DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s amendment filed on June 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Currently Claims 1-3 are pending. Claims 1-3 has been amended.
Applicant's arguments with respect independent claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Amended claims 1-3 results in a different scope than that of the originally presented Claims 1-3 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The independent claims contain the limitation, “resolution resampling process is performed by using a parameter for super- resolution processing and a neural network” It is unclear to the examiner if resolution resampling process is performed by using a parameter for super- resolution processing and a neural network or if resolution resampling process is performed by using a parameter for both super- resolution processing and a neural network. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting that resolution resampling process is performed by using a parameter for super- resolution processing and a neural network such that a parameter is only relevant to super-resolution processing.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva Pratas Gabriel et al. US2021/0211643 hereinafter referred to as Da Silva in view of Yin et al. US2016/0104053 hereinafter referred to as Yin.
As per Claim 1, Da Silva teaches a method of signaling a bitstream, the method video converting apparatus comprising: signaling the bitstream; (Da Silva, Paragraph [0020])
wherein the bitstream includes supplemental enhancement information including a parameter, which is a parameter for switching between a resolution resampling process and an up-sampling process;
wherein the resolution resampling process and the up-sampling process are switched based on a value of parameter; and (Da Silva, Paragraph [0033], “Hence, the super-resolution prediction mode may use a downsampling scheme for downsampling and upsampling at block level, e.g. a single video block or a subset of all video blocks of a video frame (i.e. super resolution modes 1 and 2 of table 1), wherein a first parameter, e.g. a binary flag, may be used to signal whether a downsampling scheme is used. A second parameter may be used for signalling the type of downsampling scheme that is used (e.g. polyphase downsampling). The second parameter may only be present if a downsampling scheme is used. It is noted many other alternatives can be used, for instance only one flag, longer or shorter bit depth, etc” and Paragraph [0024], “The downsampling lattices of the downsampling scheme can be used to upsample the predicted samples of the first low-resolution prediction block and the one or more second low-resolution blocks and to combine the upsampled predicted samples into predicted samples of a prediction block of the current block”)
the resolution resampling process is performed by using a parameter for super- resolution processing (Da Silva, Paragraph [0033], [0024])
Da Silva does not explicitly teach the resolution resampling process is performed by using a neural network.
Yin teaches the resolution resampling process is performed by using a neural network. (Yin, Paragraph [0044], “Each neural network performs down-sampling, convolution, and nonlinear transformation (e.g., tanh). Different CNN levels typically have different depth and input size. In one implementation, level n−1 has a resolution R(n−1) that is the same as the resolution of the face image 215, and every other level n has a resolution R(n) that is down-sampled by a constant factor of 2 or less relative to the preceding level n−1 with resolution R(n−1). The level generator 410 generates more image patches for levels n with lower resolutions R(n). The image patches for different levels n have different resolutions R(n) and the image patches for a level n are generated by performing convolution and nonlinear transformation on the image resampled to resolution R(n)”)
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the teachings of Yin into Da Silva because by resampling the resolution by utilizing a neural network will result in the resampling of the image to resample different image sizes and depth in a desirable manner.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine the two references to obtain the invention in Claim 1.
As per Claim 2, Claim 2 claims an image decoding apparatus utilizes the method as claimed in Claim 1 and further discloses, a supplemental enhancement information decoder circuit that decodes supplemental enhancement information including a parameter, (Da Silva, Paragraph [0020]) Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
As per Claim 3, Claim 3 claims an image coding apparatus utilizes the method as claimed in Claim 1 and further discloses, a supplemental enhancement information coder circuit that codes supplemental enhancement information including a parameter, (Da Silva, Paragraph [0020]) Therefore the rejection and rationale are analogous to that made in Claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666