DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
on page 8, line 21, “head 50” should be --head 48--; and
on page 11, line 5, “heel pin 5 diameter” should be --heel pin’s diameter-- or similar language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “impart and outward” should be --impart an outward--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 both recite the limitation "said blocking element" in the clause introducing the blocker adjustment. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-5 and 7-8 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shute et al. (10,315,099).
Regarding claims 1-2, Shute discloses a heel unit apparatus for a ski touring binding, the apparatus comprising:
a heel body (126);
two heel pins (150, 152) supported on said heel body in positions projecting forwardly from a front end of said heel body in positions of laterally spaced relation to one another (see e.g., Fig. 6);
a heel pin blocker (192) engaging the two heel pins at an adjustable location (see e.g., Col. 8, lines 62-66) within lengthwise mid regions of the two heel pins (see e.g., Fig. 12 showing the blocker 192 between the front and rear ends of pins 150/152, which reads upon a “lengthwise mid region” of the pins when applying a reasonably broad interpretation of the term) in a manner restraining laterally outward spreading of the heel pins at said location;
a blocker adjustment (400) operable to vary said adjustable location at which said blocking element engages the two heel pins; and
a pair of rear pivots defining a rear heel pin restraint (253, see Fig. 12) by which the two heel pins, at rear regions thereof, are:
restrained against longitudinal movement of either of the heel pins; and
restrained against lateral displacement of either of the heel pins (as best shown in Fig. 11, the rounded socket limits movement of the end of the pins in the lateral and longitudinal directions); whereby, owing to lateral restraint of the heel pins at both the rear and intermediate regions thereof, laterally outward spreading of the heel pins at a front region thereof situated in front of the heel body during forced insertion of a footwear heel between said heel pins for engagement thereby, and during safety release of the footwear heel therefrom, is achieved by laterally outward flexure of the heel pins themselves (see e.g., Col. 9, lines 18-57 describing the different forces applied to the pins by the movement of the blocker to adjust the release force in both the forward and lateral directions).
Regarding claim 3, while Shute does not specifically recite that the pins are free to rotate, the pins (150/152) and round sockets (253) have structural shapes that would implicitly permit the pins to rotate about their longitudinal axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shute in view of Eggimann et al. (EP 3581248, see attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 4, while Shute discloses that the pins and rear pin restraint are shaped to have rounded surfaces that allow for pivoting and rotation, it does not disclose that the pin has a circumferential groove that is restrained by cylindrical pins.
Eggimann teaches another heel unit for a ski touring binding where a pair of heel pins (41.1, 41.2) are restrained at their rear ends (see Fig. 5a). The rear ends of the pins have circumferential grooves (44.1, 44.2) that are restrained by cylindrical pivot pins (43.1, 43.2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the heel unit of Shute to include a grooved pin and retention pins as taught by Eggimann to arrive at the claimed device with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine them at least because doing so constitutes a simple substitution of one known element (a complementary pin and groove connection) for another (a ball and socket connection) to obtain predictable results (e.g., a connection that is simpler to manufacture and more readily replaceable if wear/damage occurs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not appear to disclose or otherwise fairly suggest that the heel pin blocker resides overtop the recited tail between the restraint and hub.
Further, while Shute discloses that a single biasing elements imparts retention forces in both the forward and lateral directions, it does not disclose or fairly suggest that the heel unit has a set of contacts supported on the heel post in a static relation thereto between the two heel pins and impart an outward spreading action thereto under rotation of the heel body in either direction out of a centered position.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire reference(s) as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/STEVE CLEMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3618