DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 07/21/2026
Claims 1-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasilyev U. S. Patent Publication No. 20090262018 published on 2009-10-22 (hereinafter Vasilyev) in view of Vieira U. S. Patent Publication No. 20250175270 filed on 2023-04-24 (hereinafter Vieira).
As for independent claim 1, Vasilyev discloses a system and method for generating XO calibration information, comprising: obtaining an indication of oscillator temperature information associated with one or more radio frequency signals
(Vasilyev discloses a reference satellite receiving controller with a crystal oscillator (shown in figure 2 labeled non-TCXO) which can send a radio frequency signal and can send temperature, called a second temperature information to a controller, “a precision temperature sensor 305, coupled to the satellite receiving controller 302, senses a second temperature T.sub.2 of the reference satellite receiving controller 301 and transmitting the value of the second temperature T.sub.2 to the satellite receiving controller”, [0024])
initiating a calibration process according to one or more parameters,
(Vasilyev discloses using parameters sent to a device to determine if it should initiate a calibration process, “The adaptive compensation unit 207 may determine whether to update the reference temperature/frequency offset parameter according to at least one condition below:” [0027])
determining a frequency offset value based at least in part on the one or more radio frequency signals;
(Vasilyev paragraph [0022] discloses a frequency offset being calculated from radio frequency signals, called ADC characteristic parameters, “upon obtaining the accurate frequency under the first temperature T.sub.1, a temperature/frequency offset function S.sub.n is converged to a correct temperature/frequency offset function by utilizing the ADC characteristic parameter ADC_CP, the temperature/frequency offset function”)
determining a local oscillator temperature value
(Vasilyev discloses measuring a first temperature, distinct from the previously discussed temperature, “The temperature sensor 201 measures a first temperature T.sub.1, which is converted into a digital output by the ADC 203. The ADC 203 may be a low cost successive approximation register ADC (SARADC). The measuring unit 206 measures characteristics of the temperature sensor 201 and the ADC 203 to generate a temperature characteristic parameter” [0025])
determining a frequency correction value based at least in part on the local oscillator temperature value, the frequency offset value, and the indication of oscillator temperature information
(Vasilyev discloses finding a frequency correction value, called a frequency adjustment value, being derived from the frequency offset and both temperature information, “In a normal training mode, upon obtaining the accurate frequency under the first temperature T.sub.1, a temperature/frequency offset function S.sub.n is converged to a correct temperature/frequency offset function by utilizing the ADC characteristic parameter ADC_CP, the temperature/frequency offset function S.sub.n, the accurate frequency under the first temperature T.sub.1 and frequency offsets under temperatures other than the first temperature T.sub.1… Also, the control unit 205 can utilize the updated temperature/frequency offset function to generate a frequency adjustment value” [0022])
and transmitting a calibration report indicating a state of the calibration process to a wireless node.
(Vasilyev in figure 3 and the following sections discloses transmitting data, which contains calibration information, including temperature about the crystal oscillator, to a server, and that data being used by the server to determine if the calibration needs to be updated (as such it is a state of the calibration), “transmitting the value of the second temperature” [0024], “In this embodiment, the satellite receiving controller 302 and the reference satellite receiving controller 301 may be coupled to the server 309, and perform data transfer via the server 309” [0025], “The adaptive compensation unit 207 may determine whether to update the reference temperature/frequency offset parameter according to at least one condition below:” [0027])
Vasilyev does not appear to disclose a method wherein the one or more parameters indicating whether the calibration process will be bi-directional.
However, Vieira does disclose a method wherein the one or more parameters indicating whether the calibration process will be bi-directional.
(Vieira discloses using a calibration process (as an alternative to others) to calibrate the phase (or frequency) offset of access point signals, which is bidirectional since it calibrates both APs by bidirectional signals between them, “This new type of calibration can be regarded as a third type of calibration, aligning two strongly calibrated APs such that the total array collectively formed by all antennas of the APs becomes strongly calibrated, without requiring knowledge of the coupling coefficients, or in this case the channel coefficients between arrays. This is accomplished by using wideband signals for obtaining bidirectional phase measurements with respect to the APs.” [0040])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the signal calibrator of Vieira, adding a bi-directional calibration option, to the signal calibrator of Vasilyev in order to have a stronger calibration.
As for claim 2, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses determining the local oscillator temperature value is based on a thermal sensor disposed proximate to a crystal oscillator
(Vasilyev in the following section and in figure 2 discloses a temperature sensor in the same structure as a crystal oscillator, shown in figure 2, sensing a temperature, “a precision temperature sensor 305, coupled to the satellite receiving controller 302, senses a second temperature” [0025])
As for claim 3, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses the one or more radio frequency signals comprise one or more data packets and the indication of oscillator temperature information is included in the one or more data packets
(Vasilyev discloses transmitting temperature information, called a second temperature, “transmitting the value of the second temperature T.sub.2 to the satellite receiving controller” [0025])
As for claim 4, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses determining the frequency offset value is based on comparing a frequency of the one or more radio frequency signals to a local oscillator frequency
(Vasilyev discloses calculating a frequency offset by comparing a reference frequency signal and a local frequency signal, both based on clock signal from crystal oscillators, “The frequency offset calculator 217, according to the clock signal of the frequency f.sub.2, and a reference clock signal having a frequency f.sub.r” [0023])
As for claim 6, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses transmitting one or more measurement packets including oscillator temperature information to the wireless node
(Vasilyev in figure 3 and the following section discloses transmitting data, which contains measurement information about the crystal oscillator, to a server, “In this embodiment, the satellite receiving controller 302 and the reference satellite receiving controller 301 may be coupled to the server 309, and perform data transfer via the server 309” [0025])
As for independent claim 10, claim 10 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale. As for the structural elements in claim 10, Vasilyev discloses at least one memory
(Vasilyev figure 2 shows a memory 209 in a satellite receiver)
at least one thermal sensor
(Vasilyev figure 2 shows a temperature sensor 201 in a satellite receiver)
at least one transceiver
(Vasilyev figure 3 shows the satellite receiver sending and receiving signals like a transceiver)
at least one processor communicatively coupled to the at least one memory
(Vasilyev figure 2 shows a control unit coupled to the memory)
As for claim 11, the limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed. Claim 11 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 2 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 12, the limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed. Claim 11 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 3 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 13, the limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed. Claim 13 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 4 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 15, the limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed. Claim 15 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 6 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for independent claim 19, claim 19 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 1 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 7, 8, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasilyev in view of Vieira in further view of Cheadle, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210126642 published on 2021-04-29 (hereinafter Cheadle).
As for claim 7, the limitations of parent claim 6 have been discussed. Cheadle discloses method comprising receiving a XO calibration report including frequency offset information from the wireless node
(Cheadle discloses receiving frequency information being transmitted from a node, called the root node, for frequency correction calculation for a crystal oscillator. “the Root may send packets 702 to its children (e.g., nodes 11-13) indicative of the transmit frequency of the packet 702. Generally speaking, the Root node” [0068])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the signal calibrator of Cheadle, adding an option to scale to multiple devices, to the signal calibrator of Vieira and Vasilyev in order to have a more consistent frequency correction over multiple devices.
As for claim 8, the limitations of parent claim 7 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses method comprising adjusting a receive frequency of a satellite receiver based at least in part on the frequency offset information
(Vasilyev discloses creating a frequency adjustment value, used by a GPS receiver, based on frequency offset information. “the control unit generates an oscillation frequency adjustment value to the GPS receiving module to compensate accuracy of satellite positioning” [0006], “the control unit 205 can utilize the updated temperature/frequency offset function to generate a frequency adjustment value” [0022])
As for claim 16, the limitations of parent claims 10 and 15 have been discussed. Claim 16 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 7 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 17, the limitations of parent claim 16 have been discussed. Claim 17 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 8 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasilyev in view of Vieira in further view of Cheadle in further view of Petrovic, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20200132859 published on 2020-04-30 (hereinafter Petrovic).
As for claim 5, the limitations of parent claim 1 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses method comprising having a XO calibration and oscillator temperature information.
(Vasilyev in figure 3 and the following section discloses transmitting data, which contains calibration information, including temperature about the crystal oscillator, to a server, “transmitting the value of the second temperature” [0024], “In this embodiment, the satellite receiving controller 302 and the reference satellite receiving controller 301 may be coupled to the server 309, and perform data transfer via the server 309” [0025])
Vasilyev does not appear to explicitly disclose method comprising receiving request message from the wireless node.
However, Cheadle discloses method comprising receiving a XO calibration request message from the wireless node
(Cheadle [0069] and [0073] disclose a root node sending a packet triggering the computation of frequency error and a transmission of another packet, “each node receiving a packet 702 from the Root node may compute an estimate of the frequency error based on the preamble information of packets…the children nodes of the Root may send out their own packets”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the signal calibrator of Cheadle, adding an option to scale to multiple devices, to the signal calibrator of Vieira and Vasilyev in order to have a more consistent frequency correction over multiple devices.
Vasilyev does not appear to explicitly disclose method comprising transmitting a XO calibration acknowledgement frame to the wireless node prior to obtaining the indication of oscillator temperature information. However, Petrovic discloses a method comprising transmitting an acknowledgement frame to the wireless node prior to obtaining the indication information
(Petrovic discloses a processor sending a reply signal in response to a sync signal when calculated frequency error, “In response to recognizing the sync signals, the processor 208 may generate a reply signal 530 to be transmitted to the communication system” [0078])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the signal calibrator of Petrovic, adding an option to scale to multiple devices, to the signal calibrator of Cheadle, Vieira, and Vasilyev in order to use a known technique to improve the reliability.
As for claim 14, the limitations of parent claim 10 have been discussed. Claim 14 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 5 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Claims 9, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasilyev in view of Vieira in further view of Cheadle in further view of Counselman, U. S. Patent Publication No. 5619212 published on 1997-04-08 (hereinafter Counselman).
As for claim 9, the limitations of parent claim 8 have been discussed. Vasilyev discloses the frequency offset information is utilized by the satellite receiver for satellite signal acquisition for a period of time
(Vasilyev discloses the offset parameter being used for a predetermined amount of time then being updated, “The adaptive compensation unit 207 may determine whether to update the reference temperature/frequency offset parameter according to at least one condition below:” [0027] “whether the temperature/frequency offset function is being updated at a frequency within a predetermined updating interval” [0030])
Vasilyev does not appear to explicitly disclose the time period being in a range of 1 to 100 seconds in duration.
However, Counselman discloses method wherein the time period being in a range of 1 to 100 seconds in duration.
(Counselman Col 11 Lines 61-67 disclose crystal oscillators being stable in a time range of 1 to 100 seconds, “a quartz crystal oscillator, such as a Frequency and Time Systems (FTS) model 1001...The FTS model 1001 has stability...over time intervals of from 1 to 100 seconds”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the signal calibrator of Counselman, adding a specific time scale to use the calibration result, to the signal calibrator of Cheadle, Vieira, and Vasilyev in order to use a known technique to improve the reliability.
As for claim 18, the limitations of parent claim 17 have been discussed. Claim 18 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
As for claim 20, the limitations of parent claim 19 have been discussed. Claim 20 reflects article of manufacture configured for implementing the method in claim 9 and is rejected along the same rationale.
Response to Arguments
Claim Interpretation
No argument was made in response to the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) for claims 19 and 20. As such, the interpretation as disclosed in the previous office action stands.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. 101
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 07/21/2026, with respect to claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Bromley, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20120133554, discloses a system that comprises a temperature-compensated crystal oscillator in paragraph [0084]
Mathews, U. S. Patent Publication No. 20120169542, discloses accuracy and timing needs for a temperature derived frequency offset in paragraph [0128]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN CALEB LAWRENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646