Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig. 2C: 234, Fig. 2E: 258a, Fig. 2F: 268; 263; 265. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9, 10, 13, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, “a location of the second coverage region” has antecedent basis in claim 1.
In claims 9 and 10, “a first cellular service” has antecedent basis in claim 1.
In claim 13, “a first coverage region” and “a first wireless service” both have antecedent basis in in claim 12.
In claim 19, “a boundary” and “a first coverage region” and “a first mobile service” all have antecedent basis in claim 18.
In claim 20, “a location of the second coverage region of the second mobile service” has antecedent basis in claim 18.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The claim recites a further limitation of a location of a second coverage region of the second cellular service. However, claim 1 already recited this limitation. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jensen PG PUB US 20250119707.
Regarding claim 18, Jensen discloses
a non-transitory, machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processing system [par. 96; computing device] including a processor [par. 110; processors], facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
determining a mobile device is proximate [par. 131; calculate the approximate distance] to a boundary [par. 131; nearest network coverage area] of a first coverage region [par. 125; data sets of coverage provided by home carrier] of a first mobile service [par. 125; home telecommunication service] provided by one of a terrestrial mobile service and a non-terrestrial mobile service [par. 125; home carrier. See fig. 2: 226];
identifying a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of {a} second coverage region [par. 125; data sets of coverage by roaming carrier] of a second mobile service [par. 125; roaming telecommunication service] provided by an alternative one of the terrestrial mobile services and the non-terrestrial mobile service [par. 125; roaming carrier. See fig. 2: 222],
wherein the second coverage region is proximate to the first coverage region [par. 125; defined geographic area. See fig. 4: 440 and 410]; and
forwarding [par. 125; send. See fig. 4: 450] persistent information [par. 125; clusters from metrics of data sets, and map. See fig. 4: 440 and 450] to the mobile device [par. 125; UE device] via the first mobile service,
wherein the persistent information identifies a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the second coverage region, and
wherein the persistent information facilitates guidance [par. 125; map used to determine direction and distance] of the mobile device toward the second coverage region [par. 125; map of clusters to determine distance to cellular coverage area. See fig. 3: 310 outside of coverage and fig. 4: 450].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen PG PUB US 2025/0119707, and further in view of Taylor PG PUB US 2005/0171653 A1.
Regarding claim 1,
Jensen discloses a method, comprising:
detecting, by a processing system [par. 96; computing device] including a processor [par. 110; processors], a cellular communication device [par. 125; UE device]
identifying, by the processing system [*computing device], a second coverage region [par. 125; data sets of coverage by roaming carrier] of a second cellular service [par. 125; roaming telecommunication service] provided by an alternative one of the terrestrial cellular services and the non-terrestrial cellular service [par. 125; roaming carrier. See fig. 2: 222],
wherein the second coverage region is proximate to the first coverage region [par. 125; defined geographic area. See fig. 4: 440 and 410]; and
transmitting [par. 125; generate and send. See fig. 4: 450], by the processing system, persistent information [par. 125; clusters from metrics of data sets, and map. See fig. 4: 440 and 450] to the cellular communication device [par. 125; UE device] via the first cellular service,
wherein the persistent information identifies a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the second coverage region, and
wherein the persistent information enables guidance [par. 125; map used to determine direction and distance] of the cellular communication device in areas beyond the first coverage region [par. 125; map of clusters to determine distance to cellular coverage area. See fig. 3: 310 outside of coverage and fig. 4: 450].
Jensen does not particularly disclose the detecting of the cellular communication device approaching the boundary of a first coverage region of a first cellular service.
However, Taylor further discloses a detecting [Abstract; determining… position is… monitored] of a cellular communication device approaching [par. 22; mobile platform approaches…] a boundary of a first coverage region [par. 17; predefined satellite coverage region].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the first cellular service and the second cellular service [par. 117; cell search… one or more base stations] operate with a common allocated frequency band [par. 117; time and frequency synchronization].
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claims 2 and 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the non-terrestrial cellular service comprises a satellite service [par. 99; satellite network (LEO, MEO)].
Regarding claim 4, which depends from claims 2 and 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the first cellular and the second cellular service comprise a 5G cellular service [par. 99; telecommunication network (e.g. … 5G)].
Regarding claim 5, which depends from claim 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the first coverage region of the first cellular service is separated from the second coverage region of the second cellular service by a whitespace region serviced by neither the first coverage region of the first cellular service nor the second coverage region of the second cellular service [par. 127; location is in a geographic area that lacks coverage for both a home carrier and a roaming carrier. See also fig. 8A and Fig. 6: 610].
Regarding claim 6, which depends from claims 5 and 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the persistent information enables the guidance of the cellular communication device within the whitespace region towards the second coverage region [par. 135; list of steps… get… subscriber to… nearest point of entry (of coverage zone). See fig. 8D].
Regarding claim 7, which depends from claims 7 and 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the persistent information {further} comprises
Regarding claim 8, which depends from claim 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the location of the second coverage region {further} comprises a proximate boundary of the second coverage region [par. 116; boundary of second persistent coverage zone. See fig. 8A: 212].
Regarding claim 9, which depends claim 1:
Jensen does not particularly disclose wherein the detecting the cellular communication device approaching the boundary of the first coverage region further comprises:
detecting by the processing system, a presence of the cellular communication device within an edge region of the first coverage region of
However, Taylor further discloses wherein the detecting the cellular communication device approaching [par. 22; mobile platform approaches…] the boundary of the first coverage region further comprises:
detecting [par. 22; notified of imminent disruption], by the processing system [par. 22; server system], a presence of the cellular communication device within an edge region [par. 22; outer bounds] of the first coverage region [par. 22; coverage region perimeter] of
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 10, which depends from claim 1:
Jensen does not particularly disclose wherein the detecting the cellular communication device approaching the boundary of the first coverage region further comprise:
detecting, by the processing system a direction of movement of the cellular communication device;
estimating, by the processing system and according to the direction of movement, a future location of the cellular communication device; and
determining, by the processing system, the future location extends beyond the first coverage region of
However, Taylor further discloses wherein the detecting the cellular communication device approaching the boundary of the first coverage region further comprises:
detecting, by the processing system [par. 23 server system], a direction of movement [par. 23; travel path] of the cellular communication device [par. 23; mobile platform];
estimating, by the processing system and according to the direction of movement, a future location of the cellular communication device [par. 23; determine that an interruption to the satellite communications link will occur at an approximate point along the travel path of the mobile platform];
and determining, by the processing system, the future location extends beyond the first coverage region of
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 11, which depends from claim 1:
Jensen further discloses wherein the persistent information further comprises an estimate of one of a distance to the second coverage region of the second cellular service, a time of arrival at the second coverage region of the second cellular service, or any combination thereof [par. 125; map information to determine a distance to cellular coverage area].
Regarding claim 12,
Jensen discloses a device, comprising: a processing system [par. 96; computing device] including a processor [par. 110; processors]; and a memory [par. 104; memory] that stores executable instructions [par. 111; computer-readable media] that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising:
estimating a wireless communication device [par. 125; UE device] is par. 124; outside. See fig. 3: 310] of a first coverage region [par. 43; data sets of coverage provided by home carrier] of a first wireless service [par. 43; home telecommunication service] provided by one of a terrestrial wireless service and a non-terrestrial wireless service [par. 125; home carrier. See fig. 2: 226];
identifying a second coverage region [par. 125; data sets of coverage by roaming carrier] of a second wireless service [par. 125; roaming telecommunication service] provided by an alternative one of the terrestrial wireless services and the non-terrestrial wireless service [par. 125; roaming carrier. See fig. 2: 222],
wherein the second coverage region is proximate to the first coverage region [par. 125; defined geographic area. See fig. 4: 440 and 410]; and
forwarding [par. 125; send. See fig. 4: 450] persistent information [par. 125; clusters from metrics of data sets, and map. See fig. 4: 440 and 450] to the wireless communication device [par. 125; UE device] via the first wireless service,
wherein the persistent information identifies a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the second coverage region, and
wherein the persistent information enables guidance [par. 125; map used to determine direction and distance] of the wireless communication device in areas beyond the first coverage region [par. 125; map of clusters to determine distance to cellular coverage area. See fig. 3: 310 outside of coverage and fig. 4: 450].
Jensen does not particularly disclose estimating a wireless communication device is approaching a boundary of a first coverage region of a first wireless service.
However, Taylor further discloses estimating [par. 6; ‘approximate’ time-to-perimeter measurement] a wireless communication device [par. 22; mobile platform approaches…] is approaching a boundary [par. 17; predefined satellite coverage region] of a first coverage region
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 12:
Jensen does not particularly disclose wherein the operations further comprise: providing notification to the wireless communication device via the first wireless service,
wherein the notification indicates the wireless communication device is approaching a boundary of a first coverage region of a first wireless service.
However, Taylor further discloses wherein the operations further comprise: providing a notification [par. 24; pop-up window] to the wireless communication device [par. 24; on board server link] via the first wireless service [par. 23; determined by… ground-based station],
wherein the notification indicates the wireless communication device [par. 23; provided to on board server system via “push”] is approaching a boundary of a first coverage region of a first wireless service [par. 23; determination of point along travel path of link interruption. See fig. 4: 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 14, which depends from claims 13 and 12:
Jensen further discloses wherein the notification [par. 125; home network… generate map… and send to UE. See fig. 4: 450 and fig. 8B: 814-818 and par. 135] further comprises a direction [par. 125; map used by UE to determine direction and distance from UE to new coverage area] associated with a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the second coverage region of the second wireless service [par. 135; persistent coverage zone].
Regarding claim 15,
Jensen further discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
determining an approximate location of the wireless communication device on a map [par. 124; uses… location services to determine… UE’s… precise location and the map to…]; and
identifying a route toward the location of the second coverage region of the second wireless service [par. 135; list version of map generated… get… subscriber to… coverage zone. See fig 8D: 814-818],
-wherein the notification [par. 125; home network… generate map… and send to UE. See fig. 4: 450 and fig. 8B: 814-818] further comprises identification of the route [par. 125; map used by UE to determine direction and distance from UE to new coverage area].
Regarding claim 16, which depends from claim 12:
Jensen further discloses wherein the persistent information further comprises a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the first coverage region [par. 125; data sets… to coverage… by a home carrier. See fig. 4: 430].
Regarding claim 17, which depends from claim 12:
Jensen further discloses wherein the persistent information further comprises an estimate of one of a distance to the second coverage region of the second wireless service, a time of arrival at the second coverage region of the second wireless service, or any combination thereof [par. 125; map information to determine a distance to cellular coverage area].
Regarding claim 19, which depends from claim 18:
Jensen does not particularly disclose wherein the operations further comprise:
providing a notification to the mobile device via the first mobile service
wherein the notification indicates the mobile device is approaching a boundary of a first coverage region of a first mobile service.
However, Taylor further discloses wherein the operations further comprise:
providing a notification [par. 24; pop-up window] to the mobile device [par. 24; on board server link] via the first mobile service [par. 23; determined by… ground-based station],
wherein the notification indicates the mobile device [par. 23; provided to on board server system via “push”] is approaching a boundary of a first coverage region of a first mobile service [par. 23; determination of point along travel path of link interruption. See fig. 4: 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the teaching of Jensen with the teachings of Taylor since it was highly desirable to provide a system and method for determining when a moving mobile platform will enter or exit a satellite coverage region [par. 4] in order to enable a mobile platform to travel in and out of various satellite coverage regions [par. 4].
Regarding claim 20, which depends from claims 19 and 18:
Jensen further discloses wherein the notification [par. 125; home network… generate map… and send to UE. See fig. 4: 450 and fig. 8B: 814-818 and par. 135] further comprises a direction [par. 125; map used by UE to determine direction and distance from UE to new coverage area] associated with a location [par. 125; defined geographic area] of the second coverage region of the second mobile service [par. 135; persistent coverage zone].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jensen PAT US 12,621,632 B2 as this is granted patent of the Jensen PG PUB referenced above.
/ELIJAH PETER WILSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648