DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 30 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “one or more other claims would be subject to rejoinder”. This is not found persuasive because this is not a valid grounds of traversal.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2007/0266657 to Gembala.
Regarding claim 1, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated below], a weatherproof [moisture (Paragraph 0006)] bridge gap fascia cover (A) [drip edge 50 covers a gap in anchoring flange 12 of edge closure 10] comprising: a fascia board cover portion (B), and a bridge gap interface portion (C), wherein the bridge gap interface portion (C) includes a cap portion (D) extending outwardly from the fascia board cover portion (B) and a face portion (E) extending downwardly from the cap portion (D).
Regarding claim 2, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], the fascia board cover portion (B) and bridge gap interface portion (C) is a one-piece construction [as seen].
Regarding claim 3, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], the fascia board cover portion (B) forms a first plane [as seen].
Regarding claim 4, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], the cap portion (D) forms a second plane [as seen].
Regarding claim 5, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], the face portion (E) forms a third plane [as seen].
Regarding claim 6, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], the fascia board cover portion (B) includes a rigidity bend (F).
Regarding claim 10, Gembala teaches in Figure 1 [annotated above], a material comprising an aluminum extrusion (Paragraph 0021).
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication # 2003/0177708 to Gatherum.
Regarding claim 1, Gatherum teaches in Figure 12, a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover [flashing (Paragraph 0111)] comprising: a fascia board cover portion (120), and a bridge gap interface portion (122), wherein the bridge gap interface portion (122) includes a cap portion (126) extending outwardly from the fascia board cover portion (120) and a face portion (123) extending downwardly from the cap portion (126).
Regarding claim 2, Gatherum teaches in Figure 12, the fascia board cover portion (120) and bridge gap interface portion (122) is a one-piece construction [as seen].
Regarding claim 3, Gatherum teaches in Figure 12, the fascia board cover portion (120) forms a first plane [as seen].
Regarding claim 4, Gatherum teaches in Figure 12, the cap portion (126) forms a second plane [as seen].
Regarding claim 5, Gatherum teaches in Figure 12, the face portion (123) forms a third plane [as seen].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication # 2007/0266657 to Gembala.
Regarding claim 7, Gembala teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover with a fascia board cover portion but is silent about its height. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the fascia board cover portion with a height of 4 inches or greater since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, it would have been obvious to have the fascia board cover portion tall enough to cover the gap.
Regarding claim 8, Gembala teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover with a cap portion but is silent about its length. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the cap portion with a length of 0.5 inches or greater from the fascia board cover portion since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, it would have been obvious to make the cap portion long enough to create the proper drip edge.
Regarding claim 9, Gembala teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover but is silent about its length. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover 10 feet long since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, flashing members are commonly made in 8 foot, 10 foot, 12 foot and 16 foot lengths in order to make them manageable in size and long enough to cover what they intend to cover.
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication # 2003/0177708 to Gatherum in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2006/0080900 to Graham et al.
Regarding claim 6, Gatherum teaches a fascia board cover portion but does not teach it includes a rigidity bend. However, Graham teaches in Figure 22, a fascia board cover portion (320) that includes a rigidity bend (350) (Paragraph 0067). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the flashing of Gatherum with the flashing of Graham with a reasonable expectation of success because Graham teaches the rigidity bends strengthen the cover plate (Paragraph 0067).
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication # 2003/0177708 to Gatherum.
Regarding claim 7, Gatherum teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover with a fascia board cover portion but is silent about its height. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the fascia board cover portion with a height of 4 inches or greater since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, it would have been obvious to have the fascia board cover portion tall enough to cover the gap.
Regarding claim 8, Gatherum teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover with a cap portion but is silent about its length. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the cap portion with a length of 0.5 inches or greater from the fascia board cover portion since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, it would have been obvious to make the cap portion long enough to create the proper drip edge.
Regarding claim 9, Gatherum teaches a weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover but is silent about its length. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the weatherproof bridge gap fascia cover 10 feet long since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case, flashing members are commonly made in 8 foot, 10 foot, 12 foot and 16 foot lengths in order to make them manageable in size and long enough to cover what they intend to cover.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635