DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno et al (US Publication No. 20030168439) in view of Sato et al (US Publication No. 20240222092).
Regarding claim 1, Kanno discloses an electrostatic chuck (i.e., ESC; see for example fig. 2 as shown below, para. [0030]- [0041]), comprising: a dielectric substrate (15) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (1) is to be placed and in which a through hole (29) is perpendicularly (Y-axis) formed with respect to the placement surface (PS); an RF electrode (16) which is embedded inside the dielectric substrate (15); and an attracting electrode (17) which is embedded inside the dielectric substrate (15) at a position (P17) that is closer to the placement surface (PS) than the RF electrode (16), wherein when viewed from a direction perpendicular (Y-axis) to the placement surface, a circular first opening (OP1) which is concentric with the through hole (29) and which includes the through hole (29) is formed in the attracting electrode (17), a circular second opening (OP2) which is concentric with the through hole (29) and which includes the through hole (29) is formed in the RF electrode (16), and a radius (r2) of the second opening (OP2) is larger than a radius (r1) of the first opening (OP1) (i.e., r2 > r1).
Kanno does not explicitly disclose for generating plasma.
Sato discloses an ESC (i.e., see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0067]); wherein the RF electrode (i.e., such as the RF electrode 1111c; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0067]) is for generating plasma (i.e., such as RF electrode 1111c is configured to generate plasma; see for example fig. 3, para. [0037]- [0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the plasma generator in Kanno, as taught by Sato, as it provides the advantage of optimizing the circuit design towards creating a negative self-bias that accelerates ions uniformly toward the wafer surface.
Regarding claim 3, Kanno in view of Sato and the teachings of Kanno as modified by Sato have been discussed above.
Kanno further discloses an electrostatic chuck (i.e., ESC; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0030]- [0041]), wherein the through hole (29) is a hole (29) for supplying gas (i.e., In brief, it is arranged so that the required helium gas is introduced onto the wafer back surface from a through-going hole 29 which is provided at a central portion of the ceramics plate; see for example fig. 2, para. [0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Kanno in view of Sato teaches the invention set forth above. However, neither Kanno nor Sato particularly teaches wherein a difference between the radius of the second opening and the radius of the first opening is equal to or smaller than 2.7 mm.
Hence claim 2 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Claim 4 depends on objected claim 2, consequently claim 4 will also be deemed allowable.
Claims 5-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, Kanno et al (US Publication No. 20030168439) in view of Sato et al (US Publication No. 20240222092) teaches an electrostatic chuck (i.e., ESC; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0030]- [0041]), comprising: a dielectric substrate (15) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (1) is to be placed and in which a through hole (29) is perpendicularly (Y-axis) formed with respect to the placement surface (PS); and an RF electrode (16) which is embedded inside the dielectric substrate (15), wherein a circular opening (OP2) which is concentric with the through hole (29) and which includes the through hole (29) is formed in the RF electrode (16).
Neither Kanno nor Sato teaches or suggests and a radius of the opening is equal to or larger than 1.75 mm.
Claims 6-8 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Kanno et al (US Publication No. 20030168439) in view of Sato et al (US Publication No. 20240222092) teaches an electrostatic chuck (i.e., ESC; see for example fig. 2 as shown above, para. [0030]- [0041]), comprising: a dielectric substrate (15) which includes a placement surface (PS) on which an attracted object (1) is to be placed and in which a through hole (29) is perpendicularly (Y-axis) formed with respect to the placement surface (PS); and an RF electrode (16) which is embedded inside the dielectric substrate (15), wherein a circular opening (OP2) which is concentric with the through hole (29) and which includes the through hole (29) is formed in the RF electrode (16).
Neither Kanno nor Sato teaches or suggests and a difference between a radius of the opening and a radius in a portion of the through hole closest to a side of the placement surface is equal to or larger than 1.6 mm.
Claims 10-12 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claim 9.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838