DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111740055 A (to Chen et al.) – translation attached and relied upon below, in view of Kurosawa (US 20110020676 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chen teaches a battery assembly comprising:
a case/(cabin) (Figure 2, 1) defining an inner volume (as illustrated); said inner volume being hermetic/sealed/airtight (page 3, 7th paragraph);
a plurality of batteries (18) arranged in said inner volume (as illustrated); and
wherein said inner volume contains, in use, a gaseous medium comprising dry/(dehumidified) air and inert gas (nitrogen) (page 3, 5th & 6th paragraphs, page 4, lines 11-26).
Chen fails to teach wherein the battery assembly is for a motor vehicle. Kurosawa teaches a case (24) (Figure 5) defining an inner volume (as illustrated); said inner volume being hermetic/(hermetically sealed) (para. [0089]);
a plurality of batteries (21) arranged in said inner volume (as illustrated); and
wherein said inner volume contains, in use, a gaseous medium comprising dry air or inert gas (para. [0102]) in order to prevent explosions of batteries onboard of vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to provide the battery assembly of Chen for use in a motor vehicle, as taught by Kurosawa, in order to prevent explosions of batteries onboard of vehicles.
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches wherein said inner volume contains at least 88% of dry air – Chen teaches that at the onset, oxygen enriched air is present in the sealing cabinet, and is then discharged (page 3, 5th para.).
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches wherein said inner volume contains at least 78% nitrogen (page 3, 5th para.), which encompasses the instantly claimed range of at least 88% of inert gas – it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try percentages of inert gas that are greater than 78% and including at least 88% in order to achieve optimal results as related to battery explosion prevention.
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches wherein said inner volume contains a nitrogen to oxygen ratio of 78% : 21% (i.e. 99% air and inert gas) (page 3, 5th para.), which fall within the instantly claimed range of at least 88% of dry air and inert gas – it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for the invention to try different ratios of nitrogen to oxygen such that the inner volume would contain at least 88% of dry air and inert gas.
With respect to claim 5, wherein relative humidity contained in said inner volume is, in use, less than 12% - the “relative humidity” constitutes an “operational/use” condition, which does not Iimit the invented apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQZd 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), see also In re Swinehad, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). ''Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.'' Hewlett-packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 6, Chen teaches wherein said inner volume is permanently sealed – Chen teaches wherein the cabin is sealed/airtight (page 3, 7th paragraph). However, the added limitation of “permanently” sealed constitutes an “operational/use” condition, which does not Iimit the invented apparatus. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQZd 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997), see also In re Swinehad, 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). ''Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.'' Hewlett-packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). MPEP 2114.
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches wherein it comprises one or more power electronic devices/(BMS) (page 4, 4th paragraph).
With respect to claim 8, Chen in view of Kurosawa teaches wherein a motor vehicle comprises a battery assembly according to claim 1, as set forth above.
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches wherein a cooling system/(heat exchanger) adapted to limit the temperature of said batteries (page 3, last line – page 4, lines 1-2).
Conclusion
/KAITY V CHANDLER/ 7/10/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725