extends.
Regarding claim 22, Funaya discloses the second portion (top) of the second anode lead connective member (4) is positioned within the housing (1-3).
Regarding claim 23, Funaya discloses the second anode termination (5-6) contains a first region (5) that is positioned within the housing (1-3) and electrically connected to the second anode connection member (4) and a second region (6) that is positioned external to the housing and provides a mounting surface.
Claim(s) 1, 15, 18, 19, 20, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US 2008/0291606) in view of Arai et al. (US 2003/0222734) and Zednicek et al. (US 2012/0257328).
Regarding claim 1, Takahashi et al. disclose a capacitor (title) comprising: a capacitor element (10) comprising an anode body (1), a dielectric (2) that overlies the anode body (1), and a solid electrolyte (4) that overlies the dielectric (2), wherein the solid electrolyte (4) includes a conductive polymer [0023], wherein the capacitor element (10) defines opposing first (left) and second (right) ends and an upper surface (top) and opposing lower (bottom) surface, wherein a first exposed anode lead portion (8) extends from the first end (left) of the capacitor element in a lateral direction, a second exposed anode lead portion (8) extends from the second end (right) of the capacitor element in a lateral direction;
a housing (11-14) that defines an interior cavity (fig. 5) within which the capacitor element (10) is positioned and sealed, wherein the first exposed anode lead portion (8) and the second exposed anode lead portion (8) are positioned within the interior cavity; a first anode termination (31) that is in electrical connection with the first exposed anode lead portion (8); a second anode termination (31) that is in electrical connection with the second exposed anode lead portion (8); and a cathode termination (32) that is in electrical connection with the solid electrolyte (4).
Takahashi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the anode body includes a sintered anode body; wherein a continuous anode lead extends through the first end and the second end of the capacitor element thereby defining the first exposed portion and the second exposed portion and the housing is hermetically sealed.
Arai et al. discloses a capacitor comprising an anode body (11), wherein the anode body comprises a sintered tantalum [0031] and a continuous anode lead (1) extends through the first end (left) and the second end (right) of a capacitor element (3), thereby defining the first exposed anode lead portion (left – 1) and the second exposed anode lead portion (right – 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the device of Takahashi et al. so that the anode body includes a sintered anode body and a continuous anode lead extends through the first end and the second end of the capacitor element, thereby defining the first exposed anode lead portion and the second exposed anode lead portion, since such a modification would form a capacitor having an anode having large surface area and very low impedance.
Zednicek et al. disclose a solid electrolytic capacitor housing that is hermetically sealed [0047]-[0067].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in solid electrolytic capacitor housing art before the effective filing date of the invention to hermetically seal the housing of Takahashi et al., since such a modification would prevent oxygen and moisture from entering and contacting the conductive polymer.
Regarding claim 15, Takahashi et al. disclose a first anode lead connective member (9) that contains a first portion (side) that is positioned generally perpendicular to the lateral direction of the first exposed anode lead portion (8) and connected thereto.
Regarding claim 18, Takahashi et al. disclose the first anode termination (31) contains a first region (opposite 31a) that is positioned within the housing (11-14) and electrically connected to the first anode connection member (9) and a second region (31a) that is positioned external to the housing (11-14) and provides a mounting surface (see fig 2-3).
Regarding claim 19, Takahashi et al. disclose a first conductive trace (see fig. 2- 3) extends in an outer wall (11) of the housing (11-14) to connect the first region and second region of the first anode termination(31).
Regarding claim 20, Takahashi et al. disclose a second anode lead connective member (9) that contains a first portion (side) that is positioned generally perpendicular to the lateral direction of the second exposed anode lead portion (8) and connected thereto.
Regarding claim 23, Takahashi et al. disclose the second anode termination (31) contains a first region (opposite 31a) that is positioned within the housing (11-14) and electrically connected to the second anode connection member (9) and a second region (31a) that is positioned external to the housing (11-14) and provides a mounting surface.
Regarding claim 24, Takahashi et al. disclose a second conductive trace (see fig. 2-3) extends in an outer wall (11) of the housing (11-14) to connect the first region and second region of the second anode termination(31).
Regarding claim 25, Takahashi et al. disclose a conductive trace (fig. 2) extends in an outer wall (11) of the housing (11-14) to connect the lower surface of the capacitor element (10) to the cathode termination (32).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Funaya (US 2008/0123253) and Arai et al. (US 2003/0222734) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zednicek et al. (US 2011/0085285).
Regarding claim 3, Funaya discloses the claimed invention except for the solid electrolyte contains at least one layer from a dispersion of conductive polymer particles.
Zednicek et al. disclose a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising at least one layer from a dispersion of conducive polymer particles [0043].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the solid electrolyte art to form the solid electrolyte of Funaya having at least one layer formed from a dispersion of conductive polymer particles, since such a modification would form a solid electrolyte layer that can penetrate into the edge region of the capacitor body in order to achieve good electrical contact with an inner layer and reduce ESR and leakage current of the capacitor.
Regarding claim 4, Funaya discloses the claimed invention except for the solid electrolyte comprises poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene), or a derivative thereof.
Zednick et al. disclose a poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene) solid electrolyte [0023].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the solid electrolyte art to form the capacitor of Funaya with a poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene), since such a modification would form a capacitor having a solid electrolyte with high electroconductivity.
Regarding claim 5, Funaya discloses the claimed invention except for the anode body is formed from a metal power having a specific charge of from about 5,000 to about 100,000 µF * V/g.
Zednick et al. disclose an anode body that is formed from a valve metal powder having a specific charge of 5000 to 100,000 µF * V/g [0013].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the anode body art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the anode body Funaya from a metal power having a specific charge of from about 5,000 to about 100,000 µF * V/g, since such a modification would form an anode having high specific charge.
Regarding claim 6, Funaya discloses the claimed invention except for the anode body is formed from a metal power having a specific charge of from about 100,000 to about 600,000 µF * V/g.
Zednick et al. disclose an anode body that is formed from a valve metal powder having a specific charge of 100,000 to 600,000 µF * V/g [0013].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the anode body art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the anode body Funaya from a metal power having a specific charge of from about 100,000 to about 600,000 µF * V/g, since such a modification would form an anode having high specific charge.
Conclusion
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2848