Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102- 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Bartoszewicz (577,676) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bartoszewicz (577,676) in view of Hathaway (619,743). Bartoszewicz teaches an interchangeable apron cover device comprising: an apron cover frame (Fig. 1) capable of being coupled to a front face of an existing apron of a table between the legs thereof without replacing the existing apron (via rings, see below, attachable via a nail and/or cord attached to the apron), the apron cover frame comprising: a frame base (C’,D); and a plurality of frame rails (a) coupled to the frame base and defining a recessed frame cavity (for picture or photo) and a frame aperture (c) positioned along a bottom portion of the apron cover frame; a first apron insert (picture; column 2, line 69) having a first face and sized and shaped to be received within the recessed frame cavity; a second apron insert (photograph; column 2, line 69) having a second face; when one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron cover frame, the respective first face or second face is displayed outwardly from the existing apron in a display plane of the apron cover frame wherein the apron cover frame is configured to interchangeably receive and retain only one apron insert at a time within the recessed frame cavity; and wherein, each apron insert is engageable with and removable from the recessed frame cavity at substantially a zero degree angle relative to the display plane by sliding the apron insert upward through the bottom frame aperture into or out of the recessed frame cavity. For claim 22, Bartoszewicz does not discuss the rings shown in Fig.2; however, picture frames having dual placement devices, i.e. a kick stand and hanging rings, are well known in the art as shown by Hathaway (at a and a’ in Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the rings shown in Bartoszewicz as hanging devices, such as is shown by Hathaway, to allow the frame to be hung on a vertical surface, including an apron of a table.
For claim 23, Bartoszewicz in view of Hathaway further teaches that the face of the apron insert comprises a decorative element (photo or picture of nature, family, buildings, etc).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartoszewicz (577,676)/ Bartoszewicz in view of Hathaway (619,743), as stated above, and further rejected under durable-north-america.com page (see below). As stated above, Bartoszewicz/ Bartoszewicz in view of Hathaway teaches the limitations of claim 22, including apron inserts. For claim 24, Bartoszewicz/Bartoszewicz in view of Hathaway fails to teach that the apron insert comprises a non-decorative functional element. The webpage teaches using a frame with an insert inside to inform workers of an upcoming meeting. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an informative insert within the frame of Bartoszewicz/Bartoszewicz in view of Hathaway, such as the insert shown in the webpage, to provide useful information for those passing by the frame.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Please note that the table is not being positively claimed in claim 22. However, tables (for example reference CA 2,846,952) having a plurality of existing legs (48), an existing table top (22), and an existing apron (42), the existing apron comprising a non-leg structural portion of the table that is vertically positioned directly beneath an underside of the existing table top and extends between two of the existing legs are well known in the art. The frame of Bartoszewicz being capable of being hung on one of the aprons for aesthetic or informational reasons.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wilkens
July 29, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637