DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21-28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims require a composition comprising dofeltilide, water at pH of 6-7 and suitable for intravenous administration. Specification provides examples of dofeltilide compositions stable at RT:
Example 2 – pH=5
Example 3 – pH=4.46
Example 4 – pH=7.25
Examples also provide Examples A-K of formulations within the claimed pH range. Paragraph [0063] states that those formulations are unstable as an intravenous Dofeltilide formulation. Since the specification does not exemplify formulations within the scope of claims 21-28 and exemplifies 11 formulations that are not suitable for IV administration of Dofeltilide, Examiner concludes that applicants were not in possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zelewski (Cleveland Clinic Pharmacotherapy Update, 2000, 3(4) pages 1-3; cited in IDS) in view of Coz et al (Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics, 1995, 57(5), 533-542 cited in IDS) and Wada et al (Clin Pharmacokinet, 1998, 35(1), 1-7; cited in IDS).
Scope of prior art
Zelewski teaches Dofetilide as an antiarrhythmic agent and describes dosing protocol and considerations that are to be taken into account when determining a maintenance dose of the drug. Zelewski teaches that a patient admitted to the hospital is kept under observation for at least 72 hours which corresponds to the time required to reach steady state and is consistent with the information applicants provided in the description (page 1).
Zelewski teaches reducing the dose if QTc increase after first dose is greater than 15% or above 500msec (550 for patients with ventricular conduction abnormalities (page 2; page 3 “Dosing, administration and monitoring”)
Zelewski teaches adjusting the initial dose based on renal function with 500µg for patients with > than 60mL/min; 250 µg for 40-60mL/min and 125 µg for 20-40 mL/min (page 2-3, Table 1).
Zelewski teaches the criticality of monitoring the patients via electrocardiography (page 2).
Zelewski teaches dofetilide treatment is recommended for subjects with AF (page 1)
Ascertaining the difference
The teachings of Zelewski represent an art accepted standard in initiating treatment with Dofetilide. This protocol is taught in numerous other prior art documents and is described in the instant specification as an art accepted methodology. The difference between the teachings of Zelewski and the instant claims is as follows:
Using the protocol of the art the patient is kept in the hospital for at least 72 hours which corresponds to the time required to reach steady state. Instant claims are directed to the same monitoring and inclusion parameters, however while art only teaches maintenance dosing instant claims are directed to intravenous infusion of Dofeltifide followed by the first maintenance dose. This represents a dosing schedule which comprises a loading dose followed by maintenance dosing.
The issues to be resolved are:
1) would it have been obvious to one skilled in the art to administer a loading doze of Dofeltifide;
2) Would it have been obvious to select intravenous administration instead of oral administration of the drug for the loading dose.
3) Would it have been obvious to administer an IV infusion of 10-1000 µg/mL at a dose of 1.8-3.0µg/kg as a formulation at neutral pH.
Secondary references
Coz et al teach that Dofeltifide can be administered via oral and intravenous routes and both routes result in high bioavailability and increase QTc interval in the subject (abstract). Both methods result in similar CL and half-life (page 539 column 2 paragraph 1). Coz also teaches that infusion over a 10 minute time period is common (page 539, Discussion, paragraph 2).
Wada et al teach that in intravenous loading dose is given to rapidly achieve desired drug concentration in the blood (steady state) (abstract). Wada also teaches methods directed to calculating the appropriate loading dose for a drug based on the volume of distribution and desired steady state concentration (page 2 right column) and that loading dose can be safely administered using the specified parameters (conclusion).
Obviousness
One skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application would have found it obvious to shorten the time required to achieve steady state concertation of dofeltifide by administering a loading dose followed by the art recommended maintenance doing schedule. Initiating the dosing protocol when administering dofeltilide is described by Zelewski. Zelewski teaches all of the limitations of the instant claims including dosing schedule and dosing adjustments based on QTc, renal function and ventricular conduction abnormalities. Zelewski also teaches the importance of monitoring the patient via electrocardiography and the required 72 hour hospital stay until a steady state is achieved.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to shorten the required hospital stay of the patient by arriving at a steady state in a shorter time period. Wada teaches that a shorter time period to achieve steady state concentration of a drug can be accomplished by utilizing a loading dose which is higher than the usual maintenance dose. Wada teaches that the loading dose is different for every drug due to varying pharmacokinetics properties but suggests a common formula based on desired steady state drug concertation and the volume of distribution of the drug that can be used to calculate the proper loading dose. In view of Wada one would have found it obvious to administer a loading dose of dofeltilide to a subject in order to shorten the time required to achieve steady state and thereby lessen the hospital stay of the patient. One would have used Wada’s formula in order to determine the appropriate loading dose.
With regards to intravenous administration, one would have found it obvious to use intravenous administration as a loading dose because it is known from Coz that both oral and intravenous administrations result in increase in QTc and both methods have high bioavailability. However with intravenous administration QTmax is reached quicker since the drug is infused directly into the blood.
Prolonged hospital stays are expensive which serves as motivation to modify the teaching Zelewski in a manner that would shorten the time spent in a hospital. The teachings of Wada suggest that the hospital stay can be shortened by decreasing the time required for arriving at steady state dofeltilide concertation. Wada provides expectation of success in the conclusion. Wada states that the loading dose calculated using the described method will rapidly achieve the target concertation without unexpected adverse effects.
Regarding the time intervals between measurements of QTc: One skilled in the art would have found it obvious to determine the optimal time periods to measure QTc. Since QTc is used to determine dose adjustment and is correlated to the side effects of dofeltilide administration it would be necessary to measure it often in order to safely initiate treatment. While the instantly claimed “every 30 minutes until dofeltilide is titrated” is not explicitly recited, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to determine the measurement increments.
With regards to the pH and concertation of the injected formulation:
It would have been obvious to inject a formulation with a neutral pH in order to avoid irritation. It would have been obvious to determine the concertation of the formulation based on the amount to be delivered and time period over which infusion takes place. Applicants can overcome this by showing criticality of the claimed concentration.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,364,213. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Like current claims, those of the ‘213 patent are directed to a method of rapidly titrating and chronically administering dofeltilide. The method comprises infusing intravenously dofeltilide followed by oral administration of 500 µg. The oral dose is reduced based on the QTc and GFR rate. The iv administration is in an amount sufficient to provide a serum concertation equivalent to predicted maximal steady state concertation. This amount is further limited to 3 µg/kg in claims 5 and 13. While ‘213 does not recite the concertation of the administered iv formulation, it would have been obvious to determine the required concertation to achieve 3 µg/kg administered over 30 minutes.
Conclusion
Claims 21-28 are pending
Claims 21-28 are rejected
/YEVGENY VALENROD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628