DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The reply filed on 18 May 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection caused by the amendments. An applicant interview IS recommended in this case.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged that application is a National Stage application of PCT PCT JP21/37415. Priority to PCT JP21/37415 with a priority date of 8 October 2021 is acknowledged under 35 USC 119(e) and 37 CFR 1.78.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDSs dated 20 March 2024 and 27 November 2024 that have been previously considered remain placed in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
Under MPEP 2143.03, "All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). As a general matter, the grammar and ordinary meaning of terms as understood by one having ordinary skill in the art used in a claim will dictate whether, and to what extent, the language limits the claim scope. Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation.
Under SuperGuide Corp. v. DirecTV Enters., Inc., 358 F.3d 870 (Fed. Cir. 2004), “the phrase ‘at least one of’ precedes a series of categories of criteria, and the patentee used the term ‘and’ to separate the categories of criteria, which connotes a conjunctive list. The district court correctly interpreted this phrase as requiring that the user select at least one value for each category; that is, at least one of a desired program start time, a desired program end time, a desired program service, and a desired program type.”, SuperGuide, 358 F.3d at 886.
Claims 1-4, 6-9 and 11-15 recite “and.” Since “and” is conjunctive, all of the elements must be found in the prior art to reject the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9 and 14 have been amended. The rejection of claims 4, 9 and 14 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 (all claims) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US Patent Publication 2017 0154424 A1, (Uchiyama et al.) in view of Non Patent Publication “Geometry Based Multiple Camera Head Detection in Dense Crowds,” (Pellicano et al.). The references are listed in a PTO-892 from the Office Action in which they are first used. If a reference is not identifiable (e.g., due to a typo), it can be identified by searching for the quoted text.
[AltContent: textbox (Uchiyama et al. Fig. 7, showing tracking a person in 3D.)]
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, Uchiyama et al. teach a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a tracking program ("The object tracking unit 103 tracks the object, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]) causing a computer to execute a process of:
specifying a head region of a person from each of a plurality of images captured by a plurality of cameras ("a position of the head of a person, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]).
[AltContent: textbox (Pellicano et al. Fig. 3, showing tracking the head of a person using a tracklet.)]
Uchiyama et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of tracklets.
However, Pellicano et al. teach for each of a plurality of window sections each of which includes a plurality of the continuous image frames and overlapping with an adjacent window section ("In order to highlight better the specific behavior of our method, we process two different manually annotated sequences, the first one denoted as Sparse containing 200 frames and 2969 manually annotated pedestrians, and a second sequence denoted as Dense containing 500 frames and 18567 annotated pedestrians, most of them being clustered in a transit zone (Fig. 4)," Pg. 8, last Paragraph), specifying a set of head regions corresponding to a same person from the head regions specified within the window section ("we express the head detection problem as a stereo MRF-based optimization of a dense pedestrian height map," Page 3, 1st Paragraph), based on each of positions of the head regions, and specifying a three- dimensional tracklet of the head of the person based on two-dimensional positions of the set of the head regions and parameters of the plurality of cameras ("Tracklet creation and extension: each centroid may either be associated to an existing tracklet if it is located closer than qd from the linearly predicted tracklet location, and if its height is closer than qh to the tracklet average height; otherwise, a new tracklet is created," Page 8, Paragraph 1); and
associating the three-dimensional tracklets of adjacent window sections based on a Euclidean distance between the tracklets to generate an associated trajectory of the person ("Given the ground plane homography H0ij, the identification can be cast as the following optimization problem: (equation) where d(·, ·) is the Euclidian distance operator, and U indicates the intersection between two lines," Page 5, First Paragraph, where homography and Euclidean teach three dimensional tracklets).
Therefore, taking the teachings of Uchiyama et al. and Pellicano et al. as a whole, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to modify “Position Detection Device, Position Detection Method” as taught by Uchiyama et al. to use “Multiple Camera Head Detection in Dense Crowds” as taught by Pellicano et al., showing that Uchiyama et al. and Pellicano et al. are analogous art because both are detecting heads in images and videos. The suggestion/motivation for combination is that, “Pedestrian detection is a fundamental task in computer vision, closely related to applications such as video surveillance, autonomous driving or action recognition. Some characteristics of the analyzed scene and camera setup improve significantly the reliability of the detection: a low pedestrian density, close to vertical optical axis, and a good resolution representation of individuals. However, the recent focus on the analysis of large, densely crowded outdoor areas underlines the current limitations in presence of persistent, heavy clutter.” as noted by the Pellicano et al. disclosure in the Introduction Paragraph, which also motivates combination because the combination would predictably have a higher efficiency as there is a reasonable expectation that different situations may require different strategies to recognize the pedestrians; and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Uchiyama et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the specifying the set of the head regions includes specifying whether, based on a distance between an epipolar line ("When a distance between the representative point of a person in the second camera image and the epipolar line 801 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined value, the person in the second camera image matches the person in the first camera image," paragraph [0060]), which is included in a first image and corresponds to a second head region included in a second image, and a first head region included in the first image, the first head region and the second head region correspond to the head region corresponding to the same person ("estimating the three dimensional position of a person in accordance with the position of the head of the person in the camera image obtained from each camera," paragraph [0050] where from each camera means there are a plurality of cameras and images).
Claim 3
Regarding claim 3, Uchiyama et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 2, wherein the distance is corrected based on a size of the first head region and a size of the second head region ("In the present exemplary embodiment, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 acquires the information on the height of the object. Alternatively, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 may acquire information on the size of the object. [0039] The object attribute acquisition unit 104 includes a first position estimation unit 110," paragraph [0038] where a position estimation unit corrects distance, in this case using information on the size).
Claim 4
Regarding claim 4, Uchiyama et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the process further includes: estimating, based on the position of the head of the person in the three dimension which is specified based on the plurality of images captured by each of the plurality of cameras at a first timing and a third timing, the position of the head of the person in the three dimension at a second timing between the first timing and the second timing ("Thus, the matching person is tracked over a plurality of time points. As a result of the processing, a tracking label I is obtained for each person. The tracking label i is a code for identifying each tracked person," paragraph [0049] where tracking a person over time includes teaching to interpolate positions between the timings).
Claim 5
Regarding claim 5, Uchiyama et al. teach the non-transitory computer-readable recording medium according to claim 1, wherein the specifying the position of the head of the person in the three dimension further includes:
specifying trajectory information of the position of the head of the person in the three dimension for each window section including continuous image frames ("Symbols (frames) 1202, each representing the person area tracked in step S403, are overlapped on the camera image 1201. The frames of the same person in different camera images are colored with the same color, so that the user can recognize the same person in different camera images," paragraph [0079]): and
associating the trajectory information for each window section ("A person in the camera image 1201 and the same person in the 3D map 1204 are colored with the same color, so that the user can easily identify the same person in the camera image 1201 and the 3D map 1204," paragraph [0080]).
Claim 6
Regarding claim 6, Uchiyama et al. teach a tracking method ("The object tracking unit 103 tracks the object, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]) comprising:
specifying a head region of a person from each of a plurality of images captured by a plurality of cameras ("a position of the head of a person, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]).
Uchiyama et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of tracklets.
However, Pellicano et al. teach for each of a plurality of window sections each of which includes a plurality of the continuous image frames and overlapping with an adjacent window section ("In order to highlight better the specific behavior of our method, we process two different manually annotated sequences, the first one denoted as Sparse containing 200 frames and 2969 manually annotated pedestrians, and a second sequence denoted as Dense containing 500 frames and 18567 annotated pedestrians, most of them being clustered in a transit zone (Fig. 4)," Pg. 8, last Paragraph), specifying a set of head regions corresponding to a same person from the head regions specified within the window section ("we express the head detection problem as a stereo MRF-based optimization of a dense pedestrian height map," Page 3, 1st Paragraph), based on each of positions of the head regions and specifying a three- dimensional tracklet of the head of the person based on two-dimensional positions of the set of the head regions and parameters of the plurality of cameras;("Tracklet creation and extension: each centroid may either be associated to an existing tracklet if it is located closer than qd from the linearly predicted tracklet location, and if its height is closer than qh to the tracklet average height; otherwise, a new tracklet is created," Page 8, Paragraph 1); and
associating the three-dimensional tracklets of adjacent window sections based on a Euclidean distance between the tracklets to generate an associated trajectory of the person ("Given the ground plane homography H0ij, the identification can be cast as the following optimization problem: (equation) where d(·, ·) is the Euclidian distance operator, and U indicates the intersection between two lines," Page 5, First Paragraph, where homography and Euclidean teach three dimensional tracklets).
Uchiyama et al. and Pellicano et al. are combined as per claim 1.
Claim 7
Regarding claim 7, Uchiyama et al. teach the tracking method according to claim 6, wherein the specifying the set of the head regions includes specifying whether, based on a distance between an epipolar line ("When a distance between the representative point of a person in the second camera image and the epipolar line 801 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined value, the person in the second camera image matches the person in the first camera image," paragraph [0060]), which is included in a first image and corresponds to a second head region included in a second image, and a first head region included in the first image, the first head region and the second head region correspond to the head region corresponding to the same person ("estimating the three dimensional position of a person in accordance with the position of the head of the person in the camera image obtained from each camera," paragraph [0050] where from each camera means there are a plurality of cameras and images).
Claim 8
Regarding claim 8, Uchiyama et al. teach the tracking program according to claim 7, wherein the distance is corrected based on a size of the first head region and a size of the second head region ("In the present exemplary embodiment, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 acquires the information on the height of the object. Alternatively, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 may acquire information on the size of the object. [0039] The object attribute acquisition unit 104 includes a first position estimation unit 110," paragraph [0038] where a position estimation unit corrects distance, in this case using information on the size).
Claim 9
Regarding claim 9, Uchiyama et al. teach the tracking method according to claim 6, further comprising:
estimating, based on the position of the head of the person in the three dimension which is specified based on the plurality of images captured by each of the plurality of cameras at a first timing and a third timing, the position of the head of the person in the three dimension at a second timing between the first timing and the third timing ("Thus, the matching person is tracked over a plurality of time points. As a result of the processing, a tracking label I is obtained for each person. The tracking label i is a code for identifying each tracked person," paragraph [0049] where tracking a person over time includes teaching to interpolate positions between the timings).
Claim 10
Regarding claim 10, Uchiyama et al. teach the tracking method according to claim 6, wherein the specifying the position of the head of the person in the three dimension further includes:
specifying trajectory information of the position of the head of the person in the three dimension for each window section including continuous image frames ("Symbols (frames) 1202, each representing the person area tracked in step S403, are overlapped on the camera image 1201. The frames of the same person in different camera images are colored with the same color, so that the user can recognize the same person in different camera images," paragraph [0079]): and
associating the trajectory information for each window section ("A person in the camera image 1201 and the same person in the 3D map 1204 are colored with the same color, so that the user can easily identify the same person in the camera image 1201 and the 3D map 1204," paragraph [0080]).
Claim 11
Regarding claim 11, Uchiyama et al. teach an information processing apparatus ("The object tracking unit 103 tracks the object, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]) comprising:
a memory ("The storage medium may include, for example, one or more of a hard disk, a random-access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), a storage of distributed computing systems, an optical disk (such as a compact disc (CD), digital versatile disc (DVD), or Blu-ray Disc (BD)™), a flash memory device, a memory card, and the like," paragraph [0109]); and
a processor coupled to the memory ("one or more processors in the computers in the system or the device read out and execute the program," paragraph [0108]) and configured to:
specify a head region of a person from each of a plurality of images captured by a plurality of cameras ("a position of the head of a person, in the camera image, detected by the object detection unit 102," paragraph [0036]).
Uchiyama et al. is not relied upon to explicitly teach all of tracklets.
However, Pellicano et al. teach for each of a plurality of window sections each of which includes a plurality of the continuous image frames and overlapping with an adjacent window section ("In order to highlight better the specific behavior of our method, we process two different manually annotated sequences, the first one denoted as Sparse containing 200 frames and 2969 manually annotated pedestrians, and a second sequence denoted as Dense containing 500 frames and 18567 annotated pedestrians, most of them being clustered in a transit zone (Fig. 4)," Pg. 8, last Paragraph), specify a set of head regions corresponding to a same person from the head regions specified within the window section ("we express the head detection problem as a stereo MRF-based optimization of a dense pedestrian height map," Page 3, 1st Paragraph), based on each of positions of the head regions and specifying a three- dimensional tracklet of the head of the person based on two-dimensional positions of the set of the head regions and parameters of the plurality of cameras ("Tracklet creation and extension: each centroid may either be associated to an existing tracklet if it is located closer than qd from the linearly predicted tracklet location, and if its height is closer than qh to the tracklet average height; otherwise, a new tracklet is created," Page 8, Paragraph 1); and
associating the three-dimensional tracklets of adjacent window sections based on a Euclidean distance between the tracklets to generate an associated trajectory of the person ("Given the ground plane homography H0ij, the identification can be cast as the following optimization problem: (equation) where d(·, ·) is the Euclidian distance operator, and U indicates the intersection between two lines," Page 5, First Paragraph, where homography and Euclidean teach three dimensional tracklets).
Uchiyama et al. and Pellicano et al. are combined as per claim 1.
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Uchiyama et al. teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor specifies whether, based on a distance between an epipolar line ("When a distance between the representative point of a person in the second camera image and the epipolar line 801 is equal to or smaller than a predetermined value, the person in the second camera image matches the person in the first camera image," paragraph [0060]), which is included in a first image and corresponds to a second head region included in a second image, and a first head region included in the first image, the first head region and the second head region correspond to the head region corresponding to the same person ("estimating the three dimensional position of a person in accordance with the position of the head of the person in the camera image obtained from each camera," paragraph [0050] where from each camera means there are a plurality of cameras and images).
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, Uchiyama et al. teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the processor corrects the distance based on a size of the first head region and a size of the second head region ("In the present exemplary embodiment, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 acquires the information on the height of the object. Alternatively, the object attribute acquisition unit 104 may acquire information on the size of the object. [0039] The object attribute acquisition unit 104 includes a first position estimation unit 110," paragraph [0038] where a position estimation unit corrects distance, in this case using information on the size).
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, Uchiyama et al. teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor estimates, based on the position of the head of the person in the three dimension which is specified based on the plurality of images captured by each of the plurality of cameras at a first timing and a third timing, the position of the head of the person in the three dimension at a second timing between the first timing and the third timing ("Thus, the matching person is tracked over a plurality of time points. As a result of the processing, a tracking label I is obtained for each person. The tracking label i is a code for identifying each tracked person," paragraph [0049] where tracking a person over time includes teaching to interpolate positions between the timings).
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Uchiyama et al. teach the information processing apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the processor specifies trajectory information of the position of the head of the person in the three dimension for each window section including continuous image frames ("Symbols (frames) 1202, each representing the person area tracked in step S403, are overlapped on the camera image 1201. The frames of the same person in different camera images are colored with the same color, so that the user can recognize the same person in different camera images," paragraph [0079]) and associate the trajectory information for each window section ("A person in the camera image 1201 and the same person in the 3D map 1204 are colored with the same color, so that the user can easily identify the same person in the camera image 1201 and the 3D map 1204," paragraph [0080]).
Reference Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US Patent Publication 2023 0326063 A1 to Oami discloses a detection unit (2020), a state estimation unit (2040), and a height estimation unit (2080). The detection unit (2020) detects a target person from a video frame. The state estimation unit (2040) estimates a state of the detected target person. The height estimation unit (2080) estimates a height of the person on the basis of a height of the target person in the video frame in a case where the estimated state satisfies a predetermined condition.
Non Patent Publication “Geometry-Based Multiple Camera Head Detection in Dense Crowds” to Pellicano et al. discloses head detection in crowded environments.
US Patent Publication 2012 0293667 A1 to Baba et al. discloses obtaining first images of a region of interest (ROI) to be imaged and associated with a first time, where the first images are associated with different positions and orientations with respect to the ROI. The method also includes defining an active region in the each of the first images and selecting intrinsic features in each of the first images based on the active region. Second, identifying a portion of the intrinsic features temporally and spatially matching intrinsic features in corresponding ones of second images of the ROI associated with a second time prior to the first time and computing three-dimensional (3D) coordinates for the portion of the intrinsic features. Finally, the method includes computing a relative pose for the first images based on the 3D coordinates.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.E.W/Examiner, Art Unit 2664
Date: 10 August 2026
/JENNIFER MEHMOOD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2664