Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a(1)) as being antecedent by Paul (6,658,677). Paul teaches an interchangeable apron cover device (12,19a,b,14) for an existing table, the existing table having a plurality of existing legs (sides of 11), an existing table top (top of 11), and an existing apron (18), the existing apron comprising a non-leg portion of the table that is vertically positioned directly beneath an underside of the existing table top and extends between two of the existing legs (when drawer is closed; see Fig. 1; Note: table is not positively being claimed.), the interchangeable apron cover device comprising: a first apron insert (14) having a first face; a second apron insert (14; column 3, lines 1-5) having a second face; an apron cover frame (including 19a,b, 12) configured to be coupled to the existing apron of the existing table, the apron cover frame comprising a frame base (12) and a plurality of frame rails (19a,b) coupled to the frame base so as to form a frame cavity or recess (Fig. 3) and a frame aperture (see Fig. 4) through which an apron insert may be slid into the frame cavity or recess, the apron cover frame having a display plane in which a face of an apron insert that is coupled to the apron cover frame may be disposed, the apron cover frame configured to interchangeably receive and engage the first apron insert and the second apron insert such that only one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert can be interchangeably engaged to the apron cover frame at one time (column 3, lines 1-5); and wherein, when one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron cover frame, the respective first face or second face is displayed outwardly from the existing apron in the display plane of the apron cover frame, and the apron insert engages with and is removable from the apron cover frame at substantially a zero degree angle relative to the display plane of the apron cover frame by sliding the apron insert through the frame aperture of the apron cover frame into or out of the frame cavity or recess. Wherein the face of the apron insert comprises a decoration element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul (6,658,677) in view of Hommes (5,671,987). As stated above, Paul teaches the limitations of claim 21, including an apron having inserts with a decorative element. For claims 14 and 15, Paul fails to teach that the face of one of the apron inserts comprises a utility element. Hommes teaches a drawer with an insert (64) that conveys drawer content information which makes it a utility element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify one of the inserts of Paul by making it a utility element, such as is taught by Hommes, to provide drawer contents information to a user.
Claims 1-7, 9-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martinez (3,697,363) in view of Ma et al (2008/0004953) and Jyringi (6,286,440). Martinez teaches an interchangeable apron cover device (Fig. 1), the device comprising: a device table having a plurality of table legs (24), a table top (22), and an apron insert frame (14), wherein the apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs (Fig. 1); a first apron insert (12) configured to interchangeably engage within the apron insert frame, the first apron insert having a first face, wherein the first face of the first apron insert is displayed outwardly from the apron insert frame when the first apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron insert frame; and a second apron insert (another 12 column 3, lines 30-35) configured to interchangeably engage to the apron insert frame, such that the apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time, the second apron insert having a second face, wherein the second face of the second apron insert is displayed outwardly from the apron insert frame when the second apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron insert frame, and wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert engage with and are removable from the apron frame at substantially a zero degree angle relative to a display plane of the apron insert frame (Fig. 1). Wherein the first face of the first interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decoration element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the second face of the second interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decoration element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez also inherently teaches a method of customizing a table, the method including the steps of: providing a first apron insert (12) having a first face; providing a second apron insert (another 12) having a second face; providing a first apron insert frame (14), the first apron insert frame coupled to a device table having a plurality of table legs (24) and a table top (22), wherein the first apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs, and wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert are configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert frame, such that the first apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time; and providing a second apron insert frame (14; opposite side), the second apron insert frame coupled to the device table, wherein the second apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs, wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert are configured to interchangeably engage to the second apron insert frame, such that the second apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time. Wherein the face of the first interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the face of the second interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez further inherently teaches a method of customizing an existing table (Fig. 1), the existing table having a plurality of existing table legs (24), an existing table top (22), a first existing apron (36), and a second existing apron (36; Fig. 2), the method including the steps of: providing a first apron insert (12), the first apron insert having a first face; providing a second apron insert (12), the second apron insert having a second face; providing a first apron cover frame (14) that is coupled to the first existing apron, the first apron cover frame configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert and to the second apron insert, such that only one of the first apron insert and second apron insert can be interchangeably engaged to the first apron cover frame at one time; and providing a second apron cover frame (14) that is coupled to the second existing apron, the second first apron cover frame configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert and to the second apron insert, such that only one of the first apron insert and second apron insert can be interchangeably engaged to the second apron cover frame at one time. Wherein the first face of the first apron insert is one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the second face of the second apron insert is one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez further teaches a receptacle under the table (in the cabinet portion). This portion inherently being capable of holding non-used inserts therein. Martinez fails to teach an electronic insert(s) wherein the corresponding computer components are held by a space below the table. First, Ma teaches the use of electronic inserts/signs integrated with a structure (Fig. 1; abstract). The signs can determine characteristics of the person at the structure using Ai and can then advertise to them accordingly (paragraph 0043, for example). The signs providing both decorative and utility elements. Second, Jyringi teaches a computer system (40) with a control unit, computing device, and network interface located within a desk below its table (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Martinez by using electronic inserts, such as is taught by Ma, and adding computer components related thereto within the receptacle there under, such as is taught by Jyringi, to expand and modernize the use of the table and to provide unlimited types of displays, e.g. advertising, decorative or utility, with the table.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 13 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Addressing the arguments concerning Martinez (3,697,363) in view of Ma et al (2008/0004953) and Jyringi (6,286,440): the examiner contends that Martinez does teach the table structure limitations as claimed, including a table having legs, a table top and an apron insert frame wherein the apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs. There is nothing in claims 1 and 7 that state that the apron insert frame is attached to an existing table with an apron as implied by the arguments. The claims simply state that the table top and/or legs and apron insert frame are coupled to each other and that can be when the structure is initially being constructed. For claim 16, member 36 of Martinez can be considered the existing apron. This structure meeting the definition found in the specification, i.e. a non-leg and non-corner block portion of a table that is vertically positioned directly beneath the underside of the standard table top ... and span between the top portions of two table legs forming a bracing support structure for the table base with each apron facing outward. As for the one insert being inserted at a time, since Martinez teaches numerous inserts, one could simply only use one at a time in the apron insert frame.
Addressing the reference of DE202205000224: the insert in this apron insert frame cannot be inserted and removed at a zero degree angle. That is why this reference has not be applied to the claims 1 and 21.
Addressing reference of Paul (6,658,677) applied to new claim 21: because the claim does not positively directly couple the existing apron to the top and/or legs of the table, which itself is not being positively claimed, the structure of Paul meets all of the claim limitations.
Wilkens
May 4, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637