DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fish et al. (US 2011/0044566 A1, hereinafter Fish).
Regarding claim 1, Fish teaches a bag component for a product, the bag component comprising a first plastic film (102) and a second plastic film (104), the first plastic film and the second plastic film being placed on top of each other,
wherein a product space is delimited by mutually opposite sides of the first plastic film and the second plastic film and a boundary,
wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film are joined to each other along a first portion (110, 112, 114) of the boundary,
wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film are not directly joined to each other to form a reception space (124) for the product and/or an insert component along a second portion (120, 122) of the boundary, and
wherein:
at least one of the first plastic film and the second plastic film comprises at least one recess (140, 142,144 and the like) in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary and at a location where the first plastic film and the second plastic film are not directly joined to each other (FIG. 1-4, 20, 21, 25-33), and
the mutually opposite sides of the first plastic film and the second plastic film forming the product space do not include any recesses (FIG. 1) (paragraphs 48-59, 62-64, 69-82, 85-91 and FIG. 1-4, 20, 21, 25-33).
Regarding claim 2, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one recess is cup-shaped (FIG. 21, 27-33).
Regarding claim 3, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one recess is grid-shaped (FIG. 21).
Regarding claim 4, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one recess comprises a plurality of recesses in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary (FIG. 1-4, 20, 21, 25-33).
Regarding claim 5, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein the plurality of recesses form a regular pattern or an irregular patter (FIG. 1-4, 20, 21, 25-33).
Regarding claim 6, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein all of the plurality of recesses have a same geometry (FIG. 1, 20, 28-31).
Regarding claim 7, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein at least two of the plurality of recesses have a different geometry (FIG. 26, 27, 32, 33).
Regarding claim 8, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein adjacent recesses of the plurality of recesses are spaced from one another (FIG. 21, 27, 29, 31, 33).
Regarding claim 9, Fish teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film each comprise at least one of the plurality of recesses in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary (FIG. 1, 21, 27, 29, 31, 33).
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Muth (WO 2007/088026 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Muth teaches a bag component for a product, the bag component comprising a first plastic film (120) and a second plastic film (130), the first plastic film and the second plastic film being placed on top of each other (Fig. 2-6),
wherein a product space is delimited by mutually opposite sides of the first plastic film and the second plastic film and a boundary (Fig. 2),
wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film are joined to each other along a first portion (230) of the boundary,
wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film are not directly joined to each other to form a reception space for the product and/or an insert component along a second portion (240) of the boundary, and
wherein:
at least one of the first plastic film and the second plastic film comprises at least one recess (355, 385) in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary and at a location where the first plastic film and the second plastic film are not directly joined to each other (Fig. 6), and
the mutually opposite sides of the first plastic film and the second plastic film forming the product space do not include any recesses (Fig. 2) (Translation and Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 2, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one recess is cup-shaped (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein the at least one recess comprises a plurality of recesses in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 5, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein the plurality of recesses form a regular or irregular pattern (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 6, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein all of the plurality of recesses have a same geometry (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 8, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein adjacent recesses of the plurality of recesses are spaced from one another (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 9, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 4 above, wherein the first plastic film and the second plastic film each comprise at least one of the plurality of recesses in or adjacent to the second portion of the boundary (Fig. 2-6).
Regarding claim 10, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, wherein said insert component (210, 250, 150, 155) is arranged in the reception space and fixed to the first plastic film and/or the second plastic film (Translation and Fig. 2-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muth, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Balteau et al. (US 5,431,496 A, hereinafter Balteau).
Regarding claim 16, Muth teaches the bag component of claim 1 above, but fails to teach the first plastic film and the second plastic film being bonded to each other in the product space to define a plurality of product chambers within the product space.
Balteau teaches an analogous bag component for a product comprising first and second films, wherein a product space is delimited by mutually opposite sides of the first plastic film and the second plastic film and a boundary. Balteau further teaches that it is known and desirable in the prior art to bond (22, 58) the first and second plastic film to each other in the product space to define a plurality of product chambers within the product space for enabling housing, mixing and dispensing of a plurality of products from a single bag component (column 2 line 10-column 5 lines 37 and FIG. 1-5).
Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Muth by bonding the first plastic film and the second plastic film to each other in the product space to define a plurality of product chambers within the product space, as taught by Balteau, for enabling housing, mixing and dispensing of a plurality of products from a single bag component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NINA K ATTEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734