DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites, “generate a natural language answer…based on analysis of the industrial control code…”. The limitations of “generating” and “analysis” as drafted are functions that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, recite the abstract idea of a mental process. The limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, this limitation recites and falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas under Prong 1.
Under Prong 2, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim recites the following additional elements, “receive…a natural language query” and “render the natural language answer on the IDE interface”. The additional element of “receive” is an insignificant pre solution activity. The additional element of “render”, is recited at a high level of generality and thus is an insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). Further, the limitations “a processor” and “a user interface” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the recited judicial exception into a practical application and the claim is therefore directed to the judicial exception.
Under Step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “A processor” amounts to no more than mere instructions, or generic computer/computer components to carry out the exception, for the limitation of “render the natural language answer” is identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (2106.05(d)) and for the limitation “receiving then natural language query”, the courts have identified mere data gathering is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Se MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The recitation of generic computer instruction and computer components to apply the judicial exception, and the well-understood, routine, conventional activities do not amount to significantly more, thus, cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, claim 1 is not patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim 2, claims “formulate a prompt, directed to the generative AI model”. Formulating a prompt is an additional limitation of the abstract idea “Mental Process”. Nothing in the claimed limitation prevents the limitation from being performed in the mind. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 3, further defines the natural language answer. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 4, further defined the control performance metric. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 5, claims “perform contextual analysis…to determine at least one of a type of industrial application…”. Performing contextual analysis is an additional limitation of the abstract idea “Mental Process”. Nothing in the claimed limitation prevents the limitation from being performed in the mind. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 6, further defines the industry knowledge. The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 7, claims “determine one or more proposed modifications to the industrial control code”. The step of “determine” is an additional limitation of the abstract idea “Mental Process”. Nothing in the claimed limitation prevents the limitation from being performed in the mind. The limitations of “receive a natural language request” and “render the one or more proposed modifications in the IDE interface” are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 8, claims “generate the natural language answer to the natural language query”. This generation step is an additional limitation of the abstract idea “mental process”. The steps of “rendering an in-line chat window” is identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (2106.05(d)) and for the limitation of “receive the natural language query” the courts have identified mere data gathering is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Se MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 9, claims “identify… a potential modification to the industrial code…”. The step of “identify” is an additional limitation of the abstract idea “mental process”. The steps of “render, via the IDE interface, a natural language recommendation” is identified as well-understood, routine, conventional activity (2106.05(d)). The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claim 10, claims “implement one or more modification to the industrial control code…” and “determine the one or more modifications based on information…”. The steps of “implement” and “determine” are additional limitations of the abstract idea “Mental Process”. The limitation of “receive the natural language request to modify” the courts have identified mere data gathering is also well-understood, routine and conventional activity. Se MPEP 2106.05(d) and MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements are neither a practical application under prong 2, nor an inventive concept under step 2B.
Claims 11-20, contain similar limitations to claims 1-9 and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieken et al. (US 2025/0117195 A1)and further in view of David et al. (US 20170295188 A1) and Al-Zubi (US 2022/0291645 A1)
As per claim 1, Rieken et al. teaches the invention as claimed including, “A system, comprising:
a memory that stores executable components and one or more custom models; and
a processor, operatively coupled to the memory, that executes the executable components, the executable components comprising:
a user interface component configured to receive, via an integrated development environment (IDE) interface, a natural language query directed to industrial control code that, in response to execution on an industrial controller, causes the industrial controller to monitor and control an industrial automation system in accordance with the industrial control code; and”
Rieken et al. teaches a developer can provide a request via an artificial intelligence prompt, requesting for an artificial intelligence model to implement a particular change to the code (0014). The artificial intelligence prompt is written in natural language (0015). An input box includes a text field that is configured to receive an artificial intelligent prompt that specifies a modification to be performed on the code (0068-0069 and figure 6). Also see 0017. The developer tool is part of a IDE (0001). Also see 0025, 0029 and 0038.
“a generative artificial intelligence (AI) component configured to, in response to receipt of the natural language query, generate a natural language answer to the natural language query based on analysis of the industrial control code, industry knowledge encoded in the one or more custom models, and a response prompted from a generative AT model comprising information used by the generative Al component to formulate the natural language answer,
wherein the user interface component is configured to render the natural language answer on the IDE interface.”
An artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). AI modified code recommendation logic is configured to provide a recommendation of AI modified code (I.e., code that is modified using artificial intelligence). An interface element in a user interface of the developer tool (IDE) is provided. The AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes the artificial intelligence model to perform the modification by providing the artificial intelligence prompt together with the snippet as input to the artificial intelligent model. A modified snipped results from the artificial intelligent model performing the modification specified by the artificial intelligence prompt. The AI modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer too (0029). Also see figure 6. Also see 0035, 0036, 00038-0040, 0051-0052 and 0069.
However, Rieken et al. does not explicitly appear to teach, ‘…an integrated development environment (IDE) interface, a natural language query directed to industrial control code that, in response to execution on an industrial controller, causes the industrial controller to monitor and control an industrial automation system in accordance with the industrial control code; and” and
“generate a natural language answer to the natural language query based on analysis of the industrial control code”
David et al. teaches and integrated development environment (IDE) for developing controller code. The controller code can be binary code, source code, compiled code, or another type of code (0053).
Al-Zubi teaches a monitor module, upon execution by the processor, can collect and analyze data in near real-time.(0036). Input and output data from the controllers can be collected and evaluated by the monitoring module (0037). Also see abstract and figure 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rieken et al. with David et al. and Al-Zubi. Rieken et al. teaches the use of an IDE to generate/modify code while David et al teaches code generated from an IDE can be code for a controller which is known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Al-Zubi teaches the monitoring of the execution of a controller to improve its performance. Using the known technique of monitoring would allow the monitoring of controller code generated by Rieken et al. and David et al. in order to determine its performance and possibly improve it.
As per claim 2, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the generative AI component is configured to, in response to receipt of the natural language query, formulate a prompt, directed to the generative AI model, designed to obtain the response from the generative AI model comprising the information used by the generative AI component to formulate the natural language answer, and the prompt is formulated based on analysis of the natural language query and the industry knowledge encoded in the one or more custom models.”
An artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). AI modified code recommendation logic is configured to provide a recommendation of AI modified code (I.e., code that is modified using artificial intelligence). An interface element in a user interface of the developer tool (IDE) is provided. The AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes the artificial intelligence model to perform the modification by providing the artificial intelligence prompt together with the snippet as input to the artificial intelligent model. A modified snipped results from the artificial intelligent model performing the modification specified by the artificial intelligence prompt. The AI modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer too (0029). Prompt may be written in natural language 0015. Also see figure 6. Also see 0003, 0015, 0034-0036, and 0069.
As per claim 5, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the generative Al component is further configured to perform contextual analysis on the industrial control code to determine at least one of a type of industrial application or an industrial vertical for which the industrial control code is being developed, and to generate the natural language answer based on a result of the contextual analysis.”
Rieken et al. teaches identifying the language (type of industrial application) in which the code is written. In accordance with this aspect, the artificial intelligence model is caused to generate the documentation in a style that corresponds to the programming language (0051-0052).
As per claim 6, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the industry knowledge encoded in the one or more custom models comprises at least one of libraries of control code instructions, libraries of add-on instructions, libraries of control code samples, libraries of user- defined data types (UDTs), libraries of product manuals for industrial devices or software platforms, specification data for industrial devices, training data, information defining industrial standards, design standards for respective different types of industrial control applications, design standards for respective different industrial verticals, knowledge of industrial best practices, control design rules, or industrial domain-specific language (DSL) syntax data.”
An artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). AI modified code recommendation logic is configured to provide a recommendation of AI modified code (I.e., code that is modified using artificial intelligence) (0029). The artificial intelligence model is a large language model (LLM). A large language model is trained using self-supervised learning and semi-supervised learning (0036).
As per claim 8, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein
the user interface component is configured to:
in response to receipt of a user interaction at a location on a workspace canvas area of the IDE interface in which the industrial control code is being displayed, render an in-line chat window as an overlay on the workspace canvas area, wherein the location corresponds with an element of the industrial control code, and
receive the natural language query via interaction with the in-line chat window, and
the generative AI component is configured to generate the natural language answer to the natural language query based on the analysis using the control code element as a parameter of the natural language query.”
Rieken et al. teaches the AI-modified code recommendation logic provides an interface element in a user interface of the developer tool. The interface element is configured to receive an artificial intelligence prompt that specifies a modification to be performed on the code. Based at least on receipt of the artificial intelligence prompt via the interface element, the AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes an artificial intelligence model to perform the modification on at least the snippet of the code. The AI-modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with the modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer tool (0029). Prompt may be written in natural language 0015. Also see 0035 and 0039-0041. Also see figure 6.
As per claim 11-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20, the contain similar limitations to claims 1-2, 3-6 and 8 and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 3,4,7, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieken et al. (US 2025/0117195 A1), David et al. (US 20170295188 A1) and Al-Zubi (US 2022/0291645 A1) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Ligman et al. (US 2025/0272067 A1).
As per claim 3, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein the natural language answer comprises at least one of an explanation of functionality of a portion of the industrial control code specified in the natural language query, an explanation of a variable used in the industrial control code and specified in the natural language query, an explanation of a unit of equipment controlled by the industrial control code and specified in the natural language query, an indication of a portion of the industrial control code responsible for performing a control function specified in the natural language query, or a recommendation for rewriting the industrial control code in a manner predicted to improve a control performance metric specified in the natural language query.”
Rieken et al. teaches, an artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). AI modified code recommendation logic is configured to provide a recommendation of AI modified code (I.e., code that is modified using artificial intelligence). An interface element in a user interface of the developer tool (IDE) is provided. The AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes the artificial intelligence model to perform the modification by providing the artificial intelligence prompt together with the snippet as input to the artificial intelligent model. A modified snipped results from the artificial intelligent model performing the modification specified by the artificial intelligence prompt. The AI modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer too (0029). Also see 0039. The artificial intelligence model can generate documentation regarding the snippet by providing a second artificial intelligence prompt that requests the documentation regarding the snippet together with the snippet (0051).
However, Rieken et al. does not explicitly appear to teach, “a recommendation for rewriting the industrial control code in a manner predicted to improve a control performance metric specified in the natural language query.”
Ligman et al. teaches, inferring by a machine learning model, edits to the input code block and outputting by the machine learning model an optimized code block based on the input code block (0005). Suggested code edits are formulated to improve the carbon efficiency (performance) of a computer program (0030). A models output inference can generate an optimal energy conserving version of the input code, but with less carbon cost created upon execution of the program that includes the inferred code (0032). Also see 0042 and 0055.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rieken et al. with Ligman et al. because Rieken et al. teaches its AI model is capable of performing any tasks a human is capable of. A human is able to modify/optimize code to improve its performance. Ligman et al. teaches optimizing code for performance using a ML model that is similar to Rieken et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Rieken et al. to do the same to produce similar results.
As per claim 4, Ligman et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 3, wherein the control performance metric comprises at least one of an energy consumption, a part cycle time, a number of machine downtime occurrences.”
Ligman et al. teaches, inferring by a machine learning model, edits to the input code block and outputting by the machine learning model an optimized code block based on the input code block (0005). Suggested code edits are formulated to improve the carbon efficiency (performance) of a computer program (0030). A models output inference can generate an optimal energy conserving version of the input code, but with less carbon cost created upon execution of the program that includes the inferred code (0032). Also see 0042 and 0055.
As per claim 7, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein
the user interface component is further configured to receive a natural language request for a proposed modification to the industrial control code that will address a control performance issue specified in the natural language request,
the generative AI component is further configured to, in response to receipt of the natural language request, determine one or more proposed modifications to the industrial control code designed to address the control performance issue based on analysis of the industrial control code, the industry knowledge encoded in the one or more custom models, and another response prompted from the generative AI model comprising information used by the generative AI component to formulate the proposed modifications, and
the user interface component is configured to render the one or more proposed modifications on the IDE interface as natural language descriptions.”
Rieken et al. teaches a developer can provide a request via an artificial intelligence prompt, requesting for an artificial intelligence model to implement a particular change to the code (0014). The artificial intelligence prompt is written in natural language (0015). An input box includes a text field that is configured to receive an artificial intelligent prompt that specifies a modification to be performed on the code (0068-0069 and figure 6). Also see 0017.
An artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). AI modified code recommendation logic is configured to provide a recommendation of AI modified code (I.e., code that is modified using artificial intelligence). An interface element in a user interface of the developer tool (IDE) is provided. The AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes the artificial intelligence model to perform the modification by providing the artificial intelligence prompt together with the snippet as input to the artificial intelligent model. A modified snipped results from the artificial intelligent model performing the modification specified by the artificial intelligence prompt. The AI modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer too (0029).
However Rieken et al. does not explicitly appear to teach, “determine one or more proposed modifications to the industrial control code designed to address the control performance issue based on analysis of the industrial control code”
Ligman et al. teaches, inferring by a machine learning model, edits to the input code block and outputting by the machine learning model an optimized code block based on the input code block (0005). Suggested code edits are formulated to improve the carbon efficiency (performance) of a computer program (0030). A models output inference can generate an optimal energy conserving version of the input code, but with less carbon cost created upon execution of the program that includes the inferred code (0032). Also see 0042 and 0055.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rieken et al. with Ligman et al. because Rieken et al. teaches its AI model is capable of performing any tasks a human is capable of. A human is able to modify/optimize code to improve its performance. Ligman et al. teaches optimizing code for performance using a ML model that is similar to Rieken et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious for Rieken et al. to do the same to produce similar results.
As per claims 13 and 16, they contain similar limitations to claims 3 and 7 and are therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieken et al. (US 2025/0117195 A1), David et al. (US 20170295188 A1) and Al-Zubi (US 2022/0291645 A1) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Ravindar et al. (US 2021/0286718 A1).
As per claim 9, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein
the analysis is a first analysis,
the generative AI component is further configured to identify, based on a second analysis of the industrial control code, a potential modification to the industrial control code predicted to at least one of reduce a size of the industrial control code without altering control functionality of the industrial control code, reduce a number or distance of movements of a machine controlled using the industrial control code, eliminate an inconsistency in a naming convention for variables used in the industrial control code, or modularize portions of the industrial control code,
the user interface is configured to render, via the IDE interface, a natural language recommendation to implement the potential modification, and
the second analysis is performed on the industrial control code based on the industry knowledge encoded in the one or more custom models and another response prompted from the generative AI model comprising information used by the generative AI component to identify the potential modification.”
Rieken et al. teaches, an artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). Rieken et al. further teaches the AI-modified code recommendation logic provides an interface elements in a user interface of the developer tool. The interface element is configured to receive an artificial intelligence prompt that specifies a modification to be performed on the code. Based at least on receipt of the artificial intelligence prompt via the interface element, the AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes an artificial intelligence model to perform the modification on at least the snippet of the code. The AI-modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with the modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer tool (0029). Prompt may be written in natural language 0015. Also see 0035 and 0039-0041. Also see figure 6.
However, Rieken et al. does not explicitly appear to teach “a potential modification to the industrial control code predicted to at least one of reduce a size of the industrial control code without altering control functionality of the industrial control code”.
Ravindar et al. teaches a code optimizer that can apply optimization techniques to reduce the code size of source code (0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rieken et al. with Ravindar et al. because Rieken et al. teaches its AI model is capable of performing any tasks a human is capable of, such as code modification suggestions. A human is able to modify/optimize code to reduce its size. Ravindar et al. teaches a code optimizer that can apply optimization techniques to reduce the code size of source code. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the machine learning model of Rieken et al. to also determine code modification to reduce the code size. This is nothing more than a design choice and would have been obvious to try.
As per claim 18, contains similar limitations as claim 9 and is therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rieken et al. (US 2025/0117195 A1), David et al. (US 20170295188 A1) and Al-Zubi (US 2022/0291645 A1) as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Stump et al. (US 2022/0299982 A1).
As per claim 10, Rieken et al. further teaches, “The system of claim 1, wherein
the user interface component is further configured to receive a natural language request to modify the industrial control code in a manner that brings the industrial control code into compliance with a specified programming standard, and
the generative AI component is further configured to, in response to receipt of the natural language request, implement one or more modifications to the industrial control code that bring the industrial control code into compliance with the specified programming standard,
wherein the generative AI component is configured to determine the one or more modifications based on information about the specified programming standard defined in the one or more custom models and another response prompted from the generative AI model.
Rieken et al. teaches, an artificial intelligence model is a model that utilizes artificial intelligence to generate an answer, that is responsive to an artificial intelligence prompt. The AI model is capable of performing any task that a human is capable of performing (0016). Rieken et al. further teaches the AI-modified code recommendation logic provides an interface elements in a user interface of the developer tool. The interface element is configured to receive an artificial intelligence prompt that specifies a modification to be performed on the code. Based at least on receipt of the artificial intelligence prompt via the interface element, the AI-modified code recommendation logic automatically causes an artificial intelligence model to perform the modification on at least the snippet of the code. The AI-modified code recommendation logic provides a recommendation to replace the snippet in the code with the modified snippet by causing the processed version of the modified snippet to be displayed via the user interface of the developer tool (0029). Prompt may be written in natural language 0015. Also see 0035 and 0039-0041. Also see figure 6.
However, Rieken et al. does not explicitly appear to teach “the user interface component is further configured to receive a natural language request to modify the industrial control code in a manner that brings the industrial control code into compliance with a specified programming standard, and
the generative AI component is further configured to, in response to receipt of the natural language request, implement one or more modifications to the industrial control code that bring the industrial control code into compliance with the specified programming standard,
wherein the generative AI component is configured to determine the one or more modifications based on information about the specified programming standard defined in the one or more custom models and another response prompted from the generative AI model.
Stump et al. teaches that users can run internal guardrail templates against code provided by outside vendors to ensure code compiles with in-house programing standards. A user interface of an IDE can based on results of the analysis display suggestions for modifying the code in order to bring the code into compliance (0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rieken et al. with Stump et al. because Rieken et al. teaches its AI model is capable of performing any tasks a human is capable of, such as code modification suggestions. A human is able to modify/optimize code to bring the code into compliance with a programming standard. Stump et al. teaches based on analysis suggesting code modifications in order to bring the code into compliance with programming standards. Therefore, it would have been obvious for the AI model of Rieken et al. to also determine code modification to bring the code into compliance with a programming standard. This is nothing more than a design choice and would have been obvious to try.
Conclusion
/MARK A GOORAY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199