Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Martinez (3,697,363) in view of Ma et al (2008/0004953) and Jyringi (6,286,440). Martinez teaches an interchangeable apron cover device (Fig. 1), the device comprising: a device table having a plurality of table legs (24), a table top (22), and an apron insert frame (14), wherein the apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs (Fig. 1); a first apron insert (12) configured to interchangeably engage within the apron insert frame, the first apron insert having a first face, wherein the first face of the first apron insert is displayed outwardly from the apron insert frame when the first apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron insert frame; and a second apron insert (another 12 column 3, lines 30-35) configured to interchangeably engage to the apron insert frame, such that the apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time, the second apron insert having a second face, wherein the second face of the second apron insert is displayed outwardly from the apron insert frame when the second apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the apron insert frame, and wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert engage with and are removable from the apron frame at substantially a zero degree angle relative to a display plane of the apron insert frame (Fig. 1). Wherein the first face of the first interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decoration element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the second face of the second interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decoration element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez also inherently teaches a method of customizing a table, the method including the steps of: providing a first apron insert (12) having a first face; providing a second apron insert (another 12) having a second face; providing a first apron insert frame (14), the first apron insert frame coupled to a device table having a plurality of table legs (24) and a table top (22), wherein the first apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs, and wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert are configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert frame, such that the first apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time; and providing a second apron insert frame (14; opposite side), the second apron insert frame coupled to the device table, wherein the second apron insert frame is coupled to at least one of the table top and the plurality of table legs, wherein the first apron insert and the second apron insert are configured to interchangeably engage to the second apron insert frame, such that the second apron insert frame is only able to interchangeably engage to one of the first apron insert and the second apron insert at one time. Wherein the face of the first interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the face of the second interchangeable apron insert comprises one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez further teaches an interchangeable apron cover device (Fig. 1), the device comprising: an apron insert (12) having a face; a first apron cover frame (14) configured to receive the apron insert; a second apron cover frame (14; opposite side) configured to receive the apron insert (12); wherein the apron insert is configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron cover frame, wherein the face of the apron insert is displayed outwardly from the first apron cover frame when the apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the first apron cover frame, and wherein the apron insert engages with and is removable from the first apron cover frame at substantially a zero degree angle relative to a display plane of the first apron cover frame (Fig. 1); and wherein the apron insert is configured to interchangeably engage to the second apron cover frame, wherein the face of the apron insert is displayed outwardly from the second apron cover frame when the apron insert is interchangeably engaged to the second apron cover frame; wherein the apron insert engages with and is removable from the second apron cover frame at substantially a zero degree angle relative to a display plane of the second apron cover frame; and wherein the apron insert is not simultaneously engageable to both the first apron cover frame and the second apron cover frame. Wherein the face of the apron insert comprises a decoration element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the face of the apron insert comprises a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the face of the apron insert comprises both a decoration element and utility element.
Martinez further inherently teaches a method of customizing an existing table (Fig. 1), the existing table having a plurality of existing table legs (24), an existing table top (22), a first existing apron (36), and a second existing apron (36; Fig. 2), the method including the steps of: providing a first apron insert (12), the first apron insert having a first face; providing a second apron insert (12), the second apron insert having a second face; providing a first apron cover frame (14) that is coupled to the first existing apron, the first apron cover frame configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert and to the second apron insert, such that only one of the first apron insert and second apron insert can be interchangeably engaged to the first apron cover frame at one time; and providing a second apron cover frame (14) that is coupled to the second existing apron, the second first apron cover frame configured to interchangeably engage to the first apron insert and to the second apron insert, such that only one of the first apron insert and second apron insert can be interchangeably engaged to the second apron cover frame at one time. Wherein the first face of the first apron insert is one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35). Wherein the second face of the second apron insert is one of a decorative element and a utility element (column 3, lines 20-35).
Martinez further teaches a receptacle under the table (in the cabinet portion). This portion inherently being capable of holding non-used inserts therein. Martinez fails to teach an electronic insert(s) wherein the corresponding computer components are held by a space below the table. First, Ma teaches the use of electronic inserts/signs integrated with a structure (Fig. 1; abstract). The signs can determine characteristics of the person at the structure using Ai and can then advertise to them accordingly (paragraph 0043, for example). The signs providing both decorative and utility elements. Second, Jyringi teaches a computer system (40) with a control unit, computing device, and network interface located within a desk below its table (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Martinez by using electronic inserts, such as is taught by Ma, and adding computer components related thereto within the receptacle there under, such as is taught by Jyringi, to expand and modernize the use of the table and to provide unlimited types of displays, e.g. advertising, decorative or utility, with the table.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Ai limitations have been added to the independent claims. Using Ai on a screen/insert to advertise or provide a visual display is well known, as shown by Ma et al. The examiner contends that modernizing the table/furniture of Martinez to include such insert(s) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art for the advantages stated above.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Wilkens
January 12, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637