DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: in ¶ 0073 of the specification, applicant discusses p1 shown in Fig. 2 however, p1 is not shown in Fig. 2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: The claims discuss “first members”, “second member” and a “third member” that are not defined in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20170012330-A1) in view of Jang et al. (US-20250070320-A1)
With regards to claim 1, Kim teaches a temperature adjustment module that properly adjusts the temperature of a battery pack (¶ 0005 and ¶ 0092). This temperature adjustment module reads on a battery system. Kim teaches a frame configured to divide a space for arranging cell modules and also form supply flow channels of air (¶ 0010 and Fig. 2). ¶ 0093, Kim teaches that external air flows to the frame to cool the cell modules in the battery pack. This frame reads on a cooling block disposed below a battery pack. Kim teaches that the frame includes side frames that communicate with cross frames which communicate with a center frame (¶ 0011-¶ 0012). Kim teaches that a plurality of side frames may be disposed at the left and right sides of the frame with the center frame disposed between the side frames, dividing the battery pack into left and right portions (¶ 0061). Kim also teaches that the cross frames are disposed in the transverse direction and connect the center frame and the side frames (¶ 0061). The side frames read on the first members disposed on left and right sides of the battery pack and the center frame reads on a second member disposed at the middle of the battery pack. Kim teaches that the cross frames, the center frame and the side frames form flow channels provided therein (¶ 0062). The flow channel formed in the side frames (first members) reads on a second passage while the flow channels formed in the cross frames read on first passages and the flow channel formed in the center frame reads on a third passage. In ¶ 0064, Kim teaches that air from the second passage (side frame flow) flows into the first passage (cross frame flow) and this air then flows into the third passage (center frame flow). This reads on a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows by connecting a first passage (cross frame flow) in the cooling block (frame) to second passages (side frame flow) in first members (side frames) disposed on left and right sides of the battery pack and a third passage (center frame flow) in a second member (center frame) disposed at a
middle of the battery pack. See Fig. 2 and 5 below.
In ¶ 0010 and in Fig. 2, Kim teaches that the cooling block (frame) is formed on a tray that supports the cell modules however, Kim does not specifically that the cooling block (frame) is formed under the battery pack.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches a battery pack case including a cooling plate, side plates and center frame coupled to the cooling plate to divide the storing space formed by the side plates (¶ 0010). Jang teaches that since the cooling plate widely contacts the entire bottom of the battery modules, it effectively cools the battery modules (¶ 0042). Jang teaches that a coolant is circulated through a flow path to absorb the heat generated in the battery module and dissipated it to the outside to maintain temperature of the battery modules at a reasonable level (¶ 0042).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the tray taught by Kim to include the flow paths of the frame taught by Kim within the tray taught by Kim to form a cooling plate as taught by Jang, this would predictably increase the surface contact at the bottom of the battery and effectively cool the battery modules. Through this modification, modified Kim teaches cooling block disposed under a battery pack and a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows by connecting a first passage (cross frame flow) in the cooling block (frame) to second passages (side frame flow) in first members (side frames) disposed on left and right sides of the battery pack and a third passage (center frame flow) in a second member (center frame) disposed at a middle of the battery pack.
With regards to claim 2, as mentioned earlier, Kim teaches that the center frame is disposed in a longitudinal direction and divides the battery pack into left and right portions (¶ 0061). The center frame reads on the second member comprising a longitudinal member disposed in a longitudinal direction at the middle of the battery pack. As shown in Fig. 5, the third passage (center frame flow) is disposed along the longitudinal member in the longitudinal direction. As discussed above, Kim teaches that the cross frames, the second member (center frame) and the first members (side frames) form flow channels provided therein (¶ 0062) and air in the first members (side frames) flows through the cross frames into the second member (center frame) (¶ 0064). This reads on the third passage (center frame flow) being connected to the first passage (cross frame flow) in the cooling block such that the coolant (air) in the cooling block flows into the third passage (center frame flow).
With regards to claim 3, Kim teaches that the cross frames are disposed on the left and right portions of the battery pack and includes the first passage (cross frame flow) (¶ 0061-¶ 0062, ¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the cooling block comprising a left cooling block (left cross frame) and a right cooling block (right cross frames), each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block comprising the first passage (cross frame flow). Kim teaches that air introduced into the first passage (cross frames flow channel) flows into the center frame (¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the first passage (cross frames flow channel) disposed in each of the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) and the third passage (center frame flow) disposed along the longitudinal member are open to each other. As shown in Fig. 6 below, the longitudinal member (center frame), the left cooling block (left cross frame), and the right cooling block (right cross frame) are in surface contact so that each of the first passages (cross frame flow) and the third passage (center frame flow) are connected to each other. See fig. 5 and 6 below.
Kim teaches that the frame which includes the longitudinal member (center frame) is fixed and supported by the tray and is combined by bolting or welding (¶ 0071). Kim also teaches that the frame protrudes upwardly from the tray. However, Kim does not specifically teach an insertion groove is disposed between the left cooling block and the right cooling block and the longitudinal member is assembled in the insertion groove.
Similar to Kim, Jang teaches that the longitudinal member (center frame) is coupled to the cooling plate (tray) (¶ 0044). Jang teaches that the cooling plate(tray) is provided with a slot formed by penetrating along the coupling position of the center frame (¶ 0046). Jang teaches that the slot is provided with a fastening point of the center frame to be fixed to the cooling plate (¶ 0049). Similar to Kim, Jang teaches bolting and welding as methods by which the frame me be fastened to the cooling plate at the fastening point (¶ 0049). Jang teaches that fixing the frame to the cooling plate via the slot and fastening points ensures a secure fix. This slot reads on an insertion groove in which the longitudinal member (center frame ) is disposed. As shown
in Fig. 6 below, the bottom portion of the center frame is inserted into the slot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a slot on the cooling plate (tray) taught by modified Kim to fix the center frame to the cooling plate (tray) by inserting the bottom portion of the center frame into the insertion groove (slot) as taught by Jang. This would predictably ensure a secure fix of the frame onto the cooling plate (tray). Through this modification, modified Kim teaches an insertion groove (slot) is disposed between the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) and the longitudinal member(center frame) is assembled in the insertion groove.
With regards to claim 4, as discussed above, Kim teaches that the center frame divides the battery pack into left and right portions (¶ 0061). Modified Kim teaches that an insertion groove is formed on the modified tray in which the bottom portion of the longitudinal member (center frame ) is inserted. The longitudinal member (center frame) reads on a partitioning unit disposed to protrude on a bottom of the longitudinal member (center frame) and assembled in the insertion groove (slot).
With regards to claim 5, as discussed above, Kim teaches that a flow channel which reads on the third passage is formed along the longitudinal member (center frame) (¶ 0062). Modified Kim also teaches that the longitudinal member comprises a partitioning unit disposed at the bottom portion of the longitudinal member (center frame). Since the third passage flows along longitudinal member (center frame) which comprises the partitioning unit, the third passage (center frame flow) of the longitudinal member (center frame) may be disposed on each of a left side and a right side of the partitioning unit. Although Kim teaches that the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames),which include the first passage, communicate with the longitudinal member (center frame) which includes the third passage (¶ 0095), Kim does not specifically teach that the third passage of the longitudinal member is disposed in a shape having an open bottom; and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block have a shape having an open top to be connected to the third passages of the longitudinal member having the open bottom.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the center frame flow channel (third passage) and the cross frames flow channel (first passage) taught by modified Kim in a shape having an open bottom and an open top, respectively, to be connected to each other as this would predictably allow the channels to communicate with each other. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Through this modification, modified Kim renders obvious third passage of the longitudinal member being disposed on each of a left side and a right side of the partitioning unit in a shape having an open bottom; and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block have a shape having an open top to be connected to the third passages of the longitudinal member having the open bottom.
With regards to claim 6, as mentioned above, modified Kim teaches that the bottom portion of the longitudinal member is inserted into the insertion groove (slot). This reads on a lower end of the longitudinal member being assembled in the insertion groove. As discussed above, Kim teaches that the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames), which include the first passage, communicate with the longitudinal member (center frame) which includes the third passage (¶ 0095). As shown in Fig. 4 below, first passage (cross frame flow channel) of each of the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames) are connected to the side of the third passage (center frame flow channel) of the longitudinal member. Kim does not specifically teach that the third passage has a shape having an open side and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block are connected to the open side of the third passage of
the longitudinal member. See Fig. 4 below.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the center frame flow channel (third passage) taught by modified Kim to have a shape having an open side to be connected to the first passage (cross frame flow channel) as this would predictably allow the channels to communicate with each other. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Through this modification, modified Kim renders obvious the third passage (center frame flow channel) of the longitudinal member (center frame) having a shape having an open side; and the first passage (cross frame flow channels) of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block (cross frames) are connected to the open side of the third passage of the longitudinal member.
With regards to claim 7, modified Kim teaches that the bottom portion of the longitudinal member (center frame) is inserted in the cooling plate (tray) taught by modified Kim. This reads on the longitudinal member being disposed under the cooling block. Kim teaches that the longitudinal member (center frame) protrudes upwardly from the tray and divides the battery pack into left and right portion (¶ 0061 and ¶ 0071). The longitudinal member (center frame) reads on a partitioning unit that protrudes on a top of the longitudinal member and is assembled in the insertion groove (slot). As shown in Fig. 4 above, first passage (cross frame flow channel) of each of the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames) are connected to the side of the third passage (center frame flow channel) of the longitudinal member. Kim teaches that the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames), which include the first passage, communicate with the longitudinal member (center frame) which includes the third passage (¶ 0095). Kim does not specifically teach that the third passage of the longitudinal member is disposed in a shape having an open top; and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block have a shape having an open bottom to be connected to the third passages of the longitudinal member having the open bottom.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the center frame flow channel (third passage) and the cross frames flow channel (first passage) taught by modified Kim in a shape having an open top and an open bottom, respectively, to be connected to each other as this would predictably allow the channels to communicate with each other. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Through this modification, modified Kim renders obvious third passage of the longitudinal member being disposed on each of a left side and a right side of the partitioning unit (longitudinal member) in a shape having an open top; and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block have a shape having an open bottom to be connected to the open top of the third passage.
With regards to claim 8, Kim teaches that the cross frames are disposed on the left and right portions of the battery pack and includes the first passage (cross frame flow) (¶ 0061-¶ 0062, ¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the cooling block comprising a left cooling block (left cross frame) and a right cooling block (right cross frames), each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block comprising the first passage (cross frame flow). Modified Kim also teaches that the first passage is formed under the cooling plate (tray) which supports the battery modules and frame (¶ 0010). Kim teaches that the frame, which comprise the longitudinal member (center frame), is disposed between cell modules in the battery pack (¶ 0080). As shown in Fig. 2 the longitudinal member is formed on top of the cooling plate (tray). This reads on the longitudinal member (center frame) being disposed on a top of the cooling block to be mounted between battery modules disposed in the battery pack. Kim teaches that the frame which includes the longitudinal member (center frame) is fixed and supported by the tray and is combined by bolting or welding (¶ 0071). However, Kim does not specifically teach an insertion groove is disposed between the left cooling block and the right cooling block and the longitudinal member is inserted into the insertion groove while being supported by the left cooling block and the right cooling block.
Similar to Kim, Jang teaches that the longitudinal member (center frame) is coupled to the cooling plate (tray) (¶ 0044). Jang teaches that the cooling plate(tray) is provided with a slot formed by penetrating along the coupling position of the center frame (¶ 0046). Jang teaches that the slot is provided with a fastening point of the center frame to be fixed to the cooling plate (¶ 0049). Similar to Kim, Jang teaches bolting and welding as methods by which the frame me be fastened to the cooling plate at the fastening point (¶ 0049). Jang teaches that fixing the frame to the cooling plate via the slot and fastening points ensures a secure fix. This slot reads on an insertion groove in which the longitudinal member (center frame) is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a slot on the cooling plate (tray) taught by modified Kim to fix the center frame to the cooling plate (tray) by inserting the bottom portion of the center frame into the insertion groove (slot) as taught by Jang. This would predictably ensure a secure fix of the frame onto the cooling plate (tray). Through this modification, modified Kim teaches an insertion groove (slot) is disposed between the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) and the longitudinal member (center frame) is assembled in the insertion groove (slot) while being supported by the left cooling block and the right cooling block which are included in the cooling plate (tray).
With regards to claim 9, Kim teaches an internal duct (121) at the front of the battery pack formed on a top surface of the longitudinal member (fig. 2). This duct reads on a third member disposed at a front side of the battery pack and supported by a top surface of the longitudinal member.
With regards to claim 11, Kim teaches a temperature adjustment module that properly adjusts the temperature of a battery pack (¶ 0005 and ¶ 0092). This temperature adjustment module reads on a battery system. Kim teaches a frame configured to divide a space for arranging cell modules and also form supply flow channels of air (¶ 0010 and Fig. 2). ¶ 0093, Kim teaches that external air flows to the frame to cool the cell modules in the battery pack. This frame reads on a cooling block disposed below a battery pack. Kim teaches that the frame includes side frames that communicate with cross frames which communicate with a center frame (¶ 0011-¶ 0012). Kim teaches that the side frames and the center frames are disposed in the longitudinal direction (¶ 0061). Kim also teaches that the side frames may be disposed at the left and right sides of the frame with the center frame disposed between the side frames, dividing the battery pack into left and right portions (¶ 0061). Kim also teaches that the cross frames are disposed in the transverse direction and connect the center frame and the side frames (¶ 0061). Kim teaches that the cross frames, the center frame and the side frames form flow channels provided therein (¶ 0062). The flow channel formed in the side frames read on the first passages and the side frames read on the side members. The flow channels formed in the cross frames reads on the second passages. Kim teaches that the center frame includes a supply flow channel formed inside the center frame and a return flow channel formed along the center frame and between the center frame and the cover (¶ 0057- ¶ 0058 and Fig. 5). These flow channels formed in and along the center frame read on third passages and the center frame reads on a longitudinal member. In ¶ 0064, Kim teaches that air from the first passage (side frame flow) flows into the second passage (cross frame flow) and this air then flows into the third passage (center frame flow). This reads on a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows, the cooling passage comprising first passages (side frame flow) disposed in a longitudinal direction along side members (side frames) disposed on a left side and a right side of the battery pack; a second passage (cross frame flow) disposed in a transverse direction inside the cooling block to be connected to the first passage; and third passages (center frame flow) disposed in the longitudinal direction along a longitudinal member disposed at a middle of the battery pack to be connected to the second passage (cross frame
flow). See Fig. 2 and 5 below.
In ¶ 0010 and in Fig. 2, Kim teaches that the cooling block (frame) is formed on a tray that supports the cell modules however, Kim does not specifically that the cooling block (frame) is formed under the battery pack.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches a battery pack case including a cooling plate, side plates and center frame coupled to the cooling plate to divide the storing space formed by the side plates(¶ 0010). Jang teaches that since the cooling plate widely contacts the entire bottom of the battery modules, it effectively cools the battery modules (¶ 0042). Jang teaches that a coolant is circulated through a flow path to absorb the heat generated in the battery module and dissipated it to the outside to maintain temperature of the battery modules at a reasonable level (¶ 0042).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the tray taught by Kim to include the flow paths of the frame taught by Kim within the tray taught by Kim to form a cooling plate as taught by Jang, this would predictably increase the surface contact at the bottom of the battery and effectively cool the battery modules. Through this modification, modified Kim teaches cooling block disposed under a battery pack and a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows, the cooling passage comprising: first passages (side frame flow) disposed in a longitudinal direction along side members (side frames) disposed on a left side and a right side of the battery pack; a second passage (cross frame flow) disposed in a transverse direction inside the cooling block to be connected to the first passage (side frame flow); and third passages (center frame flow) disposed in the longitudinal direction along a longitudinal member (center frame) disposed at a middle of the battery pack to be connected to the second passage (cross frame flow).
With regards to claim 12, as mentioned above, Kim teaches that the center frame comprises a supply flow channel within the center frame and return flow channel above and along the center frame (¶ 0057-¶ 0058). Kim teaches that these channels may be opposite of each other with respect to the frame (¶ 0067 and Fig. 5). This reads on a third passages that are unconnected. Kim teaches that air flowing through the first passage (inlets 92) is discharged through outlets (95) formed in the cross frames and through the return flow channels (¶ 0067). Kim also teaches that air may be introduced through the supply flow channels via inlet (91) and to the first passage (¶ 0067 and Fig. 5). This reads on the third passages being connected respectively to the first passages on the left side and the right side of the battery pack such that the coolant is independently discharged through each of the third passages.
With regards too claim 13, Kim teaches inlets formed in the side members (side frames) through which external air is inhaled (¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). These inlets read on inlets disposed at a first end of each of the first passages, respectively, wherein the inlets are configured to allow the coolant to flow into the first passages (side frame flow). Kim teaches that internal air flows to an internal duct through return flow channels formed on the center frame (¶ 0067 and ¶ 0080). Kim teaches that air flows from the outlets in the cross frames (95) to the center frame and exit through the center frames via the return flow channels (¶ 0080 and Fig. 4). These return flow channels read on outlets disposed at a first end of each of the third passages, respectively, wherein the outlets are configured to discharge the coolant (air). See Fig. 4 below.
With regards to claim 14, Kim teaches that the cross frames are disposed on the left and right portions of the battery pack and includes the second passages (cross frame flow) (¶ 0061-
¶ 0062, ¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the cooling block comprising a left cooling block (left cross frame) and a right cooling block (right cross frames), each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block comprising the second passage (cross frame flow). Kim teaches that the frame which includes the longitudinal member (center frame) is fixed and supported by the tray and is combined by bolting or welding (¶ 0071). However, Kim does not specifically teach an insertion groove is disposed between the left cooling block and the right cooling block.
Similar to Kim, Jang teaches that the longitudinal member (center frame) is coupled to the cooling plate (tray) (¶ 0044). Jang teaches that the cooling plate (tray) is provided with a slot formed by penetrating along the coupling position of the center frame (¶ 0046). Jang teaches that the slot is provided with a fastening point of the center frame to be fixed to the cooling plate (¶ 0049). Similar to Kim, Jang teaches bolting and welding as methods by which the frame me be fastened to the cooling plate at the fastening point (¶ 0049). Jang teaches that fixing the frame to the cooling plate via the slot and fastening points ensures a secure fix. This slot reads on an insertion groove in which the longitudinal member (center frame ) is disposed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a slot on the cooling plate (tray) taught by modified Kim to fix the center frame to the cooling plate (tray) by inserting the bottom portion of the center frame into the insertion groove (slot) as taught by Jang. This would predictably ensure a secure fix of the frame onto the cooling plate (tray). Through this modification, modified Kim teaches an insertion groove (slot) is disposed between the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames).
With regards to claim 15, as discussed above, modified Kim teaches that the modified tray (cooling plate) includes an insertion groove (slot) in which the longitudinal member (center frame) that is assembled in the insertion groove. Kim teaches that the second passages (cross frame flow channels) are disposed on the left and right portions of the battery pack and read on the left and right cooling blocks (¶ 0061-¶ 0062, ¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). Kim teaches that air introduced into the second passages (cross frames flow channels) flows into the third passage (center frame flow channel) (¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the second passages (cross frames flow channel) disposed in each of the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) being open to a respective one of the third passages (center frame flow). As shown in Fig. 6 below, the longitudinal member (center frame), the left cooling block (left cross frame), and the right cooling block (right cross frame) are in surface contact so that each of the second passages (cross frame flow) and the third passage (center frame flow)
are connected to each of the third passages. See fig. 5 and 6 below.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20170012330-A1) in view of Jang et al. (US-20250070320-A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Shin et al. (US-20240313328-A1).
With regards to claim 10, Kim teaches side frames disposed on the left and right sides of the cooling block (frame). However, Kim does not teach partitioning walls disposed inside the cooling block in a left and right straight direction through extrusion molding.
In a similar field of endeavor, Shin teaches a battery pack including base plates, center frame and side frames in a longitudinal direction of the left and right side (¶ 0011). Shin teaches that a cooling channels may be formed in the base plate (¶ 0021). In ¶ 0064, Shin teaches grid-shaped ribs formed inside the side frames that increase the mechanical strength of the battery pack case (¶ 0064 and Fig. 2). As shown in Fig. 2 below, these ribs partition the inside of the side frame and therefore read on partitioning walls disposed inside the cooling block. Shin discloses that the frame parts, which includes the side frames may be formed through extrusion molding. See fig. 2 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the side frame taught by Kim to be formed through extrusion molding and to include the ribs (partitioning walls) inside the side frame as taught by Shin. This would predictably increase the mechanical strength of the battery pack case with no unpredictable results.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US-20170012330-A1) in view of Ohkuma (US-20200070671-A1) and Jang et al. (US-20250070320-A1).
With regards to claim 16, Kim teaches a vehicle comprising a vehicle body (¶ 0053). As shown in Fig. 2, Kim teaches a battery pack comprising a front member at a front side of the battery pack, a rear member at a rear side of the battery pack, a left side member (left side frame) at a left side of the battery pack and connecting a left side of the front member and a left side of the rear member to each other, a right side member (right side frame) at a right side of the battery pack and connecting a right side of the front member and a right side of the rear member to each other, a longitudinal member (center frame) extending in a longitudinal direction from a center of the front member to a center of the rear member, and a transverse member (cross frame) extending in a transverse direction from a center of the left side member to a center of the right side member. See fig. 2 below.
Kim teaches that the battery pack is located at the central part of the bottom of the vehicle body (¶ 0054). In 0057, Kim teaches a tray that supports the cell modules and a frame that comprises the rear, front, left, right, longitudinal and transverse members as discussed above and shown in Fig. 2. Kim teaches that the tray is combined with a cover (¶ 0057). In ¶ 0056, Kim teaches that the tray may be fastened to the vehicle body and the cover may be fastened to the edge of the tray by bolts which read on a through-mounting that connects the battery pack to the vehicle. Kim teaches an intersection area of the transverse member and the longitudinal member as shown above in Fig. 2 however, Kim does not specifically teach a through-mounting disposed at an intersection area of the transverse member and the longitudinal member, wherein the through-mounting connects the battery pack to the vehicle body.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ohkuma teaches a battery case fixing structure through which a battery case that houses a battery pack for a vehicle is mounted to a lower part of a vehicle body (¶ 0005). Ohkuma teaches that the battery case is supported by left and right floor frames similar to the side frames of Kim (element 110 in Fig. 8 of Kim) and a cross member (¶ 0023 and Fig. 6 below) representing the vehicle body. Ohkuma goes on to teach that the battery case is fixed to the vehicle body by screwing bolts through the bottom surface to the top surface of the frames and the cross member (¶ 0028 and Fig. 6). These bolts read on a through-mounting. See Fig. 6 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a cross-member central to the battery pack with additional through mounting with the fastening means taught by Kim with the through-mounting (bolts) as taught by Ohkuma in the center of the battery pack. As discussed in Kim and seen in Fig. 2 and 8 of Kim the centerline of the battery back includes the intersections of the longitudinal and transverse members taught by Kim. The known technique of connecting a battery pack to a vehicle body using through-mountings (bolts) along longitudinal and transverse members would predictably fix the battery to the vehicle (see MPEP § 2143, D.). It would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to rearrange the through-mountings (bolts) taught by modified Kim to be placed at the intersection of the longitudinal and transverse member taught by Kim with no unpredictable results. The mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Through this modification, modified Kim teaches a through-mounting (screw) disposed at an intersection area of the transverse member and the longitudinal member, wherein the through-mounting (bolt) connects the battery pack to the vehicle body.
As mentioned earlier, Kim teaches a frame that comprises the rear, front, left, right, longitudinal and transverse members as shown in Fig. 2. Kim teaches that the frame is configured to divide a space for arranging cell modules and also form supply flow channels of air (¶ 0010 and Fig. 2). ¶ 0093, Kim teaches that external air flows to the frame to cool the cell modules in the battery pack. This frame reads on a cooling block disposed below a battery pack. Kim teaches that the frame includes side frames that communicate with cross frames which communicate with a center frame (¶ 0011-¶ 0012). Kim teaches that the side frames and the center frames are disposed in the longitudinal direction (¶ 0061). Kim also teaches that the side frames may be disposed at the left and right sides of the frame with the center frame disposed between the side frames, dividing the battery pack into left and right portions (¶ 0061). Kim also teaches that the cross frames are disposed in the transverse direction and connect the center frame and the side frames (¶ 0061). Kim teaches that the cross frames, the center frame and the side frames form flow channels provided therein (¶ 0062). The side frames read on the left and right-side members while the flow channel formed therein read on the second passages. The flow channel formed in the cross frames reads on the first passage. The center frame reads on the longitudinal member and the flow channel formed in the center frame reads on third passage. In ¶ 0064, Kim teaches that air from the first passage (side frame flow) flows into the second passage (cross frame flow) and this air then flows into the third passage (center frame flow). This reads on a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows, wherein the cooling passage comprises a first passages (cross frame flow) in the cooling block, a second passage (side frame flow) in each of the left side member and right side member (left and right side frames), and a third passage (center frame flow) in the longitudinal
member (center frame). See Fig. 2 and 5 below.
As discussed earlier, in ¶ 0010 and in Fig. 2, Kim teaches that the cooling block (frame) is formed on a tray that supports the cell modules however, modified Kim does not specifically that the cooling block (frame) is formed under the battery pack.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches a battery pack case including a cooling plate, side plates and center frame coupled to the cooling plate to divide the storing space formed by the side plates(¶ 0010). Jang teaches that since the cooling plate widely contacts the entire bottom of the battery modules, it effectively cools the battery modules (¶ 0042). Jang teaches that a coolant is circulated through a flow path to absorb the heat generated in the battery module and dissipated it to the outside to maintain temperature of the battery modules at a reasonable level (¶ 0042).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention as effectively filed to modify the tray taught by Kim to include the flow paths of the frame taught by Kim within the tray taught by Kim to form a cooling plate as taught by Jang, this would predictably increase the surface contact at the bottom of the battery and effectively cool the battery modules. Through this modification, modified Kim teaches a cooling block disposed under a battery pack and a cooling passage that defines a path through which coolant (air) flows, wherein the cooling passage comprises a first passages (cross frame flow) in the cooling block, a second passage (side frame flow) in each of the left side member and right side member (left and right side frames), and a third passage (center frame flow) in the longitudinal member (center frame).
With regards to claim 17, Kim teaches that the cross frames are disposed on the left and right portions of the battery pack and includes the first passage (cross frame flow) (¶ 0061-¶ 0062, ¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the cooling block comprising a left cooling block (left cross frame) and a right cooling block (right cross frames), the first passage (cross frame flow) is included in each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block. Kim teaches that the frame which includes the longitudinal member (center frame) is fixed and supported by the tray and is combined by bolting or welding (¶ 0071). Kim also teaches that the frame protrudes upwardly from the tray. However, modified Kim does not specifically teach an insertion groove is disposed between the left cooling block and the right cooling block and the longitudinal member is assembled in the insertion groove. See Fig. 5 above.
Similar to Kim, Jang teaches that the longitudinal member (center frame) is coupled to the cooling plate (tray) (¶ 0044). Jang teaches that the cooling plate(tray) is provided with a slot formed by penetrating along the coupling position of the center frame (¶ 0046). Jang teaches that the slot is provided with a fastening point of the center frame to be fixed to the cooling plate (¶ 0049). Similar to Kim, Jang teaches bolting and welding as methods by which the frame me be fastened to the cooling plate at the fastening point (¶ 0049). Jang teaches that fixing the frame to the cooling plate via the slot and fastening points ensures a secure fix. This slot reads on an insertion groove in which the longitudinal member (center frame ) is disposed. As shown in Fig. 6 below, the bottom portion of the center frame is inserted into the slot.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a slot on the cooling plate (tray) taught by modified Kim to fix
the center frame to the cooling plate (tray) by inserting the bottom portion of the center frame into the insertion groove (slot) as taught by Jang. This would predictably ensure a secure fix of the frame onto the cooling plate (tray). Through this modification, modified Kim teaches an insertion groove (slot) is disposed between the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) and the longitudinal member(center frame) is assembled in the insertion groove.
With regards to claim 18, Kim teaches that air introduced into the first passage (cross frames flow channel) flows into the longitudinal member (center frame) (¶ 0064 and Fig. 5). This reads on the first passage (cross frames flow channel) in each of the left cooling block (left cross frames) and the right cooling block (right cross frames) and the third passage (center frame flow) in the longitudinal member being open to each other. As shown in Fig. 6 below, the longitudinal member (center frame), the left cooling block (left cross frame), and the right cooling block (right cross frame) are in surface contact so that each of the first passages (cross frame flow) and the third passage (center frame flow) are connected to each other. See Figs. 5 and 6 below.
With regards to claim 19, modified Kim teaches that an insertion groove is formed on the modified tray in which the bottom portion of the longitudinal member (center frame ) is inserted. The longitudinal member (center frame) that is inserted into the insertion groove (slot) taught by modified Kim reads on a partitioning unit disposed to protrude on a bottom of the longitudinal member and assembled in the insertion groove (slot). Kim teaches that the frame which includes the longitudinal member (center frame) protrudes upwardly and divides the battery pack into left and right portion (¶ 0061 and ¶ 0071). In ¶ 0057 -¶ 0058, Kim teaches that a supply flow channel formed inside the longitudinal member (center frame) and a return flow channel formed along the longitudinal member (center frame) and between the frame and the cover. These two flow channels read on the third passage. Kim teaches that these channels may be opposite of each other with respect to the frame (¶ 0067 and Fig. 5). As shown in Fig. 5 below, the supply and return flow channels flow in the longitudinal direction. The longitudinal member which comprises the partitioning unit, as discussed above, divides these two flow channels, forming the return flow channel above the frame and the supply flow channel within the frame. Since the longitudinal member reads on the partitioning unit, this reads on the partitioning unit dividing the third passage in the longitudinal direction.
With regards to claim 20, modified Kim teaches that the bottom portion of the longitudinal member is inserted into the insertion groove (slot). This reads on a lower end of the longitudinal member being assembled in the insertion groove. As discussed above, Kim teaches that the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames), which include the first passage, communicate with the longitudinal member (center frame) which includes the third passage (¶ 0095). As shown in Fig. 4 below, first passage (cross frame flow channel) of each of the left and right cooling blocks (cross frames) are connected to the side of the third passage (center frame flow channel) of the longitudinal member. Kim does not specifically teach that the third passage has a shape having an open side and the first passage of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block are connected to the open side of the third passage of the longitudinal member. See Fig. 4 below.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to form the third passage (center frame flow channel) taught by modified Kim to have a shape having an open side to be connected to the first passage (cross frame flow channel) as this would predictably allow the channels to communicate with each other. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Through this modification, modified Kim renders obvious the third passage (center frame flow channel) of the longitudinal member (center frame) having a shape having an open side; and the first passage (cross frame flow channels) of each of the left cooling block and the right cooling block (cross frames) are connected to the open side of the third passage of the longitudinal member.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743